Skip to main content

Full text of "Publications of the Ipswich Historical Society"

See other formats


'74.402 IVI. U. 

p6i 

o. 22-26 

788947 



REYNOLDS HISTORICAL 
GENEALOGY COLLECTION 



j 



Gc 



th SMifffliYiNIY PUBLIC LIBRARY 



3 1833 01100 0525 






l?l 



/rr r'<" 



PUBLICATIONS OF THE IPSWICH 

HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

XXII 



Ipswich, Mass. 



PLU M ISL AND 

ich, P 



BY 
THOMAS FRANKLIN WATERS 



Printed for the Society 

1918 



'. i 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 
in 2013 



http://archive.org/details/publicationsofin22n26ipsw 



t1 



l^JT>Q-JI*\ 




1788947 






^S£ 



^P*^ 



J" 



f 



^ 



NBWCOMB Si GAUSS, PRINTERS 

SALEM, MASS. 

1918 



380920 



&*** 






fc'£fc 









ia, 



natfradt 










fflk 



Jflt 



ifeAim 






A 



Lyn 






^'ftitilh 









iVci I Varation <*f,2fo 



JS. 



<?m£r\ .* rfrfr # ' i ^nh ♦ * If **&**.&& ' ■•:■• ■• - ■;..•♦ •■■■ • ■■•-. A ■••■■•- ->.v... 






*>* 



! 1 .oarH*fct> Scituate -&*&- V 






I 

I 



A Section of a Chart of the Coast of Massachusetts, from surveys made by Capt. Cyprian Southack, 
under authority of the British and Colonial Governments, shortly before the year 1694. 
Published about I 734, in London, with other maps, in atlas form. 



LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS 



Page 

Map of Plum Island, ..... Frontispiece 

Capt. Cyprian Southack Chart, 1694, . . 3 

Sand Dune, 13 

Grape Island, 18 

The Bluffs, . 23 

Plan, showing Salt Works, ..... 29 

The Lone Tree, 33 

The Old Sun Dial, 33 

Salt Hay in Staddles, ...... 39 

A Gundalow, 39 

Digging Sand, Wheeling, Returning, ... 47 

The Carlotta, 52 



PREFACE. 



Following the method pursued in the previous publications 
in making citations from the Records of the Registry of Deeds 
and the Registry of Probate of Essex County, the figures indi- 
cating book and page are inserted in the text in a parenthesis, 
following the reference. This eliminates a constant series of 
foot-notes. 

The Society is under obligations to Mr. Nathaniel Dole of 
Newburyport for the loan of the interesting drawing made by 
his father, and to his daughter, Mrs. Gertrude Dole Williams, 
for the use of films of the sand diggers. Mr. John W. Nourse 
has rendered valuable service by his skilful work on the drawing 
and the map of Plum Island. 



PLUM ISLAND 

Who was the first European, voyaging along the coast, who 
saw the surf-beaten shore of Plum Island, with its fringe of white 
sand dunes, and its pine forests in the back ground? The Sagas 
of the Northmen record a voyage of Bjorne from Greenland, in the 
year 986, in which he touched the New England coast at many 
points. Leif, son of Eric, the Red, bought Bjorne's ship and 
skirted these shores in the following year. Prof. E. N. Horsford 
the enthusiastic student of the Sagas, locates Lief's Landfall at 
Cape Ann, and established him in a permanent settlement at Nor- 
umbega on the Charles River in Watertown, where he has erected 
a memorial tower on the site he identifies with the ancient town. 
To Prof. Horsford's romantic imagination, the terraced shore of 
Little Neck and Gravelly Point bear evidence of the Northmen's 
presence as well. 

John Cabot and Sebastian sailed along the coast in 1497, 
searching for a way to the Indies, and Prof. Horsford is confident 
that the rocky end of Cape Ann is the Cape St. Johan where Cabot 
made his landfall. The Florentine sailor, Giovanni da Verrazano, 
was commissioned by the King of France in 1523 to cross the At- 
lantic in search for a sea route to Cathay. He sighted land in 
March, 1524, probably on the coast of the Carolinas, and following 
the coast as far as Maine or Nova Scotia. These ancient navigators 
may have caught sight of our Island and the breakers on the bar, 
as they rounded Cape Ann and headed for the North. 

But definite record of the near presence of the European sail- 
ors does not appear until nearly a century later. In the summer of 
1605, Samuel de Champlain sailed along the coast of Maine and 
Massachusetts, and again in 1606. On the 8th of July he was at 
Saco River, apparently, and made most interesting mention of the 
Indians, who met his ship in their canoes. 

These savages shave off the hair far up on the head, and wear 
what remains very long, which they comb and twist behind in 
various ways very neatly, intertwined with feathers, which they 
attach to the head. They paint their faces black and red, like the 
other savages which we have seen. They are an agile people with 
well formed bodies. Their weapons are pikes, clubs, bows and 
arrows, at the end of which some attach the tail of a fish called 

(1) 



^ PLUM ISLAND. 

the signoc others bones, while the arrows of others are entirely 
of wood. They till and cultivate the soil, something which we have 
not hitherto observed. In the place of ploughs, they use an instru- 
ment of very hard wood, shaped like a spade. 

The next day Sieur de Monts and 1 landed to observe their 
tillage on the bank of the river. We saw their Indian corn which 
they raise m gardens. Planting three or four kernels in one place 
they then heap up about it a quantity of earth with shells of the 
signoc. . . Then three feet distant they plant as much more 
and thus in succession. With this corn they put in each hill three 
or four Brazilian beans, which are of different colours. When they 
grow up, they interlace with the corn, which reaches to the height 
of from four to six feet. They keep the ground very free from 
weeds. We saw there many squashes and pumpkins and tobacco, 
which they likewise cultivate. We saw also many grape-vines, in 
which there was a remarkably fine berry, from which we made 
some very good verjuice. . . . Their cabins were covered with 
oak bark and surrounded with palisades. i 

Keeping to the south, they saw to the westward a large bay, 
undoubtedly our Ipswich Bay, and made their anchorage near the 
Cape. In the morning, five or six savages came out in canoes and 
then went back and danced on the beach. Champlain landed, gave 
them knives and biscuits, and in response to his request, they drew 
+ he outline of the coast, with a great river, which they had passed. 
Beyond a doubt, this was the Merrimac, and the little ship lay at 
anchor in the bay under the lee of Cape Ann. The old shell heaps 
on Plum Island attest long generations of Indian occupancy, and 
the explorer's description of tfte wild people a few miles north 
was, no doubt, a true picture of the ancient Islanders. 

But it remained for Captain John Smith, in his "Description 
of New England" printed in London in 1616, to make an accurate 
map of the coast, and describe it with much minute detail. 

As you passe the coast still Westward, (from the Piscataqua) 
Angoam is the next. This place might content a right curious 
judgement, but there are many sands at the entrance of the harbor : 
and the worst is, it is inbayed too farre from the deepe Sea. Heere 
are many rising hilles and on their tops and descents many corne 
fields and delightful groves. On the East is an He of two or three 
leagues in length ; the one half e, plaine morish grasse fit for pasture, 
with many f aire high groves of mulberrie trees gardens ; and there 
is also Okes, Pines and other woods to make this place an excellent 
habitation, beeing a good and safe harbor. 

Captain Smith gave names to headlands and islands and 
imaginary towns. The river Charles and Cape Anna still survive. 
But London and Oxford on the South Shore, and Ipswich, Cam- 

i"Sailors Narratives of New "England Voyages." 1524-1624. With notes 
by George Parker Winship, pp. 74, 75, 78, 79. 



PLUM ISLAND. 3 

bridge, Edinburgh in the Maine wilderness were soon forgotten. 
The dignified name, South Hampton, was applied to the Indian 
village of Agawam. 

Under date of March 9, 1621-2, the President and Council of 
Plymouth granted to Capt. John Mason, under the name of Mariana, 
all the land lying along the Atlantic from Naumkeag River to the 
Merrimacke River and extending back to the heads of these rivers 

to geather with the Great Isle or Island henceforth 

to be called Isle Mason lying necre or before the Bay Harbor or 
ye r j ver Aggawom 

Last of the old surveyors and map-makers is Capt. Cyprian 
Southack, who made a chart of the coast shortly before the year 
1694, under the authority of the British and Colonial Government. 
He locates an island at the mouth of Ipswich River, indicates the 
ship channel, close to Bar Island end, and gives the name, Wenham, 
to Castle Neck, and Wenham Bar to the Essex River bar. 

Plum Island, wholly or in part, was not definitely included in 
the territory granted to the Ipswich settlers. No evidence of any 
formal assumption of title by Ipswich appears before March, 1G39. 

The 2 day of the first month, 1639. Agreed with Robert Wallis 
and Thomas Manning the day and year abovesayd that they shall 
keep fourscore hoggs upon Plum Island from the 10th day of Aprill 
next untill harvest be got in and that one of them shall be con- 
stantly there night and day all the tyme and they are to carry 
them and bring them home provided those that own them shall 
send each of them a man to help catch them and they are to make 
troughs to water them in for all of which paynes and care they are 
to have twelve pence a hogg at the entrance 2s a hogg at midsum- 
mer for so many as are then living and 2s a hogg for each hogg 
they shall deliver at the end of harvest and they are not to be 
abated for any pay for any hoggs under a year old the 10th of 
Aprill and if any hoggs are left through their negligence they are 
to make them good and in case any die they have liberty to take 
in to make up their number and that none of them that put hoggs 
before them shall take them away without the consent of most 
of those that so put hoggs before them and if notwithstanding 
they will take them away they shall pay them full pay as if they 
went the whole time and in case any hogg die through poverty 
the party that own them having such information he shall bear the 
loss of his own hogg and pay full pay to the keepers and whosoever 
do not pay at the times of payment appointed or within 14 days 
shall pay them half as much more as the bargain. 

Newbury was not disposed to allow Ipswich free rein, and on 
the 6th of March she petitioned the General Court for title. The 
General Court voted : 

1639, March 13. 

Plum Island is to remaine in the Court's power for the present 



* PLUM ISLAND. 

Ipswich Neweberry and the new plantation (Rowley) between them 
may make use of it till the Court shall see cau.se otherwise to dis- 
pose of it. 

Ten years later another move was made. 

At a meeting generall of the freemen (of Newbury) the sixth 
of March, 1649. 

There was chosen Mr. William Gerrish John Saunders Daniel 
Titcomb Henry Shorte Richard Knight Robert Coker William 
Titcomb Archelaus Woodman and John Merrill to bee a committee 
for the towne to view the passages into Plum Island and to inform 
the courte by way of petition concerning the righte the towne hath 
to the sayd island and to have full power with Mr. Edward Rawson 
to draw forth a petition and present it to the next general courte. 

Mr. Edward Rawson Mr. John Spencer and Mr. Woodman was 
chosen by the towne to joyne with those men of Ipswich and Rowley 
that was appointed to bee a committee about Plum Island. 

Apparently a joint agreement proved impossible, and rival 
petitions were presented to the General Court. Newbury, in its 
petition of May 15, 1649, asked for the whole island. The petition- 
ers after declaring their confidence in the "Christian readiness of 
the Court to uphold the meanest member of this jurisdiction from 
sinking under any pressure" etc. proceed : 

The substance of our desires is that if after you have heard 
and perused what we say, that in right Plum island belongs not 
to us, yet out of your just favour, it may be granted to us to re- 
lieve our pinching necessities, without which we see no way to 
continue or subsist. Our feares were occasioned by a petition 
which was preferred to the last general court for it. Our appre- 
hensions of our right to it are, first, because for three or four 
miles together there is no channel betwixt us and it. Second, be- 
cause at low water we can go dry to it over many places, in most 
with carts and horses, which we usually doe, being necessitated 
so to doe since our guift to Rowley on the Court's request and 
promise that we should have anything in the court's power to 
grant. Thirdly, because the court's order gives all lands to dead 
low water marke not exceeding one hundred rods, to towns or 
persons, where any lands do so border. In many places Plum iland 
is not ten rods, at no place one hundred rods from low water marke. 
Fourth, because we can only improve it without damage to our 
neighboring plantations, which none can doe without much damage 
to your petitioners, if not to the ruining of both the meadow and 
corne of your petitioners, and so forth. The premises considered 
we hope (and doubt not) this honorable court will see just grounds 
to answer our request and confirme the island to our towne and 
we shall always as in duty we are bound to pray and so forth. 

Thomas Parker 

Percival Lowle 

John Spencer 

John Saunders 

James Noyes 



PLUM ISLAND. 5 

William Gerrish 

Edward Woodman 

Henry Short 

Richard Kent in ye name of ye rest. 

The General Court took action on October 17th 1649. 

Upon the petition of Neweberry, this Corte thinketh meete to 
give & grant Plum Island to Ipswich, Rowly & Newberry viz. Ipswich 
to ha' two parts, Neweberry two pts & Rowly to ha' one fifth pt. 

Now that the right of Ipswich in Plum Island was definitely 
settled, the Town began to make provision for its use. Orders 
were adopted from year to year. 

9 (12) 1651 

Referred to the 7 to order Plum [ ] to dispose of the 

grass to such as have none from year to year. 
22 (12) 1652 

Ordered that the seaven men shall have power from yeare to 
yeare to order the cutting of the grass at Plum Island, Goodman 
Johnson to be considered among others for cutting grass there 
according to his need. 
28 Feb. 1659 

John Perkins, Moses Pengry and Searg't Clarke apoynted a 
committy to treat with Newbury and Rowley about Plumb Island. 
16 April 1663 

The Town att the Genii Town Meeting, haveing the ordering 
the cutting the marsh at Plumb Island for [ ] years unto the 

Selectmen. The Selectmen have ordered that noe man shall cutt 
any grasse there before the tenth day of July. Nor any family to 
use above two sithes at a tyme soe observing these rules. All shall 
have liberty to cutt that have right to common prledges (but noe 
others) pvided [ ] take there grass they cutt together and carry 

it quietly [ ] peaceably without interrupting one another upon 

pen [ ] of five shillings an acre for such as shall transgress. 

In 1664, the date for beginning the cutting was changed to the 
twentieth of July. 

pvided there be liberty to Mr. William Hubbard to take his op- 
portunity for cutting a p'sell of marsh at Grap Island for one month 
viz. to the 20th of August to be assigned to him by Jacob Perkins 
and John Layton not exceeding 6 acres. 

Notwithstanding the remoteness of Plum Island from the Town, 
the access to it only by boat across the swift Plum Island River 
and its complete isolation in mid-winter, it was regarded as a val- 
uable asset. The salt marshes and thatch banks had a good market 
value. There were many acres of fertile upland, too good to be 
used only for the pasturing of swine. There was a demand for the 
division of this great domain among the Commoners and the Town 
took action in February, 1664-5. The principle, on which the divis- 







PLUM ISLAND. 



ion was based, was characteristic of the spirit of the time. It was 
a money qualification, pure and simple, exception being ma de only 
for the magistrates, ministers, and the school master. 

The generall Towne meeting the 14th of Feb. 16G4 

1. Voted that Plumbe Hand, ITogg Hand and Castle Neck be 
devyded to such as have the right to commons acording to law 
acording to the pportion of foure six and eight. 

2. All that doe not exceed six shillings eight pence their pson 
and estate in a single country rate, to be of the first devision of 
4th all them that exceed not sixteen shillings to be of the second 
sort of sixth. All those that exceed sixteene shillings in a single 
Country rate together with our Maiestrates, Elders, Mr. John Rogers 
and Mr. Thomas Andrews to be of the highest devision of 8th. 

3. John Gage was voted and granted to be one of them of the 
middle number 

4. Voted that it be left to the Selectmen to have those places 
viewed messered and devyded 

The Selectmen chosen at that meeting were Mr. Samuell Sy- 
monds, Major Gen'll Denison, Mr. John Appleton, Cornett Whipple, 
Ensigne French, John Dane, Deacon Will. Goodhue. 

April 10:1665 

The Selectmen according to the town order for the devission 
of Plum Island, Castle Neck and Hog Island taking a survey of the 
Inhabitants which according to law and the s d order have right 
to any share of the Common Lands and considering also the 
estates of the Inhabitants, as valued in the last Country rate 
according to the sd order ; doe find two hundred and three reckoned 
and allowed Inhabitants, that may have right to the Comons, 
whose names or the names of their tenants at present inhabiting 
their Lands or Houses are registered on a paper. Whereof ac- 
cording to the order of the Towne, eight and twenty are to have 
a double share, and seaventie to have a share and a halfe, and 
one hundred and five have a single share, so that the whole number 
of single shares are two hundred and sixty six. 

And having caused the sd Plum Island and Castle Neck and 
Hog Island to be surveyed and measured, they have found in the 
whole about eight hundred acres of marsh and upland beside 
beaches and gall d hills, so that the single share will be three acres, 
the share and halfe, four acres and a halfe, the double share six 
acres. 

Which they have ordered to be layd out in this manner viz. 
one double share, next two devisions of a share and halfe, and then 
three single shares, and so to begin again, one double share, two 
devisions of a share and a halfe and then three single shares, and 
so on till all the double shares be run out and then there will 
remain fourteen devisions of a share and a halfe and twenty one 
single shares, which shall be laid out in this manner, namely, 
one devision of a share and a halfe and one single share, till all 
the share and half devisions be layd out and the seaven remaining 
single shares to be layd out one after the other. 

Which divisions being layd out as above sd, It is ordered they 
shall be shared by lott in this manner, there shall be eight and 



PLUM ISLAND. 7 

twenty lotts for the deviding of the double shares, and seaventy 
lotts to be putt by themselves for the dividing of the share and 
halfe divisions, and one hundred and five lotts putt by themselves 
for the dividing the single shares. 

And it is agreed that the beginning of these divisions shall 
be at the upper end of Plum Island next Rowley and so downwards 
to the Barr, and if the sd share cannot be layd conveniently all 
the breadth of the island then the beginning shall be next the 
Beach, and so from the upper end next Rowley down to the Barr, 
and then begin at the upper end and so downward and so again 
if the shares shall be layd in three ranges. 

The next shall be layd out shall be at Castle Neck, beginning 
at the hill and so downward to Wig-warn Hill and the long marsh, 
and if it be convenient to lay the shares in two ranges, the first 
shall be next the Pines and the second to begin next the hill and 
so downward to the River. The last shall be at Hog Island begin- 
ning at the Westerly end and so to the East side thereof and if 
it be most convenient to be lajd in two ranges, the first shall be 
the Southerly side, and then to begin again at the Westerly end 
and to divide the Northerly side of the sd Island. 

And it is further agreed that Cornet Whipple Robert Lord, 
John Leighton and Thomas Lovel shall take the first opportunity 
to lay out the sd shares in manner aforesaid, which having done 
and made knowne to the Selectmen, the Inhabitants shall forth- 
with be summoned to meet to take up their shares by lott as 
afores d . And then those that are above appointed to lay out the divis- 
ions shall goe upon a day appointed and share to every inhabi- 
tant, his share or division and shall deliver unto him or them the 
possession thereof, he or they, then paying for the laying out, 
so much as shall be appointed by the Selectmen. And no Inhab- 
itant shall claim right or propriety in or to any share or devision 
of the Land aforesd before he has payd for the charge of dividing, 
but the right of such share shall be and remain in the Town to be 
disposed of as they shall see cause. 

A List of the Inhabitants that have shares in Plum Island, 
Castle Neck and Hog Island (together with their shares) according 
to the Towne order the 14 of Feb. '64. 

DOUBLE SHARES 

Thomas Wells 17 

Will m Cogswell 16 

John Proctor Sen. 3 

Georg Gittins 9 

Richard Jacob 13 
Edward Coborne 

Mr. Saltonstall's farme 27 

Elder Jo : Whipple 5 
Will m Pritchett 

Richard Jacob's farm 
one half to ye Widdow Roberts 1 
John Airs. Mr. Norton's farms 

Mr. Bar 25 

Mr. Epes 24 

The Mil and House 21 

Elder Paine 19 



Mr. Samuel Symonds 


26 


Major Denison 


12 


Mr. Wade 


25 


Capt. Appleton 


20 


Leift. Appleton 


23 


Mr. Richard Hubbard 


10 


Mr. Jo : Paine 


18 


Mr. Cobbet 


22 


Mr. Will m Hubbard 


7 


Mr. John Rogers 


6 


Mr. Tredwell 


14 


Mr. Booreman 


4 


Thos: Bishop 


8 


Will m Goodhue 


2 


Mr. Thomas Andrews 


28 


Thomas Burnam 


11 



I 



PLUM ISLATs'I). 



SHARE 


AND 


A IIALFE . 




Symon Tuttle 


8 


Henry Bennet 


45 


Richard Shatswell 


38 


Symon Tompson 


46 


Robert Day 


22 


John Browne Sen. 


7 


Thomas Hart Sen. 


14 


John Fuller 


6 


Edward Alline 




Will" 1 Fellows 


58 


Mr. Paine's farm 


17 


Richard Brabrook 




Richard Kimbal 


43 


Wid. Haffield's farme 


56 


Mr. Will m Norton 


18 


Robert Crose 


60 


John Wooddam 


16 


John Burnani 


55 


Samuel Varnham 


24 


Cornelius Waldo 




Thomas Lovel 


36 


Cogswel's farrae 


61 


Nathaniel Piper 


65 


John Andrews 


52 


Mr. Wilson 


20 


Will m Story 


62 


Mr. Baker 


54 


Edward Brag 


29 


Thomas Newman Sen. 


23 


Thomas Low Sen. 


26 


Francis Wainwright 


28 


Robert Coborne 


4 7 


Jacob Perkins 


13 


Nathaniel Adams 


70 


John Newmarsh 


27 


John Adams 


41 


Richard Smith 


12 


Thomas Saft'ord 


37 


John Perkins 


o 


John Kimball 


48 


Sergt. Tlios. Clarke 


30 


Robert Wallis 


66 


Robert Peirse 


9 


Ensign Howlett 


59 


Thomas Knolton 


4 


Allen Perly 
James How Sen. 


50 


Mr. Ezekiel Rogers 


33 


5 


Reginald Foster 


10 


Georg Farrow 


53 


Daniel Warner 


51 


Jeremy Jewett 


39 


Ensign French 


11 


Nathaniel Elithrop 
Moses Bradstreet 


49 


Edward Lummas 


31 


3 


Cornet John Whipple 


34 


Twiford West 


35 


John Whipple Jun. 


15 


Mr. Samuel Rogers 


60 


John Warner 




Mr. John Denison 


44 


Elder Whipple's farm 


1 


Thomas Kimbal 


57 


Anthony Potter 


40 


Aaron Pengry 


67 


Robert Kinsman Jun. 


42 


Moses Pengry, Mr. Paine 


64 


John Leigh Sen. 


21 


Mr. Nathaniel Rogers 


19 


John Dane 


25 


Samuel Pod 


68 


Nathaniel Emerson : f arme 


32 


John Gage 


63 


SINGLE SHARES 




Hanniel Bosworth 


77 


Mr. Russell 


31 


Thomas Smith 


60 


Joseph Browne 


67 


Caleb Kimbal 


44 


John Browne Jun. 


30 


Marke Quilter 


17 


Robert Low Sen. 


98 


John Leedes, Jo : Kimbal 


16 


John Edwards, 




John Brewer 


58 


Mr. Vincent 


47 


John Denison 


91 


Michael Crecy 


100 


Robert Whitman 


33 


John Gaines 


1 


Walter Roper 


t 


John Newman 


46 


Georg Smith 


10 


Giles Birdley 


105 


Edward Chapman 


5 


Francis Jordan 


102 


Robert Lord Jun. 


27 


Thomas Harris 


6 


Andrew Peters 


19 


James Chute 


28 


Robert Collins 


43 


Obadiah Wood 


92 


John Caldwell 


3 


John Kendricke 


2 



PLUM ISLAND. 



9 



Will" 1 Buckley 

Sam : Taylor 

Will" 1 Hodskin 

Bennet Pulsifer 

Thomas Lord 

Bobert Dutch 

John Annable 

Andrew Hodges 

Jacob Foster 

Job Bishop, Mr. Appleton 

Samuel Graves 

John Wiatt 

John Pinder 

John French 

Will" 1 White 

Thomas Wilson 



65 
56 
66 
55 
82 
94 
8 
32 
38 
79 
52 
51 
37 
25 
63 
48 



John Sparke, Thos : Bishop 74 
Henry Archer, Mr. Symonds 18 

Thos. Wayte Osgood 

Edmund Bridges 80 
John Smith, Mr. Appleton 95 

Widdow Quilter 34 

Symon Stacey 40 

Will" 1 Gutterson 50 

Thomas French 97 

Joseph Whipple 42 

John Safford 54 

Jeremy Belcher 78 

Samuel Yon n glove Sen. 26 

Thomas Manning 62 

Samuel Aires 39 

Nathaniel Boss 64 

Ezekiel Woodward 101 

Joseph Beading 41 

Samuel Hunt 45 

Will m More 14 

Usewel Wardwell 68 

Daniel Hovey 6 

Thomas Emerson 107 

Isaiah Wood 53 

Robert Fitch 9 

Widdow Lea 106 
John Marshall, Brabrook 85 

Will m Marshall, Scot 87 

Thomas Stacey farme 21 

John Cogswel 12 

John Knolton 1 5 

Samuel Ingals 76 

Thomas Low Jun. 35 
Daniel Davison, Hubbard 69 
Alexander Tompson, Whipple 29 

John Boss, Wardwell 103 

Will m Beyner 104 

Abram Foster 90 

Tsack Foster 57 

Henry Batchelor 13 



Beinold Foster Jun. 70 

Thomas Varney 86 

John Chote : Thos. Bishop 88 

John Jewett 75 

Will"' Whitred, Jo. Perkins 81 
Nicolas Marrable 89 

Currimacke 22 

Joseph Goodhue 49 

John Binge, Brag 36 

Will" 1 Searle 96 

Phineas Clarke Sen. 20 

Samuel Younglove Jun. 1 1 

Will" 1 Merchant 23 

Phillip Fowler 4 

Bobert Kinsman Sen. 84 

Will" 1 Fellows, Mr. Saltonstall 71 
Thomas Whitred 24 

Samuel Pod 73 

Elder Paine's farme 93 

John Leighton, Maxy Juett 

to have this 59 

Ed Neland 83 

James How Jr. 99 

Widdow Metcalfe 

Thos. Metcalfe 

John Dane 

Serg. Jacobs' farme 

Jo. Newmarsh, for Hardy's house 

John Newman Jr. (ho. Bog Lan- 
cton) 

Neh Abbott — 3a. adj. Good How. 

Kilicres Boss, Mr. Symonds 

John Hassall 

Daniell Hovey 

Tho. Clarke, taner 

Corpll Andrews at Averill's Hill 

Ed Heard hath Archers 

Aron Pingry 

Serg* Tho : Waite 

Joseph Fellows hath Jo. Ayres 

John Gidding 

Thos. Guiding 

Thomas Burnam Jun. for Jr. 
Belcher's farme, 2 acres in lieu 
of single share 

Liberty for firewood 

.... and one cow 

John Knowlton 

Obadiah Bridges 

John Frurke? 

John Dutch 

Giles Cowes 
Sam Dutch 

John Grow 
Steeven Crose 



10 PLUM ISLAND. 

The drawing" of the lots was done with perfect fairness. Though 
sniperifw? weailmhi seeuarecl a.n el^b. 1 ; a/rr-* '..-, ?.: -.i- -, n ■".-. -* ; -h.l 
gentry, and the poor man had only four, the larger and smaller lots 
were so alternated, and the assignment made wholly by chance, 
that the fine upland lots fell in the main to the humbler folk, while 
the wealthiest had to content themselves with a lot of salt-marsh 
or thatch, and the sand dunes. 

In November, 1665, and in the following February, some read- 
justments were made in the ease of some, who had been overlooked, 
and some, whose lots "fell short of their due proportion." The de- 
termination of the Selectmen to stand squarely with their duty, 
regardless of fear or favor is voiced in their vote of February 6, 
1665-6. 

There were some others that moved for shares but the Select- 
men were not satisfied with their ovart right and therefore con- 
ceived themselves not empowered to gratify any friends yet being 
moved with charity toward some and pleas of others have thought 
meet to comend the case of these undrawn to the consideration 
of the Town 

Goodwife Pinder an old Inhabitant and poore widow for 3 
acres 

Goodman Archer an old Inhabitant and poore for 3 acres 

Serg't Wayte and Aaron Pengry both employed in publick 
office by ye towne for 3 acres apeace 

Some others that have made motions to ye Selectmen we leave 
to make their own pleas and addresses to ye towne 

The value of the upland lots, particularly, was greatly impaired 
. <y the unrestrained wandering of the cattle and swine and the 
Town took action on February 19, 1666-7. 

Voted. Mr. Wade and Francis Wainwright to be a committy 
to treat with the Towne of Newbury about Plumbe Island for 
pr'serving it from damage by their horses and cattell and swine 
and if they cannot agree with them to prevent damage the Select- 
men of Ipswich are apoynted to p'tition the Gen'll Court for reliefe. 
At a meeting of the Selectmen the 11th of Aprill, 1667, 
Ordered that all Swine that shall be found on Plumbe Island 
shall forfeit 12d p head for every time they shall be found and 
to be impounded. And for horses to forfitt 2s p head and other 
cattell 12d p head that shall be found upon Plumbe Island. 

The loss and damage still continued and in May, 1679, the 
Selectmen of Ipswich appealed to the General Court for relief. They 
affirmed 

that the whole island is in the occupation of the inhabitants 
of Ipswich and Newbury, who make improvement by cutting the 
grass and some of Ipswich by planting some small parcels thereof, 
and by reason of the impossibility to part the island by fencing 
and the proprietors of Ipswich by reason thereof finding themselves 






PLUM ISLAND. } J_ 

much damnified in that their marshes were trodden to dirt and 
almost utterly spoiled by a multitude of horses and other cattle 
put thereon by those of Newbury in the winter to live of what 
they can get and suffered there to continue till the middle of May 
if not longer which will unavoidably (as experience hath taught 
us) be the ruin and utter destruction of the whole island, the 
horses and cattle eating- up the grass, that grows upon the 'sand 
hills, which gives a stop to the running of the sands in stormy 
weather, which otherwise would in a very short space cover all 
the marshes as we have found at Castle neck. Wherefore we 
beseech the honored court to prohibit the putting or going of any 
horses, cattle and so forth, upon the said island and so forth and 
so forth 
1679. 30 May. 

In ans'r to the peticon of the Selectmen of Ipswich relating 
to Ipswich & Newbery improvement of Plum Island &c. it is 
ordered that no horses nor cattle be put upon sd island w'thout 
the consent of the major part of the proprietors of the sayd 
island according to laws of cornfields. Under the hands of said 
propriettors 

Mr. Coffin, in his History of Newbury (1845), states that within 
the remembrance of an old lady then living, this cruel custom of 
turning horses and cattle on the Island for the Winter still pre- 
vailed with some Newbury farmers, and that the horses particularly 
emerged in the Spring wretchedly emaciated and disfigured with 
their hair, grown long and bushy, matted and tangled. 

Despite the Order of the General Court the marsh owners con- 
tinued to suffer from the invasion of cattle, and in 1739, Rev. 
Nathaniel Rogers of Ipswich, Henry Rolfe Esq. and others of Ips- 
wich and Newbury, addressed another Petition^ reciting that "it is 
extremely difficult to secure their Salt Grass, on which they much 
depend for hay for their cattle, by a sufficient fence, for want of 
which they are not able to prevent other people's cattle from coming 
upon their marsh." The Petitioners were authorized to prepare a 
draught of a "Bill for the effectual prevention of the Mischiefs and 
Injuries therein suggested." This was presented forthwith, and the 
General Court passed the following Act. 

An Act for the effectual preventing] [on] of horses, neat 
cattle, sheep and swine from running at large or feeding upon a 
certain Island called Plumb Island, lying in Ipswich Bay in the 
County of Essex. 

Whereas it appears to this Court that there is a great and 
valuable estate, consisting of salt meadow, lying on the island 
at the bottom of Ipswich Bay, called Plumb Island, which is ex- 
posed and liable to be destroyed by horses, cattle and other 
creatures being turned or drove on said island and feeding down 
the beach-grass, and treading down the sea-walls, and by ill-minded 

2Acts and Resolves, Vol. XII: 555. 
Acts and Resolves, Vol. 11:993. 



12 



PLUM ISLAND. 



• 



persons setting fires on said island, whereby the shrubs and grass 
are destroyed and open a course to the sea and sand, which if not 
prevented may overrun and destroy said estate and interest,' to the 
great loss of the proprietors and no small [damage J [prejudice] 
of the publick : for remedy whereof 

Be it enacted by His Excellency, the Governor etc. 

[Sect. I] That from and after the publication of this act 
no person shall presume to turn or drive any neat cattle, horses' 
sheep or swine upon said island or beach, to feed at large there' 
upon penalty of twenty shillings a head for all neat cattle' and for 
every horse or mare, and five shillings a head for every sheep 
or swine so turned to feed at large upon said island or beach- 
which penalty [ies] shall be recovered by any one of said proprie- 
tors or their agents being thereunto lawfully authorized, the one 
half of the forfeiture to be to him that shall inform and sue for 
the same, the other half to be for the use of the poor of the town, 
where the beach lies, so trespassed on. 

[Sect. 2.] That it shall and may be lawful to and for any of 
the owners and proprietors of the said island, if they shall find 
any cattle, horse-kind, sheep or swine going at large upon the 
island or beach aforesaid, to impound the same, and to give publick 
notice thereof in the said town and the two next adjoining towns, 
and shall relieve the said creatures while impounded, with ^suitable 
meat and water; and if the owner thereof shall appear, he shall 
pay the sum of twenty shillings for each head of neat cattle or 
horse-kind, five shillings for each sheep, and five shillings for each 
swine found feeding as aforesaid, and costs of impounding the 
same ; and if no owner appear within the space of six days to 
redeem the said cattle, horse-kind, sheep or swine so impounded, 
and to pa}' damage and costs occasioned by impounding the same, 
then and in every such case, any of the aforesaid proprietors 
impounding such cattle, horse-kind, sheep or swine, shall cause the 
s un< to be sold at publick vendue for payment of the damage . . . 
(publick notice of the time and place of such sale in said town 
. h. i ; the cattle are impounded, being given forty-eight hours 
before hand) .... provided, that the penalty for cattle, horse- 
kind, sheep and swine, impounded as aforesaid, shall not be con- 
strued to extend to any such as are truly belonging to any of the 
inhabitants of said island, and fed in their inclosures, but that all 

such cattle breaking their inclosures and found feeding 

at large in said island, and therefore impounded, shall be liable 
only for damages and costs as in other cases of cattle found 
damage f eazant : an3'thing in this act to the contrary notwith- 
standing. 

[Sect. 3.] That every person or persons who shall, during the 
continuance of this act, be convicted of setting fire to any part 
of said beach-grass, bushes or shrubs growing thereon, shall for- 
feit the sum of ten pounds but whereas, the small 

wood, shrubs and bushes, are of great service to prevent the sands 
being blown on the said meadow — 

Be it further enacted — 

[Sect. 4.] That whoever shall be convicted of cutting down 
any bushes, shrubs or tree under the dimensions of six inches 
diameter, growing on said beach or marsh, shall forfeit and pay 
the sum of ten shillings for each bush, shrub or tree .... 



MIDDLE ISLAND. 13 

[Sect. 5.] This act to continue and be in force for the space 
of five years from the publication thereof and no longer. 
(Published December 29, 1739) 

This Act was extended repeatedly for various periods until 
November, 1785, and probably much later. 



MIDDLE ISLAND 

On this Island, as it was called, now known as the Cross farm, 
or Jackman farm, from Reuben Jackman, a tenant or lessee, 
Captain Simon Wainwright of Haverhill conveyed to John Pen- 
gry, in exchange for land in Haverhill, "a parcel of upland and 
meadow or marsh at Middle Island, which my father, Mr. Fran- 
cis Wainwright of Ipswich purchased of John Brown and Wil- 
liam Buckley," Jan. 24, 1693 (23:280). John Brown's deed de- 
scribes his transfer as "2 division lots, single lots, one upland the 
other marsh, lying at the end of Middle Island, towards the Iliver, 
one, No. 29, granted to John Whipple, the other No. 30, granted to 
John Brown, bounded by the division lots of James Chute, north, the 
river and creek, west and south, lots of Thomas Burnham and John 
Leigh, east," April 22: 1668 (23:70). 

Two years after his purchase from Capt. Wainwright, John 
Pengry bought of his brother, Moses Pengry of Newbury, two lots 
of upland, 6 acres, adjoining each other on Middle Island, bounded 
east by the Sea, west by Thomas Newmarch's upland. March 6, 
1695 (11:144). He built a farm house and barn, and established 
as tenant, one Amos Goodye, whose name variously spelled Gaudea, 
Garding, Goodwin, Gourdine and Gody, appears in the list of Major 
Appleton's men in the Narragansett Winter campaign in 1675. 

The farm was further enlarged by the purchase of adjoining 
lots, and on February 5, 1712-13, when he sold to Nathaniel Emerson 
of Gloucester, (27:90) it comprised some 20 acres of upland and 
marsh, with the land he purchased of Capt. Wainwright, bounded 
east by "the fence standing on the sea side or as far as my bounds 
extends to the sea ward," reaching over to Plum Island River, and 
Middle Island Creek, with house, barn, fences, trees, springs, etc. 
A lot formerly Newmarsh's was not included in the sale. 

Nathaniel Emerson is an interesting figure in Plum Island an- 
nals. He was a member of the Ipswich family bearing that honored 
name. He had married Martha W r oodward in 1685 and a goodly 
family had been born to them. 

Nathaniel, born Dec. 26, 1686. 



14 



PLUM ISLAND. 



Stephen, 

Joseph, born June 26, 1690. 

Mary, born Jan. 19, 1691-2. 

Broster, born June 28, 1695. 

Mary, born Dec. 18, 1697. 

Hannah, born Dec. 5, 1698. 

Ann or Annah, born Sept. 4, 1700. 

The children were all born in Ipswich, but some time prior to 
1712 Mr. Emerson had removed to Gloucester. When he bought the 
farm on Middle Island and removed his family thither, we may pre- 
sume, he was fifty-five years old, his three eldest sons had grown to 
man's estate, Broster was seventeen. His daughters were still in their 
girlhood. Nathaniel, the eldest son, married Elizabeth Whipple, 
daughter of Joseph Whipple, (intention Nov. 19, 1715). Their chil- 
dren were Elizabeth, Sarah, Mary, Martha, Priscilla, Joseph, Isaac, 
Priscilla, Hannah, Nathaniel. 

Stephen married Mary and their children were Stephen, 

baptized Dec. 1, 1728, died Jan. 7, 1732-3, Mary and Anstice. 
Stephen's wife, Mary, died Oct. 22, 1732, and on Oct. 16, 1735, he 
married the widow Lydia Numan or Norman of Boston. 

Joseph Emerson, the third son, was a sailor in early life, but 
he bought three acres of upland, adjoining his father's farm on the 
west side, of John Newmarch, Feb. 24, 1719-20 (37:87). Two years 
later he married Abigail Perls ins (intention Dec. 15, 1722). Though 
his land holding was small, he made his home on the Island. Their 
children were 

Abraham, baptized Nov. 13, 1726. 

Isaac, died July 12, 1730. 

Broster, baptized April 12, 1730. 

Abigail, baptized August 29, 1731. 

Susanna, baptized January 14, 1732-3. 

Isaac, baptized May 11, 1735. 

The Town Becord notes that the two last were born on Plum 
Island. 

Joseph Emerson married a second wife, Mehitable Wheeler of 
Gloucester (intention Feb. 27, 1746) and their son, Joseph, was bap- 
tized Nov. 26, 1752. Mr. Emerson sold 7\< 2 acres of upland to Joseph 
Noyes 3d of Newbury, May 4, 1736 (74:61) and bought 4V 2 acres 
of upland, adjoining the land just sold, of the heirs of MajoT Fran- 
cis Wainwright, "originally laid out to John Newmarsh." May 18, 
1736 (70:186). 

Broster Emerson, the fourth son of Nathaniel and Martha, mar- 
ried Thankful Howland, "resident in Ipswich," April 4, 1728. On 



MIDDLE ISLAND. 15 

October 5th, only six months after his marriage, lie was drowned 
at Plum Island, in the thirty-fourth year of his age. The young 
widow put off her mourning weeds the next year, and became the 
second wife of Ebenezer Smith, on July 2, 1729. He built and occu- 
pied the house now owned and occupied by Charles A. Brown. 

Hannah Emerson married Michael Farley, Jr., a second wife 
April 15, 1724, and Ann became the second wife of Benjamin Stud- 
ley (intention, June 2, 1739). 

Nathaniel Emerson, styled husbandman, brother of Broster, was 
appointed Administrator of his estate, his sureties being Michael 
Farlow, styled fuller, his brother-in-law, and his brother, Joseph, 
styled laborer. The papers filed by the administrator, preserved in 
the Probate Office, give an interesting though painful picture of the 
family life. Nathaniel and Broster were fishermen, or fishermen and 
farmers, and both, apparently, made their homes on the Island. 
Broster was the principal figure. The Middle Island upland sloped 
gradually to the sheltered cove, formed by the junction of Stage and 
Pine Creeks. Here, in snug and safe anchorage, lay his sloops, Sea 
Flower and Hope. At high tide, they could be unloaded at the wharf. 
Near by were the fish-house, where the salt and other supplies were 
stored, and the flakes or stages, on which the fish were dried. 

One fishing trip at least was made to Winter Harbor, the two 
brothers sharing in the expense. They had accounts with Samuel 
Wainwright, the Ipswich merchant, who supplied 6 hogsheads of 
Lisbon salt at 34 Shillings a hogshead on one charge, with Hovey 
and Studley of Ipswich, and with James Bowdoin of Boston. 

The estate proved to be bankrupt and the reason is not hard to 
find. Broster was the victim of his love for strong drink. His 
meagre inventory contains the ominous items, 

35 bbls. and a half of Sider at 14| 21—19—0 

115 lb. of tobacco at 6| 2—17—6 

Daniel Ringe had an account 

July 21, 1727 to Paim to himself 2— 4— G 

July 26, 1727 to Bum to himself 0—10—0 

Merchant James Bowdoin, having advanced large supplies of 

salt and fishing tackle had hypothecated his sloop, the Sea Flower, 

before February, 1726-7. 

The inventory and accounts have items of interest, 
one sloop with Boads, ankers, & tackles belonging 

to her with the flout 110—0—0 

19 bushels of meale at 5{6 5— 3— <> 

2 bushels & a half of beans at 8| 1—0—0 

31/2 bushels of apples 0—6—0 






16 



IVLUM ISLAND. 



arms and ammunition 30 j books 3| 1 13 

old Lins and Leds 3 — 3 

one net 1 — o— 

Oct. 21-2, 1728 to getting prizers and going with them on 

board the Hope, time and expense. — 7 — 

to two Jorneys to town to make up with Hovey and 

Studley and expense 7 

Oct. 21-2 to funeral Carge for the father and child 

to 13 pair of gloves at 4|G 2 18 6 

to 9 gallons of wine at 6| 2 14 

to delivering the Hope & expenses — 5 — 

On January 15, 1730, Nathaniel Emerson, Senior, purchased of 
Nathaniel Knowlton, the southwest half of a dwelling and about 
half an acre of land on Jeffrey's Neck, "being in present tenure & 
possession of sd. Nathaniel Emerson, bounded by the stake fish 
fence & other neck lots southwest and northwest and northeast on 
the other half of said Neck lot and dwelling house, south east by 
the river." (55:177). He acquired the other half of the house, and 
as he had a license to sell liquor, it is a very reasonable conjecture 
that it afforded lodging and good cheer to the men employed at the 
fishery. He sold this house and land and his house, barn and 20 
acres of land in Middle Island to his son, Stephen, April 11, 1738 
(75:243). He died on Sept. lGth of the same year, at the age of 
81 years 1 month. A depression, which probably marks the site 
of the cellar of the Jeffrey's Neck house, is readily seen on the 
slope of the hill, east of the rows of stones, which separated the 
flake or stage lots of the ancient fishery. 

Stephen Emerson's deed from his father conveyed about 20 
acres of land and marsh adjoining with the dwelling, barn and 
out-buildings. When he sold to Ealph Cross of Newbury, January 
31, 1739-40 (96:174) he gave title to 35 acres of upland and 28 acres 
of marsh, including marsh and thateh, which the Commoners 
claimed thirty years afterward, as will be noted. 

A few months after Stephen Emerson sold to Ralph Cross, on 
May 20, 1740, (99:72) Francis Goodhue Jr. and his wife, Elizabeth, 
gave a quitclaim deed "to our honored parents, Nathaniel and Eliza- 
beth Emerson," of Mrs. Goodhue's right in the estate of her grand- 
father, Joseph Whipple, Joiner. It seems probable that Nathaniel 
was in ocupancy at the time. Be that as it may, the Emerson family 
seems to have completed its part in Plum Island history, and nothing 
remains to mark their residence but the name, Emerson's Rocks, 
which still attaches to the rocky point, projecting from the beach 
into the sea. 



MIDDLE ISLAND. 



17 



The Emersons were succeeded by four generations of the Cross 
family, Ralph Cross enlarged his Plum Island farm by many pur- 
chases, though he seems to have retained his residence in Newbury, 
where he was a ship-builder. He bought 5V 2 acres of marsh of 
Daniel Hodgkins, bounded by the Sea and Pine Creek, May i) : 1750 
(101:124) ; 6 acres of marsh of John Wood, Juue 1: 175:2 (102: 10) ; 
6 acres of marsh of Thomas Perrin, inherited from his grandfather, 
Thomas Perrin, bounded by the Sea, and his own land on the south, 
Sept. 26, 1754, (100:174) ; a marsh lot from William Foster, bounded 
south by his own, Dec. 6 : 1758 (110 :112) ; 3 acres marsh from Eliza- 
beth, widow and executrix of Francis Cogswell, abutting on his land, 
March 12, 1759 (110:112) ; 9% acres of marsh from Mark Haskell 
Jr., bounded by the Sea and south-west by his land, Dec. 26:1760 
(110:110), and a "certain parcel of thatch ground and flats in Plum 
Island," already included in Emerson's deed to him, but which was 
evidently included in the undivided common land, and the Common- 
ers, by vote on Jan. 10, 1769, quit-claimed to him, April 24 : 1769 
(126:274). Mr. Cross also purchased upland in the Rowley division 
of Plum Island from Nathaniel and Henry Dole, in 1741, and later 
additions were also made. 

Ralph Cross, son of Ralph, succeeded his father in the owner- 
ship, and made further enlargement by purchases from Ebenezer 
Caldwell, Stephen Dole and Parker Jaques. Ralph Cross, Collector 
of Customs, Newburyport, bequeathed the residue of his estate, 
including the Middle Island farm, to his sons and daughters, Wil- 
liam, Ralph, Ebenezer and Robert, Clarinda, Sarah Johnson and 
Miriam Cutter. 

(Will proved, Nov. 4: 1811. Pro. Rec. 381:356) 
The farm was well stocked with twenty-three sheep, a dozen 
cows, seven oxen, young stock, etc. William Cross, son and sur- 
viving executor of the will of Ralph Cross, Esq., late of Newburyport, 
sold at public auction to Stephen Cross, Gentleman, of Newburyport, 
for $1750, the Cross farm, "all the upland in that part of Plum 
Island within the Town of Ipswich,. called Middle Island, with all 
the flats and marsh adjoining containing by estimation 150 acres, 
together with all the upland and meadow belonging to said Cross 
within the Town of Rowley, 100 acres, more or less," April 11 : 1818 
(217:300). 

William Cross acquired possession of the Cross farm, and added 
to his holding, 10 acres in the Bar Island marshes, by purchase from 
William Burnham, and his wife, Christiana, of Lanesville, Ohio, 
July 29, 1818 (219:288), and 9 acres marsh bounded by the "Beach 
at high' water mark," April 3: 1823 (232:57). He sold 2% acres, 
meadow or upland, adjoining Bar Island Creek, beginning at a 



"^ PLUM ISLAND. 

stake "on the north east side of what is called the wading place 
over said creek, on a line north east through my own land to tl 
upland or sand knolls, thence on the south side of the sand knolls 
to Russell s meadow by said meadow to Bar Island Creek and by 

T*oa Zlt t0 !** firSt " t0 DaniCl L ° rd and Daniel L ™™* . April I 
1829. (252:23). The "wading place," still used as a forci at low 
tide, is a little north of the foot-bridge over Stage Island Creek 

The heirs of William Cross sold the farm, which had been owned 
by four successive generations, the original purchase by Ralph in 
1751, then by Ralph, his son, then by William, and last by William's 
heirs, to James Fowler, master mariner, and Stephen Osgood, caulk- 
er, both of Salisbury, March 25, 1833 (271:74). Robert Cross of 
Amesbury, Executor, quit-claimed to the same, October 1, 1835 
(286:156), and they sold the same premises, "except a lot of marsh 
sold to E. Kimball and others," to Daniel Dole, October 9- 1835 
(286:156). 

During the latter years of the Cross ownership, Mr. Jeremiah 
Spiller, and his wife, Elizabeth, were the tenants or lessees of the 
farm. One child of their numerous family, Mary Elizabeth, who 
became the wife of the late John H. Blake, was born there, in the 
old farm house that preceded the present dwelling, on December 12, 
1831. The venerable woman, still hale and hearty, remembers that 
the story was always told that on account of stress of weather, the 
Doctor was obliged to remain three days as the guest of the family. 
Mr. Spiller remained on the farm two years later but no other child 
began life in the island home. 



GRAPE ISLAND 



It has been noteda that in the Petition to the General Court in 
1679, it is stated that the people of Ipswich and Newbury were im- 
proving the whole of Plum Island by cutting the grass, "and some 
of Ipswich by planting some small parcels thereof." As the upland of 
Grape Island is so nearly isolated by the two creeks, Pine Creek and 
Grape Island Creek, a small amount of fencing would have secured 
the planted fields from any invasion by roaming cattle or horses. 
Very naturally, therefore, the first definite trace of farming opera- 
tions is found here. 

Jacob Perkins Sen. by grant and purchase acquired possession 
of several lots. On March 23d, 1685, being then sixty-one years old, 
he conveyed to his son, Matthew, half of two division lots, one a 

sPage 10 



GRAPE ISLAND. j 9 

six acre lot that fell to Mr. William Hubbard, the other, a 4% acre 
lot, "that was my own division lot, adjoining the lot that fell to 
Thomas Hart Sen. southeast, Samuel Hunt's marsh, northwest, 
the pines, northeast," (7:147). Jacob Perkins, son of Jacob, re- 
ceived the other half of the six acre lot, it may be presumed, as 
he sold to Major Wainwright one half a six acre marsh lot, which 
he and his brother had bought of their father, Sergeant Jacob 
Perkins, bounded west by Grape Island, north, the marsh formerly 
of Col. Thomas Wade, east, the beach, south, the marsh of Ensign 
Thomas Hart (Sept. 8: 1698, 13: 149). 

It will be noted that in the earlier of these deeds, the east bound 
was the Pines, in the later, the Beach. At that time a very consid- 
erable growth of pines, many of which exceeded six inches in diam- 
eter,* extended down the Island between the marsh land and the 
Beach. Proprietorship in this woodland was a mooted question. 
Some deeds gave the Sea as the eastern bound of this range of lots, 
others gave the Beach, and others the Pines. The discussion of this 
question is reserved, until the land ownerships have been studied. 

Jacob Perkins made further conveyance of lots at Grape Island, 
upland and marsh, to Jacob and Matthew, March 13: 1693 (9:271). 
The brothers made division. "Agreed that Jacob's part on the end 
of y e island next the Knobs lyeth next to Daniel Hovey's land." 
Matthew's part included "both ends of said lots and at the end of 
Grape Island, the poynt of y e Island" March 20: 1693 (13:108). 
Matthew Perkins bought of Col. John Wainwright in April, 1699 
(16:177), the 3% acre lot of upland, which Wainwright had pur- 
chased of Benedict Pulsifer, March 30, 1698 (13:27), bounded, south 
by Matthew Perkins, north by Thomas Hovey, and on November 6, 
1699, he added to it three acres more of upland, by purchase from 
John Annable, "limb-dresser," his brother-in-law, "the whole division 
lot that fell to Samuel Taylor, deceased, on Grape Island, bounded 
Southwest by Plum Island Elver, northwest by the upland which fell 
to Abraham Foster, northeast, by the ends of the marsh lots, south- 
east by that lot that fell to Benedictus Pulsifer," (16 :176). 

Matthew acquired also his brother Jacob's holding and sold to 
Major Francis Wainwright, "all the Island called Grape Island, being 
in Plum Island, excepting what marsh lots appertain to some par- 
ticular persons in Ipswich also the present year's 

rent from Luke Perkins, a Tenant upon said Island, which is five 
pounds in money, with the dwelling house on Grape Island," October 
11:1701 (16:37). 

Luke Perkins, son of Quarter Master John, and his wife, Eliza- 

4Page 12 



20 



PLUM ISLAND. 



beth, had been notorious disturbers of the peace of Ipswich. She 
was a woman of venomous tongue. At the Quarter Sessions Court 
March 29, 1681, she had been "presented" for "saying G f her father 
and mother, and Abraham,* Jacob and Sarah Perkins" that she 

wished they were all tied bale to bak that she might see them car- 
ried to the gallos thar to be hung. 

What do you tell me of father & mother tell me of the divell and so 
said that her mother had one foot in hell all redy and the other 
would be thear quickly. 

She made scandalous charges of gross immorality against Rev. 
Mr. Cobbett, Pastor of the Ipswich church, and her husband dared 
affirm that "Mr. Cobit was more fitt to be in a hog sty than in a 
pulpit." 

The Grand Jury found against her for many "most opprobrious 
and scandalous words of an high nature ag st Mr. Cobbitt and her 
husband's natural parents, and others of his relations, which was 
proved and in part owned." 

Sentence was passed by the Court : 

That a due testimony may be borne against such a virulent, re- 
proachfull and wicked tongued woman, this Court doth sentence 
said Elizabeth to be severely whipped on her naked body, and to 
stand or sitt the next Lecture day in some open place in the public 
meeting house at Ipswich and when the Court shall direct, the whole 
time of the service with a paper pinned on her head, written in 
capital letters, for reproaching ministers, parents & relations. 

The corporal punishment was remitted for a £3 fine but the 
remainder of the sentence was no doubt executed. Mr. Perkins 
was charged with theft before the Court in November, 1683, and in 
the following year was presented for misbehaviour at the Inn of 
Quarter Master Perkins. Abraham rerluns brought suit against 
his brother, Luke, in March, 1686, regarding a house and land. 
It was a happy day for old Ipswich when Luke and Elizabeth 
loaded their goods and chattels into a boat and set sail for the 
solitary Island farm. 

In the apportionment of Major Wainwright's estate, Crape 
Island was assigned to his daughter, Lucy, wife of Samuel Waldo 
of Boston. They sold to Samuel Dutch, bricklayer, for £300, 22 
acres, comprising the whole upland, bounded by the River and 
the salt marsh, Eeb. 6: 1734 (68:1). The southeast bound was 
Lieut. Simon Wood's marsh, and the name Wood's Point was re- 
tained for many years. Dutch sold to "Nathaniel Tread well, inn- 
holder, and John Smith y e 4 th , yeoman," with "y e house and barn 
and all fence," November 17, 1736 (71:238). 

5Abraham and Jacob were sons of Quarter Master John, and brothers 
of Luke. Jacob Jr. married Sarah Wainwright, 1067. 



GRAPE ISLAND. 21 

Captain John Smith died July 11, 1768. He bequeathed to his 
son, Cheny, his half interest in Grape Island (Pro. Kec. 345:30). 
Cheny Smith conveyed a quarter of Grape Island and a quarter of 
the marsh adjoining, "incumpassed in all parts by the River," to 
his brother, Charles, March 30, 1771 (129:100). Charles acquired 
the other quarter, and sold an undivided half of the Island, with 
no mention of buildings, to John Appleton, Jr., "beginning at the 
north-west end, running by a large ditch to Wade's Island, so 
called, thence by Grape Island Creek to Wood's Point," etc., Feb. 
18, 1783 (140:115). 

Nathaniel Treadwell, the owner of the other half, bequeathed 
this, "with all my marsh owned in partnership with Charles Smith, 
which was purchased by Newman and Harris," to his son, Aaron, 
(will signed July 8, 1771, Pro. Rec. 352:316), who sold to John 
Appleton, Jr., November 28, 1789 (151:145). 

John Appleton, Jr., now the sole owner of Grape Island, died 
from the effects of a fall, April 12, 1798. In the division of his 
estate, his sister, Lucy, wife of Abraham How Jr. (intention, Dec. 
14, 1752), received 17 acres, upland and marsh, the north half 
of Grape Island, and his sister, Elizabeth, wife of Aaron Tread- 
well, (intention April 18, 1767), received the south half, 27 acres 
of upland and marsh (Oct. 2, 1798, Pro. Pec. 366:138). 

Nathaniel Howe of Hopkinton sold to Josiah Caldwell and 
Manning Dodge the 17 acres inherited by his mother, devised to him 
by his mother, Dec. 7, 1824, part conveyed to him by his sister, 
Lucy Boynton, April 13, 1825 (239:25) and also the remaining 
third part, Feb. 6, 1833 (268:147). Dodge sold his half to Caldwell 
May 15, 1835 (282:302). John Henry Dunnels conveyed the same 
to Moses N. Adams of Newbury with buildings for $500, March 12, 
1841 (323:185). Moses N. Adams sold to Eben Adams and Charles 
W. Adams of Newbury for $1500, May 15, 1851 (446:54), who con- 
veyed to Elizabeth Adams, wife of Moses N., April 1, 1852 (644:24). 
Mrs. Adams died August 18, 1879, leaving as her heirs her children, 
Walter S. and Elizabeth C. Adams. Moses N. Adams, Walter and 
Elizabeth sold to Thomas Mackinny of Newburyport for $3400 16 
acres and buildings, May 15, 1880 (1038:101). George W. Piper 
and William F. Houston, Trustees of the Mackinny estate sold to 
James P. Cammett, Nov. 30, 1906 (1853:223). 

Moses N. Adams and Elizabeth sold an acre on the south side 
of their land, extending from Plum Island Paver to Grape Island 
Creek, 10y 2 rods wide, to Robert Gilmore of Ipswich, cordwainer, Nov. 
5, 1862 (644:25). Robert Gilmore, then of Haverhill, sold to R. S. 
Spofford Jr., Sept. 25, 1865 (691:1). Albert C. Titcomb sold the 



22 PLUM ISLAND. 

same, which had been devised to him by the will of R. S. Spofford, 
to Charles A. Bayley, Dec. 11, 189G (1498:518). 

The southern part of Grape Island, it has been said, was in- 
herited by Elizabeth Treadwell, wife of Aaron, from her brother, 
John Appleton, about 27 acres of upland and marsh. Aaron Tread- 
well bequeathed it to his children, Nathaniel, Elizabeth, wife of 
William Sutton of Danvers, and Hannah, wife of Capt. Daniel 
Lord Jr., and Lucy Treadwell, daughter of Hannah by a former 
marriage to Nathaniel Treadwell 3d. Nathaniel Treadwell and 
Mrs. Sutton received each a third, Mrs. Lord and her daughter, 
each a sixth. Nathaniel and Mrs. Lord quitclaimed their interest 
to Mrs. Sutton, March 11, 1835 (871:109). (Pro. Record June 5, 
1821, 404:430). After the death of her husband, Mrs. Sutton mar- 
ried John Baker 3d, inten. Feb. 7, 1835. John Baker, called Jr., 
and Elizabeth in her own right quitclaimed to Aaron Morse and 
Stephen Stephens, five acres of upland, "conveyed to Nathaniel 
Treadwell in the partition of his father's estate, and a certain 
other upland lot, 3% acres, bounded north on land of Moses Adams, 
south on land of Hannah Lord, being all of lot numbered one, con- 
veyed to Elizabeth (Sutton) Baker in said partition, with adjoin- 
ing marsh, containing on the west side about one acre, on the east 
side about three quarters of an acre," Sept. 14, 1844 (347:221). 
Stephens quitclaimed his interest in both lots to Morse, March 28, 
1845 (352:136). 

Joseph H. Smith bought the 3*4 acre lot of Morse, April 26, 
1849 (410:235), and sold to Morse a small piece in the southwest 
corner, 4 12-17 rods wide on Plum Island river, 17 rods deep ori 
land of Moses N. Adams, June 6, 1849 (413:205). In the deed ofi 
Ida E. Small to Nettie A. Richardson Johnson, August 20, 1914, 
(2285:60) this small lot is given as owned by the heirs of Stephens 
and Leet. 

Joseph H. Smith sold to Charles Wade a small lot, 69 feet wide 
on Plum Island River, 55 feet deep on the heirs of Morse, April 14, 
1855 (510:283), which was conveyed by Wade to Elias Smith, Octo- 
ber 4, 1856 (539:196), and by him with a building to Moses N. 
Adams, August 6, 1860 (613:61). Mr. Adams acquired possession 
of the remainder of the lot, originally 3*4 acres, but now reduced in 
size by the sale of these two small lots, and sold to Josiah S. Hardy, 
April 1, 1857 (550:230). By power of sale given by Hardy, Moses 
N. Adams conveyed the same, "being the larger portion of that 
lot conveyed to Joseph H. Smith by Aaron Morse, Sept. 23, 1851, 
and being the entire lot conveyed to said Hardy by me, April 1, 
1857, being premises now occupied by Josiah S. Hardy," with build- 
ing to Charles A. Nason, Aug. 22, 1859 (593 :138). 



■''hi 




STAGE ISLAND. 23 

Nason sold to Moses N. Adams, July 21, 1864 (671:226), who 
conveyed to Richard S. Spofford Jr. of Newburyport, April 3, 1865 
(681:293), with the smaller lot purchased by him of Elias Smith. 
Mr. Spofford sold the land and building- to James Small of New- 
bury, July 16, 1868 (752:20). Samuel S. Small bought the interest 
of the other heirs in the estate of the late James Small, in April 
and May, 1870 and April, 1871 (795:239, 797:155, 821:89). Ida E. 
Small, administratrix of the estate of Samuel S. Small, sold 3% 
acres with the house to Mrs. Nettie A. Richardson Johnson, Augnst 
20, 1914 (2285:60). James R. Small, Charles A. Bailey and his wife, 
Emma J., in her own right, Samuel Kilborn and his wife, Hannah 
E., in her right, and Carrie S. Leet, widow, sold to Mrs. Johnson, 
9 acres of marsh, inherited from their father, Samuel S. Small, and 
5 acres of marsh, in two lots, Sept. 23, 1914 (2285:61). 

Lucy A. Treadwell, legatee in her grandfather's will, married Is- 
rael K. Jewett. Her heirs, Lucy S. and Elizabeth C. Jewett and others, 
sold 2% acres upland with 3 acres of adjoining marsh and another 
piece of marsh, 3 acres on the south side of the upland, to John D. 
Kilborn, Feb. 5, 1892 (1336:372). Kilborn sold to James R. Small, 
a strip 80 feet wide, on the northern side of the lot, Oct. 10, 1896 
(1494:94). 

The adjoining five acre lot, it has been noted, was sold by 
John Baker and his wife, Elizabeth, to Aaron Morse and Stephen 
Stephens. Stephens quitclaimed his interest to Morse, March 28, 
1845 (352:136). 

Two years later, Morse sold the same to Stephen Stevens of 
Chelmsford, November 10, 1847 (389:298). The administrator of 
the Stephens estate sold the five acre lot, with buildings, except 
two on leased land, to James A. Leet Jr., Nov. 12, 1878 (1011:94), 
who bought of Micajah Treadwell 9% acres of marsh, reserving the 
right to Charles Wade to sell or remove his house now standing 
upon the premises within three months from the date thereof, 
April 25, 1874 (903:25). Leet sold the 14 acres with buildings to 
Samuel Kilborn, Feb. 24, 1886 (1168:287), who conveyed to John W. 
Post, September 11, 1896 (1498:518). 



STAGE ISLAND 

The choicest portion of Plum Island, the large level fields, with 
the smooth, sandy beach on Plum Islnnd River arid the deep tidal 
creek on the east side, now known as "The Bluffs," was called Stage 
Island originally. The name was due without doubt to the early 



24 PLUM ISLAND. 

use of this convenient location for the drying of fish on the fish- 



The first mention of private ownership is the Town Record in 
the year 1664, when the division into lots was made : 

Twyford West is possessed of his division lott at Plumbe Island 
upon Stage Island, being a middle lott haveing the divission lott 
of Thomas Lovell toward the West a creeke toward the North the 
divission lott of Mr. John Paine on the East and Cornett Whipple 
his divission lott toward the South being pt. marsh and pt upland 
to enjoy to him and to his heires. 

John Pengry, who had already begun his purchases of lots at 
Middle Island, bought six acres of upland of Dea. William Goodhue 
Sen. "being the eastward end of an Island commonly called Stage 
Island ..." Feb. 17, 1692 (10:21). This included a lot, which was 
claimed by Jacob Foster, that was formerly Twiford West's. In 
consideration of this defect in title, William Goodhue 3d, grandson 
of Dea. William, conveyed to Pengry 9 acres of marsh, bounded 
southwest on the land in question in part, and partly on land 
Pengry had purchased of Lovell, and otherwise by Stage Creek, and 
land which Pengry purchased of Dea. Goodhue, Jan. 11, 1698-9 
(15:50). Pengry was in possession of the Lovell lot in 1695, when 
he bought of his brother, Moses Pengry, of Newbury, three acres of 
upland, "having land of John Pengry, formerly Thomas Lovell" 
southeast, Plum Island River, southwest, his own land, west, Stage 
Creek, north, March 16, 1695 (11:144). 

Mr. Pengry acquired the whole of the upland and adjoining 
marsh and built a dwelling. On March 1, 1732, he sold "a certain 
Island or parcel of upland, salt marsh ground and thatch bank, 
known by the name of Stage Island on Plum Island, about fifty 
acres," bounded by the River, Stage Island Creek and marsh lately 
Daniel Hovey's, with the dwelling house standing thereon, to Ben- 
jamin Wheeler of Gloucester, mariner (79:120), who sold to Wil- 
liam Dodge, May 18, 1747 (90:142). 

Mr. Dodge was a wealthy merchant, who had large commercial 
and fishing interests. The Inventory of his estate, filed April 3, 
1780 (Pro. Rec. 354:77), contains the items: 

1 sheepshire boat with her appurtenances — 72 — 

the schooner, Rebecca, 400 — — 

one-half brigandine, Nabby 400—0—0 

one gondola 6 18 8 

one Moses boat 9 ° ° 

130 bushels salt @ 42 1 273—0—0 

one-half warehouse at the Neck 12—0—0 

negro man servant, Scipio 30—0—0 



BAR ISLAND. 25 

His business was probably located at Stage Island as well as 
the Neck. Mr. Dodge bequeathed to his son, Col. Isaac Bodge, "the 
land I purchased of Benjamin Wheeler." (Will signed March 13, 
1773, Pro. Rec. 352:375). Col. Dodge was a prominent citizen! 
actively engaged in many business enterprises. He enlarged the 
Stage Island farm by many additional lots. 

He bought 4% acres of salt marsh of Joseph Hovey, bounded 
northeast by the Sea, and southeast by his own land, Feb. 22 1773 
(140:121) ; 4 acres of salt marsh and thatch of Nathaniel Cross, ad- 
joining his own land on Plum Island River, bounded by the Creek, 
northeast, July 14, 1777 (142:140); 8 acres of marsh in two lots 
from the estate of Moses Fitts, June 24, 1778 (140:122), and on 
Feb. 12, 1783 (140:119) the whole of Bar Island with out-lying 
marsh, 60 acres in all, from Benjamin Abbot of Pownalboro. This 
large tract began at "the wading place, so called," the line running 
south by the creek to Richard Sutton's marsh, to the southeast 
corner of Sutton's marsh, and by marsh of Hovey to the Sea, and by 
the shore line to Sandy Point and the first bounds. 



BAR ISLAND 

Bar Island was divided into several lots in the apportionment 
of 1664. Thomas Treadwell sold 6 acres of upland to Mercy, the 
widow of Amos Goodye, the former tenant on the Pengry farm on 
Middle Island^ August 1, 1717 (36:131), bounded by the Sea on the 
east and southeast. Nathaniel Emerson sold the same lot to 
Benjamin Studley, ship-wright, January 7, 1734 (69:201). On 
November 29, 1734 (67:234), Mr. Studley bought 4% acres adjoining 
his land on the west, which John Newmarsh, son of Zaccheus, had 
set off to his sister, Martha Legro, on Nov. 28, and Philip and Martha 
Legro conveyed to him the following day. He bought of Nathaniel 
Emerson 4y 2 acres of marsh "formerly the Young lot," adjoining 
the Newmarsh lot on the north, Sept. 5, 1737 (89:254). 

Benjamin Studley had married Elizabeth Dutch, daughter of 
Benjamin Dutch, intention Nov. 20, 1714. Their family experience 
was singularly sorrowful. They had thirteen children, of whom two 
only, Elizabeth and John, lived to mature years. Eight, including 
three Benjamins, two Josephs, and Nathaniel, died in early infancy, 
within a few months after birth. A second Nathaniel attained the 
age of four years and ten months. Sarah lived seven years and eight 
months. Benjamin, their first born, died at the age of eleven. Mrs. 



ePage 13. 



2G PLUM ISLAND. 

Studley died on March 29, 1737, and Mr. Studley married Ann, 
daughter of Nathaniel Emerson of the Middle Island farm, intention 
June 2, 1739. Her son, Nathaniel, was baptized June 29, 1740. 

Jeremiah Nelson acquired the Studley land and during his own- 
ership apparently, a house and other buildings were built on Bar 
Island. We wonder who dwelt on that lonely, wind-swept headland, 
the roar of the surf on the Bar always in their ears, rising to tones 
of thunder when driven by the winter gales, shut away from the 
world by deep snow and the ice-bound river ! Mr. Nelson sold the 
little farm, 30 acres of upland and marsh, with dwelling and barn, 
"also all fencing stuff, standing or lying on the premises," to 
Benjamin Wheeler of Gloucester, the former owner of Stage Island, 
Sept. 30, 1754 (101:287), who sold to Abraham Choate, March 28, 
1768 (125:229). This deed makes no mention of any buildings, and 
they may have disappeai-ed at this date. 

Abraham Choate bought a dozen acres, more or less, of salt- 
marsh and sand knolls, bounded by the creek, and from the wading- 
place to the Biver and then by the Biver, and another four acre lot 
near by of Nathaniel Cross, April 24, 1769 (125:232). He enlarged 
his holding until it included 60 acres of upland, marsh and thatch 
and sold to James Pickard, April 9, 1774 (132:250), who sold a half- 
interest in the same to Jeremiah Nelson of Ipswich, Nov. 30, 1778 
(140:100). Jeremiah Nelson of Pownalboro sold to Benjamin Abbot 
of Pownalboro, Jan. 7, 1783 (140:100) and he, as has been stated 
to Col. Isaac Dodge, Feb. 12, 1783 (140:119). 

Col. Dodge died on June 29, 1785 at the age of fifty-three. His 
large estate was divided among his heirs. Stage Island and Bar 
Island, comprising with the outlying salt marsh and thatch banks 
about 120 acres, fell to his daughter Elizabeth, who had married 
Capt. Jabez Treadwell, July 22, 1784. 

Capt. Jabez Treadwell and Elizabeth, in her own right, sold the 
Island property, 123 acres, to Ebenezer Sutton, yoeman, April 1, 1793 
(165 :50). He made his home here and died on the Island of old age, 
Sept. 6, 1811 at the age of eighty-three. During his occupancy 
Enoch Dole, it is said, built a dwelling for Beamsley Perkins, now 
known as "Willow Cottage." Mrs. Perkins, Mercy, daughter of 
Major Thomas Burnham, was the sister of Elizabeth, Capt. Jabez 
Treadwell's first wife, but there is no mention of a second dwelling 
in the Treadwell deed of conveyance to Mr. Sutton. The tidal creek 
that flows in back of the upland was known as Perkins's Creek. 

• Capt. Ebenezer Sutton, mariner and pilot, who brought the good 
ship "Ten Brothers," owned by William Dodge and others, safely 
up the Ipswich Biver in October, 1817, inherited Stage Island from 
his father. During his ownership, the most exciting episode of the 



BAR ISLAND. 27 

War of 1812 took place. A boat's crew from a British man-of-war, 
cruising- off the coast, landed at the Island and killed a cow. While 
they were preparing- to dress it and carry it to their boat, Robert 
Pitman, a half daft lad in Capt. Sutton's employ, bristled up to them 
and warned them that Capt. Sutton would soon be after them "with 
a passel of trainers." The officer in command annoyed by his per- 
sistence ordered his men to lire at him, but he escaped without a 
wound. The opportune appearance of some men on Jeffrey's Neck 
gave color to the lad's threat, and the invaders beat a hasty retreat, 
leaving their booty to the rightful owner. 

Capt. Sutton sold a half interest in the Island farm to Samuel 
Huse of Ipswich, yeoman, "reserving to Beamsley Perkins the use 
of the land under his dwelling house .... during his natural 
life and liberty to his heirs to take of the house from said land 
after his decease," May 1, 1815 (210:224). Capt. Sutton and Eliza- 
beth, Samuel Huse and Sally, sold to Capt. Joseph Gerrish of New- 
bury, master-mariner, making the same reservation as above to 
Beamsley Perkins, "with a right to pass in the path from Stage 
Island to Bar Island," Feb. 28, 1816 (210:225). 

Capt. Gerrish bought a six acre marsh lot of DanieTRoss, ad- 
joining his land on Plum Island River, Dec. 25, 1816 (212:252), and 
another lot and sold to Captain Daniel Lord, master mariner, and 
Daniel Lummus, joiner, 130 acres, and another 12 acre marsh lot on 
Bar Island Creek, March 20: 1828 (248:149). The new owners pro- 
ceeded at once to secure the adjoining lots, purchasing 9^ acres 
from Abraham Balch of Topsfield, Feb. 6, 1829 (252:25) ; 4^j acres 
from Ebenezer Lord Jr. and John Day, Feb. 13, 1829 (252:23) ; 9 
acres from John Lord Jr. and William Lummus, 3 acres from Daniel 
Russell and Sally, 9 acres from John Heard, 8% acres from Dr. John 
Manning of Gloucester, and 2 1 / 4 acres from William Cross of New- 
buryport at the wading place, on Feb. 14, 1829 (252:22-26), at a 
uniform price of $12 per acre. 

There seems to have been method in their madness. There was 
a prospect of a salt manufacturing scheme materializing here. 
Francis J. Oliver Esq. of Boston, a prominent merchant, bought 9 
acres in the Bar Island marshes from the executors of the will of 
Col. Timothy Pickering of Salem, at the regular price of $12 an 
acre, March 20, 1829 (252:26), and on April 14th Capt. Lord and Mr. 
Lummus sold him their large holding, nominally 300 acres, "the farm 
known as the Sutton farm, with marshes, sand beaches, flats, shores, 
buildings .... beginning at the west end of Sutton's Point on 
Stage Island, running east by the creek and across the same to marsh 
of William Cross, east by Cross's land over the sands to the beach 



28 



PLUM ISLAND. 



on Ipswich Bay, south by the Sea to Ipswich River, west by the 
River, north by Plum Island Sound to the first bound," (252:26). 
The shrewd Ipswich men paid a little over $1600, they sold for $2500. 



THE SALT COMPANY 

The manufacture of salt by the evaporation of sea water is an 
ancient industry, which is still in vogue. In the year 1652, Deacon 
Moses Pengry received a grant from the Town of 

a parcel of land by the ware house, below Obadiah Woods fence to 
set up his salt pans and works and fence in his wood also liberty to 
fell wood out of the swamp near the Town for his use. 

Fires were kept burning under large boilers day and night, and 
the water was gradually evaporated, leaving a residuum of pure 
salt. These primitive salt works were by the river side, near the 
Town landing now used by the motor boats. 

Captain James Hudson of Newbury established salt works in 
that town, and the industry was of such importance that Ipswich 
voted £8 in 1769 to assist him in carrying on the works he had lately 
erected. In 1777, Rev. Nathaniel Whitaker of Salem petitioned for 
a grant of a large section of "sunken marsh," near Jeffrey's Neck, 
that he might erect and carry on large salt works, "which all must 
see is most necessary for the Publick Safety in the Present crisis." 
Favorable action was taken but the scheme lapsed. It remained for 
a Frenchman, Gilshenon by name, to work out his scheme on Plum 
Island. The story of his venture was told in interesting fashion 
by Mr. Philip D. Adams in an Historical Address delivered in New- 
buryport in October, 1900.7 

Mr. Gilshenon had made examination of many localities along 
the coast. Coming at last to Plum Island, he went to Bar Island, and 
looking down on the great salt marsh, surrounded by sand knolls 
and high uplands, he exclaimed, "This is the best place I have seen 
for making salt from sea-water." He succeeded in organizing a 
company, of which Mr. Francis J. Oliver was apparentl}' the chief 
financial backer. Mr. George W. Heard of Ipswich and other Ipswich 
men presumably were interested as well. 

The deeds to the land were passed in April, 1829, and work was 
begun at once, giving employment to a considerable force of laborers. 
Twenty eight vats were constructed by digging the peaty sods about 
a foot thick and two feet wide, which were piled around the sides of 
the vats, providing a convenient and necessary walk around them. 
A canal was dug, eight feet wide and ten feet deep, connecting with 

7Newburyport Daily News, October 26, 1900. 



THE SALT COMl'A^Y. 



29 



the large creek, which emptied into a smaller canal, which passed 
near the vats. The sea water was pumped up by six old fashioned 
windmills to a height of twenty or thirty feet, and then was allowed 
to fall upon a heap of brush, through which it trickled to the vats, 
securing thus a large evaporating surface. Being exposed to the 
heat of the mid-summer sun, the water gradually dried away and 
crystals of salt appeared in the shallow vats. 

The windmills were supplemented, when there was no wind, by 
a great overshot wheel, fifteen feet in diameter and live or six feet 
wide, suspended in an upright position from a heavy wooden frame. 
It was made to revolve in a very original way. A large bull was 
confined within the wheel, like a squirrel in his revolving cage, and 
his walking, tread-mill fashion, turned the wheel. Shallow buckets 
on the outer rim lifted the water from the canal. 

A blacksmith shop and several shanties were built on Bar 
Island, and several teams were kept there, which were employed, 
among other tasks, in hauling gravel from Bar Island to build up a 
protection for the vats, in case of unusually high tides. 

Speedy misfortune overtook the ambitious venture. Unusually 
heavy rains diluted the water in the open vats. Salt in paying quan- 
tities was not produced. During the summer of 1830, operations 
ceased. Under date of August 24, a communication to the New- 
buryport Herald, describes an excursion from Newburyport to the 
Salt Works. It states that eight or ten acres of marsh had been 
staked out for salt pans, but only a small part had been utilized. 
Two treadmills as well as the windmills, the correspondent men- 
tions as in place, but work had nearly or completely ceased, and 
a loss of thirty or forty thousand dollars had been involved. He 
concluded his article with the remark, "The French gentleman who 
has the superintendence of the work, is a very intelligent man and 
bears the misfortune with all that buoj'ancy of spirit so peculiar 
to his countrymen." 

The whole property was advertised for sale: 

FOIl SALE 

The property known as the "Bar Island Farm," situated in 
Ipswich, being the southern part of Plum Island, near the mouth 
of Ipswich River. This property consists of about EIGHTY ACRES 
of good UPLAND and about ONE HUNDRED AND SEVENTY FIVE 
ACRES of excellent SALT MARSH. There are on the place two 
DWELLING HOUSES in good repair, and two BARNS, with other 
conveniences. 

A Dam has been built across a creek running through the place 
by means of which, with but little expense, a good water power 



30 PLUM ISLAND. 

may be obtained ; and there are also privileges of extensive (.lam 
flats and beach which are valuable. 

Also for sale six WINDMILLS with pumps and apparatus entire. 

Persons wanting- such machinery will seldom meet with so 
good an opportunity us the present titYords for supplying ttiomsclvcM, 

The above property may be viewed at any time on application 
to P. GILSHENON, on the premises. For terms or other particulars 
apply to the subscriber. 

GEORGE W. HEARD. 
Ipswich, Feb. 20, 1832. 

If the above is unsold on the first of April next it will be 
LEASED. 

The allusion to the water power awaiting development, by a 
tidal mill-wheel presumably, indicates that yet more ambitious 
schemes were in the air, when the bubble collapsed. Scarcely a 
trace of this unfortunate enterprise remains. An old well on the 
Bar Island upland near the marsh and several excavations near 
by may mark the site of the blacksmith shop and shanties, or they 
may date back to the earlier buildings of Jeremiah Nelson's day. 
An elaborate sun-dial upon a small square structure near the smaller 
dwelling, a work of more than ordinary intelligence, may have been 
due to Mr. Gilshenon's fertile mind. A small building near the 
shore, by its conical shape, suggests an original windmill. But 
the dam has been obliterated, the salt pans are no longer dis- 
tinguishable, and the name of only one of the workmen, Daniel 
Boynton, has been preserved. His son, Warren Boynton, recalls 
that his father used to tell that the French superintendent ap- 
pointed him Captain of the laboring squad, and that it fell to him 
to martial his little company in military fashion for the march to 
and from the Salt Works to the houses where they were quartered. 

Francis J. Oliver sold all the land, no mention being made of 
windmills, etc., which had probably been removed, to Daniel Dole 
of Ipswich, yeoman, Sept. 22, 1834 (278:62) for $1300, just half of 
his initial expenditure. On October 9, 1835, as has been noted, 
Mr. Dole bought the Cross farm in Middle Island, and thus became 
sole proprietor of all the upland on Middle, Stage and Bar Islands 
and a large portion of the marsh. In March, 1835, Nicholas Noyes 
of Newbury had quit-claimed to him all his right and title in all 
the Plum Island upland in Rowley and Newbury (282 :39), and David 
Dole had conveyed his title to upland as well (282:40). Moses Pet- 
tingill of Newbury quitclaimed to him his interest in land in New- 
bury on the Island, May 31, 1842 (335:259). Ebenezer Harris and 
John Lummus sold him a half acre in the Grape Island marshes, 



THE TITLE TO THE BEACH. 31 

June 8, 1842 (335:287). Mr. Dole made his home for a time in 
Willow Cottage, and one of his children, Nathaniel, was born there, 
December 1st, 1841. Mr. Nathaniel Dole resides in Newburyport 
but spends the greater portion of the summer at his cottage on 
"Sutton's Point." 

An issue now arose between Mr. Dole and the Town regarding 
his title to the beaches, sand knolls, and flats, that adjoined his 
holdings on Plum Island. He made this claim by virtue of the deed 
from Francis J. Oliver, which conveyed the Sutton farm and Pick- 
ering lot, "together with all the marshes, sand banks, flats, shores 
and landings belonging to the same," extending "over the sands 
to the beach, southerly by the Sea to Ipswich River." The deeds 
of Lord and Lummus and the Pickering heirs had contained the 
same clause, and the question raised was interesting and open to 
discussion. 

The original vote of the Town ordering the lay out in 1665 was 
ambiguous. 

It is agreed that the beginning of these divisions shall be at 
the upper end of Plum Island next Rowley and so downwards to 
the Barr and if the sd share cannot be layd conveniently all the 
breadth of the Island then the beginning shall be next the Beach 
and so from the upper end next Rowley down to the Barr, etc. 

Various deeds of marsh lots in this division reveal the prevail- 
ing uncertainty, which was a matter of moment as a considerable 
growth of pine woods fringed the beach in the upland. Rev. Wil- 
liam Hubbard, Teacher, sold to Rev. Thomas Cobbett, Pastor, a 
marsh lot he had purchased of Edward Coeburne in 1668, and he 
described the lot as bounded east by the Pines, May 9, 1693 (Ipswich 
Deeds, 5:600). James Chute's deed of 8 acres to Benjamin Plummer 
gave the upland as the east bound, May 15, 1695 (41:33). John 
Pengry bounded his Middle Island farm, in his deed to Nathaniel 
Emerson, "East, the fence standing on the sea side or as far as 
my bounds extends to the seaward," Feb. 5, 1712-13 (27 :90), but his 
brother's deed to him gave his bound as the Sea, March 6, 1695 (11 : 
144). Nathaniel Rust's deed to Zaccheus Newmarch made the Pines 
his bound, June 26, 1695 (27 : 232), and the same appears in Philemon 
Warner's deed to Thomas Perrin, Sept. 1, 1698 (13:91) 

Evidently there was a popular demand for more precise defini- 
tion of the bounds. Four men, Cornet Whipple, Robert Lord, John 
Leighton and Thomas Lovell, had been authorized and empowered 
in 1665, "to lay out the shares." It was ordered as well that they 
"shall goe upon a day appointed .... and shall deliver unto 
him or them the possession thereof." 



eir 



09 

PLUM ISLAND. 

inteJtTn° f th tZ l0t " layers n ' ad * a statement under oath of th 
intent to give title, reaching- to the Sea. 

out in Divisions ^i^M^^a^liSSSTS^ JPT^ ^'^ 
to their ordering- so tlmt tw fl *i * 1? -u ® Castle Ne <* according 

that none miSit ni,t rnltu fi i r i° Uld be n ° ne left in commoS 
!Tpi wT P Cattle there did according- to our order & 1 avd 

N.L w lb ! ISl ^ d h °- Island and left no CommonThereTn Castte 

Neck Ztt orV Ut - the m r h aUd Wi ^ wam HiU and finding the 
Neck unfit for Division made report of the same to our masters & 

if it is not entered in ye Towne book the fault was Cleric Lord * 

When we shewed & delivered ye Divisions to ye Inhabitants of 

LTnSt^iS \° i hen ; on plumb lsUind those wtoSo 

lay next ye pines & beach wee shewed & Told them they were 
to go with a straight line Cross ye beach till they come to ye Sea 
keeping ye breadth of their Division & those that did butt upon 
broken marsh or thatch banks should keep their breadth to ye 
Creek & river as they run against. 

This we do attest as witness our hands. 

John Leighton 
Thomas Lovell Sen. 
March 16, 1G92-3. 

Thomas Lovell Sen. personally appeared & made oath to ye 
truth of ye above written evidence before me 

Thomas Wade, Justice Pacis 
March 23, 1692-3 

Then John Leighton & Thomas Lovell Sen. upon oath declared 
before me that they did deliver this as their return & record of 
their work. 

Attest. Thomas Wade, Just. Pacis 

I, John Wainwright, being desired by them that were ordered 
to Lay out & Divide plumb Island into Divisions to ye Inhabitants 
of Ipswich (as said Inhabitants had agreed on) to help them I 
did answer their request & went with them & that range of Divis- 
ions that lay next the pines & beach from Rowley line were then 
ordered to run to ye Sea & those Divisions that lay against broken 
marsh or thatch bank were to run to Crick & river and so there 
was no Common left there & this I do attest to witness my hand 

John Wainwright 
March 16, 1692-3. Then Mr. Johu Wainwright personally appeared 
and did give oath to ye truth of ye above written evidence, before 

Thomas Wade Justice of Peace 
Essex s.s. 

Ipswich, December ye 18th 1707 

Then the within named Thomas Lovell & John Wainwright both 
personally appeared & made oath to their within written evidence 
Respectively desiring that they may be recorded in perpetuam rei 
memoriam 



Sworn before. 

John Appleton Just Pa 

Francis Wainwright. & Quor 



(Registry of Deeds, 20:127) 



THE TITLE TO THE BEACH. 



33 



This unequivocal statement of three of the men officially en- 
gaged in the lot-laying would seem to have been a final settlement 
of the vexed question. Captain Whipple, Ensign in 1605, one of 
the original lot-layers, survived until 1722. Robert Lord Sen. died 
in 1G83, but Eobert Lord, the marshal, son of the elder Kobert, 
was living in 1692, but died in 1696. It is impossible to decide 
whether the father or son was the lot-layer. It may be that there 
was a minority that dissented from the sworn statement of their 
associates. However that may be, it is evident that the issue still 
remained in doubt. 

Thomas Pinder, conveying 4% acres of marsh to Thomas 
Perrin, November 22, 1707 (26:270), made the Sea his east bound, 
and gave title confidently to "the pine land and pines thereon." 
As one deed mentions a lot, extending four rods into the pines 
(Ipswich Deeds 5:96, 1675), it is certain that this woodland was 
a valuable asset on some lots, and it is hard to understand at 
this far remove, why there was not a general assumption of own- 
ership. 

John Wood conveyed six acres to John Osgood, bounded east 
"by ye pines or ye sea, if these lotts run through," April 17, 1719 
(36:49). John Appleton bounded the six acres he sold to Samuel 
Dutch by the upland, Sept. 1723 (42:106), but Eobert Annable, 
conveying the same lot, March 12, 1761 (109:180), extended it to 
the Sea. Ebenezer Kimball, in his deed to William Dodge gave 
title "to the Sea if original grant extends so far," November 16, 
1730 (95:260). Samuel Dutch sold 9 acres to Nathaniel Treadwell 
and John Smith, Nov. 17, 1736 (71:238), bounded east by the Pines. 
Gradually as the century passed, there was a more common claim 
that the lots reached to the Sea, but there were always less confi- 
dent grantors. 

An interesting side light on this question of ownership is 
found in the Records of the Commoners of Ipswich, to whom this 
intervening strip of pines, uplands, sand-dunes and beach belonged, 
if it were not the property of the individual abutters. Apparently 
the Commoners were not disposed to press any claim. 

Feb. 26, 1721-2. The question was put Whether the Commoners 
would refer the Consideration of their Interest at Plumb Island 
till this day three weeks and 

It pass'd in the Negative 

On April 25, 1727, the Commoners voted to sell their right to 
"wood that now is or shall be hereafter standing, lying or growing 
in any part of Castle Neck so called, beyond Wigwam Hill to the 
said Symonds Epes Esq.," but they never took action regarding 



34 



PLUM ISLAND. 



the Plum Island pines. In July, 1738, the Commoners, assuming 
ownership of Grape Island Flats, voted to lease the west part, about 
6% acres, to Col. Thos. Berry and John Choate Esq. for a year, and 
authorized Aaron Potter and others to sell the east end of their 
flats, "being- about an acre and a half of thatch bank, and also 
of all the Commoners Estate, Eight, Title & Interest they have to 
the Thatch Bank called Michael's Garden and Small Nobbs of Thatch 
of the Commoners adjoining- thereto." 

A committee, appointed on July 24, 1767, to investigate the in- 
terest of Commoners in undivided lands, reported 

We find at plum Island in y e possession of Mr. Ralph Cross a 
considerable body of flats & thatch Nubs which appears by his deeds 
and by our Viewing of it to be our property. 

The Commoners voted on Jan. 5, 1769. 

That a quit claim deed be given to Mr. Ralph Cross of all that 
Marsh or Thatch ground on Plumb Island which is included in 
his deed, he paying the Consideration agreed upon by the Commit- 
tee, and that Major John Baker is hereby impowered to make & 
execute a good and lawful deed of quittance. 

Major Baker's deed quitclaimed thatch and flats, "bounded as 
set forth in Emerson's deed, reference thereto being had." Emer- 
son's deed gave the east bound, the Sea, but Cross's title to the 
Pines and beach was not questioned. 

In 1757, the sand banks came into notice. The Warrant for the 
Commoners Meeting contained the article : 

To lett out the Sand Banks to the highest bidder for two years to 
come and also to Prosecute any Persons that have taken Sand from 
the Sand Bank without leave from the Commoners. 

On April 22, 1757, the Commoners voted that "Capt. Jonathan 
Fellows of Cape Ann have the Liberty of all the Sands Lying in the 
Town of Ipswich for the space of one year for the sum of £2. 13s 4d. 
in money." 

The sand banks were leased to the highest bidder in June, 
1759, and Capt. Fellows was obliged to pay £6. 2s. 8d., and in 1760 
Abijah Wheeler secured the privilege. The sand banks in the Che- 
bacco River were leased out to Mr. John Fair Senior for seven 
years in 1769, "he not to Debarr any of said Propr 3 or any Person 
of the town of Ipswich from taking Sand for their own use." "Voted 
that "M r . Jeremiah Chapman have all the Sand at the Foot of Chap- 
man's lid so called as the fence now stands and that he have a 
deed of the same." 

As the clams were being dug wastefully, and often by persons 
from other towns, the Commoners took action on July 4, 1763, wnen 
a Clam Committee was chosen. 



THE TITLE TO THE BEACH. 



178S 



7 



35 



f^S!^^^^^^^^^-^ of the Commoners 
* that no Person or Persons be all™^ ^° m ;, non Land * i» Ipswich 
than for their own use Ho be exuded in ^m"^ ^^'^ 
owners of Fishing Vessels & Boats' Tall % ? y \ on^ oftai^Co^ 
mittee for Liberty to Digg Clams for* their Vessels ^Llv C ,° m ~ 
d: no owners of vessel o r vessels, Boat or Boats shllfo W » Jy fare 
Clams than shall be allowed by' one or ^VffigfflTS 
penalty of prosecution, sd. Committee are to allow one Bar' o "ci a us 
o each man of every vessel going to the Banks every Fare & so a o 
in prop' to Boats fishing in the Bay & a Majority of said Committee 
are impowered to prosecute all offenders (to this vote,) to Final 
Judgment and exec* m y* name & behalf of sd. propr 8 . 

The administration of the clam flats was discussed at each 
annual meeting and provision made for the punishment of offenders, 
with allowance to poor men of Ipswich. 

After discussing the transfer of Common lands to the Town 
for five years at least, the Commoners took action on June 9, 1788. 

Voted by the major part of the interest present of the Comoners 
of the Common and Undivided Lands in the Town of Ipswich that 
they will and that they do hereby make an absolute Grant of all 
their Interest both Real and Personal lying within the Town of 
Ipswich unto the Inhabitants of the Town of Ipswich, and do also 
invest them with the same Powers and Priviledges and Immunities 
that the said Commoners were Preveous to this Grant Invested with 

Provided that the said Town will except of said interest on the 
following Condition viz. 

That they will pay and make good all Lawful demands that 
may be made against said Commoners and that they will sell as Soon 
as they can without prejudice to the sale all the Lands in said Town 
(sand and clam flatts excepted) And the money arrising from Such 
Sale together with what is now in the Treasury and what is due 
to said Commoners after paying all just demands upon said Com- 
moners be appropriated Soly to the payment of the Towns Debt in 
such way and manner as that the Polls in said Town Receive the 
whole advantage in Equal proportion. 

Three years later, the ancient question as to the Commoners 
title to the beach was again mooted. The Town voted on April 4, 
1791, "that the Selectmen be a Committee to examine wither the 
Beach & Pines on Plum Island be the property of the Town or to 
take any further proceeding thereon as they may think proper & to 
make report at the adjournment of this meeting." The Selectmen, 
Mr. Nathaniel Heard, Col. Nath. Wade, Lt. Jeremiah Choate and 
Mr. John Lamson Jr. reported on Sept. 26th. After quoting at length 
the votes of the Town in 1664, they stated their conclusion : 

Your Committee do not find that any part of the Beach or Pines 
were laid out to any of the above divisions from anything that ap-. 
pears from the Town Records, but those records expressly mention 



36 PLUM ISLAND. 

that the first division of shares should boo-in at the B^h tt™„ 
examining the County Records they find Sveral DeedTn? tJF™ 

Plumb Island that la£ in the first rLge were KEf the p^em 
was transferred from one person to another within a fes ( , f : r 

the Island was divided and in describing the Bounds in tKTlSS 
they say southeasterly by A. B. Southwesterly by _ tf E bv 
™rt nTth S ei "r d °y° UI \ Committee find upon Record that any 
part of the Beach or Pines have been granted since the lying out 
of these Divisions in the year 1665 to persons owning lots next the 
Beach so as to extend them to the Sea. Therefore they are of 
opinion that the Beach and Pines on said Island so far as Ipswich 
line extends ever have been & still remain the property of the Town. 

This was hardly a fair statement of the facts in the case. The 
Records do not "expressly mention that the first division of shares 
should begin at the Beach," but "if the sd share cannot be layd 
conveniently all the breadth of the Island then the beginning shall 
be next the Beach." Neither do the early deeds agree as to their 
eastern bound, as already noted. Of seven deeds, passed before 1700, 
three make the Sea the bound, and the four others, the Pines. 
Neither was there any recognition of the sworn testimony of the 
lot layers in 1692 and 1707. 

No action was taken upon this Report and a half century passed 
before Daniel Dole asserted his right to everything down to the 
rolling waves on the beach. Singularly enough the contest had 
always been waged regarding this strip of beach on the Ocean side, 
on some of which, at the lower end of the Island, there was never 
any pine growth, apparently. On the other hand, the title deeds 
of all the lots abutting on Plum Island River, from the earliest times, 
made the River the bound, and yet for many years the Commoners 
seem to have made undisputed claim to the sands at Sandy Point, 
and leased the privilege of taking for commercial use. 

The final contest now forced by Mr. Dole, was carried into the 
Courts. The Town Records are meagre, noting only the votes passed 
by the Town, but the "Answer of the Inhabitants of Ipswich by 
the Selectmen, duly authorized," in the case, "S. J. Court In Chan- 
cery. Daniel Dole vs. Inhabitants of the Town of Ipswich," drawn 
up by George Haskell, Esq., enters minutely into the various stages 
of the case. There was the same program of an investigating 
Committee, who searched the Records, the insistence that the Town 
had received the sands and clam flats from the Commoners upon 
trust, the report of the Committee on Jan. 23, 1843, recommending 
the sale of sands and sand knolls on the Ocean side, which were 
not included in the deeds of sale, the vote of the Town on March 
13, 1843, and some bitter personalities arising from a falsifying 



THE TITLE TO THE BEACH. 37 

of the Records, as it was charged, in favor of the contestant by 
the Clerk Pro Tern. * y 

In the end, the Town withdrew from the suit before the 
Court, and the Selectmen, George Haskell, Nathaniel Scott, and 
Nathaniel R. Farley Jr. gave a deed to Daniel Dole, then of New- 
bury, for $50, to that part of Plum Island 

beginning at the point where the dividing line between Rowley and 
Ipswich meets the sea at low water mark, thence running south 
by the Atlantic Ocean to Ipswich River, thence west and north by 
Ipswich River and Plum Island River by Sandy Point and Stage 
Point to the mouth of Pine Creek, thence up said Creek to the, 
thatch island owned by Harris and Lummus, thence up the creek on 
the east side of said Island to an old wharf on the Cross farm, 
thence by the north line of said farm until it intersects the line 
between the sands and the marsh on the inside of Plum Island, 
thence by said line between the sands and the marsh north to' 
the Rowley line, thence east by said line to the sea at the first 
bound. 

Nov. 4, 1844 (357:55) 

In his will (signed Nov. 7, 1846), Daniel Dole bequeathed 
$500 each to his children, Edward, Hallett, William, Nathaniel and 
Delia Dole, the rest and residue to his widow, Mary Ann Hallett 
Dole. (Filed March 9, 1847, Pro. Rec. 414:63). By an ante-nuptial 
agreement between Mrs. Dole and Dr. Charles Proctor of Rowley, 
she retained the property on Plum Island and elsewhere, devised 
her by her husband, Daniel Dole, November 27, 1849 (Registry of 
Deeds, 423:30). 

Mrs. Proctor bequeathed all her real estate on Plum Island, 
in Newbury, Rowley and Ipswich, with all the stock and tools on 
the farm at the southerly end of the Island, to her sons, Edward 
and Nathaniel Dole. (Will signed Nov. 16, 1880, Pr. Rec. 481:287). 

Nathaniel Dole bought of Ebenezer Harris 5 acres of marsh on 
Pine Creek, April 10, 1873, and 4 acres near by, June 2, 1873 (896: 
297) ; 6 acres of Ephraim Fellows in the Grape Island marshes, 
Sept. 27, 1884 (1190:280), and 6 acres of John Warner and Lucy! 
H., his wife, in her own right, December 2, 1884 (1142:282). 

The brothers, Edward and Nathaniel Dole, made many joint 
purchases of salt marsh ; from Nathaniel Shatswell, 5 acres, and 
another lot of 7% acres, Dec. 18, 1893 (1423:529) ; from Jeannette 
F. Caldwell, widow of Joseph N. Caldwell, 3 lots, in the Grape Island 
marshes, one containing 9 acres, two, 6 acres each, March 22, 1893 
(1423:524); from Elizabeth H. Baker and Lucie W. Lewis, two 
lots, containing 7 acres, Nov. 21, 1893 (1423:526); from Edward 
C. Smith of Rowley, a 14 acre lot, which was part of a 30 acre! 
lot, owned by Col. John WainWright, and which bore the romantic 



38 



PLUM ISLAND. 



name of "The Long- Reach lot, cellar and garden,"8 fa 1788 and 
probably long before, and the so-called Farley lot adjoining, May 25 
1894 (1424:523); from the First Parish of Ipswich, the five acre lot', 
called the Lummus lot, and another five acre marsh lot, known as the 
Parsonage lot, which was granted by the Town, March 10, 1681, for 
the use of the ministry, Sept. 18, 1894 (1423:525); from William 
B. Little of Newbury, land partly in Rowley, partly in Ipswich, 
Sept. 18, 1894 (1423:528) ; from Henry L. Tenney of Newbury, 3 
lots, containing in all 7 acres, Sept, 21, 1894 (1423:530); from 
Sarah E. Twombly of Lynn and Susan H. Brown of Ipswich, 2^ 
acres, July 17, 1895 (1462:208); from Elizabeth M. Brown and 
other heirs, 9*4 acres, and 5 acres, April 22, 1896 (1494:338) ; from 
Richard Jaques of Newbury, 20 acres, Sept. 8, 1899 (1593:66) and 
from Daniel and N. Scott Kimball, 5 acres, Feb. 18, 1901 (1634:151). 
A division of "The Bluffs" was made by Edward and Nathaniel 
Dole by deed of November 4, 1903 (1726:327). 



MARSH AND THATCH 

In a careful study of the Sea-Coast Swamps of the Eastern 
United States,9 Prof. N. S. Shaler remarks that "the Plum Island 
system of marshes is perhaps the largest of any of the swamps 
of this description which exist north of Long Island Sound. If 
we take into account the connected areas of marine swamp lying 
to the north and south of these on Essex, Ipswich and Hampton 
Rivers, the total area is more considerable than any other of the 
northern salt marshes, amounting in all, as will be seen from the 
appended catalogue, to over 20,000 acres." An incomplete survey 
of the Essex River marshes, one half water, gave an area of 2,846 
acres ; a similar survey of the Ipswich Eiver marshes to the margin 
of Green's Creek gave 2,942 acres, and a similar survey of the 
Plum Island marshes, including Green's Creek, Rowley and Parker 
rivers, gave 9,280 acres. i° 

The first settlers attached great value to the short but succulent 
grass, which grows naturally on the marsh, and this vast area 
was cut carefully by the mowers with their hand scythes every 
year. On the shore marshes, the salt hay was usually made on 
the marsh and stacked on "staddles," rows of circular posts about 
two feet high, upon which platforms were built, which raised the 

8The thatch bank in Plum Island River, it has been noted, also bore 
the name, "Michael's garden." 

9United States Geological Survey, Sixth Annual Report, 1884-85. p. 
359-398. 

loGeological Survey, pp. 390, 391. 




SALT HAY ON STADDLES. 




A GUNDALOW. 



MABSII AND TIIATCIE. 39 

hay above the extreme high tides. During- the winter, it waa 
removed on sleds or wagons. Until within a few years, from Town 
Hill hundreds of these hay stacks could be seen scattered over 
the miles of level marsh. The Plum Island marshes involved a more 
difficult problem. They could not be reached by wagons from the 
mainland, even in mid-winter. So the green salt grass had to be 
lugged on poles to the nearest creek, where it was loaded upon: 
great gundalows. At full high tide, these ponderous and heavy-laden 
craft were rowed with huge sweeps across the Plum Island River 
to Green's Point Landing, where they were unloaded and the salty 
freight loaded again upon the waiting ox-carts, to be hauled home 
not only to the Ipswich farms, but to Topsfield, Boxford and beyond. 

All the salt-marsh ground was owned by individuals, but there 
were great islands of thatch in Ipswich and Plum Island Rivers, 
which had never been granted. In the earliest years of the settle- 
ment, this coarse sedgy grass which grows on the low flats, where 
the roots are bared at low tides, was used for a roof covering for 
the rude log houses and hay stacks, and the use thus made of it 
gave the name, which is still in vogue. Though shingles and tiles 
in some cases soon supplanted the thatch, it continued to be prized 
for banking up the farm cellars on the outside, for bedding for 
cattle, to some small extent for fodder, and for a variety of other 
uses on the farms. 

To secure an equitable distribution, the various thatch banks 
were sold or let out at auction each year at a meeting of the Com- 
moners, none but Commoners being eligible to make a bid.n Before 
the year 1740, Appleton's Bank, the great thatch island that lies 
between the island, known by various names, Perkins's, Tilton's, 
now Treadwell's Island, and Little Neck, Hart's Knobbs, so called, 
the Great Plats, two parcels at Rogers's Island, Dow's Knobbs, 
Paine's Creek Bank, and Dillie Bank in Essex River were eagerly 
sought by competing bidders. Old thatch banks were worn away 
by heavy fields of ice and swift tides and new banks sprang up 
in other places. In 1730, there was a division of the new banks, 
which had sprung up since 1710. New names therefore appeared 
in later years, the Knobbs at Bull Island, the thatch bank below 
Manning's Point Lott, the Knobbs at Green's Creek, Knobbs at 
Dane's River, Corn Island marsh, etc. 

The prices paid for the privilege of cutting the thatch varied 
greatly from year to year, for reasons which can not be known at 
this far remove. Thus on July 27, 1749, Hart's Knobbs was bid 
off for £40, Appleton's Bank, £96, and Dillie Bank, £101 ; but in 1750 

liCommoners Records. 



40 



PLUM ISLAND. 



the prices were respectively, 17s. 4d., £2-5s. 4p. and £1-1 2s. In April, 
1780, when prices had soared as the currency depreciated, Hart's 
"Nubs" brought £175, the Great Flatts, £30, Dillie Bank, £53, Apple- 
ton's Bank £187, Bull Island "Nubs," £145, and the bank adjacent 
to Appleton's marsh, £100, but the next year found the prices, £6-5a., 
£l-10s., £l-10s, £7, etc. 

When a favorable course of tides was in progress, the oozy, 
slippery banks were invaded at low water by an army of mowers 
in long boots, who cut the grass with their heavy scythes and loaded 
it upon the gundalows before the tide returned. 

By a happy chance, the account books of several generations 
of Shatswells have been preserved and they throw light in most 
interesting fashion on the volume of business that was created 
by all this marshing and thatching. Mr. Shatswell owned the 
wharf at Green's Point Landing and the adjacent land, he owned 
the gundalows, which were in great demand by the farmers. He 
had a regular tariff of charges for landing salt hay and thatch 
at his wharf, another charge for drying it upon his land, a further 
charge for his ox-team to haul the hay, and a pasturage fee for 
the draft animals he kej>t while their owners went to the Island. 
There was much miscellaneous freighting to and from the wharf 
as well. So these ancient account books afford a vivid picture 
of the busy life in the long Past, when the Autumn days brought 
the hard but romantic toil on the gundalows and the distant salt 
meadows and thatch banks, a welcome change no doubt from the 
routine of labor upon the farm. 

Here are some of his earliest charges : 

1726, landing- a freight of thatch and drying 3| 

for haling off a frait of hay and drying of it 12 1 
for pastring your horse ... at Pint, 30 days 10 1 

1728, landing a frait of thatch 3 loads 3| 

1731, carting a jag of wood from the Pint 4| 
1733, sledding a load of goods frum Great Neck 6| 
1735, carting goods to Green's Point 

1738, carting a load of wood from the Neck 

1739, carting from Dimon Stage, frequent entries 

His horse was in demand. 

1725, my horse to Boston 10| 

1732, to John Tredwell, saddle and housen and bridel 

and tumbrel and hovel all come to 3 — 17 — 00 

His quotations of current prices are interesting. 

1725, 8 yards lac (lace) 8 I 

1735, 1 quart huckleberrys 8d 

6 eggs J" 

y 2 pd butter 15d 



M AKS II AND THATCH. 



41 



3 ft. wood 3 1 

1739. 15 lbs. lamb 8|9 

2 bushels corn 18 1 

1 hundred English hay 7| 

His charges to individuals for a term of years reveal a sur- 
prising volume of freighting across from the "Hundreds," the 
thatch banks and Plum Island marshes. Between 1726 and 1735, 
Michael Farley landed 35 freights. William Baker was charged 
for landing and drying 126 loads between 1719 and 1738, Joseph 
Fowler, about 30 freights, 1732-1749. 

In 1759, Bichard Shatswell began to keep a memorandum of 
his "grate boat" and the "new boat." In that year, the "grate boat" 
was hired 25 days, between August 27 and Oct. 19, and the "new 
boat" 27 days. In 1760, between Aug. 21 and Nov. 15, the larger 
gundalow was in use 49 days, the other, 25 days. In 1779, his fleet 
was enlarged,' and 22 days were credited to the "grate boat," 21 
to the "new boat," and 16 to the "Cross boat." 

During this period, the Shatswell accounts show that the wharf 
at Green's Point was a busy place, apart from the thatch and salt 
hay traffic, and that many craft made their discharges there, and 
took on their cargoes. 

1761, Bemsley Perkins, 

to carting a jag of wood from the Pint 
Thomas Smith, 

to carting oyl & fish from the Point & 
leather from farley's 
Michael Farley 

to carting a case of draws down to the Pint 
from your house 
carting a load of clam shells from the Point 
Bichard Sutton 

to carting 3 loads of corn from the Point 
Daniel Lummus 

to carting a case of draws down to the Point 
Daniel Giddings 

carting 2 barrels of rum from the Point 
Edmond Heard 

carting 2 barrels of rum from the Point to 
your house & carrying the barrels down 
to the Point. 
1762, Benjamin Caldwell, 

to my oxen to tread a bed of mortar 

boat at my. wharf 



101 



20| 
10| 

36! 



15 



to moremg your 



& 



spreding & drying fish on said wharf 9| 

to landing rum, & oyl & flour ,,,«,_ n 

In 1764, the Great Stone Bridge was built, and Mr. Shatswell 



charged : 



the towtn of Ipswich to part of a day's work at the brige 
to a days of carting timber with my teame for the frame 



42 PLUM ISLAND. 

for Arches from the mill & finding myself 60| 
Aug. 3. to carting- gravel for the bridge 

In 1766, Plato Whipple, Dea. Matthew Whipple's slave, whom the 
worthy Deacon made a freeman in his will and provided generously 
for in his declining years, had Mr. Shatswell's great gundalow a day 
at a cost of 22 16, and hired help for a day's thatehing for 25 1. Mr. 
Shatswell had a slave boy, Peter, who figures frequently in his 
accounts. In 1766 : 

Nathaniel Haraden of Gloucester Dr. 

to Peter a day to help you put your hay 

upon your schooner 25 1 

John Shatswell, to Peter half a day to help you 

g'et over some hay 10] 

Peter was a handy man, now at work on fish at the Jeffrey's 
Neck fishery, now carting lumber down to the Point, Or carting 
blubber from the water side, or working on the Island for the 
Pastor of the Ipswich Church, Rev. Nathaniel Rogers. Richard 
Shatswell did the handsome thing for his faithful servitor in his 
will. 1772 (Pro. Rec. 347:543). 

I give my servant Peter to my wife and after her decease, Peter 
to be set free and be a free Man from all my heirs. 

Mark Haskel was charged "with pitch to pay your boat," and 
Nathaniel Cross, "to pitch to pay your boat & canoe." Both these 
men were owners of marsh on Plum Island. 

Nathaniel Shatswell, son of Richard, succeeded his father, and 
the business continued many years. The accounts are continuous 
down to 1824, and successive generations of marsh owners and thatch 
cutters paid their tariff for boats, for landing and drying their 
hay. The volume of this industry in 1803 in these accounts was 60 
loads of hay, and 24 of thatch. 

An interesting supplement to these old accounts is the collec- 
tion of ancient "hay bills" from the public weigher at Salem, 
dating back to 1753. The total weight of a load of hay, driven 
by Richard Shatswell, himself, in December, 1753 was II. qr. lb. 

39 2 3 

The weight of the cart 10 3 21 






The weight of the hay 28 2 7 

A load in 1755 netted 2100 lbs. for the hay. The average 
weight of the hay cart over a period of forty years was half a tori, 
and the hay itself weighed about a ton on the average, ranging] 
from 1390 lbs. to one that reached a ton and a half in 1775. These 
were the days of small things compared with the modern hay 



MARSH AND THATCH. 43 

wagon, that weighs 2500 lbs. and its burden, that may weigh two 
or three tons or more. 

Richard Russell's two gundalows, the "Choate Boat" and the 
"Clark Boat," did the river freighting for many years in the mid- 
century. A regular fee of a dollar a day was paid, and they were 
in frequent use, from 1844 to 1876 : 28 days in 1855, 29 in 1857, 25 
in 1872, 23 in 1876. Nathan Jewett had a fleet of these clumsy 
craft, including the "Ranger," "Gen. Burnside," "Gen. Butler," and 
"the Little Boat." Mr. Eben Lord recalls one summer's work, 
when he made twenty-eight trips and one huge load of salt hay, 
rowed slowly across to Green's Point Landing, contained sixteen 
tons. "Big Bill Lord's" record freight was fourteen tons. Two of 
the Topsfield farmers, from the Middleton line, hauled the dry 
salt hay from the Point on huge wagons, drawn by two yoke of 
oxen and a horse, four tons and more at a load. 

The great Plum Island marshes and the larger tract on the 
mainland in the "Hundreds," and the labyrinth of thatch islands, 
with the network of creeks and grindles are now counted of little 
or no value. The thatch is never cut and remains until the heavy 
ice cakes break it down, and the Spring tides cast it up in thick 
windrows upon the shores. Some of this, with its admixture of sea- 
weed, is carted off by the farmers for compost. The salt marshes 
suffer almost equal neglect, as the decline of stock raising and 
dairying and modern ideas regarding feeding have reduced the 
demand for the salt-hay to a minimum. Where the marsh is firm 
and easily accessible, the cutting is done by the mowing-machine. 
Clumsy wooden "shoes" are fastened to the feet of the horses, 
to which they soon become accustomed, and travel over the peaty 
surface with surprising comfort and safety. 

Green's Point Landing is rarely or never used. The old wharf 
and warehouse have left no trace and the old road, over which the 
ox-teams rumbled in the still hours of the night, is only a rut. 
"Marshing," especially on Plum Island, exists only in remembrance. 
The men and boys were up and at work by midnight, milking the 
bewildered cows, turning them out to pasture, doing the "chores," 
and getting the teams ready for the long journey to the Point. The 
good wives had been hard at work cooking and preparing the ample 
lunches, and the food was stowed in the big boxes, with a hot brick 
sometimes to keep it warm, with cans of coffee and sometimes a 
black jug with a snatch of stronger drink. It was a good day's 
work already when the heavy gundalow had been rowed with huge 
and heavy oars across the swift river and then slowly up the Creek 
to the shore of the marsh. But many long hours of mowing and 



44 



PLUM ISLAND. 



raking and "poling" over the long reach of marsh to the place of 
loading followed. It required a deft stroke of the scythe to cut the 
short, wiry grass, and only the seasoned mower was equal to the 
task of working all day with a single scythe, kept razor sharp hy 
constant use of the "rifle." 

The long day was spent when the gundalow was loaded, and 
if all went well, when the tide was full again, the slow return was 
made, the freight loaded upon the teams, and the weary workers 
started home. All might ride, if the team were drawn by horses, 
but if a yoke or two of oxen were used, one man or boy had toj 
trudge afoot to drive the team with his "Haw" and "Gee" and 
sharp thrusts of his goad. But there were mischances, untimely 
showers, strong winds that rose unexpectedly, and sometimes there 
was much patient waiting and heavy toil before the load was 
safely moored at the dock. 

The industry has gone, indeed, but the quaint names of the 
olden time remain, and lend romantic interest to the whole region. 
Besides the familiar Green's Point, dating back to the earliest 
times, there were Deacon Sam's Point, Brewer's Point, Safford's 
Point, Cross's Bank and Cross's Bank Point. There were islands 
as well, Baker's Island and Baker's Island Creek, Hart's Nub and 
Hart's Creek, Holy Island, Rogers's Island, with its dignified Rogers 
Island River, Bagwell's Island and the Window Frames. Parting 
these islands and stretching- up between the Points, projecting 
like out-spreading fingers, are the many creeks, Kimball's, Six 
Goose, Wallis's, Lowe's, and Stacey's, Broad Creek, Third Creek, 
Metcalf's and Lord's. What living and beautiful memorials of 
old family names, some of which have wholly disappeared ! What 
quaint reminders of some unknown gunner's lucky shot at a flock 
of wild geese, feeding in the Creek ! What a rarely beautiful land- 
scape, the vivid green of the salt grass, the clear ocean tides, the 
long low 1 stretch of level marsh, always fresh, and in late summer, 
brilliant with the fringe of golden-rod on the edge of the upland, 
and the clumps of scarlet that dot the marsh ! 



PLUM ISLAND RIVER 

No craft that ever sailed the broad and deep river is of more 
interest than the shallop, that bore Rev. Thomas Parker and his 
twenty-two friends, with their wives, children and servants, on 
a Spring day in 1635, from the town of Ipswich, where they had 
passed the winter of 1634-5, by the shore of Plum Island and up the 



PLUM ISLAND ItlVEIJ. 



45 



tidal water, called then by its Indian name, Quascacunquen River 
to a landing on the north bank, near the bridge which now spans' 
the stream. Here they built their log cabins, about the Lower 
Green, where a beautiful bronze ship surmounts the slab which 
bears their names. So the new settlement of Newbury began. Soon 
these early settlers began to build ships or shallops on the banks 
of the river, which was named later, Parker River, after their 
leader and minister, and their maiden voyage was always down 
the Parker and Plum Island Rivers. 

After a few years, the Newbury men established a sturgeon 
fishery on the Merrimac. "William Woods, in "New England's 
Prospect," indulges his extravagant fancy in narrating that these 
great fish attained a size sometimes of twelve and eighteen feet. 
No doubt they abounded in the Plum Island waters as well, and 
it was a fine sight, when in pursuit of their prey, their huge scaly 
bodies leaped their full length into the air and fell back with a 
resounding splash. They were counted choice food when boiled in 
oil, and there was a considerable trade in exporting the kegs, 
in which the fish was packed, to Europe. Fifty years ago they wtere 
still seen leaping from the water in Ipswich River. 

Whales were taken occasionally by the shore fishermen. John 
Higginson of Salem wrote to Symonds Epes of the Castle Hill farm, 
in December, 1706, "I hear a rumor of several whales," and again 
in September, 1707, regarding whale-boats and oars at Ipswich, "We 
should be in readiness for the noble sport." Five Ipswich whale- 
boats were impressed in 1707 for the expedition against Nova 
Scotia.12 The dwellers on Plum Island, scanning the Ocean as 
they went about their daily tasks, had unrivalled opportunity 
to catch sight of the spouting, and no more convenient and safe 
harbor for the boats could be found, than the River beach and the 
sheltered creek. Seals, then as now, but more plentifully no doubt, 
poked their dog-like muzzles from the rivers and basked in the sun 
in herds on the Bar at low tide. 

The finest food fishes abounded in the early days, salmon and 
shad, alewives and mackerel, smelt, tom-cod, eels and flounders in 
the shore waters, tautog, the lordly cod and all deep sea fishes in 
the open Ocean, not far from the Beach. Oysters were plentiful, 
as the shells in the Indian shell-heaps bear evidence, and a great 
shell, eight or ten inches long, is still dredged up occasionally in 
Parker River. Lobsters remained plentiful until a generation ago. 
The clam flats yielded their riches in endless abundance. The Plum 
Island dwellers could always find employment and feast to a surfeit 



i2Felt. History of Ipswich, pp. 109, 315. 



46 



PLUM ISLAND. 



on the various and rich food afforded by the fiats, the river and, 
the Sea. 

In due time, the Rowley folk began their ship-building-. Duncan 
Stewart came from Newbury to Rowley with his sons as early as 
1680, it is said, and began to build shallops and ships at Rowley 
Landing, which sailed down the River and over the Bar. Edward 
Saunders came from Scituate to Rowley, married a Rowley woman, 
and reared up six stout sons, most of whom worked with their 
father in his ship-yard. 

The business at the water-side declined, but the Rowley car- 
penters or ship-builders adopted a very novel method. They built 
in their door-yards or neighboring fields fishing craft, from thirty 
to fifty tons burden, which were drawn by oxen down to the 
launching place. But Captain Nathaniel Perley eclipsed them all. 
He built on Rowley Common, near his dwelling, a schooner of ninety 
tons, and when it was finished, more than a hundred yoke of oxen, 
gathered from all the country-side, drew it a mile and a half to 
the Landing. It was well named "The Country's Wonder," and it 
was a brave sight for the Plum Island folk, when she sailed down 
the River on her maiden voyage with colors flying-. 

There were sloops and schooners at the Green's Point wharf, 
Richard Shatswell's "Hannah" and many others, Broster Emerson's 
"Sea Flower" and "Hope," the fleet of ships and brigs, schooners 
and sloops, sailing in from Sea from fishing trips or West India 
voyages or far foreign voyages, and the stately East Indiamen, 
built in the Cove ship-yard, the "Arab," the "Hebrus," and many an- 
other, coming down the Ipswich River and making sail as they 
crossed the Bar. 

But the most extraordinary and fearful voyage of which record 
remains was that of two Rowley men, Samuel Pulsifer and Samuel 
Elwell, who went clamming on the flats between Plum Island and 
Hog Island up the River, in Rowley bounds, on Monday, December 
4, 1786. They came to their hut on Hog Island, planning to spend 
the night, but a snow storm came on, and they attempted to leave 
the Island at low water. They soon were lost and after wandering 
a while, took refuge in a stack of salt hay, in which they dug- a 
hole and camped for the night. In the morning, the tide had risen 
so high that it drove them to the top of the stack, and to their 
horror a floating field of ice struck the stack, drove it off the 
staddle and set it afloat. 

The fury of the storm was at its height. The stack was driven 
this way and that, and at last, just as another floated by, they felt 
their own separating under their feet. By rare good fortune, they 




DIGGING SAND. 




WHEELING. 




RETURNING. 



PLUM ISLAND RIVER. 



47 



were able to leap upon the other stack, upon Avhich they remained 
about two hours, suffering- so much from the cold and wet that they 
began to feel sleepy. The friendly stack was driven at length into 
(Smith's Cove, so called, at Smith's or Fish Island, as it has since 
been called, near Mr. Hudgen's farm. Here the ice prevented 
their approach to the shore about four rods away. After a while, 
they perceived that the wind and tide were driving them farther 
from the land. Pulsifer immediately leaped upon the ice and called 
to his companion to follow. Half stupefied, Elwell rallied his 
powers, got upon a floating cake and reached the shore. Pulcifer 
was obliged to wade from the ice. His legs were so benumbed 
that they were powerless, and it was only by moving them forward 
with his hands that he reached the shore. 

Their spirits rose and with fresh determination they ran about, 
hoping to find some shelter near at hand. To their dismay, they 
found themselves on an island. To venture into the water meant 
death, to remain where they were would be fatal. Fortunately 
there was a stack of dry hay, into which they crawled and began to 
cry for help. A man passed, probably on the Neck road, but he did 
not hear their shouts. About an hour later, Major Charles Smith, 
the owner of the neig-hboring- farm, with his two sons, came within 
eight of the island, in search for his strayed sheep. One of the 
sons saw a man on top of the stack, swinging his hat and crying* 
for help. The Major, knowing the ground, went at once to the, 
island, over a causeway covered by the tide about three feet deep, 
and brought off the distressed men. He took them to his house 
and cared for them until Thursday, when they were able to return 
to their homes. 

This acount was taken from the mouths of the two men, by 
Rev. Ebenezer Bradford, minister of the Ptowley Church, and pub- 
lished in the Massachusetts Gazette in Dec, 1786. The storm, which 
eo nearly caused their death, was of great severity. The tide rose 
to a height scarcely equalled before or since. All the salt hay on 
staddles on the Rowley marsh was floated off and driven on the 
Ipswich shore. Eowley River was frozen over soon after, and the 
farmers set out with their ox-teams to secure their lost hay. But 
it was so frozen and wedged in by the ice floes that very little was 
recovered and hundreds of tons were completely lost. 13 

Later day memories are of the sand schooners, which were al- 
lowed to ground upon Sandy Point. Working briskly, the crew were 
able to run the sand aboard in wheel-barrows and complete the 
loading before the schooner floated on the high tide. Charles Wade, 



lSGage's History of Rowley, pp. 424-426. 



48 



PLUM ISLAND. 



the Grape Island recluse, had a flat-bottomed boat, which he had 
built and equipped with a lee-board, and a unique tender, which was 
fitted with wheel and handles, and served equally well as a boat 
in the water and a wheel-barrow on the flats. No weather was too 
heavy for the veteran boatman and his strange craft. The good 
steamer, Carlotta, after many years of useful service on [pswich 
and Plum Island Rivers has been sold to Salem parties. Her place 
is supplied by a multitude of motor boats. 

On the extreme northern end of the Island the Newburyport 
people built a fort in 1775-6, and again in the War of 1812, a battery 
was located there and on the Turnpike and garrisoned by the Coast 
Guard. The turnpike and bridge were built in 1806 and a small 
hotel was opened in 1807. A Horse-Railroad to the Island began 
to be operated from Newburyport in 1887, which was supplanted 
by the Electric Trolley line in 1894. i3* 



BEACH AND BAR 

The long miles of Sandy beach, facing the open Ocean, termi- 
nating in dangerous Bars at the north and south ends, have been 
the scene of many a ship-wreck and the loss of many lives. The 
tale begins with the mystic misdeed of Capt. Henry Main, an Isle 
of Shoals fisherman, who had a house by the river side in Ipswich. 
The Court Records make no mention of any offence, smirching his 
good name. But the old wives persisted in affirming that he was a 
wicked man, and that for some black crime he was chained to 
Ipswich Bar and doomed to shovel the shifting sands forever, and 
when the angry surf seemed to shake the very earth with its 
mighty roar, they used to say, "Harry Main growls at his work 
to-day." Traditions of Captain Kidd and his pirate crew linger as 
well, and some old coins that have been found have been regarded 
by the credulous as part of his ill-gotten booty. 

The authentic records of shipwrecks and loss of life upon the 
Beach and Bar on the Ipswich end of Plum Island and on Castle 
Hill Beach begin in 1723. In that year, on May 10th, a solitary; 
fisherman presumably, Amos Morris, was drowned while coming 
over the Bar. On March 10, 1755, Lieut. John Boardman and Mr.i 
John Rogers, son of Richard Rogers, were "cast on Shore on Castle 
Hill Beach and Perish'd with the Cold & Snow." Richard Farrin, 
a gunsmith and an especially valuable man to the community, 
was drowned on the Bar on May 4, 1761, in the midst of the French 



i3aCurrier's History of Newburyport. 



BEACH AND BAR. 



49 



Mid Indian War. Daniel Ringe and Robert Spiller were cast on the 
Bar in a two-masted boat, in the winter of 1775-6 and lost their 
lires. Captain John Calef, son of Dr. Calef, on his return voyage 
from the West Indies, was driven upon Plum Island Beach, and 
drowned while attempting to reach the shore on February 19,' 1782. 
Three Ipswich men, Isaac Galloway, Philip Lord Jr. and Thomas 
I-ord, were "Drowned Crossing Plumb Island River in a wherry been 
on a claming voige" Sept 12, 1785. 

A vessel belonging in Brunswick, Maine, was cast away on the 
Bar on November 7, 1802 and all on board perished. The body of 
the young Captain was recovered and buried in the old High Street 
Burying Ground. The stone that marks his grave bears the in- 
scription : 

8acred to the memory of Capt. Joseph Melcher, youngest son of 
Mr. Joseph and Mrs. Mary Melcher of Brunswick, who perished in 
a storm, Nov. 7th, 1802 on Ipswich Bar in the 21st year of his age. 

Amidst the raging billows drove, 

My life to save in vain I strove, 

And soon my strength began to flee. 

I perished in the Cruel sea. 

My weeping friends your silence keep 

When to my Grave you come to weep. 

Prepare to follow me you must 

And mingle with your native dust. 

The Town Records made simple mention of two wrecks, in 
1804, with no clue to the names of the men or their vessels : 

five men taken out of a Vessel cast ashore on Plum Island drowned 
in a Violent storm the Vessel and people belonged to Kittery Oct 
9 and Oct 13, 1804. 

. One other Vessel belonging to Kittery cast away on Ipswich 
Barr in the same Storm People all perished 7 in number Oct - 1804 

Mr. Nathaniel Dole recalls some old graves marked with a 
simple stone on Bar Island Head, which may have been the burial 
place of some of these unknown castaways. A more pathetic re- 
membrance is that of some poor sailor, whose body was buried deep 
In the shifting sands. The wind exposed his remains at last. Mr. 
Dole spied one day a pair of stout boots standing erect, soles upward, 
In the sand. Yielding to his touch, they were found to contain the 
remains of felt stockings and the bones of leg and foot. 

More than forty years passed without any such disaster, and 
then came the wreck of the "Falconer," the greatest maritime dis- 
aster in Ipswich annals. The ill-fated brig, about 300 tons burden, 
commanded by Capt. Joseph Rowlinson, was making a passage 
from St. John to Boston, laden with coal and carrying passengers, 
her crew and passenger list numbering fifty-three persons. The 



10 



PLUM ISLAND. 



Captain made Squam Light in thick weather on Thursday night, 
December 15th, 1847, and tacked ship, standing to the northward. 
He beat about in a vain endeavor to make the open sea, until Friday 
morning at ten o'clock, when he dropped both anchors. One soon 
parted, and the other dragged slowly ashore. One mast was cut 
away but on Saturday morning, December 17th, she struck on the 
southern spit of Ipswich Bar, about three quarters of a mile from 
the Beach. 

The sea made a complete breach over her and she leaked so bad- 
ly that the water soon rose above the cabin floor and drove the pas- 
sengers and crew to the deck, where they lashed themselves to the 
rigging, exposed to the full fury of the storm. At seven o'clock all 
were living. The Captain's wife and son, Charles, died in about an 
hour. The boat was launched and seven put off, but she was 
swamped and four perished. 

The alarm was given in Town and many hurried to the Beach 
to render assistance, if possible. There was no life-boat and small 
boats were dragged over the sands to the shore. No attempt at 
rescue could be made until about noon, when the storm abated a 
little. William Chapman, a young sailor, then put off alone in a 
leaky boat and reached the brig, though his boat was filled in com- 
ing alongside. His coming gave hope and new courage to the sur- 
vivors. Four boats soon arrived and all the living and the bodies 
of the dead were brought to the Beach. A litle boy, nine years old, 
had been washed overboard and his body was never found. 

The people on the shore stripped off their clothing and put it 
upon the sufferers, who were carried at once to the house of Captain 
Humphrey Lakeman. Several died while being carried there. The 
Captain lived less than an hour after reaching it. Six cabin passen- 
gers and eight steerage, beside the Captain and his wife and son, 
seventeen persons, including four of the five women on board, were 
lost. Thirty-six survived the terrible hardships of those Winter 
days, and were received hospitably in the homes of the Town's peo- 
ple. The sixteen bodies were brought to the Town Hall, where fun- 
eral services were held on Monday and a long procession followed 
to the old Burying Ground on High Street. The bodies of the Cap- 
tain and his wife and son were afterwards sent to Belfast. 14 All 
the rest were buried in a common grave in the corner of the ceme- 
tery, near the street. A slate slab, bearing their names, was erected 
a few years ago to mark the almost forgotten place of burial. 

The schooner "Nancy" from Wiscasset, laden with bricks, was 
driven on Plum Island Beach, December 3, 1849, and five persons, the 



i4The Salem Register, Dec. 23, 1847. 



BEACH AND BATt. 51 

whole crew, perished. On December 24, 1850, the schooner "Argus" 
of Frankfort, Maine, laden with hammered stone, was wrecked near 
Emerson's Rocks. Captain Allard Crockett was saved, all the rest of 
the crew were lost. Two men had reached shore, and wandered 
nearly a mile in a vain search for shelter. Their foot prints led to 
a thicket, where their bodies were found. 15 

In the great storm of April 16, 1851, in which Minot's Ledge 
Lighthouse was carried away, the brig "Primrose" from Pictou for 
Boston was driven ashore. Happily all on board were rescued and 
the vessel was eventually pulled off. The tide rose to an unexampled 
height, and flowed entirely across the Island in some places. The 
schooners "Ornament," "Teazer" and "Votary" and an Augusta 
schooner, moored at the Ipswich wharves, broke away. One dashed 
into a warehouse, owned by William Pulsifer, and demolished it 
entirely. Three of the vessels were driven ashore, high and dry, 
and Thomas Harris was forced from his house by the flood tide. 16 

No other serious casualty happened until 1883. On Saturday 
morning, May 26th, at half past three, the side-wheel steamer, "City 
Point," Capt. O. Ludlow, struck on Emerson's Rocks in a thick fog. 
She was bound from Annapolis, Nova Scotia, for Boston, with a crew 
of twenty-four and forty-one passengers, including women and 
children. All were brought safely to the land, though one boat was 
upset, and as the weather was warm, no especial hardship was 
suffered. The Carlotta arrived at the wreck about 10 o'clock, but 
was unable to render any assistance, as the steamer was already 
breaking up under the violence of the surf, on a rising tide, and 
her cargo of potatoes, halibut and eggs was being scattered on 
sea and beach. The walking-beam remained upright after the 
hull of the vessel was destroyed, but in a few days every vestige of 
the wreck disappeared. 

The schooner "Lucy M. Collins," from New York for Ipswich 
with coal, struck on the Bar on August 19, 1891 and became a total 
loss. On May 4, 1893, the schooner "Brave" from Deer Isle was 
driven on the shore near Knobb's Beach and the Captain and three 
men were drowned. Many minor mishaps have occurred since that 
time, but happily no serious marine disaster has happened. 

The Merrimack Humane Society of Newburyport, organized 
in 1802, erected three small houses on the Beach for the shelter of 
ship-wrecked seamen. In the summer of 1852, a new relief hut was 
built about three-quarters of a mile northwest of Emerson's Rocks 
and supplied with dry fuel, straw bedding, matches and lanterns. 

i5Newburyport Herald, Dec. 27, 1850. 
leSalem Gazette, April 19, 1851. 



52 



PLUM ISLAND. 



It was placed in charge of Capt. J. Small, who resided on Grape 
Island, nearly opposite the beach, where the "Primrose" grounded. 
The first United States Life Saving Station on Plum Island was 
built at Sandy Beach in 1874, and removed in 1881 to the northerly 
end of the Island. In 1890, a station was established near the( 
southern end, and a house was erected at Knobb's Beach. The beach 
is patrolled every night during the season of storms by the coast 
guard, down to the telephone hut on Bar Island bluff.i? These brave 
men make their rounds in the face of bitter winter winds and flying 
sand and snow and sleet, ready to warn of danger or give promise of 
relief with their Coston signal torch, and then to hasten to the 
rescue of the men on the stranded vessel with the life boat or the 
breeches buoy, when the wreck can be reached by a life line from 
the shore. 



i7Currier's History of Newbury, II: 20, 21. 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY. 53 



The Annual Meeting of the Ipswich Historical Society was held 
on Monday, December 3, 1917. The officers were elected as follows: 

President, Thos. Franklin Waters. 

Vice-Presidents § Francis K. Appleton, James H. Proctor. 

Secretary, John W. Nourse. 

Treasurer, Thos. Franklin Waters. 

Directors, Henry Brown, James S. Robinson, Arthur W. Dow. 



REPORT OF THE PRESIDENT 

For many years our Historical Society has felt the need of a 
fire-proof building- which would afford a safe place of deposit 
for the Collections, allow room for an expansion of our Museum, 
and provide a hall for our meetings and for many public usesj 
By its architecture, its tablets, its portraits and its furnishings, 
we plan that the hall should be distinctively a memorial of the 
great events in the Town history and of the good and great men 
and women whose names are held in honored remembrance. 

In the Spring of 1917, Mrs. Alice Cogswell Bemis, a native 
of the town, daughter of Daniel and Mercy Cogswell, wife of 
Judson M. Bemis of Colorado Springs, signified her intention of 
making a contribution toward this object. At her 'request, arch- 
itects were consulted and it was estimated that a building, suffi- 
ciently large for the purposes designated, could be erected for 
$25000. Mrs. Bemis then sent "a nest-egg," as she modestly termed 
it, of $10,000. This was placed at once in safe investments, as the 
Treasurer's Report will show, and now amounts to $10,210. The 
sum of $1,000 from the receipts of our twenty-fifth anniversary 
was set apart as the beginning of the Building Fund, which, with 
interest now amounts to $1,070.34. The total Fund is $11,280.34. 

Mrs. Bemis died on October 18 of this year, at the age of 
72 years, 9 months, 13 days. Flowers were sent to the funeral 
service at the Chapel of Newton Cemetery, in the name of the 
Society. 



54 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY. 



THE REPORT OF THE TREASURER, 1916 

T. F. Waters in account with the Ipswich Historical Society for 
the year ending- Dec. 1, 1916. 

DR. 



To Annual dues from members, 

To Life Membership dues, 

To Gifts from members, 

To Books sold by mail, 

Interest in Savings Bank deposit to July, 1916, 

Whipple House : 

To Door Fees, Books, etc., 

Annual Supper, 



To Cash in Treasury, Dec. 1, 1915, 



CR. 

By Salary of the President, 

Insurance, 

Envelopes, Postage, Parcel Post, 

Printing and Publications account, 

Books, etc., 

Express, 

Lecture by Dr. Townsend, 

Incidentals, 

Whipple House: 

Fuel, 

Water, 

Repairs, 
Incidentals, 



Deposit In Ipswich Savings Ltank, with interest 

to July, $1,029.19 

Cash in Treasury, 344.02 





$456.00 




250.00 




15.00 




22.40 




29.18 


$70.20 




100.28 


170.48 




$943.06 




975.33 


$1,918.39 




$250.00 




27.00 




33.67 




38.00 




32.00 




7.29 




7.85 




26.45 


75.14 




11.00 




31.04 




5.75 


122.93 

— 1 



$545.10 



1,373.20 



§1,918.39 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY. 



55 



THE REPORT OF THE TREASURER. 1917 

T. F. Waters, in account with the Ipswich Historical Society for 
the year ending Dec. 1, 1917. 



DR. 



To Annual dues from members, 
To Life Membership dues, 
To Sales of books by mail, 
Gift from a member, 
Whipple House : 

Door fees, books, etc., 

Annual Supper, 



To Cash in Treasury, Dec. 1, 1916, 





$448.00 




50.00 




6.28 




8.00 


$71.30 




126.00 


197.30 



$709.58 
344.02 

{ 

$1 053.60 



CR. 



By Salary of President, 

Printing, Envelopes, Postage, 

Books, 

Balance on Liberty Bond, 

Incidentals, 

Whipple House: 

Fuel, 

Repairs, 

Water, 

Incidentals, 



To Cash in Treasury, 



$300.00 

27.93 

15.00) 

10.00 

9.77 

$104.90 
112.26 
11.00 
17.50 245.66 



$608.36 
445.24 



$1,053.60 



56 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY. 



THE MEMORIAL BUILDING FUND 

Deposit in Ipswich Savings Bank, with interest 

to July, 1917, $1,070.34 

Gift of Mrs. Alice Cogswell Bemis, $10,000, with 
accrued interest. Invested as follows : 
Liberty Bonds, 4%, $3,050.00 

Newburyport Inst, for Savings, int., 20.00 

Newburyport Five Cents Savings Bank, interest 

to October, 1917, 1,020.00 

Amesbury Provident Inst, for Savings, interest to 

October. 1917, 1,020.00 

Woburn Five Cent Savings Bank, interest to Octo- 
ber, 1917, 1,020.00 
Andover Savings Bank, interest to September, 

1917, 1,020.00 

Salem Five Cents Savings Bank, interest to No- 
vember, 1917, 1,020.00 
Danvers Savings Bank, interest to October, 1917, 1,020.00 
Peabody, Warren Five Cents Savings Bank, in- 
terest to November, 1917, 1,020.00 

$10,210.00 



$11,280.34 



THE IPSWIOII IIISTOEICAL SOCIETY. 



57 



MEMBERS 
Life Members 



William Sumner Appleton 
Albert Farwell Bemis 
Ogden Codman 
Richard T. Crane, Jr. 
Mrs. Richard T. Crane, Jr. 
Cornelius Crane 
Florence Crane 
Mrs. Alice R. Hartshorn . 
Benjamin Kimball . 
Mrs. Lora A. Littlefield . 
Miss Katherine Loring 
Mrs. William C. Loring . 
William G. Low- 
Nathan Matthews 
George Prescott 
James H. Proctor 
Thomas E. Proctor . 
Charles G. Rice 
John L. Saltonstall 
Richard M. Saltonstall . 
Mrs. Charles P. Searle . 
John E. Searle 
John Cary Spring . 
Mrs. Julia Appleton Spring 
Eben B. Symonds 
Mrs. Ella C. Taylor . 
Mrs. Harold D„ Walker . 
Thomas Franklin Waters 
Mrs. Adaline M. Waters . 
Sherman L. Whipple 



. Boston, Mass. 
Brookline, Mass. 
New York, N. Y. 
. Chicago, 111. 
. Chicago, 111. 
. Chicago, 111. 
. Chicago, 111. 
Taunton, Mass. 
. Boston, Mass. 
Brookline, Mass. 
Pride's Crossing, Mass. 
. Boston, Mass. 
Brooklyn, N. Y. 
. Boston, Mass. 
. Rowley, Mass. 
Ipswich, Mass. 
Topsfield, Mass 
Ipswich, Mass. 
Beverly, Mass. 
. Boston, Mass. 
. Boston, Mass. 
. Boston, Mass. 
. Boston, Mass. 
. Boston, Mass. 
Salem, Mass. 
. Boston, Mass. 
. Boston, Mass. 
Ipswich, Mass. 
Ipswich, Mass. 
Brookline, Mass. 



Resident Members 



Charles L. Appleton 
Francis R. Appleton 
Mrs. Frances L. Appleton 
Francis R. Appleton, Jr. 
James W. Appleton 
Randolph M. Appleton 
Mrs. Susan A. R. Appleton 
Mrs. Nellie T. Augur 
Eben H. Bailey 
Mrs. Elizabeth H. Baker 
Charles W. Bamford 
G. Adrian Barker 
George E. Barnard 
Mrs. Kate S. Barnard 
Mrs. Alice L. Blake 



Robert W. Bolles 
Warren Boynton 
A. Story Brown 
Frank M. Burke 
Ralph W. Burnham 
Mrs. Nellie Mae Burnham 
Rev. Augustine Caldwell 
Miss Sarah P. Caldwell 
Mrs. Lavinia Campbell 
Jeremiah Campbell 
Mrs. Genevieve Campbell 
Edward W. Choate 
Mrs. Mary A. Clark 
Philip E. Clarke 
Miss Harriet D. Condon 



58 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



Miss Roxana C. Cowles 
Arthur C. Damon 
Mrs. Carrie Damon 
Mrs. Ellen C. Damon 
Miss Edith L. Daniels 
Edward L. Darling- 
Mrs. Howard Dawson 
George G. Dexter 
Miss C. Bertha Dohson 
Miss Grace M. Dodge 
Arthur W. Dow 
Howard N. Doughty 
Mrs. Charles G. Dyer 
George E. Farley 
Mrs. Emeline P. Farley 
Miss Abbie M. Fellows 
Arthur C. Glover 
Charles E. Goodhue 
Frank T. Goodhue 
John W. Goodhue 
William Goodhue 
Mrs. Annie T. Grant 
George H. W. Hayes 
Walter E. Hayward 
Mrs. Maude M. Hayward 
Miss Alice Heard 
John Heard 
Miss S. Louise Holmes 
Daniel N. Hood 
Benjamin B. Horton 
Joseph Increase Horton 
A. Everett Jewett 
Miss Lucy S. Jewett 
Mrs. Harriett M. Johnson 
Miss Ida B. Johnson 
Miss Ellen M. Jordan 
Charles M. Kelly 
Bev. William J. Kelly 
Fred A. Kimball 
Bobert S. Kimball 
Mrs. Isabel G. Kimball 
Gustavus Kinsman 
Miss Bethiah D. Kinsman 
Miss Bhoda F. Kinsman 
Dr. Frank W. Kyes 
Mrs. Georgie C. Kyes 
Miss Sarah E. Lakeman 
Miss Ellen V. Lang 
Mrs. Mary S. Langdon 
Austin L. Lord 



Mrs. Lucretia S. Lord 

Miss Lucy Slade Lord 

Charles L. Lovell 

Bev. Baul G. Macy 

Mrs. Mary B. Maine 

James F. Mann 

Herbert W. Mason 

Mrs. Herbert W. Mason 

Eben B. Moulton 

Miss Abby L. Newman 

William J. Norwood 

Mrs. Elizabeth B. Norwood 

John W. Nourse 

Mrs. Harriet E. Nourse 

Bev. Bobert B. Parker 

Mrs. Bobert B. Parker 

Miss Charlotte E. Parker 

William H. Band 

William P. Beilly 

William J. Biley 

James S. Bobinson 

Mrs. Anna C. C. Bobinson 

Frederick G. Boss 

Mrs. Mary F. Boss 

Joseph F. Boss 

Mrs. Helene Boss 

Joseph W. Boss, Jr. 

Albert Bussell 

Mrs. Elizabeth L. Bussell 

Daniel Safford 

Angus I. Savory 

George A. Schofield 

Mrs. Fannie E. Smith 

Fred A. Smith 

Dr. Frank H. Stockwell 

Miss Lucy B. Story 

John J. Sullivan 

Mrs. Florence Thompson 

B. Elbert Titcomb 

Mrs. Miriam W. Titcomb 

Miss Ellen B. Trask 

Jesse H. Wade 

Miss Emma E. Wait 

Luther Wait 

Albert F. Welch 

Mrs. E. H. Welch 

Miss Susan C. Whipple 

Mrs. Marianna Whittier 

Miss Eva Adams Willcomb 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY. 



59 



Non-Resident Members 



Mrs. James W. Adams 
Frederick J. Alley . 
Mrs. Mary G. Alley . 
Mrs. Clara R. Anthony 
Harry E. Bailey 
Dr. J. Dellinger Barney 
Wm. Franklin Barrett 
Mrs. Wm. Franklin Barrett 
Miss Caroline T. Bates 
Miss E. D. Boardman 
Charles 0. Blood 
Mrs. Charles O. Blood 
Albert S. Brown, Jr. 
Mrs. Ellen L. Burditt 
Frank T. Bnrnham . 
James F. Butler 
William H. Buzzell . 
Miss Florence F. Caldwell 
John A. Caldwell 
Mrs. Luther Caldwell 
Miss Mira E. Caldwell 
Watson II. Caldwell . 
Mrs. Fannie E. Carter 
Mrs. Ruth Lambert Cheney 
Ralph P. Cheever 
Mrs. Ralph P. Cheever 
Rev. Washington Choate 
Frank E. Cogswell . 
Charles Davis . 
Maj. Gen. George W. Davis 
Mrs. Harry W. Davis 
Edward Dearborn 
John V. Dittemore . 
Mrs. Joseph D. Dodge 
Robert G. Dodge 
Mrs. Sarah E. Dodge 
Miss Ellen M. Dole . 
Mrs. Grace Atkins Dunn 
Mrs. Clara E. Edwards 
William W. Emerson 
Miss Christine Farley 
Joseph K. Farley 
Mrs. Joseph K, Farley 
Sylvanus C. Farley . 
Mrs. Eunice W. Felton 
Mrs. Pauline S. Fenno 
F. Appleton Flichtner 
Harlan C. Foster 
William E. Foster . 
Mrs. Julia A. Foster 
William S. Foster . 



New York. N. Y. 
Hamilton, Mass. 
Hamilton, Mass. 
Brool<line, Mass. 
. Boston, Mass. 
. Boston, Mass. 
Chicago, 111. 
Chicago, 111. 
. Boston, Mass. 
. Boston, Mass. 
Lynn, Mass. 
Lynn, Mass. 
Salem, Mass. 
. Boston, Mass. 
Hall, British Columbia 
Medford, Mass. 
North Adams, Mass. 
Philadelphia, Penn. 
Winchester, Mass. 
Lynn, Mass. 
Lynn, Mass. 
New York, N. Y. 
Lonoke. Ark. 
Rowley, Mass. 
. Dedham, Mass. 
. Dedham, Mass. 
Essex, Mass. 
Pipestone, Minn. 
East Milton, Mass. 
Washington, D. C. 
Brookline, Mass. 
Lynn, Mass. 
. Boston, Mass. 
Lynn, Mass. 
. Boston, Mass. 
Rowley, Mass. 
Salem, Mass. 
New York, N. Y. 
Hollis, Long Island 
Haverhill, Mass. 
Cambridge, Mass. 
Koloa, Kauai, Hawaiian Islands 
Koloa, Kauai, Hawaiian Islands 
. Alton, 111. 
Cambridge. Mass. 
Rowley, Mass. 
Southboro, Mass. 
Rowley, Mass. 
Providence, R. I. 
Providence, R. I. 
Rowlev, Mass. 



60 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY. 



Amos Tuck French . 

Mrs. Harriet P. Frothingham 

Mrs. Alva H. Gilman 

Mrs. Mary E. Gilman 

Dr. J. L. Goodale . 

Samuel V. Goodhue . 

William E. Gould . 

Mrs. Amy M. Haggerty 

Arthur W. Hale 

Mrs. Francis B. Harrington 

Clarence L. Hay 

H. D. Higinbotham . 

Miss Louise M. Hodgkins 

Augustus T. Holmes . 

Mrs. James R. Hooper 

William R. Howe 

Mrs. William R. Howe 

Gerald L. Hoyt 

Mrs. Mary Hoyt 

William P. Hubbard . 

C. Whipple Hyde . 

Mrs. Lucy M. Johnson 

Alfred V. Kidder . 

Arthur S. Kimball . 

Mrs. Laura U. Kohn . 

Curtis E. Lakeman . 

John S. Lawrence . 

J. Francis Le Baron . 

Mrs. Caroline Le Baron 

George H. Lewis 

Richard S. Lombard . 

Edwin R. Lord . 

George R. Lord 

Mrs. Mary A. Lord . 

Mrs. Frances E. Markoe 

Miss Mary F. Marsh . 

Mrs. Sarah L. Marsh . 

Everard H. Martin . 

Mrs. Marietta K. Martin 

Miss Ellen D. Martin 

Albert R. Merrill . 

Clarence T. Mooar 

Mrs. Eliza Mulholland 

Guy Murchie . 

Dr. Robert B. Osgood 

Moritz B. Philipp 

Mrs. Julia B. Post . 

Dr. Edward Quintard 

Augustus N. Rantoul 

A. Davidson Remick . 

Dr. Mark W. Richardson 

Charles F. Rogers 

Derby Rogers . 

Miss Susan S. Rogers 



New York, 


N. Y. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


Plainfield, 


N. J. 


Pittsburg, Kansas 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


Salem, 


Mass. 


Brookline, 


Mass. 


. Baltimore, Md. 


Winchester, 


Mass. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


Newbury, 


N. H. 


Joliet, 


Wilbraham, 


Mass. 


. Camden 


, X. J. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


. Orange, 


N. J. 


. Orange, 


N. J. 


New York, 


N. Y. 


New York, 


N. Y. 


Wheeling, West Va. 


Webster Grove, Mo. 


Somerville, 


Mass. 


Cambridge, 


Mass. 


. Oberlin 


Ohio 


New York, 


N. Y. 


Larclnnont 


N. J. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


Panama City, Fla. 


Panama Cit; 


V, Fla. 


Los Angeles, Cal. 


Chariest own, 


Mass. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


Salem, 


Mass. 


New York, 


N. Y. 


Penlyn 


n, Pa. 


Lynn, 


Mass. 


Lynn, 


Mass. 


Rome 


Italy 


Rome 


Italy 


Salem, 


Mass. 


Hamilton, 


Mass. 


Roxbury, 


Mass. 


Peabody, 


Mass. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


New York, 


N. Y. 


New York, 


N. Y. 


New York, 


N. Y. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


New York 


N. Y. 


New Canaan 


Conn. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 






TILE IPSWIOH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



61 



Mrs. Mary A. Rousmaniere 
Richard W. Searle . 
Mr. Henry P. Smith . 
Mrs. Caroline P. Smith 
Cliarles Spragne 
Harry C. Spiller 
George F. Swain 
Arthur L. Sweelser . 
Dr. E. W. Taylor . 
Rev. William G. Thayer 
Dr. Charles W. Townsend 
Frank II. Trussell . 
Mrs. Fannie C. B. Trussell 
Bayard Tuckerman . 
Mrs. Annie Tuckerman 
John A. Tuckerman . 
Mrs. Ruth A. Tuckerman 
Harry W. Tyler 
Dr. Herman F. Vickery 
Mrs. Herman F. Vickery 
Mrs. Margaret Wade 
Langdon Warner 
Roger Sherman Warner 
George F. Waters . 
Mrs. Charles W. Whipple 
Henry W. Whipple . 
T. H. Bailey Whipple 
Frank J. Wilder 
Mrs. Elizabeth Willett 
Wallace Willett 
Mrs. Rosamond W. Willett 
Egerton L. W r inthrop, Jr. 
Frederic Winthrop . 
Thomas Lindall Winthrop 
Chalmers Wood 
Chalmers Wood. Jr. . 
Chester P. Woodbury 
Joseph F. Woods 



New York, 


N. Y. 


Boston, 


Mass. 


Brookline, 


Mass. 


Brookline, 


Mass. 


Brookline, 


Mass. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


• Boston, 


Mass. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


Southboro, 


Mass. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


Hamilton, 


Mass. 


Hamilton, 


Mass. 


New York, 


N. Y. 


New York, 


N. Y. 


Hamilton, 


Mass. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


Brookline, 


Mass. 


Brookline, 


Mass. 


Middleton, 


Mass. 


New York, 


N. Y. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


Fall River. 


Mass. 


New York, 


N. Y. 


Hackettstown, N. J. 


East Pittsburg, Pa. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


East Orange 


, N. J. 


East Orange 


, N. J. 


East Orange 


, N. J. 


New York, 


N. Y. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


New York, 


N. Y. 


New York, 


N. Y. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 


. Boston, 


Mass. 



Honorary Members 



John Albree, Jr. 








. Swampscott, Mass. 


Frank C. Farley 








So. Manchester, Conn 


Mrs. Katherine S. Farley 








So. Manchester, Conn 


Reginald Foster 








. Boston, Mass 


Miss Alice A. Gray . 








Sauquoit, N. Y 


Miss Emily R. Gray . 








Sauquoit, N. Y 


Albert Farley Heard, 2nd 








. Boston, Mass 


Mrs. Otis Kimball . 








. Boston, Mass 


Miss Sarah S. Kimball 








Salem, Mass 


Henry S. Manning- . 








. New York, N. Y 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY. 



Mrs. Mary W. Manning 
George von L. Meyer . 
Miss Esther Parmenter 
Denison K. Slade 
Joseph Spiller . 
Miss Ellen M. Stone . 
W. F. Warner . 



New York, N. Y. 

Hamilton, Mass. 

Chicopee, Mass. 

Brookline, Mass. 

. Boston, Mass. 

East Lexington, Mass. 
. St. Louis, Mo. 



The Ipswich Historical Society was organized in 1890, 
and incorporated in 1898. It has purchased and restored 
to its original architecture the ancient house it now oc- 
cupies, one of the finest specimens of the early Colonial 
style. It has issued a series of Publications which have 
now reached to No. XXII, which are of general interest. 

We wish to commend our work and our needs to our 
own citizens, to those who make their summer home with 
us, to all, scattered throughout our land, who have an 
ancestral connection with the old Town, and to any who 
incline to help us. We can use large funds wisely in sus- 
taining the Society, in erecting and endowing our new 
building, and in establishing a permanent endowment. 

Our membership is of two kinds : An annual member- 
ship, with a yearly due of $2, which entitles to a copy of 
the Publications as they are issued, and free entrance to 
our House with friends; and a life membership with a 
single payment of $50, which entitles to all the privileges 
of membership. 

Names may be sent at any time to the President. Or- 
ders for the Publications will be filled at once. 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY. 



G3 



PUBLICATIONS OF THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL 
SOCIETY 

I. The Oration by Rev. Washington Choate and the Poem by 
Rev. Edgar F. Davis, on the 200th Anniversary of the 
Resistance to the Andros Tax, 1887. Price 25 cents. 
II to VII inclusive. Out of print. 
VIII. "The Development of our Town Government" and "Com- 
mon Lands and Commonage," with the Proceedings at 
the Annual Meeting, 1899. Price 25 cents. 
IX. "A History of the old Argilla Road in Ipswich, Massachu- 
setts," by Thomas Franklin Waters. Price 25 cents. 

X. "The Hotel Cluny of a New England Village," by Sylves- 

ter Baxter, and the History of the Ancient House, with 
Proceedings at the Annual Meeting, 1900. Price 25 'cents. 
(See No. XX.) 

XI. "The Meeting House Green and a Study of Houses and 

Lands in that vicinity," with Proceedings at theAnnual 
Meeting, Dec. 2, 1901. Price 25 cents. 

XII. "Thomas Dudley and Simon and Ann Bradstreet." A 
Study of House-Lots to Determine the Location of Their 
Homes, and the Exercises at the Dedication of Tablets, 
July 31, 1902, with Proceedings at the Annual Meeting, 
Dec. 1, 1902. Price 25 cents. 
XIII. "Fine Thread, Lace and Hosiery in Ipswich," by Jesse 
Fewkes and "Ipswich Mills and Factories," by Thomas 
Franklin Waters, with Proceedings at the Annual Meet- 
ing. Price 25 cents. 

XIV. "The Simple Cobler of Aggawam," by Rev. Nathaniel 
Ward. A reprint of the 4th edition, published in 1647, 
with fac-simile of title page, preface, and headlines, and 
the exact text and an Essay, "Nathaniel Ward and the 
Simple Cobler," by Thomas Franklin Waters, 116 pp., 75 
cents. Postage 10 cents. A limited edition, printed on 
heavy paper, bound in boards. Price, $1.50, postage prepaid. 
XV. "The Old Bay Road from SaltonstalPs Brook and Samuel 
Appleton's Farm," and "A Genealogy of the Ipswich 
Descendants of Samuel Appleton," by Thomas Franklin 
Waters, with proceedings at the Annual Meeting. Price 75c. 

XVI and XVII. Double number. "Candlewood. An Ancient Neigh- 
borhood in Ipswich." 

With Genealogies of John Brown, 39 pp., William Fel- 
lows, 47 pp., and Robert Kinsman, 15 pp. 160 pp., oc- 
tavo, with maps, full page illustrations and complete 
index, by Thomas Franklin Waters. Price $1.50. Post- 
age 8 cents. 
XVIII. "Jeffrey's Neck and The Way Leading Thereto," with 
notes on Little Neck. 93 pages octavo, by Thomas Frank- 
lin Waters. Price 50 cents. 



64 THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY. 

XIX. Ipswich Village and the Old Rowley Road. 76 pages octavo> 
by Thomas Franklin Waters. Price 50 cents. 
XX. The John Whipple House in Ipswich, Mass., and the People 
who have owned and lived in it. 55 pages, octavo, by 
Thomas Franklin Waters. Price 50 cents. 

XXI. Augustine Heard and His Friends (Joseph Green Cogs- 
well and Daniel Treadwell). 120 pages, octavo, by Thomas 
Franklin Waters. Paper covers. Price $1.00 and post- 
age (7 cents). Board covers, heavy paper, $1.50 and 
postage (14 cents). 

XXII. Plum Island, Ipswich, Mass. Its earliest history, original 
land grants, land ownerships, marshes and thatch banks, 
beaches and sand dunes. Illustrated, with maps and 
many photographs of the island scenery. 64 pages, 
octavo, by Thomas Franklin Waters. Price 75 cents. 



Publications of the Ipswich Historical Society 



m 



i 



IPSWICH jfi rt* 
WORLD WAR i 





£SS£$$ 



PUBLIC A TIONS OF THE IPSWICH 

HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

XXIII 



Ipswich in the World War 



BY 



THOMAS FRANKLIN WATERS 



'rinted for the Society 

1920 



Newcomb & Gauss, printfrs 
Salem, Massachusetts 

1Q20 



380921 



FOREWORD 



The material for this last publication of the Ipswich 
Historical Society was collected largely by Mr. Waters 
himself. As may well be believed, it was his aim and 
purpose to make this account of the Ipswich community 
in the World War as full and complete as possible; and 
lie entered upon the task with his customary enthusiasm 
and painstaking care for the accuracy and exactness of 
each and every detail of tin 1 information obtained. Xo 
one ever questioned the accuracy of his statements. Ex- 
actness and fidelity to the strict letter of the truth char- 
acterized all his work, lie wrote, as it were, not only 
for time hut for eternity as well. Had he remained with 
us, the possibility of error or incompleteness in this record 
would have been very remote indeed. V>\\t he was called 
away, and loving hands, for his sake, took up the work 
and essayed to finish the task which he had begun. 

The Society is under dee]) and lasting obligations to 
Mrs. Waters for the time and untiring effort given to 
completing these records and preparing them for publica- 
tion. Every individual case has been carefully examined 
and verified by repeated personal interviews; every pos- 
sible attempt has been made to avoid omissions or mis- 
statement of facts of any kind. Should these occur, the 
blame cannot be attributed to any lack of care or foresight 
on the part of Mrs. Waters. We feel that the work will 
adequately serve the purpose for which it was written. 

Acknowledgement is due to Mr. Edward C. Brooks for 
his valuable assistance and continued interest in the prog- 
ress of the undertaking. lie has rendered a splendid ser- 
vice both for the Society and for the cause. To the 
members of the Legion our thanks are also due. 



THE CHRONICLES OF IPSWICH 
DURING THE WAR 1917-1918 



WAlt DECLARED 

On April 4, 1017, the Senate of the United States 
voted, 82 to 6, that a state of war existed between Ger- 
many and the United States, and the House of Represen- 
tatives passed a similar vote on April 0, 373 to 50. The 
President signed the Declaration of War immediately. 

MEXICAN" FRONTIER SOLDIERS, 1916 

A largely attended ''Military Mass Meeting" had been 
held in the -Town Hall on Friday evening, March 30th, 
Sergeant Myers of the Regular Army, .Major Thomas 
Walsh, Sergeant Hammond of Co. H, 8th Mass. Regiment, 
Lieut. McDade and others made patriotic addresses, advo- 
cating preparedness for the war that now seemed inevit- 
able, and urged the young men to enlist in the Home 
Guard. 

A hue group of Ipswich men had seen service on the 
Mexican frontier in the summer of 1910. Sergeant 
Eugene V. H. Gilbert, Corporals Elmer S. Cowperthwaite, 
Charles A. Mallard and his brother Frank W. Mallard, 
Terrence II. Perkins and Privates Garland II. Dort, 
Charles T. Saunders, Chester A. Scahill, Dennison 
Wallace and Dennis I. Warner were enrolled in Co. II, 
Sth Mass. Infantry. Sergeant Floyd R. Bruce, Corporal 
Rodney C. Bamford, and Privates Wallace Bruce, Carl W. 
Conant, Arthur Drapcau, Henry Lavoie, Frank II. Mor- 
gan, Ellery S. Webber, Roger S. Winch were members 
of Co. A, 1st Mass. Field Artillery. Most of these men 
were present at the Mass Meeting in uniform, distributed 
enlistment blanks, and encouraged enlistment. Fifteen 
names or more were secured. 

(l) 



THE CHRONICLES OF [PSWICII 



FIRST ENLISTMENTS 

By the middle of April the young men were enlisting 
rapidly. Frank Barney, Omar A. Godin, Albert L Meu- 
nier, Alfred E. Wade, and A. Harold Wilson had joined 
Co. II, 8th Mass., the Salem company. Walter R. Pren- 
tiss had enlisted in the NTavy. Francis M. Riley had 
enlisted in Detroit, in the LT. S. Marines, John Edward 
Xorman, Jr., had been assigned to the V. S. X. Radio 
Station at Bar Harbor, Me., as radio operator. Emulat- 
ing the example of the youth of '61, three of them, Barney, 
Godin and Meunier, were only seventeen years old, young 
Wade was twenty. 

PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE 

A Public Safety Committee was organized at once. 
Dr. Frank W. Kyes was chosen chairman, Charles E. 
Goodhue, secretary, and Howard X. Doughty, treasurer. 
Sub-committees were appointed: a Military Committee, 
to organize a Home Guard, Walter E. Hay ward, chair- 
man, George A. Schoheld and George E. Hodgkins; a 
Eood Committee, to consider food conservation, cultivation 
of the land, etc., in response to the President's appeal to 
practice economy and plant gardens, John A. Brown, 
chairman, Charles E. Goodhue and G. Adrian Barker; 
and a Finance Committee, to raise necessary funds, George 
II. W. Hayes, chairman, Herbert W. Mason and Howard 
X. Doughty. The Public Safety Committee was soon 
enlarged by the election of James W. Appleton and Boger 
S. Warner as members. 

GARDEN PLOTS 

Many applications for garden plots were received at 
once, and an equally ready response w-as made by land 
owners, allowing free use of their land. Mr. Doughty 
was chosen Executive Manager for general supervision of 
this work, and under his wise and enthusiastic leadership 
the gardens developed rapidly. Two large fields, one, 
owned by Mr. George E. Parley, on the Topsrield road, 
and a twelve acre lot on Washington street, offered by 
Mr. Michael Ryan, a four acre; lot, owned by the Boston 



DURING THE WAtt. 1 ( .) 1 7- 1 !> 1 S 



3 



and .Maine Railroad, back of the freight house, and a 
portion of the playground on Boxford road, were plowed 
and harrowed by the Committee, the applicants for lots 
providing their own fertilizer and seed. The Town voted 
an appropriation of $500 to cover this outlay. 

FOOD SUPPLY VOLUNTEERS 

Twenty-three boys and girls between the ages of 10 and 
14 years were enrolled as the Ipswich Food Supply Volun- 
teers, to be available for light garden and farm work, sub- 
ject to the limitations of school attendance, at a specified 
rate for their labor. The Public Safety Committee re- 
ported in the middle of May that 119 applications for 
land had been received. These gardens were cultivated 
very carefully, and large supplies of vegetables were har- 
vested. 

The Town ITall soon began to resound with the tread 
of men engaged in military drill. To avoid the incon- 
venience and expense of the local members of Co. II in 
attending drill in Salem, the weekly drill was held in the 
Hall, under the charge of Sergeant Gilbert and Corporals 
Mallard and Cowperthwaite. There were twenty-live 
men in line by mid-April. 

IPSWICH PROTECTIVE VOLUNTEERS 

The Ipswich Protective Volunteers, a company organ- 
ized for local protection, numbered seventy-five early in 
.May, 1917, and weekly drills in the Hall were conducted 
by Sergeant Gilbert and Corporal Cowperthwaite. 
Richard II. Campbell and Sidney IT. Perley were in the 
first enrollment at the Officers Camp at Plattsburg. 

RED CROSS 

A public meeting was held in the Town Hall on Friday 
evening, May IS, to organize a Branch of the Red Cross. 
Officers were chosen: Dr. F. \V. Eyes, president; Judge 
G. IT. \Y. Hayes, vice-president; Air. George E. Hodg- 
kins, treasurer, and Aliss Ellen V. Lang, secretary. The 
Executive Board was composed of the officers and Mrs. 
George II. W. Haves, Mrs. K. E. Titcomb, Mr. Herbert 



* THE CiniONICLES OF IPSWICH 

W. Mason, Mrs. Herbert AY. Mason, Dr. George E. "Mac- 
Arthur, Mr. Howard N". Doughty, Mr. Cliarles M. Kelly, 
]\Iiss Susan Drown, Miss Alice Heard, and M is. Bayard 
Tuckerman. Homo Service Committee: Airs. George E. 
Hodgkins, chairman; Airs. Fred A. Xason, secretary; 
Judge G. H. AV. .Hayes. Air. Frederick S. Witham acted 
as auditor. Air. George E. Barnard was treasurer of the 
Red Cross membership drives. Airs. II. X. Doughty was 
chairman of the work-room committee, with Airs. Kyes 
vice-chairman, and Airs. Frances U. Appleton and AI is. 
Robert B. Parker in charge .of surgical dressings. Airs. 
G. F. Langdon had charge of the knitting. 



m 



FIRST LIBERTY LOAN", MAY, 191 7 

The First Liberty Loan was opened for popular sub- 
scription in May, 1917, the Government called for 
$2,000,000,000, with interest at :J> U per cent., exempt 
from all taxation except estate or inheritance taxes, 
and exchangeable for any subsequent issue at a higher 
rate. The Ipswich apportionment was $120,000. Flab- 
orate and striking posters were issued from Washington, 
making strong appea] to the patriotism of the citizens. 

LIRE RTY 1 A> A X S C OM N 1 1 TTEE 

V large and representative committee had the canvass 
-u charge, consisting of Howard X. Doughty, chairman, 
G. .Adrian Barker, August Benedix, John II. Cameron, 
Joseph J. Ciolik, George E. Farlev, diaries II. Galligan, 
Walter E. ITayward, Charles AI.' Kelly, Mrs. Robert S. 
Kimball, Edward Marcaurelle, Charles A. Martel, Arthur 
Pechilis, Ernest IT. Pickard, Frank E. Raymond, William 
J. Riley, George A. Sehotield, Luther Wait, Albert F. 
AVelsh, Zehulon Witham and John Wolejko. This com- 
mittee, with few exceptions, served through the five suc- 
cessive loans. 

The canvass was conducted with great enthusiasm, and 
generous subscriptions carried the total to $140,000 early 
in June. To warn late subscribers of the approaching 
close of the subscription list, by a nation-wide agreement 
i lie church bells were sounded on Monday night, June 11, 



DURING THE WAR, 1917-1918 5 

four times, to indicate that only four more days remained ; 

on Tuesday night, three times; on Wednesday, twice, and 
oil Thursday once. Hells and whistles sounded ten min- 
utes at noon on Thursday, from 11.55 to 12.05, to indi- 
cate; that only 24 hours remained. 

Subscriptions were received at the First National Bank 
and in an army tent on the triangular green in the Square. 
The .National Guards and the Hoy Scouts were on duty 
in the tent with the committee. Automobiles, bearing 
stirring placards, patrolled the streets all day on Friday, 
and in the evening patriotic addresses were made, the 
Ipswich Military Band played, and the Ipswich Protec- 
tive Volunteers had an exhibition drill. 

FIRST LIBERTY LOAX, $20G,850, JUNE 15, 1917 

The subscriptions in the tent, after the (dose of business 
at the -National Bank, up to ten o'clock P. M., dune l.~>, 
11)17, amounted to $14,500, and the total subscriptions 
reached $200,850, subscribed by 1,123 individuals, 10 per 
cent of the population (1910.) (5,777). 



REGISTRATION DAY, JUNE 5, 1017 

By the Federal Conscription Act, all males between the 
ages of twenty-one and thirty-one inclusive, resident in 
the United States, were obliged to register with the Reg- 
istrars of Voters on Tuesday, the fifth day of dune, 1017. 
Whistles and bells were sounded a full minute in tin; 
morning to give notice of the great event. Promptly at 
seven o'clock the registration began. The Registrars were 
assisted by a large volunteer citizens' committee and an 
efficient corps of interpreters in the Greek, Polish, French 
and Italian Ian °'ua.<res. Of tin 1 C7l men registered, o47 
were aliens, <)24r were native born or naturalized, or had 
declared their intention to become citizens. Of the 324, 
8 claimed to be totally disabled, 110 claimed that they had 
dependent relatives, 204- asked no exemption. 

The War was brought home vividly to Ipswich folk by 
a lecture with pictures in the Town Hall, on Saturday 
evening, dune S, bv Mr. Austin R. Mason, brother' of ^fr. 






u THE CIIKO.MCI.KS OV ll'SWICI] 

Herbert \V. Mason, who had recently returned from duty 
at the front in the Ambulance Field Service. 

STORY OF WILLIAM CLANCY 

Ipswich pride was stirred by the story that found place 
in London papers and in the New York Sunday magazines 
that William Clancy, Boston horn but a resident in [ps- 
wich since he was three years old, who had enlisted in the 
English Army, claimed to be the first American to carry 
the Stars and Stripes into action. On April '.►, 11)17, at 
the famous battle of Vimy Ridge, in a charge on the 
enemy, he had fastened a small American flag on his 
bayonet. ]le was severely wounded, and while in an 
English hospital his story became known, and a picture 
in a London paper showed him in the act of being con- 
gratulated by the American Ambassador, Mr. Walter 
llines Page, in the presence "of his fellow soldiers. 

RED CKOSS CAMPAIGN, JUNE, 1917 

The Red Cross campaign to raise $G,000, the Ipswich 
allotment of the $100,000,000 which the Red Cross 
planned to raise in the week ending June '2~), 1917, was 
opened at a public meeting of the Ipswich Branch of the 
Essex County Chapter, at the Town Hall, on Tuesday 
evening, June 19. The Branch had now attained a mem- 
bership of 372. A careful canvass of the town was made 
by a large committee. A huge clock face was erected in 
Market Square, and the hands were moved as the canvass 
progressed. A mammoth Rod Cross box was also installed 
beside it. On Saturday afternoon the Maiming School 
Glee Club sang patriotic songs at the tent on the green, 
and in the evening, after a parade by the fpswich Protec- 
tive Volunteers, commanded by Eugene Gilbert, captain, 
Quincy Kinsman and Charles 0. Canney, lieutenants, the 
Boy Scouts and the Red Cross Girls, and a band concert, 
Dr. Eugene I>. Crocket gave a stirring address. The local 
subscription reached $10,835.78. The regular work of 
the Red Cross was supplemented in July by an afternoon 
meeting to prepare surgical dressings. 

At the home of Mrs. Herbert \V. Mason a large number 



■ 






DURING THE WAR, L917-1918 



of women were mooting twice a week, to make surgical 
dressings for the French wounded. 

FIRST DEPARTURES 

As July drew to its close, the young men of Ipswich 

were slipping' away to the various camps in different 
branches of the service. The most impressive evidence 
that the War would mean great anxiety and sacrifice in 
many families was given on the morning of Wednesday, 
July 25, 1017, when the Co. IF men took an early train 
for Lynnfield, many friends waving their adieus at tlte 
station. The Artillery men were in cam]) at Boxford. 
By a sad coincidence, the first death in the ranks of 
the Ipswich men occurred on Tuesday, July 24. Frank 
Barney, a lad of seventeen years, a member of Co. H, died 
at the Salem Hospital, following an operation for appen- 
dicitis. 

THE DRAFT 

With much ceremony and due solemnity, befitting an 
event of such momentous interest to a vast number of the 
young men of America, the draft numbers had been drawn 
by lot at Washington, on July 20 and 21. Straightway 
every newspaper in the land published columns and pages 
of the significant figures. The Ipswich Chronicle of July 
27, 1017, published the first 85 numbers that touched the 
Ipswich registrants. 

THE EXEMPTION BOARD 

Ipswich was included in the 21st Draft District, with 
Andover, North Andover, Boxford, Groveland, George- 
town, Middle-ton, Rowley ami Topsfield. The Exemption 
Board was composed of three members, one of them a 
physician. In this district, Judge George 11. W. Hayes, 
chairman, William Bray, Georgetown, secretary, and 
Percy J. Look, ]\T. D., of Andover, composed the Board. 
It began its sessions at Georgetown on Monday, August 13. 
A rigid physical examination was made, which resulted in 
the immediate disqualification of the physically unfit. 
Those who passed this examination had the privilege of 
filing claims for exemption. 



8 



THE CHRONICLES OF ll'XWh'll 



The lists of the physically qualified were a suggestive 
revelation of the great change in the character of the 
population of Ipswich that had conic to pass within a 
comparatively few years. On Monday, 10 residents were 
passed by the examiners, every man of them foreign born. 
On Tuesday, there were 12, only two of whom were Ameri- 
can, and but one of Ipswich birth. Xot a few Ipswich 
men, however, were enlisting in other towns and cities, 
where they made their homes, ami many were enlisting 
in the Engineers, the Signal Corps, and Xaval Reserve. 



THE DEPARTURE OF THE DRAFTED MEN, SECT. 21, 191Y 

On September 21, 1017, early in the morning, the 
drafted men from Ipswich went to Georgetown by auto- 
mobiles, with the Ipswich Mills Band. There they were 
joined by the drafted contingents from the other towns of 
the District, with the Band of the 103d Artillery from 
the Boxford cam]). The whole squad, numbering G8 men, 
then returned to Ipswich. The line of parade was formed 
in Lord's Square, headed by a tile of police and the Ips- 
wich Band, and escorted by about 800 school children and 
their teachers, each one carrying a flag. 

At the railroad station, Judge Hayes of the Exemption 
Board, called the roll, every man responding. Refresh- 
ments were distributed by the Red Cross, and each man 
received a comfort kit containing cigars, cigarettes and 
tobacco. A great crowd of citizens accompanied the men 
to the train, and on the spur of the moment, hats were 
passed and nearly $200 was collected and given to the 
departing soldiers. The train left with enthusiastic 
cheering and the band playing " America." 



r 



RED CKOSS BAZAAR, SEPTEMBER, 1917 

In September all the churches united in a Red Cross 
Bazaar in the Town Hall. A table was assigned to each, 
and the financial result was gratifying. A thousand dol- 
lars came into the treasury. Xear the close of the month, 
the Red Cross was busily engaged in preparing Christmas 
packages for the men in camp and overseas. A list of 



DURING THE WAlt, 1917-1918 9 

contents was prescribed and each package was wrapped 
in a bandanna handkerchief. 

WHITE BTCEAD LIMITED 

As the food situation began to be acute, the Food Ad- 
ministrators of the Stato requested families to eliminate 
white bread two days in a week, and receipts were pub- 
lished for War Bread and War Cake. The use of barley, 
corn and rice Hour was advised. Cards were; distributed 
in the churches requesting returns from each family on 
the weekly bread consumption. 

SECOND LIBERTY LOAN 

The Second Liberty Loan campaign Avas opened on 
Monday, October 1, 1917, with the blowing of whistles 
for five minutes at 7 A. M. To aid in this campaign there 
was appointed a Woman's Committee. Mrs. Isabelle 
Kimball was chosen chairman and was assisted by Mrs. 
Bessie Damon, Mrs. Grace Philipps, Mrs. Maud Hay- 
ward, Mrs. Miriam Titcomb, Mrs. Mabel Henderson, Mrs. 
Margaret Witham, Mrs. Mildred Cartledge, Mrs. Grace 
Barker and Miss L. B. Story. .V vacant store in the Jones 
Block Avas engaged for the use of the Committee. The 
quota assigned to Ipswich was $260,000. October 2d was 
appointed Liberty Day by the President, to stimulate sub- 
scriptions to the loan. The total subscription Avas $340,- 
450, by 981 individuals. 

The Ipswich allotment in the second draft quota left 
toAvn on Friday, October 5, 1917. Benjamin Burns, 
Chester Cameron, Eugene B. Chapman, Moses J. Harris, 
George II. II. Hovalek, Henry S. Joyce, James A. Mc- 
Innis, Edwin P. Murray, Benjamin P. Xewnian. Leslie 
0. Millard Avas included in the quota but had not arrived 
from the West. 



STATE GUARD 

The IpsAvieh Protective Volunteers, recruited now to 73 
memhers, after a physical examination by physicians, took 
the oath of allegiance on Wednesdav evening, October 3, 
1917, and Avas incorporated in the Massachusetts State 



10 



THE CIIKONTCLF.S OF IPSWICH 



Guard, Co. 14-1, 15th Regiment. The Town had appro- 
priated $2,000 in September to purchase the equipments. 
A weekly drill, compulsory f<>r all members, was insti- 
tuted on Tuesday evening of each week, at the Town Hall. 
Uniforms were worn for the first time on November 8. 

Company X, 15th Infantry, M. S. G., was mustered into 
the service of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Octo- 
ber 8, 1917, by Colonel Edward II. Eldredge, M. X. G., 
retired. Below are the names of those who were mustered 
in on that date. 

Walter II. Hathaway, Captain. 

AY. Quincy Kinsman, 1st Lieutenant. 

William T. Dunbar, 2nd Lieutenant. 



Atkinson, Walter M, 
Bailey, Walter It. 
Bayley, Charles II. 
Bell, James It. 
Benedix, August F. 
Bowen, Herbert E. 
Cameron, John IT. 
Carr, Frank 
Carey, Timothy F. 
Chance, Charles L. 
Chouinard, Albert 
Churchill, Henry A. 
Cogswell, Woodbury L. 
Cole, James E., Jr. 
Cowperthwaite, Elmer C. 
Curtis, George II. 
Day, Herbert W. 
Dolan, Marry M. 
Doughty, Howard XT. 
Dunham, John 
Fessendon, Walter D. 
Fewkes, Louis M. 
Frost, James W. 
Gagne, Napoleon 
Gallant Manuel 
Galligan, Charles TT. 
Goditt, William II. 



Goodhue, George E. C. 
Gonsalves, Antonio l\ 
Gwinn, Lawrence It. 
Heard, John 
Hill, Ralph C. 
Holland, Edgar J. 
Hull, Charles G. 
Hull, James 11., Jr. 
Jean, William G. 
Johnson, Cleon B. 
Johnson, Win field L. 
Kelly, William J. 
LaCount, Ralph It. 
Ladieu, Winneld S. 
Lenuix, Uomauld 
Little, Edgar 
Lord, Farley C. 
Lord, George T. 
Lord, Harold F. 
Manthone, George X. 
Manzer, Arthur W. 
Martel, Joseph L. 
Matheson, Eugene 
McCormick, Stanley C. 
Miller, Joseph II. 
Paige, Edward II. 
Poirier, Joseph A. 



DURING THE WAR, 101Y-101S 



1 1 



Roper, Harry IT. 
Schofield, George A., Jr, 
Sheppard, Lionel 
Smith, Dexter M. 
Smith, Gordon 
Smith, Richard IT., Jr. 
Smith, Julian I). 



Stanley, George 
Strangman, John J. B. 
Su])ci', Oliver E. 
Wilkinson, Thomas II. 
Withain, Zebulon 
Worcester, William C. 



The following are the names of those who were enlisted 
to till vacancies caused by men enlisting in the United 
States Army or Navv, and other reasons: 



Burke, I la rl and 
O'Malley, Frank 
Perkins, Raymond W. 
Russell, Foster C. 
Appleton, Elliott L. 
Atherley, Samuel AV. 
Durgin, Elmer A. 
Ilirtle, James G. 



Kneeland, Fred S. 
Sonza, Joseph G., Jr. 
Wells, Guy F, 
Garland, Henry S. 
Adams, Lawrence 0. 
Pickard, Ralph B. 
Pickard, Charles W. A. 



irSWICII MILE RAISES WAGES 

On October 15 the Ipswich Mill made its fifth voluntary 
raise in the wages of the operatives within two years. 
The first was an adjustment which secured a larger per- 
cent of increase for the lower paid employees. Since this 
was done, four ten per cent additions. have been made to 
tiie wages of the employees in Ipswich, Middlesex, Gil- 
manton, Gloucester and South Boston, where the various 
mills of the corporation are located. 

CUIUS T .MAS B O X E S , ?\ T O V E A [ P. E R , 1 1 7 

The Bed Cross voted to send Christmas Boxes to all 
Ipswich boys overseas. Mrs. G. IT. W. Hayes, Mrs. 
Charles Goodhue and Miss Lucy B. Story were appointed 
a committee to take charge of these boxes. Each box was 
to contain 12 articles useful to the boys in cam]), such as 
shaving powder, tooth brushes, writing paper, playing 
cards, chewing gum, tobacco, cigarettes, candy, chocolate, 
handkerchiefs, etc. Also voted to send boxes to all the 
hoys in camp. 



12 



THE CILliOXIGLKS OF ll'SWK'II 



Voted to seiul to France a box containing knitted arti- 
cles for the soldiers' use, such as sweaters, socks, helmets 
and scarfs. 

WAR LIBRARY, NOVEMBER, 1917 

The War Library campaign for books to be sent to the 
camps and cantonments, resulted in a collection of 419 
volumes at the Public Library, and a cash fund of $336.50. 

Service flags were now common. Families displayed 
flags, red with a star in a white field for each member of 
the family in service. Churches, lodges and societies and 
the Ipswich Mills made similar display. One of the most 
significant, was the flag of the .Manning School, with stars 
denoting former members of the school. A tablet was also 
placed in the school, bearing the names of those in service: 
Robert T. Bamford, Rodney C. Bamford, Wallace Bruce, 
Chester Cotton, Richard W. Davis, JIavelock Ewing, Theo- 
dore Farley, Jesse W. Fowler, Percy Glover, Charles E. 
Goodhue, Jr., Roscoe Gould, Raymond L. Grady, Ralph A. 
Hatch, M. I)., Frank Herlihy, George R. ITovey, Grenville 
Jewett, Ralph R. Johnson, Charles M. Kelly, Jr., Kenneth 
B. KeyeS; Forrest II. Kneeland, Ross Lakeman, Karl 
Lange, Adrian Lemieux, Charles A. Mallard, John G. 
Mansfield, James A. Mclnnis, Leslie C. Millard, Anthony 
Millin, Franklin B. Mitchell, Wilfred I). Morgan, Alfred 
E. Xason, Charles F. Xason, Myron Xason, Edward Xor- 
man, Lemuel F. Parsons, Paul Pingree, Elmer Prescott, 
Elliot Prime, Frank A. Reddy, Francis M. Riley, James 
J. Ryan, Chester Seahill, John G. Sperling, Elliott F. 
Tozer, George W. Twitchell, Francis C. Wade, Dennison 
Wallace, Edward Wells, Harold Wilson, Roger Winch. 

BED TRIANGLE DRIVE 

The Red Triangle drive, so called, for the working fund 
of the Toiing Men's Christian Association, was pushed 
vigorously during the month of November. Teams were 
appointed and a careful canvass made. It netted 
$0,742.27, considerably "over the top." 

DECEMBER, 1017 

The Red Cross Christmas membership drive started on 



DUJtIXG THE WAR, 1917-1918 13 

Monday, December 17. Six teams wore organized and 
1,738 members were secured. 

COAT. SHORTAGE, JANUARY, 1918 

The coal shortage bad now become acute. The Bay 
State Street Railway was operating its cars without boat 
and was in danger of being obliged to suspend operations 
entirely. The -New England Fuel Administration took 
extreme measures to secure the greatest economy in the use 
of coal. .V maximum price was established early in Jan- 
uary, $9. 90 a ton for anthracite, delivered, $9.00 for 
bituminous, Lehigh Valley and nut coal, $11.20 a ton. 
The price of milk advanced to 12 cents a quart. On Mon- 
day, January 14, the fuel orders took effect. All office, 
banks and buildings could not be heated on Sundays or 
holidays, or after noon on Saturday. 

Wholesale and retail and other business houses were 
ordered to open their doors at 9 A. M. and close at 5 P. M. 
with the exception of dry goods and other local stores, 
which were allowed to keep open until 10 P. M. on 
Wednesday and Saturday. Markets and groceries were 
instructed to close at G P. M. and 10 P. M. on Saturday. 
The local Fuel Committee ruled that Ipswich merchants 
might keep open on Friday and Saturday until 10 P. M., 
instead of Wednesday and Saturday. These rules con- 
tinued in force until March 6, when all rules were canceled 
except Thursday and Sunday remained lightless nights. 
Dealers were forbidden to sell more than half a ton of 
coal to a purchaser. Street lights were shut off at one 
A. M. 

The fuel crisis grew more threatening as the month 
advanced and the Fuel Administrators ordered a closed 
period for all mills and factories from Saturday noon until 
Wednesday morning, under penalty of two years in jail 
or $5,000 fine. Beginning with Monday, January 21, all 
places of business and amusement were closed for a scries 
of Mondays. 

The fuel situation was aggravated by excessive and long 
prolonged cold weather, which cauesd great damage to 
orchards and tender shrubs. Many churches held union 



14 



THE CHRONICLES OE ll'SWK'll 



services. The First and South Churches worshipped 

together. 

MERCHANT MARINE, FEBRUARY, 191S 

Early in February, Mr. Brainard J. Conley, one of the 
528 New England druggists who had volunteered as re- 
cruiting agents for the new Merchant Marine, was author- 
ized to receive enlistments. Opportunity was given to 
American young men, between the ages of 17 and 27, 
inexperienced in sea-going, to make application for train- 
ing as sailors, firemen, oilers* water-tenders, cooks or stew- 
ards on ships of a training squadron maintained by the 
Shipping Board for preparing crews for the new cargo 
fleet of the Merchant Marine. A considerable number of 
Ipswich men enlisted in this department of service. Train- 
ing ships were located at Boston, the "Meade," the "mother 
ship/ 7 originally "The City of Berlin," with living quar- 
ters for about a thousand, the ''Calvin Austin" and the 
"Governor Dingley." 

In May Henry Howard, director of recruiting in this 
branch of service, issued a pressing call to meet the great 
demand for firemen and coal passers. Appealing to the 
patriotism of young men between twenty-one and thirty, 
he declared, "A young man can show his love of country 
in no more emphatic way than by coming forward in re- 
sponse to this demand for firemen and coal-passers." 

THIRD LIBERTY LOAN 

The Third Liberty Loan campaign was started on April 
6, 1018. A great parade occurred on Friday evening, 
April 19. The Polish residents made a fine parade on 
Saturday afternoon, April 27, and the Greeks displayed 
their patriotic support of the loan by a procession on Sun- 
day afternoon, April 28, and reporting that 274 individ- 
uals of the 500 Greek residents had subscribed. A pictur- 
esque "Masque," "The Drawing of the Sword," under the 
direction of Miss Margaret Eager, drew a large and enthu- 
siastic audience to the Town Hall on April 30. The 
quota assigned to Ipswich was $172,000. The subscrip- 
tions reached a total of $297,200, 72 per cent in excess, 
by 1,097 subscribers. 



DURING THE WAI!, 1917-1918 15 

BED CIJOSS DRIVE 

The Red Cross drive for $10,000 was begun on Monday, 
May 20, 1918, and $19,008.84 was contributed. 

TIG CLUBS 

Prof. Farley, of the State Agricultural College at Am- 
herst, by an address at the Manning School, interested the 
school children in the forming of a pig club. In response 
to his appeal a club was organized and on Monday, May 1G, 
37 young pigs arrived and were distributed to the members. 

SERVICE FLAGS 

On Sunday, May 26, 1918, a service flag was unfurled 
at the Methodist Church, bearing 37 stars. On the fol- 
lowing Sunday the St. Joseph Church displayed its flag, 
with 65 stars, with appropriate services. 

BEGISTKATION", JUNE, 1918 

June 5, 1918, all young men who had reached the age 
of twenty-one since June 5, 1917, registered their names. 

During the last week of June the campaign for the sale 
of Thrift Stamps and War Savings Certificates was begun. 

The Municipal Service Flag was unfurled in Market 
Square on Friday, June 11, bearing 198 stars. 

The Ipswich Mills made its eighth raise of 10 per cent 
in the wages of the operatives. 

JULY, 1918 

Sugar rationing was in full effect, limited to two pounds 
per person each week. In some stores cards were used, 
punched for each sale. 

^inth raise of Ipswich Mills, 5 per cent, in 20 months. 

Seven young Poles enlisted in the Polish Army, recruit- 
ing under charge of Lieut. W. T. Soyda. On Sunday 
afternoon, July 21, eight left for Canada. After a pre- 
liminary meeting in Polish Hall on Estes street, the men 
marched to the Polish Church for a blessing by Father 
Rye. 

AUGUST 9, 1918 

The Knights of Columbus began a drive on Monday, 
August 13, to continue a week. On August 1G, $1,700 had 
been subscribed. 



16 



THE CHRONICLES OF [PSWICII 



FOURTH LIBERTY LOAN, SEPT. 28 TO OCT. 10 

The Fourth Liberty Loan, the "Fighting Fourth," wa9 
oh sale September 28 to October 19. The quota assigned 
was $344,000. The total subscription amounted to $1 12,- 

750, by 1,249 subscribers. 

JUNIOR RED CROSS AUXILIARY 

A Junior Red Cross Auxiliary was organized in July, 
with SO workers under the supervision of Mrs. J. I). 
Barney, Mrs. Ii. E. Titcomb and .Miss Susan Brown. 
The attendance at the meetings, twice a week, from July 8 
to September 8, averaged between 30 and 40. 

REGISTRATION AGES 18 TO 45, SEPTEMBER, 1918 

On Thursday, September 12, 1918, all men between 
the ages of 18 and 45 were registered at the Town Hall. 
The total enrollment was 669, distributed as follows: 

Xative born, 278; naturalized, 80; declared intention, 
51; aliens, 260. 

The nationality of the aliens and "declarants" was as 
follows : 

1st papers Xo papers Total 

Greece 10 89 99 

Russia 8 65 73 

Austria 2 48 50 

Italy 1 17 18 

Canada 23 33 56 

Others 7 8 15 



51 



260 



311 



OASLESS SUNDAYS 

The scarcity of gasoline caused a national restriction 
of the operation of automobiles of every description, ex- 
cept in cases where necessity required, during several Sun- 
days in September. The weather was delightful, but 
regard for the regulation, though not enforced by law, was 
so readily seconded by public opinion, that the main high- 
ways, usually thronged with thousands of machines, were 
almost completely deserted. 

THE INFLUENZA 

The influenza made its appearance in September, 1918. 



DUItING THE WAR, 19 17-10 IS 



17 



It spread rapidly in the thickly populated areas of the 
town, chiefly among the foreign horn. The Board of 
Health ordered the closing of schools, churches, the opera 
house, clubs, howling alleys, billiard saloons, coffee houses, 
and all places of amusement. The Public Library closed 
its doors. It was reported on October 11 that 170 of the 
mill operatives were sick and that only 30 were at work 
at Burke Manufactory. On Sunday, October 6, the Cable 
Memorial Hospital had more than ?>() patients suffering 
from pneumonia which followed the influenza, and there 
was one death. 

In accordance with the invitation of the trustees, the 
State authorities took over the Hospital on Sunday, Octo- 
bef 0, and erected 50 tents, each large enough for two 
patients. Company X, 15th Infantry, the local company, 
w;is ordered out, and the men worked vigorously all day 
Sunday pitching the tents, laying pipes for heating them, 
installing electric wires, and establishing their own camp. 
The local carpenters were requisitioned, lumber was 
brought from the Canney lumber yard, and as the work 
had been pressed during Sunday night, early on Monday 
a "shack,"' ISO feet long, very substantially built and con- 
veniently arranged, was completed, and also an adminis- 
tration building. A military guard was established and 
admission was allowed only to those Avho held passes from 
headquarters. 

The weather was particularly fine, and the fresh-air 
treatment in the tents and in the open air was notably 
beneficial. The severest pneumonia cases soon showed 
marked improvement, and there were but few deaths. It 
was estimated that there were at least fifteen hundred cases 
during the prevalence of the disease. The crest of the 
wave soon passed, and the Board of Health lifted its ban 
in the middle of October. The schools opened on October 
21. Cam]) Mason, as the hospital camp was called, in 
courtesy to Mr. Herbert W. Mason, president of the Ben- 
jiimin Stickney Cable Corporation, was discontinued 
October 18. 

The physical examination of Ipswich men, selective ser- 
vice registrants, Class 1, between the ages of IS and 35 
years, began on Tuesday, October 29. Question a ires were 



18 



THE CHRONICLES OF II'SWICII 



being sent to the registrants between the ages of 30 and 
45 years. 

Because of the great victories of the Allied armies and 
the general confidence that the end of the War was near 
at hand, easy credence to rumors of peace was natural. 
On the afternoon of Thursday, November 7, a rumor 
spread through the Commonwealth that an armistice had 
been arranged. Immediately the church bells were rung, 
whistles blown, with the accompaniment of fire-crackers 
and red fire. As the tidings spread the whistles and bells 
of the neighboring towns took up the refrain, and until 
sunset, when the rumor was reported to be premature, 
there was intense excitement. 



THE ARMISTICE 

But the end was known to be at band, and definite news 
of the great event was received at quarter of six on Mon- 
day morning, iSTovember 11. Ten blasts on the fire alarm 
whistle proclaimed the news. The church bells began to 
ring, whistles were blown, the mill announced that a holi- 
day was granted the operatives, stores were closed, all 
business was suspended, and the streets were filled with 
people. An impromptu procession, led by a band, was 
formed before S o'clock, and paraded through the prin- 
cipal streets, and a bonfire was lighted in Market Square. 
The bells were rung continually during the day and for a 
large portion of the following night. 

The great public celebration took place on Tuesday. A 
great procession, led by the State Guard, which included 
lodges and societies, the schools and fire department, and 
large contingents of the French, Greek and Polish socie- 
ties. The Kaiser in effigy was carried in a rough coffin 
on a wagon, and after the procession was dismissed in 
Market Square, the guardians of the Kaiser sold the privi- 
lege of driving a nail in his coffin to enthusiastic patriots. 
When he had been well nailed the coffin and its contents 
were burned. 

UNITED WAR WORK DRIVE 

The United War Work drive for the benefit of the 
Y. M. C. A., the Y. W. C. A., the K. of C, and the 
Salvation Army and the Jewish Relief Society, was in 



DUHING THE WAR, 19l7"1918 



19 



progress when the armistice occurred. Public interest 
was in no wise diminished by the close; of hostilities. The 
Ipswich quota was $17,000. On November 22, the total 
subscription had reached the sum of $27,216.59. 

"victory" loan 
The Fifth Liberty Loan, happily called the "Victory 
Loan,'' was subscribed in May, 1919. The quota was 
$258,000, and it was over-subscribed 22 per cent. The 
amount realized was $310,700. Ipswich proved to be the 
banner town of the Commonwealth for the largest propor- 
tional excess of contributions above its quota, and the 
Victory Loan Honor Flag was duly awarded. This, and 
the other Liberty Loan Flags, have been deposited with 
the Ipswich Historical Society. 

The Woman's Committee which served during the 
Third, Fourth and Fifth Liberty Loans, were awarded 
medals made from captured German cannon, bearing the 
inscription, "Awarded by the U. S. Treasury Department 
for Patriotic Service in behalf of the Liberty Loans." 

The Chairman of the Committee, Mr. Howard N". 
Doughty, which had in charge the raising of the Liberty 
Loans, has furnished an interesting summary of its work: 

$200,850 1121) 1!)% 

340,450 30% 981 16% 

297,200 

442,750 



1st 

2nd 



4th . . 
Victory 



^one 
$200,000 
172,000 
344,000 
258,000 



310,700 



30% 
72% 
28% 
22% 



1123 

981 

1097 

1249 

071 



19% 
21% 
11% 



Total Subscriptions, $1,003,950 

LIBERTY LOAN COMMITTEE 

The Committee, all of whom, with few exceptions, 
served through the five loans, was made up as follows: 
II. ~N. Doughty, Chairman, G. Adrian Barker, August 
Benedix, John IT. Cameron, Joseph J. Ciolik, George E. 
Farley, Charles II. Galligan, Walter E. Ilayward, Charles 
IT. Kelly, Mrs. Eobert S. Kimball, Edward Marcanrelle, 
Charles A. Martel, Arthur Pechilis, Ernest IT. Pickard, 
Frank E. Raymond, William J. Riley, George A. Scho- 
field, Luther 'Wait, Albert F. Welsh', Zebulon Witham, 
John Wolejko. 



20 



THE CHRONICLES OP IPSWICH 



REPORT OP THE RED CROSS ACTIVITIES 
IPSWICH I'.K'ANCll 

"First Red Cross "Roll Call, December, 1 « > 1 T . 
Ipswich enrolled 1,738 members, as follows: 1,722 
animal, 1-1- magazine, 1 contributing, 1 sustaining. 

Second Red Cross Roll Call, December, 1918. 

Ipswich enrolled 1,517 members, as follows: 1,490 
annual, 25 magazine, 2 contributing. 

Third Red Cross Roll Call, November 3-11, 1919 
(which also combined the drive for money for the national 
organization). 

Ipswich enrolled 776 animal members and received 7 
magazine subscriptions. $744.25 was raised for the 
national organization. Their epiota was $2,500.00. 

War Relief Campaign, June 18-25, 1917, Ipswich 
raised $16,335.73. 

Second Red Cross War Fund, May 20-27, 1918, Ips- 
wich raised $19,008.84. Their quota was $10,000. 

First Clothing Campaign for the Commission for Re- 
lief in Belgium, .March 18-25, 1918. Ipswich contributed 
750 pounds; 

Second Clothing Campaign for the Commission for Re- 
lief in Belgium, Ipswich did not contribute anything, as 
it was held during the Fall of 1918, when the influenza 
epidemic was raging, and the different towns and cities 
were advised not to hold the drive if the disease was 
prevalent in their community. 

Used Clothing Campaign, March 24-31, 1919, Ipswich 
contributed 401 pounds. 

The Home Service record up to January 1, 1020, was 
many families cared for and an expenditure of $3,542.35. 

Knitted Hoods — Sweaters, 770; helmets, 72; socks, 
1,918; wristers, 225; mufflers, 238; miscellaneous, 17; 
total, 2,8(il. 

Refugee Garments — 887. 

Hospital Garments and Supplies — S63. 

Miscellaneous Supplies, such as Christmas bags, com- 
fort kits, aviators' vests, quilts, property bags, etc. — 740. 

Surgical D ressings — Absorbent cotton pads, 150; small 
dressings, 050; total, 1,100. 



DURING THE WAR, 1917-1918. 



The Legal Advisory Board for Ipswich consisted of 
George A. Schofield, chairman, Albert F. Welsh, and John 
William Bailey. The associate members of the board were 
Charles E. Goodhue, Edward C. Brooks, and Jacob Smith. 

The members of this board held meetings at the Town 
Mall, at which assistance was given to registrants under 
the Selective Service Act, in properly filling out question- 
naires and administering oaths, and also in instructing reg- 
istrants as to their legal rights pertaining to the rilling out 
of questionnaires and the riling of claims for exemption 
from service. During the war assistance was rendered by 
the members of this board to a very large number of 
[pswich registrants. The large number of alien registrants 
here made the work of this board a very important one. 

The Medical Advisory Board for Ipswich consisted of 
Dr. George E. MacArthur, chairman, Dr. George G. 
Bailey, vice-chairman, Dr. Ernest J. Smith, secretary, 
Dr. M. C. McGmley, Dr. F. L. Collins, and Dr. John B. 
MacDonald, the latter of the State Hospital at Danvers. 
Meetings of this board were held at the (-able Hospital, 
for the purpose of making physical examinations of regis- 
trants referred to this board from the District Exemption 
Board at its office at Georgetown. 






MILITARY RECORDS OF THE 
MEN AND WOMEN IN SERVICE 



Samuel Aitkin, born June 3-, 1895, at Prince Edward 
Island, son of Douglas and Margaret Aitkin. Mustered 
in September 25, 1918. Assigned to 21st Company, Field 
Artillery, at Fort Slocum, X. Y., and remained there until 
his discharge, December 12, 1918. 

George Apostolakos, born at Saint John, Sparta, 
Greece. Age 20 years. Came to United States in 1914. 
Enlisted in Alay, 1918, in infantry, Camp Devens, Co. L, 
Development Battalion. Discharged June, 1919. 

Charles Lanier Appeeton, Major 367th Infantry, 
United States Army. Born at New York, September 25, 
18SG, second son of Francis Randall Appleton and Fanny 
Lanier Appleton. A graduate of Harvard College, A. B. 
1908. 

Commissioned Second Lieutenant of Enfantry, Officers 
Reserve Corps, United States Army, November 6, 191G, 
after service at the July, 191G, Officers Training Camp 
at Plattsburg Barracks, N. Y., as a Corporal in Company 
C, 6th Training Regiment. Called to active duty at the 
outbreak of the war with Germany and assigned for train- 
ing to Company No. 0, 2nd Provisional Training Regi- 
ment, at Plattsburg Barracks, N. Y., from May 8 to 
August 15, 1917. Commissioned Captain of Infantry, 
Officers Reserve Corps, August 15, 1917, and assigned to 
the 152nd Depot Brigade at Camp Upton, X. Y. 

Took station at Cam]) Upton August 29, 1917. In 
command of Company No. 6, 152nd Depot Brigade, Sep- 
tember 23 to October ?>Q, 1917. 

November 1, 1917, assigned to the 3G7th Infantry of 
the 92nd (Colored) Division at Cam]) Upton, commanded 
by Col. flames A. Moss, and placed in command of the 

(21) 





SAMUEL, AITKIN 



CHARLES L. APPLETON 





JAMES W. APPLETON 



FRANCIS R. APPLETON, JR. 



MILITARY RECORDS 23 

Supply Company of that Regiment, which command he 
retained until August 3, 1918. 

Sailed overseas June 10, 1918, on Government trans- 
port "America," arriving at Brest, France, June 10, 1918. 
Proceeded with 02nd Division to training area near Bour- 
bomie-1 es- Rains, in the Department of the Haute-Marne. 

After two months' training-, moved with the Division to 
the front line in the St. Die Sector, Vosges Mountains; 
in line in that sector August 20 to September 21, 1918. . 
Moved with the Division to the 1st American Army Sec- 
tor and in reserve on the west of the American line in the 
Meuse-Argonnc offensive, September 2G-29, 1918. With- 
drawn to Toul (Second Army) Sector, and in the front 
line on the Moselle, near Poiit-a-Mousson, from October 
21, 1918, till after the armistice. 

Occupied Outpost Sector of Second Army at Noveant, 
Germany, November 19, 1918, to December 1, 1918. 
Moved with the Division to the Le Mans embarkation area 
December 8, 1918. Sailed for the United States on the 
transport "Sobral," February 14, 1919, in command of 
367th Infantry, arriving in New York March 1, 1919. 

On March 18, 1919, returned to the Union League Club 
of New York, after a parade on Fifth Avenue, the Regi- 
mental colors of the 307th Infantry, which had been pre- 
sented to the Regiment by the Union League Club prior 
to the departure of the Regiment overseas in 1919. 

Discharged at Camp Upton, New York, April 3, 1919, 
and on March 20, 1920, re-commissioned Major of Infan- 
try in the Officers Reserve Corps. 

Citations: G. O. 367th Infantry, and S. O. 92nd Di- 
vision for conduct of Battalion on the Moselle. 

Francis Randall Appleton, Jr., Lieutenant-Colonel, 
General Staff (Infantry), United States Army. Born at 
Lenox, Massachusetts, July 9, 1885, eldest son of Francis 
Randall Appleton and Fanny Lanier Appleton. A gradu- 
ate of Harvard College, A. B. 1907, and Harvard Law 
School, LL.B. 1910. 

Commissioned Captain of Infantry, Officers Reserve 
Corps, United States Army, November 8, 1916, after ser- 





WILLIAM V. ARSENAULT 



ROBERT F. BAMFORD 





RODNEY C. BAMFORD 



FRANK BARNEY 



%* 



MILITARY RECORDS ll) 

vice in non-commissioned and commissioned grades at 
three Officers Training Camps at Plattsburg Barracks, 
K Y., in 1915 and 1916. Called to active duty at the 
outbreak of the war with Germany and assigned as Assis- 
tant Instructor of Company No. G, Second Provisional 
Training Regiment, at Plattsburg Barracks, N". Y., from 
May 8 to August 15, 1917. Was then assigned to the 
77th Division, National Army, Major-General J. Franklin 
Bell commanding, at Camp Upton, New York, and August 
29, 1917, was placed in command of Headquarters Com- 
pany, 307th Infantry, Col. Isaac Erwin, commanding. 

Sailed overseas on His Majesty's Transport "Justicia" 
(formerly Holland-American "Stadtendam") from New- 
York City April 6, 1918, arriving at Calais, France, via 
Halifax, Liverpool and Dover, April 20, the 77th Division 
moving immediately into the British Training Area at 
Eperlecques, near St. Omer (Pas de Calais) to be part of 
the American Second Corps. On April 29, 1918, after 
eight months duty with 307th Infantry, was transferred 
to Divisional Headquarters to be assistant in the Opera- 
tions and Training ("G-3") Section of the General Staff, 
of which Seetion Lieut. -Colonel lames C. Rhea, G. S., 
was in charge, Colonel Ewing E. Booth, G. S., being Chief 
of Staff. From Mav 20 to June 8 acted as Assistant 
Chief of Staff, "G-3", Colonel Rhea having been trans- 
ferred to TI. Q. Second Corps as Corps ' k G-3". The 
Division was commanded by Brigadier-General Evan M. 
Johnson, of the 154th Infantry Brigade, until May 4, 
and after that by Major-General George B. Duncan. 

Detailed June 8, 1918, by Second American Corps 
orders, as a student to the Army General Staff College at 
Langres (Haute-Marne), the seat of all the "Army" 
Schools, at which there were at one time no less than 
twelve thousand American commissioned and enlisted per- 
sonnel enrolled. Completed the Staff course at Langres 
September 14, 1918, receiving a degree qualifying the 
holder for "General Staff duty with troops," and assigned 
by orders from General Headquarters at Chaumont to the 
4th Division as Brigade Adjutant. 

Joined the 4tli Division in the line southeast of Verdun, 





JOSEPH T. BARNEY 



JOHN BEAULIEU 





DAVID L. BEERS 



PHTNEAS D. BEERS 



*& 



MILITARY RECORDS 



27 



and was assigned to the 8th Infantry Brigade as Brigade 
Adjutant to Brigadier-General Ewing E. Booth, formerly 
the Chief of Staff of the 77th Division. The It 1 1 1 )ivision 
(Major-General John L. 1 lines commanding) moved soon 
afterwards to the front northwest of Verdun, and on the 
morning of September 26 attacked in the first line of the 
great Mense-Argonne offensive, being part of the Third 
Corps of the First American Army. The Divisional Sec- 
tor lay between Bethinicourt and Malancourt and was 
flanked by the well-known Hills "304" and "Le Mort 
Homme." In the line September 20 to October 10, 
1918, occupying successively Cuisy (just east of Mont- 
faucon), Septsarges, Bois de Septsarges, Bois de Brieulles, 
Bois de Fays, Bois des Ogons and Bois de Foret. 

Commissioned Major, Infantry, IT. S. A., October 28, 
1918, and October 29 transferred to Headquarters Second 
Army, Toul (Meurthe-et-Moselle), to duty, first in the 
"G-3" Section of the General Staff, and then almost imme- 
diately as Secretary of the General Staff of the Army. 
The Assistant Chief of Staff in charge of the Operations 
Section ( a G-3") was Colonel William K Haskell, G. S., 
formerly Assistant and Acting Chief of Staff, 77th Divi- 
sion. The Chief of Staff was Brigadier-General Stuart 
Heintzelman, G. S., and the Army Commander was Lien- 
tenant-General Robert Lee Billiard. As Secretary of the 
General Staff assisted in the arrangements fof the advance 
of the Second Army in the Valley of the Woevre, ISTovem- 
ber 10 and 11, 1918, and in the preparations for the gen- 
eral attack on Metz, which was planned for November 14, 
but was forestalled when the armistice became effective 
at 11 A. M., November 11, 1918. 

Detailed to the General Staff of the American Expe- 
ditionary Forces by general orders from G. H. Q., Decem- 
ber 12, 1918, and promoted to be Lieutenant-Colonel of 
Infantry March 9, 1919. During this period continued 
as Secretary of the General Staff of the Second Army, 
which comprised the various divisions in Luxembourg and 
the occupied areas in the Toul Sector, and whose head- 
quarters remained at Toul. Spent a week in the area of 
our Army of Occupation (Third Army) in Germany, 





RUFUS H. BEERS 



JAMES W. BLACK 





JESSE W. BOD WELL 



CHARLES BO I ILEX 



MILITARY KECORDS 



29 



stopping at Treves (Advanced G. II. Q.) and Coblenz, and 
inspecting the French, American and British troops on the 
Rhine between Mayence and Cologne. Also, as represen- 
tative of the Second Army, attended the original caucus 

of the American Legion in Paris and several meetings of 
its executive committee. 

The Second Army ceased to function April If), 1919, 
by orders from G. II. Q. Thereafter returned to the 
United States, stopping on the way at Headquarters, Ser- 
vices of Supply, at Tours, and sailing from Brest on 
Holland-American liner "Xoordam.'' Arrived in Xew 
York City May IS, 1919. Discharged from the service at 
Camp Dix, Xew Jersey, July 18, 1911), and September 6, 
1919, re-commissioned with same grade in the Officers 
Reserve Corps. 

James Waldingfield Appleton, son of Daniel Fuller 
Appleton and Julia Randall Appleton. Born June 4, 
ISGT, at New York. Harvard A. B. 1888. 

Served at the August, 191G, Officers Training Cam]) at 
Plattsburg Barracks, Xew York, as Corporal in Com- 
pany B, 6th Training Regiment. Commissioned from 
civil life duly 7, 1917, Captain Q. M. R. C, Remount 
Division, and called to active service at once. 

After six weeks' training at Front Royal Remount 
Depot, Virginia, assigned in command of Purchasing 
Board, buying mules and horses in Alabama and Georgia, 
with headquarters at Birmingham, Alabama. 

March 2S, 1918, sailed overseas on II. M. Transport 
''Olympic." May and dune, 191S, assigned as remount 
officer at l\ S. Auxiliary Remount Depot at Bellac, Haute 
Yienne, France, dune 30, 191S, ordered to Spain in 
command of Purchasing Board, to buy mules, with head- 
quarters at Madrid. 

September 4, 1918, sailed from Brest for United States 
on U. S. Transport ]\It. Vernon, Torpedoed September 5, 
two hundred and fifty miles out from Brest, and returned 
to that port. Sailed September 6 on IT. S. Transport 
"Lenape," arriving at Xew York September 17. 

October 6 to October 30, 1918, assigned as assistant to 





HAROLD N. BOLLES 



JAN BREWKZUK 





CHARLES E. BROCKELBANK 



JOHN II. BRODKR1CK 



m 



MILITARY RECORDS 



31 



C. 0. at Kemount Depot, Camp Devens, Mass. Xovem- 
bcr 4 assigned as Commanding Officer at Remount Depot, 
Camp Shelby, Miss. Discharged there December 23, 
1918, and on October 15, 1919, re-commissioned Major 
Q. M. R. C, Remount Division. 

Theodore Arsenault, born April 25, 1S92, at Prince 
Edward Island. Was employed at Turner Hill, Ipswich, 
Mass. Inducted into service December 25, 1917, and 
upon discharge from service returned to Canada to reside. 

William Vincent Arsenault, born January 28, 1892, 
at Prince Edward Island. Son of Joseph L. and Mary 
Arsenault. Mustered in Oct. 5, 1917, at Camp Devens, 
Depot Brigade. Ten days later went to Camp Gordon, 
Georgia. Assigned to Battery 13, 321st Field Artillery. 

Sailed May 27, 19 IS, on S. S. Khiva, for Liverpool. 
Proceeded via Southampton and Havre, to training camp 
at Camp Lacourtine, in Southern France. Here was an 
artillery range and the battery was equipped with French 
75's and 100 horses. On August 8, 1918, started for the 
Toul front, a quiet sector, and remained there five days. 
Hiked thence to Pont-a-Mousson and remained fifteen days. 
The battery was actively engaged in the St. Mihiel drive, 
Sept. 12, and lost two killed, six wounded. Hiked thence 
to position in the heavy woods and continued there under 
camouflage ten' days. Advanced through the Argonne 
Forest under heavy shell fire for thirty-five days, support- 
ing the infantry of the 82nd Division, and later the 80th. 
In this advance passed through Varennes, Apremont, Fle- 
ville, St. Georges and Imecourt. A night Avas spent at 
Buzancy, on fire from shells. 

At Barricourt he was one of six left behind on a six- 
horse team loaded with supplies. Having lost their way 
they hiked all night to town of Yaux, where they found 
themselves ahead of their men, close upon the heels of the 
retreating Germans. They hiked back through St. Pierre- 
mont and thence to Fontenoy, their last gun position. The 
battery was retired on November 9, two days before the 
armistice, spent six days at Islettes, camped in pup tents 
in an open field, then hiked to St. Menehould, a French 





WALTER R. BRO'OKS 



DONALD C. BItOWN 




^£0k 


{. 




t: : ^\ 


4 J 


jpr ■ - 


« '^Hgfr 




, r "' - / 


r i^' 


$'&k&r t - 111^ 


^o 


J^^JBiJEnfll 





ELMER A. BROWN 



FREDERIC C. BROWN 



MILITARY RECORDS 



33 



camp, where it remained five weeks. Entrained and went 
to the Haute Marne for the winter. The guns and all 
equipment were turned in, and in the comparative leisure 
that followed a vaudeville show, the "Fleeville Follies," 
was organized, Mr. Arsenaut playing a part, Equipped 
with scenery and costumes the "show" toured the 82nd 
Division, located in thirty-five towns, in the course of 
three months, affording great amusement in the various 
billets. 

Leaving liortes early in March, went to Pont de la 
Maye, 40 men packed in a box car littered with straw, 
three days and three nights. Here comfortably billeted 
in a big barn of the neighboring chateau, five or six weeks 
were passed. Hiked then to Camp Jennicot, a quarantine 
station near Bordeaux. Sailed May 4, 1919, on S. S. 
Arizona, and after a brief stay at Cam]) Merritt, N". J., 
and Cam]) Devens, was discharged May 28, 1919. 

Rodney Chester Bamford, born at Ipswich, Mas3., 
September 15, 1890, son of Chester W. and Lucy Stone 
Bamford. Enlisted at Salem, Mass., in. the Second Corps 
Cadets and served on the Mexican border. 

Called to duty in July, 1917, and reported at Boxford, 
where he trained with Battery F, 101st Field Artillery. 
In September, 1917, this organization went overseas, sail- 
ing from Halifax and landing at Brest, France. lie 
served in France with this organization and then trans- 
ferred to Company B, Sloth Tank Battalion. He had a 
rating as a sergeant and fought during the summer of 1918 
in the engagements in the northern part of France and 
was killed in action in the Argonne Forest, September 28, 
1918. The following is a copy of a portion of a letter 
received from Capt. Thomas C. Brown, Company B, 345th 
Battalion, Tank Corps, in reference to the death of Sergt. 
Bamford : 

''Your brother was in all of the actions that the Ameri- 
can light tanks ever engaged in, — the Battle of St. Mihiel, 
and the larger one that was begun on Sept. 2G near the 
Argonne Forest, ire was killed instantly by a splinter 
of high explosive shell through the heart. His tank had 





GEORGE BRUDZEL 



FLOYD R. BRUCE 





FRANK H. BRUCE 



WALLACE BRUCE 



MILITARY RECORDS 



35 



developed mechanical trouble and he was outside making 
the necessary repairs when the shell hurst nearby. His 
death occurred on September 28, the third day of the 
battle, near the ruined village of Baulny, on the east side 
of the River Aire. II is grave was well marked and cared 
for by his comrades at the time. After the armistice was 
signed the Company went as a body to his grave, where 
a short service was held and where the last call a soldier 
answers, "Taps," was sounded over his last sleeping place. 
''Your brother was a bold and courageous soldier, and 
in your bereavement you may be comforted by the knowl- 
edge that he died a soldier's death, facing the enemy, with 
no thought but that of going forward. While you lost a 
beloved brother, his country lost a brave soldier, who made 
the supreme sacrifice that the ideals of that country may 
continue to live." 

Robert Truman Bamford, born at Ipswich, Mass., 
Sept. 6, 1803, son of Chester W. and Lucy Stone Bamford. 
Enlisted in the IT. S. Navy, Sept. 4, 1912, as an elec- 
trician, third class. First voyage was made on the 
U. S. S. 'Hancock. Was then assigned to and served three 
years on the U. S. S. Georgia as electrician, second class. 
Commissioned as an ensign at the declaration of war, and 
was to participate in activities against submarines in for- 
eign waters. The day previous to the one upon which he 
was to sail for the war zone he lost a foot fighting a fire 
at the IT. S. Naval Station at New London. lie was later 
commissioned a junior grade lieutenant, and later lieu- 
tenant senior grade. 

Frank Barney, born March 17, 1900, son of Thomas 
and the late Mary Barney, of Epping, iNT. II., formerly of 
Ipswich. Enlisted in Company II, 8th Massachusetts 
Regiment, in May, 1914. Died at Salem Hospital, Tues- 
day, July 24, 1917, following an operation for appen- 
dicitis. 

John Beaulieu, bom at Salem, Mass., March 19, 1890. 
Son of Telesphore and Artemis Beaulieu. Entered ser- 
vice September, 1917, and was stationed at Camp Devens 



JkBw-'' 




y&*»if\ 




m HPh ^ 

(it ^^JIBb ' S 

1 1 ^* < 


Hi 


If 






JOHN BRZEZWINSKY 



CHARLES H. BUCK 



fo%:.'> 




w 






P~>'^J 






? ^ 


WBwkti w?l 


« 


'.-, ■ •■■ ■ '•■■ '','■■" ^ 


i^# 









1H 




. 




^mirCspB^B 


, 


</•'' ./"' ■ .; " : 1 


•gMC --'r\"S v l^i 



PETER T. BURNS 



CHARLES G. CALIVAS 



MILITARY RECORDS 



37 



with the 103rd Field Artillery, 26th Division. Went 
overseas and participated in the active fighting of this 
division. Honorably discharged from service in April, 
11)19, at Camp Devens. 

David Lawrence Beers, born June 19, 1893, at New 
Brunswick. Son of David P. and Mary 1). Beers, Mus- 
tered in December 6, 1917, private 23rd Engineers, Fort 
Slocum, N". Y. Transferred to Camp Meade, Maryland, 
and Camp Glen Burnie, Bel voir, Va., and Level, Md. 

Sailed on March 30, 1918, from Ilohoken in S. S. 
George Washington, for Brest. Proceeded to Nevers, 
France, and engaged two months in building a railroad; 
then to Gen. Pershing's headquarters, Chaumont, building 
streets and pavements for the Officers Gas Training School ; 
thence to Neufch'ateau, building automobile parkway. On 
Sept. 6, went to Bordeaux for a six weeks' period, loading 
machinery on cars. On Oct. 28, moved to the Meuse- 
Argonne front for road building, generally behind the 
artillery, but exposed to shell tire and machine gun attack 
from aeroplanes 

After the armistice the work of building and repairing 
roads in the Argonne continued all winter until May. 
Sailed from Brest June 1, on S. S. Cap Finisterre. Dis- 
charged from Camp Meade August G, 1919, as wagoner, 
Engineer Corps. 

Piiineas I). Beers, born March 22, 1888, at New 
Brunswick, son of David P. and Mary D. Beers. Married 
July 2, 1919, Miss Margaret Munn. Mustered in Dec. 6, 
1917, Fort Slocum, A T . V. Transferred Dec. 11, to Kelly 
Field, San Antonio, Texas, 833rd Aero Squadron, engaged 
in repairing aeroplane engines; dan. 1, 1918., to Waco, 
Texas; Feb. 2(5, to Garden City, Long Island, and while 
there promoted to Corporal about M arch 1. 

Sailed for Liverpool, May 10, 1918, on S. S. Anslem. 
Spent two weeks in rest camp at Winchester, and then 
employed as aero engine mechanic at Spiddlegate Camp, 
Grantham, England, and was engine tester and went up 
with the (Iyer during the last month of service. 

Sailed from Liverpool Xov. 23, 19 IS, on S. S. Mimic- 





RICHARD H. CAMPBELL 



WALTER L. CAMPBELL 





JEREMIA II CA M PBELL 



.JOSEPH W. CALDWELL 



MILITARY RECORDS 



39 



kahda, was promoted to sergeant on the passage over. Dis- 
charged from Garden City, Dee. 17, 1 ( .MS. 

Rufus ITadl-y Beers, born March 29, L891, at Beers- 
ville, Kent County, New Brunswick. Son of David I*. 
and Mary D. Beers. Mustered in Dee. 6, 11)17, at Fort 
Slocum, X. V., Company IT, 3 5 th Engineers; transferred 
to Camp Grant, Illinois. 

Sailed from lloboken, January 29, 1918, for Brest, and 
engaged in ear building- shop at La Roche! le, France, until 
May, 1919. Sailed from Bordeaux May 30, and dis- 
charged at Camp Devens June 12, 1919. 

James William Black, horn March 28, 1888, at Ips- 
wich, son of Cornelius and Laura Black. Mustered in 
Dec. 20, 1917, U. S. X". R., stationed at Hingham. Ten 
days at Wakefield rifle range, at Bnmkin Island, at head- 
quarters coast patrol boats at Boothbay, Me., and at Rock- 
land, Me. Released at Boston, Feb. 26, 1919. 

Frederick Nathaniel Bodwell, born Marcli 5, 1891, 
at Ipswich, son of William II. and Ann Bodwell. Enlisted 
in Merchant Marine, assigned to training ship Meade, 
Sept. 3, 1918, and made a trip to Sydney. Released 
April 11, 1919. 

Jesse Warren Bodwell, born Sept. 3, 1894, at Ips- 
wich, son of William II. and Ann Bodwell. Enlisted in 
Heavy Artillery in Paterson, X. J., transferred to Fort 
Tilden, X". V., then to Naval Aviation Station, Mineola, 
A T . Y. Assigned to IT. S. S. Artemis and made a round 
trip to France. Transferred to the Charlestown Navy 
Yard. Released June 11, 1919. 

Charles Boiilen", born January 14, 18G6, at Phila- 
delphia. Son of John Bohlen of Philadelphia and Pris- 
cilla .Murrav of Maryland. Married Celestine Eustis of 
New Orleans, La., January 14, 1902, 

Entered American Red Cross end of April, 1918. 
Sailed from New York on EspagTie, May 8, 1918, for 
Bordeaux. Sailed from Liverpool November 23, 1918, on 
Lapland. Arriving Xew York December 4, was sent to 
Xeufchateau first of June as first lieutenant as Deputy 






- 




Jm^ 




m, 




\^^ 








•jSjyjiraif ; „, 


'■■' ** 


J&M^ ' 


' ' x 


M 1 s> j ; 




llL^ r ; ; ; ,; ; :.i'S£ii5 



TIMOTHY F. CASEY 



JAMES S. CASSIDY 








EUGENE B. CHAPMAN 



JOSEPH \Y. CHAPUT 



MILITARY RECORDS 



-11 



Chief of the L. (). C. or railway station canteens and 
officers and men's rest houses in what was known later 
as the Eastern Zone, comprising the Departments of 
Meuse, Cote-d'Or, Meurthe et Moselle, Ilaute-Marne 
Doubs, Vosges, Maute-Saone, stretching roughly from 
Nancy in the north to Dijon in the south and from Bar-le- 
Duc in the west to Belfort and Alsace-Lorraine on the 
east, Chaumont, G. II. Q., was in this zone. 

In August promoted to be a captain. His work con- 
sisted in the general supervision of the department in the 
Eastern Zone and deciding where to install new canteens 
and rest houses. 

Harold Xou.max Bolles, horn April 17, 1899, at Ips- 
wich, son of Xorman J. and Martha Taylor Bolles. Mus- 
tered in October 22, 1918, S. A. T. (\, Harvard, 1921. 
Discharged December 5, 1918, 

John Buzezwixsky, born in Russia, Feb. 16, 189-1, 
son of John and Victoria Brzezwinski. Mustered into 
service July 24, 1918, Cam]) Devens, I2th Division, pri- 
vate in Medical Department. Discharged dan. 17, 1919. 

Ralph Bkockeliiank- born January 12, 1892, at Ips- 
wich, son of Walter and Annie Brockelbank. Married 
April 2, 1918, Miss Bertha Low. .Mustered in July 8, 
1918, at Fort Sloeum, 48th Regiment, C. A. C. As- 
signed to Fort Dm unit, Delaware, then to Camp Eustis, 
Ya., and Cam]) Stuart, Va. 

Sailed October 7, 1918, on S. S. Susquehanna for Brest. 
Proceeded to La Cliartier, and after a week to Broiari, 
and was there when the armistice was declared. The win- 
tea- was spent in Angers. Sailed from St. Xazaire, March 
12, 1919, on S. S. Kroonland for Newport News. At 
Camp Stewart and dismissed from Cam]) Devens, April 
11, 11)19. 

John II. Broderick, born June 24, 1894, at Peabody. 
Son of Hugh and Annie Brodorick. Married Frances 
Titcomb, February 1 t, 1914. .Mustered in Aug. 30, 1918, 
Camp Upton, X. V., private 152nd Depot Brigade. Oct. 
2, 1918, assigned to Army Service Corps. 





PAUL J CHAPUT 



WALTER E. CHAPUT 





It. CHISHOLM 



WILLIAM G. CLANCY 



MILITARY RECORDS 



43 



Sailed from New York October 20, 191S, on II. M. S. 
Orsova, arriving at Liverpool, England, October 31, 1918. 
Arrived at Le Havre, France, .Nov. 2, ID is. November 
7, 1918 to February, 1919,, assigned for duly with Ameri- 
can Zone Major, First Army Headquarters. February 1, 
1919, transferred to First Depot Division, St. Aignan. 
March, 1919?, assigned to Company M, 142nd Infantry, 
30th Division. Sailed from Brest .May 20, 1919, on 
U. S. S. Graf-Walderseo, arriving at Hoboken June 2, 
1919. Discharged at Camp Devens June 12, 1919. 

Edward Caldwell Brooks, born at Ipswich, Mass., 
April 7, 1884. Son of Conrad II. and Alma Atwood 
Brooks. Graduated from Manning High School, Class of 
1901. Enrolled in IT. S. ]\ T . R. F. in October, 1918, and 
passed for entrance to naval training school for pay officers. 
Order for induction for naval service issued November 5, 
1918. Reported for duty November 7, 1918. Assigned 
at Bumkin Island. Later transferred to naval training 
station at Ilkigham, Mass. Released from active duty 
December 31, 1918. Before enrollment served as asso- 
ciate member of the Government Legal Advisory Board 
for Ipswich. 

Walter Roland Brooks, born at Ipswich, Mass., Sep- 
tember 7, 1890. Son of Conrad II. and Alma Atwood 
Brooks. Graduated from Manning High School, Class 
of 1910. At the outbreak of the Avar in 1917, he was 
employed as a government teacher in the public schools in 
the Philippine Islands. 

Enlisted at Manila, Philippine Islands, October 13, 
1917. As far as is known, was the second white man to 
enlist in the Philippines for service, the first enlistment 
of a white man having occurred on the day previous. 

Assigned to the Second Aero Squadron, one of the orig- 
inal aero squadrons of the IT. S. Army. Sailed from 
Manila on the U. S. Transport Sheridan, October 15, 1917. 
Arrived at San Francisco, California, thirty-one days 
later. Sent to Kelly Field, Texas, transferred to the 
19Cth Aero Squadron and promoted to sergeant. Sent to 
Gerstner Field, Louisiana, December 3, 1917, and made 






■ 




- 




*r~ 




Yjt 








' M 




js% a. ffliH 


% 


BPr ' J| 


" 






Slik^fPHIH 


JT\ 








- 






.? 








HHHEiiEik 



JAMES CLARK 



LESLIE S. CLARK 






ESpr^lK 


Hn 






""" 




r $W 







WILLIAM J. M. CLARK 



SYLVESTER D. CONLEY 



MILITARY RECORDS 



45 



sergeant first class. Remained there until September, 
11)18, and went to Camp Gordon, Georgia, after having 
passed examinations for entrance to the Fourth Officers 
Training School. After remaining at the school for a 
month, resigned, in order to he assigned with replacements 
going overseas for active duty. Assigned to Company B, 
3rd Infantry Replacement Regiment, and sent to New 
York for shipment overseas. Made first class sergeant 
while en route to New York, having relinquished first 
rating upon entering the officers training school. Novem- 
ber 10, 19 IS, placed on board the French transport Patria, 
to sail for France the following day. Sailing cancelled 
upon signing of the armistice. Honorably discharged at 
Camp Devens, Mass., January 23, 1919. 

Donald Cltlter Brown, born May 20, 1893, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Harry B, and Annie Culter Brown. En- 
listed as private with 14th II. S. Inf. Machine Gun Co. 
June 1 to Aug. 13 at Camp Lewis, Washington. Attended 
Central Machine Gun Officers Training School, Cam]) 
Hancock, Ga., Aug. 13 to -Nov. 20, 1918. Commissioned 
2nd Lieutenant, Infantry, Officers Reserve Corps. 

Elmer Asa Brown, born June 11, 1899. Son of Asa 
and Lottie Brown. Mustered in April, 1918, and assigned 
to the F. S. General Hospital at Otisville, N. Y., serving 
as sergeant in the Medical Corps for 15 months. Dis- 
charged September 18, 1919. 

Frederick Clarence Brown, born August 21, 1897, 
at Ipswich. Son of Asa and Lottie Brown. Mustered in 
Nov. 15, 1917, private Co. E, Itli Regiment, Fort Slocum, 
X. Y. Changed to Camp Green, Charlotte, 1ST. C. Trans- 
ferred to Camp Stuart, Newport News and discharged 
there April 0, 191 S. 'Drafted a second time in September. 
1918. Discharged Nov. 15, 1918, from Camp Levin, S. C. 

Wallace Bruce, born November 10, 1898, at Ipswich. 
Son of Robert J. and Inez M. Bruce. Enlisted in First 
Mass. Field Artillery, Battcrv F, in the summer of 191G, 
and served on guard duty on the Mexican border as first 
class private ; promoted to corporal in the National Guard ; 





CLIFFORD I. COMEAU 



HENRY E. COMEAU 




S '.i 








\&k ■*" ^*\fcg 


t 




K 1 * *•.'•• 




1 


gjT^g 











FREDERICK E. CRONIN 



JAMES E. CUNNINGHAM 



MILITARY RECORDS 



17 



joined Battery F, 101st Regiment in camp at Boxford; 

was dismissed on account of sickness Dec. 3, 1017. 

Floyd Robert Bruce, born at Ipswich, Dec. 31, 1892, 
the son of Robert J. and Inez M. Bruce. lie married 
Miss Sarah A. Wright of Ipswich, August 13, 1917. Tn 
1911 he enlisted in the Regular Army, stationed at San 
Antonio, Texas, and served on the Mexican border in the 
summer of 1916, with the rank of sergeant, in the First 
Mass, Field Artillery. 

Called to the colors in July, 1917, he joined the camp 
at Boxford. First sergeant of Battery F i 101st Artillery. 
His regiment went overseas in the S. S. Adriatic, and pro- 
ceeded from Liverpool to Southampton and Havre, and 
thence to the great French artillery school where Napo- 
leon's army was trained, at Camp Coetquidan. At the end 
of January moved to the front at Chemin des Dames and 
continued in action forty- two days, using French 75 mm. 
guns. Then withdrawn to rest camp at Roches. From 
May 4 to Juna 12 the battery was in the Lorraine sector, 
in frequent action. 

Sergeant Bruce was transferred to the Tank School at 
Langres, where about 12,000 men were being trained. 
He left there on September 2, and had part in the St. 
Mihiel drive on September 12 and 13, acting as platoon 
commander in charge of five tanks, using the light French 
type manned by two men, a sergeant as gunner and a 
corporal as chauffeur. , A week later he was sent to Pont-a- 
Mousson, where he was engaged in camouflage forays on 
several sectors in JSo Man's land while the great attack 
was in preparation in the Argonne. 

On September 27 the Tank Corps went into action in 
the Argonne Forest and suffered severe loss, about 00 per 
cent of casualties in dead and wounded. In this action, 
on Sept. 28, Sergeant Rodney C. Bamford's tank was 
stalled under heavy shell fire. He made a rush for cover 
in a shell hole, but was struck and instantly killed by a 
shell fragment. His driver had the good fortune to 
escape. The tanks were operated at about 30 yards inter- 
val, and Sergeant Bruce was about six kilometres distant. 
The tanks were withdrawn in October for reorganization 





LAWRENCE CUNNINGHAM 



THOMAS J. CUNNINGHAM 







wm 1 ^ 


^jfli 


^Emttm. 


-Cg^^^^j 


^G/tm BtSr***^' 


Jh$35Bm^ ^jgijj 


j&yi BjKj*''^ 


IsK^ 


/flffl Br^.' 


**■'■& 


1 hMMj 


1pb> 








'■■BKy^.w . 









IF 


o v d3wj 






• 




!8|2* 


} ]l" ^Wm 



GEORGE H. CURTIS 



PHILIP E. DANFORTII 



MILITARY RECORDS 49 

and returned to the front on November 5, but were not 
actively engaged. 

The 326th and 327th Battalions, 311 Tank Corps, to 
the latter of which Sergeant Bruce was attached, were the 
only American tanks in action during the war, their num- 
bers being changed to 344 and 345 on the day they went 
over the top at Bernicourt, to avoid confusion with the 
new battalions in training. 
• Discharged from Camp Devens April 10, 1019. 

Frank II. Bruce, born November 23, 1900. Son of 
Robert J. and Inez M. Bruce. Enlisted February 3, 1919. 
Stationed at the Newport Training Station, later trans- 
ferred to IT. S. S. Badger, sailing in European waters, 
then transferred to U. S. S. Olympic. Still in service. 

Henry Warren Bumpus, born at Ilubbardston, Mass., 
August 6, 1895. Pie was employed at Appleton Farm as 
a chauffeur, and registered June 5, 1917. As he did not 
return to Ipswich after the war, and as his whereabouts 
are not known, it has been impossible to obtain any details 
concerning his record. 

Benjamin Franklin Burns, born September 2G, 1890, 
at Ipswich. Son of James and Catherine Burns. Mar- 
ried April 9, 1914, Miss Leah Pennell. Mustered in 
October 5, 1917, at Camp Devens. October 17, private 
Company M, 320th Infantry, at Camp Gordon, Atlanta, 
Georgia. Feb. 1, 1918, changed to Co. A, 4th Engineers, 
IT. S. A. 

Sailed from Iloboken, April 30, 1918, on S. S. Martha 
Washington, for Bordeaux. Arrived May 12, and after 
two days in Bordeaux, proceeded to rest camp at Calais. 
Remained there three days and had first experience of the 
war in two air raids by German aeroplanes, which caused 
no casualties. The following three weeks the campany 
was brigaded with the British in the Samur sector, in 
reserve, engaged in building British rifle ranges. In June 
joined the American army at Croatis near Chateau Thierry 
and the Belleau Woods, where they dug the first American 
trenches in reserve, in anticipation of a German advance. 





WILLIAM E. DAVEY 



FREDERICK E. DAVIS 



■^ 4 




■ ; m 

. v't 


t 


i ' s -' : 1 ':'■■ ;■■■■'. ■'■ '% 


1 & '%. 




OSCAR A. DAVIS 



RICHARD W. DAVIS 



MILITARY RECORDS 



51 



After about four weeks' work, exposed to constant artillery 
tire, moved to the Aisne-llarne front on July 6, L918, 
ami engaged in road and bridge building as part of the 
4th French Army under Gen. Gouraud, until July 23. 
A counter-offensive was made on duly 18. 

The first town captured was Chezy* Advancing 11 
kilometers beyond, on a hill, his company came under 
heavy shrapnel h're, and out of 38 men two were killed, 
the first to lose their lives, and IS wounded. Withdrawn 
for rest, and five days later began the march to the Ourcq 
River, and on August 2 went into action at Sergy (or 
Cergv) and then to the Vesle River, where they were re- 
lieved by the 77th Division on August 12, and hiked back 
to Chateau Thierry. Sickness and disability compelled a 
time in Base Hospitals "N~o. 23 and N"o. 24, near Fevers, 
from which he was dismissed Sept. 16, and rejoined his 
company on Sept. 25, at Malancourt in the Argonne. 
Engaged here in road building under fire until October 14, 
when advance was made to Septsarges and Cuisy. Hiked 
about three days to Vignant, for two weeks in rest camp. 

On November 11, while in position beyond Mont Sec, 
expecting to go into action on Nov. 14, in the drive on 
Metz, their first intimation of the armistice was the sudden 
silencing of the guns. 

Withdrawn to Gjrondville, near Souillv, and a week 
later began the long 21 day hike into Germany. Thanks- 
giving Day found them at Sotrich in Lorraine, where a 
three days' halt was made. The commissary department 
was unable to vary the usual order and they ate their hard- 
tack and "corned willie" with regretful visions of the 
great dinners in their distant homes. On December 1 
they crossed the bridge at Luxembourg and entered Ger- 
man territory at the village of Umersbach, and a week later 
moved on to Uldegand on the [Moselle, where they arrived 
on ISTew Year's Eve. TTere they were billeted until April 
20. Mr. Burns and three others of the Engineers were 
quartered in the home of a deceased German professor, 
where they occupied a large room with two double beds, 
equipped in true German fashion with a feather bed and 
another bed of feathers in place of the American quilts or 
blankets, and a coal stove. The college diplomas and books 





GEORGE H DEMORE 



WALTER E, DODGE 





CHARLES L. DOLAN 



JAMES F. DOLAN 



MILITARY RECORDS 



53 



: 



' 



of the German scholar were still in place and his widow 
treated the men with great kindness. 

On April 20, the company moved to Maychoss for a 
three days' stay, and then, to Demean, where they wen; 
engaged in building an athletic held and baseball diamond 
for the Fourth Division, billeted at Xeunenhoner on the 
Ahr River, a famous summer resort because of the alkali 
springs, the only ones in Germany. lie was detached 
from here for service in the 1st American Replacement 
Camp at Kematicn, in charge of the sterilizer and bath 
room, equipped with 83 shower baths. On July 2 removed 
to Coblenz, quartered in the substantial German barracks. 

Illness compelled him to go to Evacuation Hospital 
No. 49 at Coblenz on July 6. lie was discharged from 
the hospital on July 10. His company had left for home 
in the meantime, but he soon followed in a hospital car 
to Brest, from whence he sailed on July 27, on S. S. 
Orizaba for Newport News, and was sent to hospital there. 
Discharged from Camp Devens, August 19, 1919. 

Joseph Francis Burns^ born March 20, 1889, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Thomas and Alary Burns. Enlisted in 
U. S. Navy December, 1918. Stationed, as cook, at Hol- 
yokc Pier,' Portland, .Me. Dismissed .March V, 1919. 

Peter Thomas Burns, born June 14, 189G, at Ipswich. 
Son of William F. and Margaret Burns. Mustered in 
October, 1918, U. S. X. R. at Port Andrew. Dismissed 
December, 1918. 

Charles Hejnry Buck, born January 26, 1895, in 
Nelson, England. Son of Charles and Alice Buck. En- 
listed May 4, 1917, 8th Regiment Medical Corps, at Cam- 
bridge. Went to Camp Lynnneld, duly 25. Mustered 
into Federal service August 4, at Camp Bartlett, West- 
field, then transferred to 103rd Field Artillery Medical 
Corps at Boxford. In the latter part of September de- 
tailed to 1st Maine Heavy Field Artillery, and remained 
until October 20, when transferred to base hospital, Fort 
Andrews. Left on November 13 for Camp McGinnis, 
Frainingham, ami a week later joined 1st Provisional 
Corns of Casuals at Westfield. On November 21 sent to 
Camp Hill, Newport News, and assigned to lOUrd -Medical 



4^% 


' v<rjiH MP -^ . "^^ ' 


r ; : 




FRANK W. DONDERO 



GARLAND C. I>«) I IT 





ARTHUR DRAPEAU 



OSCAR L. ERICKSON 



MILITARY RECORDS 55 

Corps, Field Artillery. Sent to embarkation camp at 
Cam]) Stewart, Virginia, Dee. 1, 1917, and remained until 

discharged for pliVsical disability December 8, 1917. 

James Footville Butler, born August 21, 1892, in 
Ipswich. Son of James F. and Mary Butler. .Married 
Miss Mary E. MeFetridge March G, 1020. First Lieu- 
tenant Infantry, U. S. A. Commissioned Second Lieu- 
tenant Infantry August, 1917. Joined 30th Infantry at 
Syracuse, X. Y., Aug. 31, 1917. Regiment went to Camp 
Greene, N. C, October, 1917. 

Left United States April, 1918. In action in the train- 
ing area, France, until latter part of May, 1918. In 
vicinity of Chateau Thierry and along the Marne River 
in May and June, 1918, with Third Division. In reward 
for its splendid achievement in repelling the German ad- 
vance in this sector, the 30th Infantry was awarded the 
distinction of having its colors decorated with the Croix de 
Guerre with palm. 

At Second Army Corps Schools as instructor until April, 
1919. .Range ofticer at A. E. F. Rifle, Pistol and Mus- 
ketry Competitions and Inter- Allied Rifle and Pistol Com- 
petitions in May and June, 1919. Commanded G. II. Q. 
Demonstration Company. Promoted to Captain, May, 
1919. Returned to United States July, 1919. 

Joseph Warren Caldwell, born at Ipswich, Mass., 
July 21, 1873. Son of Joseph N. and Jeanette F. Cald- 
well. Enlisted in the U. S. Navy, March 21, 1898. 
Served through the Spanish War and was honorably dis- 
charged from service January G, 1901. Entered the 
Charlestown Navy Yard as civilian employee, remaining 
there until June, 190G ; then transferred to the naval sta- 
tion at Cavite, Philippine Islands, the first white man to 
be employed at that station. Returned to the Charlestown 
Navy Yard in 1908, continuing in the government employ 
until 1911. Employed in private business until January 
21, 1918, on which date he enrolled in the U. S. N. R. F. 
With 100 other men, he was sent to the naval ammunition 
depot at St. Julian's Creek, Portsmouth, Virginia, and 
was employed in the manufacture of depth charges and 
mines, to be used in the mine fields of the North Sea. 





W. J. HAVE-LOCK EWING 



THEODORE It. FARLEY 





CLARENCE H. FOGG 



"\V. JESSE FOWLER 



MILITARY RECORDS 



f>7 



Continued in service in the II. S. N\ R. F. until Septem- 
ber, 1910, when, by special permission of the department, 
he was allowed to continue in the regular navy for tin; 
unexpired portion of the II. S. X. U. F. enrollment. He 
has a rating in the regular navy of chief carpenter's mate. 

Charles Caeivas, born at Lagadia, Greece, May 15, 
1693. Came to America in 1907. Served in Company 
D, 304th Infantry, 76th Division, and was transferred to 
the Depot Brigade, Camp Devens. Honorably discharged 
November 30, 1918, at Camp Devens, Mass., as acting 
corporal. 

Chester Camekon, born September 18, 1S88, at Ips- 
wich. Son of William J. and Margaret A. Cameron. 
Mustered in October 4, 1917, at Cam]) Devens, Depot Bri- 
gade. Assigned to Company F, 319th Heavy Artillery, 
at Camp Gordon, Atlanta, Ga. ; transferred to Company I, 
148th Regiment Infantry, 37th Division. 

Sailed from .Newport A T e\vs June 21, 1918, on the Due 
d'Aosta. At Brest duly 5, and proceeded to the Lor- 
raine sector, where the regiment remained until August, 
with no infantry engagements but constant exposure to 
artillery and gas attacks. 

In the latter part of August moved to the front in the 
Argonne Forest. On Sep. 20 a heavy barrage was started 
at 5.25 a. m. by 3,200 guns, from 3-inch to 11-inch calibre, 
and at 5.30 a. m. the company went over the top. The 
first objective was captured without the loss of a man, 
though constantly exposed to machine gun and artillery 
fire. Camped in a captured German trench, littered with 
aircraft guns and much enemy property, and resumed the 
advance the next day under heavy machine gun fire. The 
road lined with German killed and wounded. The advance 
was continued and on the fifth day a small German town, 
filled with machine guns in the houses and on the roofs, 
was reached. It w T as captured with heavy loss in killed 
and wounded, only fifteen men remaining in the company. 
So rapid was the advance that it outran the commissary 
and ammunition supplies. Had a counter attack been 
made a retreat would have been necessary. 

On the sixth day the company was relieved, and after 





WALTER H. FRASER 



ALFRED J. GALLANT 





ARTHUR GALLANT 



JOSEPH S. GALLANT 



■ 



K 



MILITARY RECORDS 



59 



an all-night hike reached the food hase on October 3rd, 
and thence to the Ton! sector as reserves. After a few 
days' rest, with ranks restored from the reserves, the regi- 
ment was transferred by motors and railway train to 
.Flanders. Then began a long hike, lasting several days, 
covering about ten miles a day, passing through Fpres, the 
road littered with tanks and aeroplanes out of commis- 
sion. The march was broken by a three clays' halt in cap- 
tured German barracks. The front line was reached at 
Orsis in Belgium. The town was under heavy shell fire 
and the men were stationed 500 yards behind the advanced 
trenches in houses and other shelters. 

At 2.30 p. m. on October 31, a shell entered a small 
room, where Mr. Cameron and three others were under 
cover, and exploded. One man was killed instantly, two 
others died a few hours later. Though rendered senseless 
by the concussion and covered with debris, Mr. Cameron 
escaped with a shrapnel wound in the arm. After treat- 
ment in the field hospital he was removed to the mobile 
hospital, where wound was operated on ; thence to base 
hospital, Boulogne, and after a stop at Hartford, Kent, 
in England, was sent home in the Baltic from Liverpool, 
December 9, and dismissed from service Jan. 9, 1919. 

Jeremiah Campbell, born Nov. 9, 1SGS, at Chelsea, 
Mass. Son of Charles A. and Lavinia Campbell. Mar- 
ried Miss Genevieve Hood, September 6, 1892. Children, 
Richard II. and Barbara. Student at Mass. Institute of 
Technology, 1888-1891. Engineer and mercantile pur- 
suits. Enlisted Sept. 1917, and commissioned Oct. G, 
1917, Major of Engineers Reserve Corps. 

Sailed from 2sTew York on S. S. !N"ew York, November 
22, 1917, commander of officers and soldiers on board. 
Proceeded from Liverpool to France, reported at Paris, 
at headquarters of General Atterbury, head of Transpor- 
tation Corps, and assigned to his personal staff. Sent at 
once to Bordeaux, and assigned to the Engineering De- 
partment, engaged in the construction and operation of 
new docks, where he remained six weeks. Returning to 
Paris, he was engaged for eight months at the Headquar- 
ters Service of Supply, Transportation Corps, with the 



I 





BENJAMIN B. GAUDKTT 



JAMES GAUDETT 



' ' h i' 


'*sf} ^ J 




% ~— ^ f. .... 












ELWOOD GIDNEY 



CHAKL.ES P. GILES 



MILITARY EECORDS 



(51 



Engineer of Construction, in designing of equipment and 
terminals of docks, and in keeping the work at posts and 
headquarters in touch with each other. His experience 

at Bordeaux had fitted him particularly for the latter task, 
and he devised a simple and effective system of daily 
reports of all the works to headquarters on a single Bheet. 

In May, 19 IS, a great scarcity of American timber for 
the construction of harbor craft, barges and lighters arose, 
and Major Canmbell was sent to scour France for ship- 
building material. Mear the coast, south of Bordeaux, 
he found an abundant supply of maritime pine, a cross 
between the Scotch and white pine. An American for- 
estry brigade, chiefly men from the West and South, 
established its camp there, set up portable saw mills, and 
soon supplied a large quantity of valuable ship timber. 

In August, 1918, the ports of Brest, St. Nazaire and 
Bordeaux had become greatly congested. Major Campbell 
was sent to Les Sables d'Olonne, an ancient but little-used 
port between Saint iSTazaire and La Eoehelle, about GO 
miles from each port, to make a study and report on the 
possibilities and capacity of the port for use by the 
American army, lie completed his survey in a week, 
August IS to August 26, and returned to headquarters 
with his report. The potential value of the harbor was 
so evident that he was ordered to return to Les Sables to 
take station and duty there as Superintendent A. T. S., 
having been transferred from the Engineers of Construc- 
tions. On August 31 he arrived with a clerk and opened 
temporary headquarters. American ships, loaded witii 
coal, coke, railway equipment and general supplies were 
sent at once to Les Sables, some of them larger than the 
townsfolk had ever seen. The single track railroad was 
taxed to its utmost capacity. The work went on day and 
night. Troops arrived for labor and guard duty. German 
prisoners came, 50 in one squad, 450 in another, with an 
American guard of S5 men. A small army of civilians 
was employed. A public water supply was installed. 
Barracks and storehouses were built. 

With the arrival of troops a commanding officer was 
necessary. Major Campbell, by virtue of his rank, acted 
in that capacity until, on Sept. 28, he was officially ap- 





LOUIS J. GILLIS 



GEORGE L. GILM< »RE 





WILLIAM R GILMORE 



WILLIAM II. GIRARD 



MILITARY REOORDS 



63 



pointed by the Base Commander, and in addition to all 
his other duties he was appointed local Engineer, to take 

charge; of all engineering and roust ruction work. His 
working force included 250 American soldiers, 250 civil- 
ians and 150 German prisoners. 

Jn December the Y. M. C. A. opened rooms for recrea- 
tion, reading and writing. A canteen was established for 
the convenience of the American soldiers. A hospital was 
provided. Christmas and New Year were celebrated with 
much eclat, the entertainments drawing many of the 
French and American soldiers. 

On January 4 it was reported that M. Clemenceau, 
Premier of France, was in Les Sables. Major Campbell 
sent his compliments and received a response that the 
Premier was just departing but would be at La Tranche 
the following day. Motoring to that town with the Count 
de Bresson, a resident of Les Sables, Major Campbell was 
received by M. Clemenceau with the greatest kindness, 
lie commented most favorably on the work of the Ameri- 
cans in Les Sables and paid a high compliment to the 
ability and valor of the Americans in helping win the war. 
In recognition of his work in building up the }>ort, the 
French Government bestowed on Major Campbell a civil 
engineering decoration. 

On February 24, 1019, orders came to close the work of 
the Transportation Service. The Commanding Officer was 
relieved and ordered to a new station. He returned on 
the S. S. Pocahontas, from St. Nazaire, April 10, 1919, 
and was discharged May 2, 1010. 

Richard Hood Campbell, born August 28, 1S03, at 
Boston. Son of Jeremiah and Genevieve (Hood) Camp- 
bell. Graduated from Harvard 1015. Married Miss 
Anne Staples, Dec. 1, 1017. At first and second camps 
at Plattsburg, from May until November 27, 1017, when 
commissioned 2nd Lieutenant, Field Artillery, and or- 
dered to Hoboken for overseas service. 

Sailed January 15, 1018, on S. S. Mongolia, for Liver- 
pool. Arrived in France on February 1, and went at once 
to Field Artillery School at Saumur. On May 1, ordered 
to report to 2nd Field Artillery Brigade, Regular Army, 





PERCY L. GLOVER 



OMAR A. GODIN 




. 


■ 








fel *- ; v 




Y£- ^ 






ydl 






; 


. ■ :.®.. /■ ■'■;.■■:•;- '; 



CHARLES E. GOODHUE, JR. 



PAUL R. GOODHUE 



MILITARY RECORDS 



65 



headquarters at Souilly near Verdun, and there assigned 
to C Battery, 12th Field Artillery, for duly. 

Remained at Souilly until May 14, when the battery, 
equipped with four French 75's, horse-drawn, marched to 
Vitry-le-Francois, entrained there for Pontoise, aboul 30 
miles northwest of Paris, and marched from Pontoise to 
Trie-la-Ville Chateau near Gisors, on the way to the Mont- 
didier sector. The German offensive toward Chateau 
Thierry caused a sudden change in orders, and on the night 
of May 31 entrained at Gisors for Beta, near Meaux, and 
marched to battery position on June 3, near the Paris-Metz 
highway, in support of the Fifth and Sixth Regiments of 
American Marines, which had been in action for twenty- 
four hours supported by French artillery. 

Constantly engaged here until July 7, when, relieved by 
the 26th Division, and went into reserve position about 10 
kilometres behind lines, remaining there until duly 15. 
In the middle of the night, orders came to take the road, 
and the battery was rushed by forced marches, allowing no 
sleep for man or beast, two nights and a day to the vicinity 
of Villers-Cotterets, and took up position back of the 
village of Montgobert, where it began the barrage fire 
which preceded the attack of July 18, the opening of the 
Second Battle of the Marne. 

On the first day the American/infantry advanced two 
kilometres, the artillery moving forward close behind. A 
division of French Colonials relieved the infantry on 
July 20, but the artillery of the Second Division, in which 
Battery C Avas included, was left to support the French. 
On the next day orders w T ere received to support an attack 
by the French. The attack was not made by the French, 
but the orders to the battery remaining unchanged, the 
officer in command advanced the battery to an exposed 
position in full view of the enemy, where it came under a 
heavy lire of shrapnel and high explosive shells, resulting 
in the loss of two officers and six men killed, and thirty 
wounded, one gun put out of action and half the horses 
disabled. Withdrawn to the rear it received replacements 
of men and took up another position on the following day 
and held it until relieved by a division of Scotch High- 
landers on July 27. 





HAROLD W. GOULD 



ROSCOE \V. COT LD 





RAYMOND L. GRADY 



CHARLES G W 1 N N 



MILITARY RECORDS 



07 



The Second Division then moved by road and train to 
Neuves-Maison, a short distance south of Nancy, where it 

was partially re-equipped and on August 10 was sent into 
line near Pont-a-MoussOn, a quiet sector, and remained 
there until August 28. It was then moved to the south 
of Xancy and billeted over a very large area, every pre- 
caution being taken to conceal the movements of troops 
from enemy observation in the general concentration pre- 
ceding the St. Miliiel offensive. On Sept. 5, the Division 
began its advance, inarching only by night and lying in 
the woods all day. The St. Mihiel attack began on Sept, 
12, and the advance was so rapid that few casualties 
occurred. The Division was relieved on Sept. 18, and 
sent to the rear for a. short breathing spell before being 
sent to join Gen. Mangin's army in the Champagne. 

Xorth of Chalons and Suippes the .Germans were 
strongly intrenched in a chalk ridge at Blanc-Mont. Af- 
ter the battle of Chateau Thierry, the Second American 
Division, the Fifth French Division and a famous Divi- 
sion of French Colonials were designated by Gen. Foch 
as a manoeuvering reserve, and to them was assigned the 
task of carrying this stronghold. The attack was made on 
October 1, the Germans opposing most intense resistance 
until their main line of defense was taken on October 3d, 
after which a rearguard action was fought until the Aisne 
was crossed. In this attack the Second Division suffered 
very heavy casualties, but Battery C, though under fire 
from three directions, happily escaped injury. 

The Second Division was relieved by the Thirty-sixth 
on Oct. G. As its artillery had not finished training, the 
artillery of the Second was retained in support. The 
sector had now become comparatively quiet, as the heaviest 
fighting was in another quarter. On Oct. 25 the 2nd 
Brigade Field Artillery was relieved by the French and 
rushed by forced marches to the Argonne sector, where it 
took part in the opening stages of the final offensive. 
It began on Xovember 1, and from the 1st to the 8th the 
American forces made a steady advance until they reached 
the Meuse near Sedan and Mouzon. On f ,he night of the 
10th the 2nd Regiment of Engineers built a bridge across 





LAWRENCE R. GWINN 



CLYDE K. HALL 



, :, : 














/**? '""^— ^s 




<|SI!j>^ s '" "•$ :. 


^fe%- -\ -'*> 


^sr ' 




■ V '* 




FRED D. HARRIS 



E. RALPH HASKELL 



MILITARY RECORDS 09 

the Mouse and the 9th and 23rd Infantry of the Second 
Division, supported by the artillery, crossed under heavy 
shell fire, receiving many casualties. Not until 1 1 o'clock 
on November 11, Armistice Day, did the fighting cease. 

The Battery remained in position until Nov. 17, then 
began the march into Germany, through a corner of Bel- 
gium, halting ten days in Luxembourg, where it enjoyed 
Thanksgiving Day, and crossed the Rhine at Sinzig. It 
was billeted in the little German town of Rheinbrohl, at 
the extreme left of the American sector on the east bank 
of the Rhine, and passed the winter there. 

Lieut. Campbell left the regiment on March 1, and 
went to the University of Beaune, in France, for a course 
in forestry, which was completed in the middle of June, 
and sailed from Brest on July 10, 1919, in the S. S. 
Zeppelin. Discharged August 15, 1019. 

Second Division, 
citation. 

Second Lieut. Richard Campbell, 12th F. A., 
for distinguished and exceptional gallantry at 
St. Etienne on Oct. 8, 1918, in the operations 
of the A. E. F. In testimony thereof and as an 
expression of appreciation of his valor I award 
him this citation. 

Awarded on June 25, 191S. 

John A. Le.ieune, 
Major-General IT. S. M. C. 
Commanding. 

Walter Lewis Campbell, born May 17, 1900, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Alexander C. and Myra M. Campbell. 
Enlisted July 25, 1918. Sent to Fans' Island, S. C, pri- 
vate, 8th Separate Battalion, U. S. Marines, ami remained 
there until October 19. 

Sailed from Iloboken, October 21, on S. S. Pocahontas. 
At Brest November 2. Sent to St. Aquan for equipment, 
then to Verdun. Marched to Arlons, Belgium, and joined 
the 5th Regiment Marines. Passing througl Luxembourg, 
remained a week, and reached the Rhine in December 13. 





HAROLD K. HASKELL 



HENRY M. HARVEY 





FRANK J. HERLIHY 



JOHN P. HILLS 



MILITARY RECORDS 



71 



Arrived at Nicder Brietbach, near Coblenz, about Dee. 
10, and remained in Army of Occupation all winter. 

On July 17 began return by way of Cologne and Bel- 
gium to Brest, and sailed on July 25 on S. S. George 
Washington . for New York. Went to Camp Mills; dis- 
charged from Quantico, Virginia, Aug. 13, 1919. 

Timothy Francis Carey, born Dec. 20, 1897, at Ips- 
wich, son of Timothy and Catherine Carey. Mustered in 
Dec. 12, 1017, private, Coast Artillery, 2Cth Company, at 
Fort Andrew, Boston Harbor; transferred to Battery A, 
55th C. A. C. 

Sailed in the Mauretania, March 25, 1918. At Liver- 
pool April 2. After five days at Ronsey, near Southamp- 
ton, proceeded to Havre, and then to Clermont Ferrand. 
Mr. Carey was sent to an automobile school for instruc- 
tion in trucking for the battery, where he spent four weeks, 
and was in the hospital six weeks with scarlet fever, but 
rejoined his battery in July, and was at the front at the 
second battle of the Marne, then at the battle of Vesle 
river on the Fismes sector. A week's march brought the 
battery to the Verdun front, where it had part in the 
Verdun drive in September and in the Meuse-Argonne 
offensive. The battery suffered 72 casualties, 14: killed. 
Mr. Carey was slightly gassed but otherwise unhurt. 
French long range 155 G. P. F. guns, weighing 17 tons, 
drawn by the largest tractors, were used. He returned in 
the Cretic from Brest, Jan. 10, 1919, and was dismissed 
February 7, 1019. 

Jeremiah Joseph Carey, born August 1, 1805, at 
Ipswich. Son of Timothy and Catherine Carey. Mus- 
tered in July 27, 1017, private, Company A, 40th Infan- 
try, Camp Merritt, Tenany, jST. Y. Later, Corporal, 
Company A, 40th Regiment, Camp Upton, X. Y. 

Sailed June 20, 1918, in S. S. Tourmania. lie was 
stationed at 2nd Depot Training Camp at Le Mans, 
France, two weeks ; then assigned to 2nd Depot Convoy 
train, and was engaged from June to latter part of July 
in accompanying replacements to the front; then assigned 
to Second Officers Training School at La Valbonne, until 








DONALD HOMANS 



J. WARREN HORTON 





HALLETT D HOWE 



T. FRED HOWE 



MILITARY RECORDS 



73 



December 20. He was appointed Sergeant on August 25. 
On Christmas Day lie was assigned to the President's 
Guard, on duty at the house in Paris occupied by him, 
and while in this service, with his company, received an 
invitation to tea with the President. He sailed in the 
George Washington, the President's shij>, on Feb. 15, 
1919, and was discharged April 3, 11)19. 

James Stephen Cassidy, born December 11, 1894, at 
Ipswich. Son of Michael and Norah Cassidy. Enlisted 
July 23, 1917. Assigned to Syracuse, A T . Y., in 49th 
Infantry ; transferred to Company C, 23rd Infantry, 
Kegular Army. Sailed on the Huron, Sept. 2, 1917. 
At St _N r azaire, France, September 21. 

The following six months were spent at a training camp 
at Iloud, Haute-Marne. Advanced to the front on March 
11, and reached the trenches in the Riipt sector, south of 
Verdun, March 13, where the company came under fire 
on March IS in a German trench raid. Arrived at Cha- 
teau Thierry on June 2, and was engaged in several skir- 
mishes from June 2 to June G, in open warfare, several 
men wounded. Then dug in and remained until July 5, 
when the regiment was relieved by the 26th Division. 

On July 1G the regiment started for Soissons, and at 
4.13 a. m. on the morning of the 18th, went over the top. 
Mr. Cassidy was wounded at G.20 a. m. in the foot by a 
high explosive bullet. He was removed to the Red Cross 
Hospital in Paris, then to Bordeaux, and to convalescent 
camps. When he had so far recovered that he was able 
for light duty, he was sent to the special training battalion 
at St. Aignan and was attached to the 97th Prisoner War 
Escort Service at Tours, where 450 German prisoners 
were at work. Returned on the Kroonland and was dis- 
missed March 5, 1919. 

Paul Joseph Cilaput, born October G, 1S94, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Emery and Anna Chaput. Enlisted Jan. 
7, 1913, in the U. S. Navy. He completed his four years 
term and was discharged Jan. G, 1917, from the U. S. S. 
Arizona, lie had been rated apprentice seaman, ordinary 
seaman and seaman. He was mustered in again Dec. 5, 





THEODORE C. HOWE 



ARTHUR A. HULL. 





EDWARD G. HULL 



HAZEN R. IRVINE 



MILITARY RECORDS 75 

1017, as Coxswain, U. S. !N\ R., and was assigned to the 
IT. 8. S. Ticonderoga. While on his fourth round trip 
overseas, the ship was torpedoed by a German submarine 
on Sept. 30, 191S. Eleven naval officers and 102 enlisted 
men, including Mr. Chaput and Joseph Louis Martel, 
went down with the ship. Mr. Chaput had been promoted 
to boatswain's mate, first class. 

Walter Emery Chaput, born December 0, 1892, at 
Ipswich. Son of Emery and Anna Chaput. Mustered in 
dune 27, 1918, at Camp Dix, 1$, J., 153rd Depot Bri- 
gade. After three weeks transferred to Company B, 312th 
Engineers, 87th Division. 

Sailed from Iloboken, August 23, on S. S. Caronia for 
Liverpool. Proceeded to Southampton and Havre and at 
once to Pons. Billeted and trained there until late Sep- 
tember, when removed to Camp St. Sulpice. Engaged here 
in building warehouses, billets, hospitals, and laving 700 
miles of railway tracks, until the armistice. Then detailed 
in convoy of supplies from St. Sulpice to the front until 
January, 1919. 

As he was proficient in athletics he was relieved from 
company work and assigned there to the American Expe- 
ditionary Force League, and played baseball, touring 
through Base Section Two until the regiment was assem- 
bled in camp near Bordeaux. Sailed from the embark- 
ation cam]) at Bassens, June 14, on S. S. Delvalb, for 
Philadelphia. Discharged from Cam]) Dix, June 27, 
1919. 

Eugene Backer Chapman, born December 28, 1S93, 
at Ipswich. Son of Walter and Xettie Chapman, In- 
ducted into service October 15, 1917, and reported at 
Camp Devens, and later was assigned to Camp Syracuse, 
N. Y., Sept. 0, 1918, where he served as a private in 
Company 100, 20th Battalion. October 8., transferred 
to Camp Uolabird, Aid., and served in the M. T. C, 
Company C, 821 Unit. Discharged March 27, 1919. 

Victor CnAissoisr, born July 22, 1SSG, at Cape Breton. 
Entered service December 15, 1917. Discharged April, 
1919. 





GRENVILLE JEWETT 



MAYNARD C. JEWETT 




« 1 J. , 






, '-^iP 


V 




■fer 


-\ 




H^§| 


<f. 




* 










I 


■:.",-(. : ;t'' '.'■"".'.: ''■"•'ji :: '- : ''f "":;.;'■ "■.',.: 




.' ':;'',;':>//■'•" ;, 'x'' :, '.•':'■ ' ; 







HENRY JOHNSON 



HENRY S. JOYCE 



MILITARY RECORDS 



77 



William Clancy, born Feb. 18, 1895, at Boston. Son 

of William B. and Violet Clancy. Removed to Ipswich 
in childhood with his parents. Early in the war he en- 
listed in Liverpool, on September 27, 1914, in the Royal 
Field Artillery, Foreign Legion, and was in the training 
camp at Battersneld Park, Whitchurch, Sallop, North 
Wales, until February 15, 1915, when he was sent to 
Lntton in the south of England, attached to the 4(>th Divi- 
sion. On Feb. 27, the troops crossed the channel and took 
up their march for St. Varante, for reinforcements for the 
battle of Neuve Chapelle, which took place on March 10, 
1915, when the British launched a great attack upon a 
four mile front. 

The second battle of Ypres followed on April 22, 1915, 
when the Germans caused panic and great losses by the 
first use of poison gas. I Tore Mr. Clancy was engaged in 
a rear-guard action, April 10-13, and remained on the 
front at I ) locgsteerte, near Armienteres on the River Lys 
until Sept. 5. On Sept. 25 the great battle of Loos was 
fought. The British advancing at daylight, captured the 
ILohenzollern Redoubt under heavy fire. The artillery 
forces were turned into infantry and joined the Scottish 
Highlanders in their famous charge, which carried them 
into Loos and the slopes beyond. Our Ipswich soldier was 
wounded slightly in the head in this charge and was sent 
to England for rest and recovery, where he remained in 
hospital and convalescent camp until June, 19 16. 

Returning to France he was attached to the 49th Divi- 
sion Territorials, known as the "Trench Mortars Suicide 
Club." In the great battle of the Somme, which lasted 
from July 1 to October, 191 G, he was wounded in the 
face by shrapnel at Combles in September and retired to 
the hospital, hut was back to the fighting line in January, 
1917. ITe took part in the engagements which resulted 
in the German retirement from the strongly fortified Hin- 
denburg line in March. 

On April 9, 1917, Easter Monday, in the battle of 
Arras, he went over the top at 5.45 a. m. at Vimy Ridge 
with a small American flag attached to his bayonet. On 
April 13, having secured their objective, the men dug in. 





CHARLES M. KELLY, JR. 



JOHN D. KELLY 








DELBERT E. KENT 



SAMUEL A. K1LBORN 



MILITARY RE COEDS 79 

A heavy German shell buried Gunner Clancy under masses 
of earth, which crushed him painfully. He was sent to 
England and remained in hospital from April 13, 1917, 
to the following February. The flag episode, which was 
recognized as the first appearance of the American flag 
in action, brought the wounded gunner into wide notoriety. 
While he was hobbling about, the American Ambassador, 
Mr. Walter Hines Page, came to the hospital at Cam- 
bridge, about the middle of May, and congratulated hirru 
The London Daily Mirror published a picture of the inter- 
view, which, with his flag, is among Mr. Clancy's most 
cherished souvenirs of the war. 

Again in France in Feb. 1918, he participated in all 
the engagements in Belgium, at Ypres, Cambrai, Somain, 
Valenciennes, Loos and Lille. He was at Lille when the 
armistice was signed, and in the following months ad- 
vanced through Courtrai, Boubaix, Tournai, Mons, La 
Louviere, Manage, Charleroi, Namur, Huy, Seraing, 
Liege, to Herbersthal, then directly to Duren and Cologne 
and Bonn in Germany. He left Germany Feb. 7, 1919, 
returned to England and on April 26, was transferred to 
the reserves. Sailed from Liverpool, May 3, with his wife, 
in S. S. Melita for Quebec, and thence to Ipswich. 

On December 3, 1919, he was given a permanent ap- 
pointment as a patrolman on the Boston police force, 
having passed a successful examination for this position. 
On the night of January 22, while doing duty at Bough- 
an's Hall at Charlestown, at a public dance, he was shot 
and instantly killed by a ruffian who had been reprimanded 
by Officer Clancy. The remains of the patrolman, who 
died at his post of duty, were brought to Ipswich, and on 
Sunday, January 24, he was buried here with full mili- 
tary honors. The remains were placed in the rooms of 
the Ipswich Post jSTo. 80, American Legion, and laid there 
in state, where they were viewed by many of the people of 
the town. The burial services of the Legion Post were 
held at these headquarters, after which the remains were 
taken to St. Joseph's Church, where a very largely 
attended public funeral service was held. 

James Clark, born January 28, 1890, at Ahoghill, 





RAYMOND A. KL1NGER 



ROSS F. LAKEMAN 



r — *•; '" 
f, . \. • 




**<;;. 




<^S?^M 


m 

WW \ 

W ! 

Ittfi 


It *\ 


&v£nB 





P"X\ 






i©^ 




lv 




i*i§» 



KARL L. EANGE 



ANNA L. LAUER 



MILITARY RECORDS 



81 



h 



Antrim, Ireland. Son of Robert and Elizabeth Clark. 
Employed at Castle Jlill Farm. Sergeant in I) Company, 
310 Infantry, 78th Division. In March, 1918, went to 
Camp Dix. May 9, 1918, sailed from New York on 
IT. S. S. Leviathan. Arrived in England May 28, 1918. 
Killed in St. Mihiel drive, Sept. 18. Buried in American 
cemetery in France. 

Leslie Sherman Clark, born June 18, 1890, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Anson and Carrie E". Clark. Mustered in 
December 4, 1917, at Camp Devens, in 23rd Company, 
151st Depot Brigade, then transferred April 15, 1918, to 
302nd Infantry, Headquarters Company. Sailed from 
New York July 4, 1918, on the Aquitania and landed at 
Liyerpool, England. On Nov. 9, 1918, transferred to 
103rd Infantry. Transferred from there to 164th Infan- 
try, and then to Q. M. C. at Tours, on Nov. 28, 1918, and 
from there to Casual Company 4484 on May 2, 1919. 
Returned to United States in May, 19 B9, sailing on May 
29 from Marseilles on the ship Dante Alighieri. Honor- 
ahly discharged at Camp Mills, New York, June 24, 1919. 

William John Marshall Clark, born March 26, 

1891, at Ahogill, Antrim, Ireland. Son of Robert and 

i Elizabeth Clark. Employed at Castle Hill. Mustered in 

Sept. 21, 1917, at Camp Devens, private B Company, 

302d Machine Gun Battalion, 76th Division. 

Sailed, July 8, 1918, in S. S. Ajax, from Boston. At 
Woolwich, England, July 23 ; at Winchester two days. 
Proceeded to Southampton and Havre, thence to Lunery, 
where he remained two weeks. At St. Aignan replacement 
cam]), then at Selle-sur-Cher eight or nine days. Assigned 
to B Company, 147th Machine Gun Battalion. Joined the 
5th Machine Gun Battalion, 2nd Division, at the Toul 
sector, and remained a week. Was engaged in the St. 
Mihiel drive three days, Sept. 12-15, and about Sept. 13 
moved through Chalons to Verdun. Beached there Oc- 
tober 4 and went over the top. Remained there about six 
days, then went to Exermont in the Argonne Forest and 
stationed there under constant shell fire. Went over the 
top Nov. 1, and was shot through the right shoulder Nov. 







[\ : 'f y'$ -i''- 


:y-,,.'.;'v> 




, 


■i4l ' ■■''*; 


Hn v 




I:. .. . 


fr - ' 1 


5] - flp*5j£ VH 






HENRY LAVOIE 



EDWARD LEAVITT 





WILLIAM LEAVITT 



JOHN P. LIND 



MILITARY RECORDS 33 

4. Taken to Examination Hospital No. 10, then to Base 
Hospital 30 at Koyat, and remained there until Dec. 28, 
then to Bordeaux. Sailed from that port Jan. 28, 1919, 
on steamship for 'New York. At Camp Morritt and 
Camp Devens. Discharged May 9, 1919, and returned 
to the Castle Hill Farm. 

Clifford Irving Comeau, born July 4, 1899, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Frank and Jessie Comeau. Enlisted Dec. 
11, 1917; mnstered in Jan. 10, 1918, seaman, second 
class, U. S. N. R. First stationed at Camp Hingham, 
Bumkin Island; transferred to U. S. S. San Diego and 
engaged in convoy service from March 17 to May 30, 
1918. Transferred to U. S. S. Santiago, cargo transport, 
and remained until released on March 20, 1919, when ho 
had completed six round trips overseas, three in each ship. 

Henry Earle Comeau, born Feb. 1, 1896, at Nova 
Scotia. Son of Frank and Jessie Comeau. Enlisted Dec. 
11, 1917, LI. S. Kaval Reserve Force at Bumkin Island 
and Commonwealth Pier, Boston Sectional Base, engaged 
in guarding transports in and out of port. Assigned to 
U. S. S. Comber, mine-sweeper off the coast, at Barnegat, 
Brigantine Shoal Buoy and Fenwick Island. Off this 
island four mines, which had been laid by German sub- 
marines, were discovered and removed. Engaged in this 
from October 2, 1918, to March 14, 1919^ On S. S. 
Michigan a week. Released from active duty April 17, 
1919. 

Carl Conant, born at Ipswich, Mass., Jan. 30, 1893. 
Son of Warren and Annie Conant. Served with Co. A, 
Second Corps Cadets on the Mexican border in 1914. 
Transferred to Battery E, 1st Mass. Field Artillery, later 
the 101st Field Artillery. Returning from the border was 
transferred to Battery D, and on April 1, 1917, was made 
stable sergeant. Was honorably discharged July 24, 1917, 
because of dependents. Entered service March 29, 1918, 
and was assigned to duty at Camp Devens, attached to 
Veterinary Hospital £To. 1. Left Camp Devens April 12, 
1918, and went overseas, serving as a farrier until June 





LAWRENCE W. LITTLEFIELD 



ARTHUR R. LORD 




'.' 


■ . 


t _^Bw 






jjjfQjk £ j 9 


i^M 


Jbk^ 


bCN 


■fa/' «K 


JH 





ARTHUR N LOWE 



NATHANIEL E. LOWE 



MILITARY RECORDS 



85 



20, 1919. Honorably discharged at Cam]) Devens, June 
27,1919. 

Sylvester Dkoyer Coxley, bom August 4, 1894, at 
North Easton, Mass. Son of Brainard J. and Mary J. 
Conley. Mustered in Nov. 25, 1917, at Charlestown Navy 
Yard Recruiting Department, Naval Reserve. Stationed 
at Boston City Hospital two months, transferred in Febru- 
ary, 1918, to Chicago to the Great Lakes Training School, 
and in March to Deer Island, Boston Harbor. June 20, 
1919, assigned to Wissahickon Barracks, Cape May, N. J., 
in charge of Medical Department. Released as Phar- 
macist's Mate, August 2, 1919. 

Arthur Harris Constantine, born December 5, 1888, 
at Ipswich. Son of Arthur and Emma Constantino. 
Married Miss Fannie Johnson of Salem. Inducted into 
service Dec. 15, 1917, Camp Devens. Mustered in Feb. 
14, 1918, private, Battery D, 305th Field Artillery, 77th 
Division. Transferred to Camp Upton. Sailed from Ho- 
boken on S. S. Great Northern, landed at Brest, soon pro- 
ceeded to camp at Le Souge and remained about six weeks. 
Paraded in Bordeaux on July 4, and after three or four 
days went to the front in Baccarat sector. Engaged in 
the Oise-Aisne offensive from Aug. 18 to Sept. !('», 1918, 
then moved by a long nine-day hike to the Mouse- Argonne 
front, where the battery was engaged from Sept. 26 to the 
armistice, November 11. He was gassed one day on this 
front. 

He was driver of an ammunition wagon. On one occa- 
sion the driver of the gun ahead of his was killed by shrap- 
nel, with both his horses and the captain's horse, led at 
his side. The battery consisted of four French 75's, horse 
drawn. 

After the armistice stationed at Yepell, which had been 
captured from the Germans, for two months; then at Are- 
le-Aucas two months, and six months at Malancourt, on 
guard duty, drilling, etc. Sailed from Brest in the Aga- 
memnon for Iloboken. Discharged May 9, 1919. 

Elmer Smith Cowpertiiwaite, born October 28, 
1895, at Dorchester. Son of Frank S. and Addie C. Cow- 



;/>^^C^' ^> 


: .;MgS 






JOHN M. LUCZKO 



CHARLES A. MALLARD 





FRANK W. MALLARD 



FRED M ANT HORN 



MILITARY RECORDS 



87 



perthwaite. Married Miss Gladys Scotton, April 7, 1918. 
Served on the Mexican border from Jan. 27, 1916, to 
November IS, 1916. Discharged July 25, 1917. En- 
tered Merchant Marine Service Oct. 10, 1917. Second 
Lieutenant in Company N, 15th Regiment M. S. G. Dis- 
charged Nov. 11, 19 IS. 

Eugene Anthony Crockett, born in Calais, Maine, 
on October 22, -1868. Son of Frederick and Susan 
Damon Crockett. Served with the American Red Cross 
as Deputy Commissioner with the rank of Major, from 
August 1, 1917, to December 25, 1918, first on the Ser- 
vian Commission, later on the Italian Mission. On the 
Servian Commission the work was of an advisory nature, 
to determine what should be done by the Red Cross in 
the Balkans, for both civil and medical relief. In Italy 
the work was of an administrative nature. Had charge 
of all the Red Cross medical work in the north of Italy, 
north of the River Po. This work in the north of Italy 
included work among the troops at the front and also 
among the civilian population and refugees in the rear. 

Frederick Eatcl Cronin, born February 13, 1895, at 
Calais, Maine. Son of John and Annie Cronin. Mustered 
in May 30, 1918, at Fort Slocum, New York; three days 
afterwards assigned to Field Artillery, Camp Jackson, 
S. C. Sailed from Iloboken, July, 1918, for Liverpool, 
and proceeded to Southampton, Havre, and training camp 
at Camp Hunt, near the Spanish border. After ten days 
here, assigned to Headquarters Company, 20th Field Ar- 
tillery, 5th Division, at Germaniere, as driver of motor- 
cycle of Captain Bell, and engaged in the St. Mihiel offen- 
sive, Sept. 12-16, and was then moved to the Pruvenelle 
sector, and remained here in constant action until the 
armistice. The drive on Metz was already prepared. 

After the armistice hiked through Chambley, Conflans, 
Briey, Longwy, into Luxembourg at Battenbourg, to the 
headquarters of the 5th Division at Esch, then to the city 
of Luxembourg. A detachment of the artillery horses 
was quartered in Wittlich, Germany. During his stay in 
Luxembourg he received a furlough and pass and visited 




1 

V 

$ '• 
1 




%"' ' • 









EUGENE MATHESON 



GEORGE E. MATHESON 



| ; ' 


' ft n 








-.Hk^JH 




ARTHUR P. MARCORELLE 



ARTHUR R. MARTEL 



MILITARY RECORDS 



89 



Coblenz ami Lad a day's excursion on tlie Rhine. On 
July 7, he left Luxembourg and returned to Brest by a 
circuitous but most interesting route through the devas- 
tated sections of Belgium and Northern France. Sailed 
from Brest on July 13, 1919, on S. S. Agamemnon for 
Hoboken; then at Camp Merritt, and discharged from 
Camp Devens, duly 20, first-class private. 

Lester IT. Cummings, son of James W. W. and Sarah 
E. Cummings. Enrolled in the U. S. X. R. F. June 4-, 
1917. Served on a mine-layer, U. S. S. Shawmut, doing 
duty on coast of Scotland. Honorably discharged. 

James Edward Cunningham, horn Nov. 1G, 1898, in 
Ipswich. Son of Terrence and Alary Cunningham. Mus- 
tered in December 6, 1917, 5th Company, 1st Regular 
Navy, Barracks B, Newport, R. T. Convoy service six 
weeks in Newport. Sailed from New York in IJ. S. S. 
Canopic, then transferred to the IT. S. S. Druid. In 
patrol service, base at Gibraltar. Dropped a depth charge 
on November 7, and destroyed a German submarine with 
all on board. From Gibraltar to Genoa, Tangier, Oran, 
Marseilles and Lisbon. Returned to Gibralter, then to 
New London, Conn. From there to Bay Ridge. July 7 
sailed to France on IT. S. S. Wilhemina. Landed in Brest, 
remaining ten days, then sailed for New York. Trans- 
ferred to IT. S. S. Kroonland. Sailed for France Aug. 11. 
Landed in Brest, sailing again for New T Y r ork, then to 
Norfolk, Ya. Remained there three weeks, putting ship 
in repair. Transferred to Ilingham. Discharged October 
13, 1*919. 

Thomas Joseph Cunningham, born at Ipswich Feb. 
24, 1895. Son of Terrence and Mary Cunningham. Mus- 
tered in August 13, 1917, at Camp Syracuse, N. Y"., 
private, infantry, Company A, 30th Regiment. Camp 
Greene, Charlotte, N. C. 'Discharged Aug. 19, 1919. 

Lawrence Cunningham, born June 1, 1885, at Hen- 
derson, Texas. Enlisted July 6, 1901. Served as elec- 
trician on IT. S. S. Wyoming, U. S. S. Concord, IT. S. S. 
Galveston, Yicksburg, Texas and Marietta. Served as 



4n PSk, '3SS' JfrfflP 


^frfe— -s^r ■ d^KgBHsBsl 




JOSEPH E. MARTEL 



JOSEPH L. MARTEL 





TRUFFLEY D. MARTEL 



ARTHUR W, MANZER 






: 



MILITARY RECORDS 91 

chief electrician on U. S. S. Georgia, U. S. S. Winslow, 
Melville Rowan. Now stationed on II. S. S. Virginia in 
recruiting service. 

James Thomas Curley, born ]\Iarch 12, 1%89, in Ire- 
land, son of AiKlrew and Bridget Curley. Employed at 
Turner Hill. Mustered in October 5, 1917, at Camp 
Devens, private Company B, 302nd Machine Gun Bat- 
talion; transferred to Company E, 163rd Infantry. 

Sailed from "Boston on S. S. Ajax, duly 7, 1018, for 
East London, and. proceeded to Southampton and Havre. 
In training camp. Transferred to Company L, 102nd 
Infantry. Engaged in the second battle of the Marne, 
and the St. Mihiel and Meuse-Argonne offensives. At the 
Verdun front four weeks, until the armistice. Withdrawn 
to Mandres and billeted there all winter. Sailed from 
Brest April, 1919, on S. S. Agamemnon for Boston. Dis- 
charged from Camp Devens, May 10, 1919. 

John Curran, born in Ireland, December 6, 1896. 
Was employed at Turner Hill Farm and entered service 
Aug. 16, 1918. He entrained for Cam]) Jackson in that 
same month. No further particulars of service have been 
available, as apparently he did not return to Ipswich to 
reside after the war. 

George Henry Curtis, born July 19, 1890, at Salem, 
Mass., son of Thomas II. and Nellie G. Curtis. Married 
Velina F. Canney of Ipswich, July 25, 1915. Mustered 
in July 15, 1918. He was assigned to the automobile 
course at Brown University, Providence, R. I. ; transferred 
Sept. 12, to Fort Adams, Newport, R. L, in 23rd Co., 
C. A. C, then to Co. C, 59th Regiment Ammunition 
Train; back to 23rd Company, and discharged December 
17, 1918. 

Philip Fowler Daneorth, born August 16, 1896, at 
Ipswich. Son of George S. and Mary Abby.Danforth. 
Ho was enrolled on August 28, 1918, at Camp Hancock, 
Augusta, Georgia, Training School for Officers, Co. 23, 
Machine Gun. Commissioned 2nd Lieutenant. Dis- 
charged December 10, 1918. 



r* 



\ 


■■ ■ 








mX^M 










V, 






BpM* 


v<^''S* 1 




• JBm 


*ffl^g 3M&L- v 


33T"! 










$ ¥ '. 




ShS^B * • •• fifei 




«J ;'.;'• 




ifes 



JOHN M. MAYES 



JAMES A. McINNIS 





EVERETT L. McINTIRE 



LOUIE MIGNAULT 



M 1 1 . IT A It Y R EC O R I )S 



93 



William Matthew Davey, Jr., born Nov. 5, 1895, 
at Portsmouth, N. II. Son of William M. and Ellen 
Davey. Married, November 1914, Miss Margery Bishop. 
Mustered in April 10, 1917, fireman U. 8. N. He was 
attached to U. S. ships Virginia, Nebraska, Georgia, Dela- 
ware and Illinois, and was assigned to the U. S. Naval 
Aviation Station at Harvard College for a course in radio 
study. He was assigned to duty in Philadelphia, then, 
in July, 1918, went to France, where he was stationed 
at Paullac and Bordeaux. Later stationed at Bockaway 
Beach, rating as first class radio electrician. Discharged 
April 11, 1919. 

Frederick Edward Davis, born Nov. 21, 1898, at 
Ipswich. Son of Frederick G. and Bosie Davis. Mus- 
tered in July 25, 1917, private, Company G, 49th Infan- 
try, at Camp Merritt, Tenafly, N. J. 

Sailed from Hoboken July 20, 1918, for Brest. Be-. 
mained in camp near Brest two weeks, then entrained for 
Laguierce and thence to great classification cam]) at Le 
Mans. Assigned as replacement to Co. G, 112 Beg., 
28th Division, at Savigny, early in September. Advanced 
into the woods and reached its first active front in the 
Meuse-Argonne sector, on Sept. 25. Believed on Oct. 15 ; 
withdrawn to rest cam]) for five days; then moved to a 
reserve position in the St. Mihiel front and remained in 
camp in the woods until the armistice, November 11. 

After the armistice hiked by Pagny-sur-Meuse to 
Blanche-le-Cote and spent the winter in drill. Entrained 
for St. Nazaire in April and sailed from that port in April 
on S. S. Pocahontas, for Philadelphia. Discharged from 
Cam]) Dix, May 8, 1919. 

Oscar Arthur Davis, born May 18, 1893, at Lewiston, 
Maine. Son of Harry O. and Florence Davis. Went to 
Fort Slocum, N. Y., May 10, 1918. Sent at once to Fort 
Ethan Allen, Vermont, and attached to Troop I, 210th 
Cavalry. Transferred to Battery C, 59th Field Artillery. 
Removed to Cam]) Jackson, Florida, in October. Dis- 
charged from Camp Devens, January 30, 1919. 




1 




ANTONY P. MILLAN 



LESLIE S. MILLARD 





CHARLES W. MILLER 



FRANKLIN B MITCHELL 



MILITARY RECORDS 



95 



Richard Wilbur Davis, born March 16, 1804, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Charles E. and Lucy II. Davis. Married 
Feb. 11, 1018, Miss Annie F. Reddy of Ipswich. Mus- 
tered in December 13, 1017. Rated landsman, IT. S. X. 
Reserve Flying Corps. Changed to U. S. Naval Training 
Station, Charleston, S. C, 3rd Reg., 2nd Sec, 5th Co., 
rank, machinist; transferred to Naval Air Station, Pensa- 
cola, Florida, where he remained five months, until he was 
discharged, Jan. 2G, 1010. 

George Henry Demore, born August 27, 1802, at 
Lawrence. Son of George II. and Jennie Demore. En- 
listed October 18, 1017, private, Cavalry, Camp Fort 
Oglethorpe, Georgia, and when cavalry was disbanded, 
assigned to F. Battery, 80th Field Artillery, at Fort Ogle- 
Ihorpe, then at Camp McArthur, Waco, Texas, and at 
Cam]) McClellan, Anniston, Alabama. 

Sailed overseas on August 22, 1018, on S. S. Lenape. 
At Brest September 3, and moved to Ploramelle and to 
Gossilin, later to Camp Meugon, training camp, remaining 
four or five months. Then to Pont-a-Mousson, to Coin- 
mercy, to grand review at Colomsey-les-Belles again to 
Commercy and Vignot. 

Sailed from Brest June 12, 1010, on S. S. Imperator. 
At New York June 20, at Camp Mills. Discharged from 
Camp Devens, June 27, 1010. 

Walter Ernest Dodge, born February 18, 1807, at 
Ipswich. Son of Edward Warren and Lizzie M. Dodge. 
Enlisted June 16, 1018. II. S. Shipping Board instruc- 
tor in seamanship on the training ship Calvin Austin until 
his discharge on November 20, 1018. 

Charles Louis Dolan, born Feburary 22, 1803, at 
Ipswich. Son of James E. and Annie R. Dolan. Enlisted 
in II. S. Naval Reserve Force as first class seaman, April 
10, 1017. Assigned to the II. S. Navy Transport America 
on July 5, 1017. Sailed from Hoboken on. first trip to 
France with soldiers on October 31, 1017. Made 17 
round trips to France. Released from active service Oc- 
tober 1-1, 1010. 



m 


fey * JBb 


■mm *•• i 




s* I 


LjLi^ElS?' ' *•! 




ROLAND J. MITCHELL 



RALPH A. MTTCHELL 





WILFRED D. MORGAN 



FRANK H. MORGAN 



MILITARY RECORDS 97 

James Frederick Dolan, born Juno 10, 1888, at Ips- 
wich. Son of James E. and Annie R. Dolan. After 
several years in the Coast Guard he enlisted in December, 
1917j_as machinist mate, 24th Co., U. S. Aviation Section, 
Pensacola, Florida, where he died on January 13, 1918. 
His funeral was on Sunday, January 20, the Ilome Guard 
performing escort duty to the grave, where a volley was 
fired and taps sounded. lie was the first Ipswich man to 
die in the War!! 

Frank William Dondero, bom March 4, 1S94, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Jerome P. and Judith Dondero. He left 
home May 27, 1918, for Camp Upton, where he was 
assigned to the Depot Brigade ; transferred to Camp Han- 
cock, Ga. ; then to Ivantom, !N". J., and to Camp Hum- 
phrey, Virginia. Later attached to Ordnance Department. 
Discharged June 13, 1919. 

Garland Clarence Dort, born February 15, 1896, at 
Ipswich. Son of Charles F. and Minnie L. Dort. He 
served on the Mexican border in 191(3, in Co. II, 8th 
Mass. Regiment, was mustered into the Federal service 
July 25, 1917, pioneer, 103rd Maine Headquarters Pio- 
neers, changed to Headquarters Co. 103rd IT. S. Infantry, 
26th Division. Encamped at Westfield and sailed Sept. 
25, 1917, on the Saxonia. 

After ten days' quarantine at Borden, England, pro- 
ceeded to Havre, and was stationed at Liffol-le-Grand, 
where he was trained two months in the school for wire- 
less signalling. On February 1, 1918, went to the front 
at Soissons. His work was very dangerous, going over 
the top close behind the advance line, carrying his roll of 
telephone wire and keeping up communication with the 
front. On his first day in this service he was wounded 
in the knee by a piece of shrapnel and also in the arm but 
was not relieved to the hospital. After 48 days on this line 
the regiment retired under heavy German shell fire, a 
long II days' hike to Liifol-le-Grand. Three days were 
allowed for rest, and then they were recalled on trucks to 
the front in the Tonl sector. At Apremont, in April, 
they relieved the 104th Regiment, which had suffered 



-a4S ■ 




■jfiftv. . 




' Ilk 




jitmJM |*< i" 1 




>^. v ^vl* 






< 




EDWIN P. MURRAY 



JOSEPH H. MURRAY 








RUSSELL S. MURRAY 



C. FRANCIS NASON 



MILITARY RECORDS 99 

severe losses, and then moved to Chateau Thierry, where 
he was gassed and spent ten days in infirmary. At Torcy 
they were engaged four or five days, July 18. Here Mr. 
Dort went over the top in the first line, carrying his wire. 
A ''blinker" was set up in .No Man's Land, similar to a 
searchlight, which was operated by a key in signalling for 
men to be sent to the front. As the wires were constantly 
shot away, new wires were laid at once. The battle con- 
tinued all day, the German shells being directed by their 
aeroplanes. At St. Mihiel his post was at a relay blinker 
station in the woods at the front. 

Hiked to Verdun, where the lines were so close for 
three days that they talked with the enemy and exchanged 
bread and cigarettes. The artillery was constantly en- 
gaged and six men kept hard at work day and night on 
19 lines of wire. Preparations were being made for a 
great attack, and many lines of wire were laid under a big 
barrage, but after three days' advance, the armistice was 
signed on November 11. 

The 103rd Regiment was much reduced and was re- 
lieved at once by the 6th Division. A ten days' march 
brought them to ChaufYort, a rest camp, and after several 
removals they sailed from Brest, March IS, in the 
IT. S. S. America. Discharged April 28, 1910. 

Stephen Drago, born June 9, 1893, in Italy. Son 
of Gaspare and Casuimina Drago. Resident in Ipswich 
five years before the draft. Mustered in March 29, 1918, 
Camp Devens, then at Camp Upton, Long Island. 

Sailed in S. S. Leviathan for Brest. At training camp 
at Bordeaux eight weeks in Battery F, 300th Field. Ar- 
tillery, 77th Division. Moved to Baccarat sector, Lor- 
raine, July 14. Left August 1 for Vesle sector, where 
there was a sharp engagement August 10 to 18 ; then in 
the Oise-Aisne offensive. On Sept. 10 proceeded on long, 
nine-days' hike to the Argonne Forest. In vigorous action 
from Sept. 20 until the armistice. 

After the armistice sent to the Military School at La 
Blanc. On Dec. 27 returned to the Chaumont area. Sta- 
tioned there until February 7, 1919. Transferred then 








/Br^ 




^BAdt^ 1 "^ 


W 


' ^tin** 




Tr 




\ ,*~~ 




• ^ER^,; fl^^^ 


A •■''^■-^5 


^tfi 









MYRON F. NASON 



PAWEL NAUNCZYK 





DANIEL NEVINS 



BENJAMIN NEWMAN 



MILITARY RECORDS 



101 



to the Lc Mons area, then to Brest. Discharged May 21 
1919. 

James Albert Doyle, born July 31, 1887, al Ipswich. 
Son of John and Ann N. Doyle. Enlisted April, 1918, 
in Merchant Marine. Stationed on training ship Meade, 
in coast service. Released July 9, 1919. 

Arthur Drapeau, born November 29, 1898. Son of 
John B. Drapeau. He enlisted in the Salem Cadets in 
1915; was in Battery E on the Mexican frontier in 1910. 
He was assigned as private to the Supply Co., 101st Regi- 
ment, Newport News, Va., but when lus company went 
overseas he was ill with meningitis and died in hospital 
in December, 1917. 

John Joseph Duffie, born May 2, 1895, in Ireland. 
Son of James and Mary Duffie. Mustered in Dec. 6, 
1917, at Camp Devens, 29th Co., Depot Brigade; trans- 
ferred to Veterinary Hospital No. 1 at Devens. Sailed 
April, 1918, S. S. Soritza, for Brest. Spent a week in 
rest camp, about two months" at Bourbonne, moved then 
to Neuilly-FEveque, and remained there until June, 1919. 
Returned in S. S. Imperator. At Camp Upton and Camp 
Devens. Discharged July 3, 1919. 

Konstantinos Meiial Eliopoulas, born May 5, 1890, 
in Greece. Declarant. Son of Konstantinos and Elene 
Eliopoulos. Mustered in April 29, 1918, at Camp Dev- 
ens, Company B, 301st Infantry. 

Sailed July 5 in S. S. Cedric for Liverpool. Proceeded 
to Southampton and Havre. Transferred to 161st Infan- 
try, 41st Division, and later to 125th Infantry, 32nd 
Division. Was in the Mense-Argonne advance and was 
gassed. After armistice he was taken sick and spent a 
short term in the hospital; was placed in the 5th Division, 
but returned to the 32nd. Sailed from Brest May 7, 1919, 
on S. S. Noordam. Dismissed from Camp Devens, May 
27, 1919. 

Oscar Leonard Ericksox, born September 24, 1895, 
at Ipswich. Son of John and Matilda Erickson. Mus- 
tered in April 27, 1918, Georgetown, Mass. Reported at 
Camp Devens April 29, 1918, 11th Company, 151st Depot 





JOHN E. NORMAN, JR. 



WILLIAM G. NORWOOD 





MICHAEL OLEHORIK 



EDWARD H. PAIGE 



MILITARY RECORDS 103 

Brigade. Transferred to Personnel Development Bat- 
talion. Appointed Corporal August 21, 1918. Discharged 
from Cam]) Devon s, June 4, 1019. 

Carl Osmond Ellsworth, born May 27, 1893, at 
Ipswich. Son of Wilbur F. and Elizabeth Ellsworth. 
Enlisted in Merchant Marine in April, 1918, and was 
assigned to the training ship Calvin Austin, then to the 
Vasari, on which he made two round trips to Europe. He 
was released December, 1918. 

Edward Kinsley Ellsworth, born March G, 189G, at 
Ipswich. Son of Wilbur F. and Elizabeth Ellsworth. 
Enlisted in Merchant Marine with his brother, and was 
assigned to the training ship Calvin Austin, and then to 
the Vasari, on which he made two round trips overseas. 
He was released December, 1918. 

Joseph EmbuideR, born June 6, 1895, at Brooklyn, 
23". Y. Mustered in August, 1917, rank of Corporal, Med- 
ical Unit I, Fort Ethan Allen, Vermont. Changed to 
cook at Fort Ethan Allen, lie had been a cook in the IsTew 
York State Militia previously. He was transferred to 
Texas, but was taken sick and was in the hospital at 
Atlanta, Georgia, ten months. ITe was discharged from 
the 3rd Company, 151st Depot Brigade, March 13, 1919. 

William John Havelock Ewing, born October 5, 
1899, at Ipswich. Son of Oscar II. and Alice Ewing. 
Enlisted July 25, 1917. Mustered in August 5, 1917. 
Private, Co. IT, 104th Infantry, at Lynntield, then in 
camp at AYestfield. 

Sailed from Montreal in S. S. Scotian, Oct. 4, 1917. 
At Liverpool Oct. 24, Southampton, Oct. 24, and Havre, 
Oct. 29, and at the training camp at Harreville from 
Nov. 1 to Feb. 6, 1918. On Feb. 7 the division moved to 
Soissons, and Company II was quartered at Terny and 
Sorney, two small villages near Soissons. On the night of 
Feb. 8 moved to Bois Montier and remained there five 
days ; then advanced to Antioch Farm, where five days 
were" spent in digging trenches and setting barbed wire. 
Hiked four hours to rest camp at Vauxcere on Feb. 19, 





ANGEL C. PAPPAS 



LEMUEL F. PARSONS 





LAWRENCE PEATFIELD 



J. FRANCIS PERKINS 



MILITARY RECORDS 1U«> 

and remained there until Feb. 28, when a long hike, was 
made in the afternoon to Wanxaillon. 

Remained there until March 0, when advanced to front 
line sector at Oilman Farm; quartered until March L8 in 
a great chalk cave, large enough to hold several hundred 
men, five or six miles away, called Cave 152, and in a 
similar cave at Neuville, March 19 to 21. On the 21st 
moved to Cuffies and next day to Soissons ; entrained there 
for Bar-lo-Dnc, and from Bar-le-T)uc made first long four- 
day hike to St. Blin and remained there March 27 to 31. 

On Easter Sunday morning, March 31, took camions to 
Vertuzey, next day to Vignot, April 1, and were quar- 
tered in barracks for three days. On April 4 moved to 
Fremereville, and on April 10 to St. Agnont, near the front 
line, llere the company was chiefly engaged in Apremont 
Woods, April 12-14. Eight men were killed and many 
wounded, including Omar Godin and Chester Scahil of the 
Ipswich quota. Believed and went to Vignot April 15, 
and to Vertuzey April 16 to 20, where the regimental flag 
was decorated by the French commander. 

At Fort de Jouy April 20-22, then to Vertuzey again 
until May 2, 19 IS ; at Gironville, in barracks in the woods, 
until May 9^ then to Xivry, May 9, for a ten-day period. 
The week, May 19-25, was spent at Bambucourt, May 2G 
to June 2 at Gironville. The front trench line at Beau- 
mont was occupied from June 2 to the 14th, when with- 
drawn to camp at Bois Jure from June 14 to 24. Hiked 
to Pagny-sur-Mense, near Toul, and after four days en- 
trained on June 29 in cars used for transporting horses; 
reached Orbais July 1, and two days later moved by cam- 
ions, on the night of July 3, to Montreuil, and hiked on 
the night of the 4th into the lines in Belleau Woods. 

Here, by desperate fighting, the Marines had stopped 
the German rush with heavy losses in the second battle 
of the Marne. The 104th relieved the Marines and went 
over the top in the Chateau Thierry drive on the morning 
of July 18, suffering many casualties. Gallant was 
among the wounded. Boberts farm was captured and the 
advance continued beyond. On July 25 withdrawn to 
Boberts Farm and remained there until July 30, engaged 





SYDNEY H. PERLEY 



MAXTNE .J. PERRY 





CHESTER H P1CKARD 



ALFRED II. PLAYER 



MILITARY RECORDS 107 

in constant drill. At Montreuil again on July 31, over- 
night, and billeted in the village of Ueuil on the Marne, 
where the process of cleaning up and drilling was con- 
tinued until August 13. 

Entrained at La Ferte, near Renil, proceeded to Puits 
in Cote-d'Or, and remained there in rest camp, Aug. 14 
to 28. Entrained again at Chatillon, Aii'gJ 29, for the 
St. Mihiel drive. The train was left at Tronville, and a 
long hike began. For six or seven days hiked all night, 
rested by day, and remained in camp in the woods until 
the St, Mihiel drive, Sept. 12 and 13. Held the front 
after the drive until October 8, and then hiked to the 
Verdun sector, where the regiment was under heavy fire 
until the armistice November 11. 

During this period Mr. Ewing had a literal hair's 
breadth escape. Sitting one day at the door of the dugout, 
adjusting the strap of his helmet, a great shell exploded 
near by. As he was bending over holding his helmet on 
his knees a shell fragment which had been hurled high in 
air, fell between his head and his hands and buried itself 
in the earth without inflicting a scratch. 

On November 4 he was sent to the hospital at Vichy, 
but recovered from his sickness and rejoined his command 
the day before Christmas. 

The regiment was withdrawn to Bonnecourt and sailed 
for Boston from Brest on S. S. .Mount Vernon. 

Discharged April 28, 1919. 

Theodore Rogers Farley, born at Ipswich, Nov. 22, 
1894. Son of George E. and Emeline F. Farley. Mar- 
ried Miss Gladys St. Clair at Buffalo, X. Y., August 4, 
1917. lie enlisted dune 18, 1016, in Buffalo, in the 
C5th Infantry, New York State Guards, and was stationed 
at Camp Whitman, 1ST. Y. On July 12 he was transferred 
to the 3rd Field Artillery, and had been promoted to 
Sergeant when the regiment was sent to the Mexican 
border in September. Having passed a successful exam- 
ination at Brownsville, Texas, he was commissioned 2nd 
Lieutenant Jan. 23, 1917, and was then .the youngest com- 
missioned officer in the National Guard. He was com- 





ELMER F. PRESCOTT 



EDWIN PRISHY 





STEPHEN PRISBY 



WALTER P. PRENTISS 



MILITARY RECORDS 109 

missioned 1st Lieutenant October 1, 1017, at Spartanburg, 
S. C, where lie remained until called for service in the 
War of the Allies. 

He was assigned to the lOGth Field Artillery, went over- 
seas in the Matsonia, landing at St. Nazaire. After a 
short period in a training camp near Bordeaux his regi- 
ment went to the Verdun sector. On September 11 at 
11.59, zero hour, his battery joined in the heavy fire that 
opened the St. Mihiel drive, and advanced with the infan- 
try, stationed about a mile in the rear of their line. Then 
it was ordered to Montfaucon, where it suffered many 
casualties, and at Gercourt pressed the enemy so hard 
that three batteries of German guns, with their sights in 
place and their ammunition, were captured and turned 
upon the retreating foe. 

Lieut. Farley was slightly gassed in the sharp fighting 
in the Argonne Forest, but was not disabled, and was 
with his battery in action on the west and east banks of 
the Aleuse. The last three days before the armistice on 
November 11, his guns supported the 104th Infantry, in 
which were a number of the Ipswich boys. 

On February 20, 1919, he was promoted to the rank 
of Captain on the field of battle, in the face of the enemy, 
but lie had been in virtual command of his company since 
June, 1918. Discharged May 21, 1920. 

Willia^i Bernard Fitzpatrick, born January 2S, 
1883, at Stellarton, Nova Scotia. Son of James and Eliz- 
abeth Fitzpatrick. Enlisted at Boston, June 27, 1918, 
in Canadian Engineers, First Reserve, and was assigned 
to duty at Quebec. Sailed from there in middle of July 
on S. S. Pannonia for Liverpool. Stationed at Camp 
Burley, a seaport in Sussex, about two months and a half. 
Then removed to camp at Seaforth, where the men were 
trained in handling live bombs and hand grenades, in 
rifle drill, digging trenches and building bridges until the 
armistice. After the armistice the drills and training 
were lightened, but they remained at Seaforth all winter 
and the spring. Sailed from Southampton, June 28, in 
S. S. Mauretania, for Halifax, where he was discharged 
July 13, 1919. 





GEORGE PYKATA 



JOHN C. REDDY 





JAMES D. RE1LL.Y 



THOMAS E. P. RICE 



MILITARY RECOEDS 



111 



Clarence II. Fogg, Lorn in Salem, Mass., on Novem- 
ber 27, 1887. Son, of Julian A. and Clara Elizabeth 
Fogg. Married on April 11, 1918, to Sarah Elizabeth 
Gordon of Bedford, Mass. Enlisted in the United^ States ' 
Navy on May 7, 1903, as an apprentice, third class. 
Served from that time until January 25, 1915, having 
advanced to rating of Chief Turret Captain. 

Appointed Warrant Officer on January 16, 1917. 
February 28, 1917, was ordered to the IT. S. S. Georgia 
as Ordnance Gunner, served on that ship until July 28, 

1917, then ordered to New York lor duty in connection 
with fitting out the Kaiser Wilhelm 2nd and doing ord- 
nance duty on this vessel when commissioned. This vessel 
was renamed the Agamemnon. Served on the Agamemnon 
until February 14, 1918, and made two trips across with 
troops. Commissioned as Ensign on August 15, 1917. 

On April 12, 1918, reported at New York. On May 
7, 1918, sailed for Erance on troopship Pastores. June 1, 

1918, commissioned Lieutenant, Junior Grade, and on 
September 21, 1918, was advanced to Lieutenant Senior 
Grade. Served on the troopship until March 29, 1918, 
and was ordered to receiving ship at Boston. During the 
period of service on board the troopship Pastores made 
ten trips through the war zone with. troops, and was sev- 
eral times under attack by the enemy submarines. 

William Jesse Fowler, born Dec. 14, 1892, at Ips- 
wich. Son of William II. and Mary E. Fowler (now 
Morey). Mustered in Oct. 1, 1917, Chief Yeoman IJ. S. 
N. II. Pay officer receiving ship Charlestown. Changed 
to pay officer Commonwealth Pier. Released February 13, 
1919'. 

Walter Howard Eraser, born January 19, 1895, at 
Cambridge, Mass. Son of David A. and Norah Eraser. 
Enrolled April 12, 1918, Naval Reserve, Charlestown. 
Called to service April 29, assigned to Receiving Barracks, 
Newport, R. I. In camp 12 weeks at Yanderbilt Farm. 
Released March 17,' 1919. 

William J. Erazier, born June 3, 1891, at Cape Bre- 
ton, N. S. Son of John and Isabelle Erazier. Enlisted 





I * 



WARREN C. RICHARDSON 



FRANCIS M. RILEY 








WILLIAM J. ROBBINS 



THOMAS ROBICHEAU 



MILITARY RECORDS 



113 



June 24, 1918, at Cam]) Devens; Inter at Cam]) Upton. 
Reported at both camps and finally rejected for physical 
disability. Discharged Sept. 9, 1918. 

Alfred Joseph Gallant, born July 22, 1893, in 
Canada. Son of Francis J. and Annie Gallant. Mus- 
tered in March 28, 1918, at Camp Devens. Private, 8th 
Battalion, 2nd Depot Brigade. Transferred to Camp 
Laurel, "Maryland, Co. A, 06 Regiment Engineers. 

Sailed from lloboken June 28, 1918, on S. S. Mongolian 
for Brest, and on arrival July 13, proceeded to Camp 
Raymond, St. Nazaire, and after two months to St. 
Florentin-sur-Yonne. August 2 moved to Jazes, head- 
quarters of the 15th Grand Division. 

He was engaged for the most part as chauffeur for his 
captain and despatch rider, but came to be of great service 
as interpreter. Replying to his parents' inquiries, when 
his lejtters failed to reach them, a very interesting and com- 
plimentary note came to them from the headquarters of 
the GGth Regiment. 

Nov. 16, 1918. 
Mr. and Mrs. Francis J. Gallant. 

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Gallant, 

I write to assure you that your son is well 
and further that the work he has been doing with 
the regiment has been very much appreciated. 
He certainly has been of real help and assistance 
and has done his bit to assist in pressing the war 
to a successful conclusion. 

Your sons knowledge of French has been of 
great assistance to us and some time since it 
was decided that his services were of more value 
directly in the headquarters than in driving the 
car, and he is now located in our office, where 
he performs the duties of interpreter, taking 
care of the many things that arise both in the 
correspondence and assisting the chaplain, who 
has the highest regard for him and thinks a great 
deal of your boy. I can say that you can rightly 





LLEWELLYN A. ROGERS 



FRANCIS G. ROSS 





JAMES J. RYAN 



WALTER RYGUBRAHI 



MILITARY RECORDS 



115 



be proud of your boy and feel sure that his good 
habits and behavior since he has been with our 
regiment assure us that he is a good son. 
Very truly yours, 

IT. P. Brewster, 

Captain Engineers, 
Adjutant. 

In Xovember, 1918, he married Miss Suzan Conlet. 
Accompanied by his wife he sailed from Brest Aug. 24, 
1910, in S. S. Mobile for Hoboken, and was discharged 
at the pier, September 4, 1919, as "mechanic." 

Arthur Joseph Gallant, born February 12, 189G, in 
Canada. Son of Joseph and Marian Gallant. Enlisted in 
Canadian army. Killed in action August 27, 1918. 

Joseph Alex Gallant, born Feb. 19, 1898, in Canada. 
Son of Emanuel and Matilda Gallant. Mustered in July 
17, 1917. Private, Company II, 104th Reg. infantry, 
2(>th Division. 

.Mr. Gallant was gassed and wounded in the left leg on 
July 20, treated at first-aid station five miles in the rear, 
then at evacuation hospital. At Paris four days, several 
weeks at Vichy, where he met his townsman and fellow 
member of Company 11, Alfred E. Wade, and at Savigny. 
Sailed from Brest in the Rheindam, and after two months 
in hospital at Railway, X. J., was discharged January 8, 
1919. 

Joseph Sylvester Gallant, born Aug. 10, 1894, at 
Prince Edward Island. Son of Francis J. and Annie 
Gallant. Mustered in April 29, 1918, private, Co. L, 
302iid Division, at Camp Devens. 

Sailed July 5, 1918, on S. S. Aquitania, for Liverpool. 
Proceeded by way of Southampton and Havre to training 
camp at Gennicourt for three days, then to Camp Hunt 
in southeastern France for two and a half months. Moved 
to Camp Baranquine in the Gironde, and to Camp Bessens, 
and while here, the armistice was declared. After the 
armistice stationed at another cam]) for a month, then at 
St. Sulpice, near Bordeaux, where the regiment remained 





CHARLES T. SAUNDERS 



ARTHUR R. A. SCAH1LL 





WALTER C. SENIOR 



CHESTER A. SCAHILL 



MILITAKY RECORDS 117 

until Juno 21, when it sailed for home on S. S. Lancaster. 
At Iioboken on July 4, at Camp Mills and Camp Devens, 
from which he was discharged July 9, 1919. He was 
made Corporal and later Sergeant. 



! 



James Gaudett, l>orn Nov. 2 ,1899, at Prince Edward 
Island. Son of Jerome and Julia Gaudett. Mustered in 
August 29, 1918. Went to Camp Upton, Vaphank, K Y., 
and remained there. Discharged at Camp Devens June 2, 
1919. 

George Gjakoumis, born May, 1892, in the island of 
Mitylene, Greece. Came to the United States in 1912. 
Enlisted September 3, 1918, Company C, 2nd Depot Bri- 
gade. Discharged December 3, 1918. 

Elwood Gidney, son of J. ITowe and Mary E. Gidney. 
Enlisted August 14, 19 IT, in the British Navy, and left 
on that date for Ottawa, Canada. His parents moved 
from Ipswich before the conclusion of the war, and 
attempts to secure further details concerning his record 
have been unsuccessful. 

Charles Bertram Giles, born December 14, 1884, at 
Beverly, Mass. Son of Charles A. and Ida M. Giles. 
Enlisted on Dec. 14, 1912, in National Guard on the 
border. Went overseas with Battery E, 101st Regiment, 
Eield Artillery, 2Gth Division. May 1918, relieved and 
sent as instructor to Camp Jackson, S. C. Discharged, 
with rank of First Lieutenant, March 3, 1919. 

Lewis James Gillis, born Feb. 10, 1895, at Prince 
Edward Island. Son of John and Mary Gillis. Enlisted 
at Rumford Falls, Me., April 4, 1917^ Company B, 2nd 
Maine Infantry, encamped at \Vestfield. Transferred to 
Company B, 103rd Regulars, 2Gth Division, with rank 
of Corporal on Sept. 10. 

Sailed on the Scenic, September 23. Proceeded from 
Liverpool to Southampton and Havre, to French training 
cam]) at LiffoUe-Grand, where the regiment remained 
from Oct. 25 to Feb. 1. On Feb. 5, moved to the front 



! 





HENRY SHAW 



CLAYTON L SIMMS 





JOHN SPERLING, JR. 



ELMER C. SMITH 



MILITARY RECORDS 



119 



and occupied the trenches at Chemin ilea Dames; then 
withdrawn to Lin'ol-lc-Grand and sent to Apremont in 
the Toul sector, where the regiment remained a month. 
An attack by 500 Germans was foiled by a heavy barrage 
and by the rifles and hand grenades of the infantry. Called 
to Chateau Thierry, reached there July 4, 1917, relieving 
the 6th Marines. On July 17, at 3 p. m., tin; company 
went over the top in the great American offensive, and 
advanced 3l/o kilometres through the wheat fields, exposed 
to severe machine gun fire. Only 17 men were left of 
the 250 in the full company, all the rest killed or wounded. 
The division returned to Chateau Thierry and the ranks 
were tilled from the reserves. 

Mr. Gillis was wounded in the leg in this action and 
spent a month in hospital, but was able to rejoin his com- 
pany on October 1 at Verdun. For two weeks attacks were 
made over the trenches twice a day, and the men suffered 
much from mustard gas. He was disabled again and sent 
to hospital Nov. 1, Base Hospital No. 6 at Bordeaux, con- 
ducted by the Massachusetts General Hospital force. Re- 
covered from an attack of broncho-pneumonia he was sent 
home December 24, 1918, on the Matsonia, and discharged 
January 31, 1919. 

Daniel Joseph Gillis, born November 20, 1889, at 
Boston. Son of John and Mary Gillis. Mustered in 
August 4, 1917, in Lawrence. Went to Camp Dix, X. J. 
Transferred to Storage Department, Port Terminal, at 
Newark, X. J. 

George Leslie Gilmore, born May 11, 1899, at Ips- 
wich. Son of George IT. and Agnes K. Gilmore. Enlisted 
April 10, 1917, U. S. N. E. at Commonwealth Bier and 
Bunikin Island, then assigned to IT. S. S. America, as 
seaman, on which he made nine round trips overseas. 
Beleased with rating of coxswain Feb. 8, 1919. 

William Ralph Gilmore, born July 13, 189G, at 
Ipswich. Son of George II. and Agnes X. Gilmore. En- 
listed Dec. 7, 1917, as second class seaman IT. S. N. B. 
Changed to machinist's mate second class. On Eeb. 2G, 





JULIAN D. SMITH 



CHARLES T. STROUT 





MURRAY D. SURRETTE 



PETER SURRETTE 



MILITARY RECORDS 



121 



I ■ 



1918 assigned to U. S. Aeronautic School, Pcnsacola, Fla. 
Discharged April 5, 1919. 

Walter Everett Girard, Lorn May '2:5, ISO 7, at 
Amesbiiry. Son of Daniel E. and Anna Girard. .Mus- 
tered in October 22, 1918, 33rd Artillery at Fort An- 
drews, Boston Harbor; transferred to Search Light De- 
tachment, Allerton; then assigned, Oct. 22, to 6th Com- 
pany, Battery D, 28th Artillery at Fort Andrews, on 
December G, 1918, 0. A. C, made first class private 
March 28, 1911). Discharged April 25, 1919. 

William Edward Girard, born January 9, 1895, at 
jSTewburyport. Son of Daniel E. and Anna Girard. Mus- 
tered in August 14, 1917, private, Co. A, 30th Infantry, 
at Camp Syracuse, Syracuse, 2$. Y. ; transferred to Camp 
Green, Charlotte, K C, Oct, 28, 1917; appointed Cor- 
poral Eeb. 1, 1918. Sailed for France, April 2, 1918, 
from Hoboken, in S. S. Aquitania, and proceeded to train- 
ing camp at Boudreville. The 30th Regiment, 3rd Divi- 
sion, moved to the Aisne front on May 30, "The Stars 
and Stripes" of January 17, 1919, gives a vivid narra- 
tive: 

''During the days from May 31 to June 4, 1918, while 
the 7th Machine Gun Battalion of the Third U. S. Division 
was making its gallant stand at Chateau Thierry itself, 
the other organizations of this Division were guarding 
and improving the crossing places of the Marne along an 
extensive stretch of the river, both east and west of the 
city. As the front of this section settled into a state of 
semi-stability during the month of June, the elements of 
the Third Division were gradually brought together into 
a more compact sector of about ten kilometer front, reach- 
ing from Chateau Thierry on the w r est to the Jaulgonne 
bend in the Marne on the east. This sector of the Division 
proceeded always more or less under the harassing fire of 
the Germans on the high hills north of the Marne, gradu- 
ally to strengthen with strong points and belts of wire 
entanglements." 

On June 15, Company A moved to the Champagne, 
and on June 18 to the Yesle sector, where it was engaged 





ARCHIE THERIAULT 



ELLIOT F. TOZER 





DANA TRIMBLE 



EVERET R. TUCKER 



MILITARY RECORDS 



123 



in the Aisne-Marne offensive until June 27. It was moved 
to the Meuse-Argonne front and was stationed there from 
the 4th of August to the 19th. Corporal Girard was 
wounded and gassed in the middle of the month and re- 
mained in the hospital at Contrexeville until Sept. 24, 
when he rejoined his eompany in the Meuse-Argonne and 
participated in the offensive, which continued from Sept. 
30 to October 27. 

After the armistice, with the Army of Occupation, his 
regiment was stationed eight months in Germany, in the 
towns of Mayen and Inonreal. Returned from Brest, 
August 8, 1919, on S. S. Mani, at Philadelphia, Aug. 17. 
Discharged from Camp Dix, X. J., August 1!), 1919. 

J oil*? Lamsox Glover, horn December 14, 1S96, at 
Ipswich. Harvard, 1919. Son of Arthur 0. and Ger- 
trude Lamsoil Glover. Enlisted July 9, 1918, in the Medi- 
cal Reserve Corps, U. S. Army, private. Discharged 

December 27, 1918. 

Percy Li x wood Glover, born January 1, 1893, at 
Annisquam. Son of Charles A. and Mary E. Glover. 
Married Miss Ina J. Spencer, July 4, 1914. Mustered 
in August 16, 1917, private, musician, Band 8th Reg., 
Headquarters Co., at Westfield, Mass. Stationed at head- 
quarters, Camp Greene, Charlotte, X. C, and at Camp 
Wadsworth, Spartansburg, S. C. Discharged December 
27, 1918. 

Omar Alfred Godix", born April 5, 1900, at Ipswich. 
Son of Jean and Emma Godin. Enlisted in March, 1917, 
lacking a month of seventeen years. Mustered into Fed- 
eral service May 21; 1917, private, Co. IT, 104th Reg. 
Infantry, 20th Division. 

While his company was in action at Apremont Woods, 
early on Sunday morning, April 13, 1918, Air. Godin, 
standing guard, narrowly escaped death from the explo- 
sion of a shell, which killed two men beside him. Suffer- 
ing from many and painful wounds, he lay half uncon- 
scious and unattended in the mud of the trenches for 
twentv-four hours before he could be rescued. During 



/>. 





WILLIAM J. VERA 



ALFRED E. WADE 





wli -lIBil 




^SfcaL." " £ 




mBi&^i^ltk^ 




Hr^m/ \ ' ^^?r 




W^mWM^' 




B53 



1' 


9 


J0&*>.< 


:< ■•■■■":. i$ 
. ■ 


JpS% f& 1 




m . J? \ 




\£r | 




fcf*^*- 













FRANCIS C. WADE 



DENNISON C. WALLACE 



MILITARY RECORDS 



125 



the next eight weeks lie underwent nine operations at the 
evacuation hospital. His left leg was amputated below 
the knee, his right leg suffered compound fracture and 
the bones were so badly crushed that several inches were 
removed, lie received minor wounds in both arms, both 
hands, head and face, and a fragment remains in his 
left hip. He passed from hospital to hospital in France, 
returned to America and, after further treatment, was 
discharged from the hospital February 9, 1910. 

Geoffrey Dearborn Goodale, born Sept. 4, 1898, 
at Boston. Son of Dr. Joseph L. and Adelaide M. Good- 
ale. Inducted into service Nov. 24, 1917, at XL S. Army 
School .Military Aeronautics, Cornell University, Ithaca, 
New Tork. Six months later became ill and was dis- 
charged May 1, 1918. 

Robert Lincoln Good ale, born August 2, 1895, at 
Boston. Son of Dr. Joseph L. and Adelaide M. Goodale. 
Student at Harvard in the class of 1918. Attended Offi- 
cers Training Camp at Plattsburg in the summer of 1915, 
and in the fall of 1915, while in college, joined Battery A, 
Mass. Field Artillery, and as a member of that Battery, 
went to the Mexican, border in June, 19 1G. Returning 
to college, he joined the Harvard Regiment, and was en- 
rolled as Top Sergeant in R. 0. T. C. 

Inducted into service at Camp Devens, September, 1917, 
and was appointed Sergeant, Company B, 302 Regiment, 
but was assigned in November to the Provisional Officers 
Candidates Battalion, Leavenworth, Kansas. After three 
months study was graduated as 2nd Lieutenant, and 
assigned to 9th Field Artillery, Fort Sill, Oklahoma. Ho 
was raised to First Lieutenant August 1, 1918. Ordered 
to Overseas Camp, Camp Jackson, S. C, about two weeks 
before the armistice, and discharged from that camp Dec. 
10, 1918. 

Charles Edward Goodhue, Jr., born May 27, 1894, 
at Ipswich. Son of Charles E. and Elsie M. Goodhue. 
Graduated from Boston University 1910. Married Miss 
Amy Lindsay, Sept. 14, 1918. Mustered in First Naval 



' #s% 


&*>**- 


Sk- JB 


.j^tei 


i^n : ^f' ^ 


K 


Hi> io ■' ■ " * Jffiii! 1 


HH HHKili ' " i ^^^ p ^ 



DENNIS J. WARNER 





WILFRED WARNER 




FRANK WARY.TAS 



DANIEL S. WENDELL 



MILITARY RECORDS 



127 



District, Chief Yeoman, Sept. 26, 1017. Ensign, Naval 
Reserve, Charlestown Navy Yard. Released December 
26, 1918. 

Paul Russell Goodhue, born November 28, 1899, at 
Ipswich. Son of John W. and Blanche R. Goodhue. At- 
tended 2nd Plattsburg Camp from July 1G to Sept, 1G. 
Registered Sept. 12, 1918. Acting 1st Sergeant, Com- 
pany B, S. A. T. C, Boston University. Discharged 
December 1G, 1918. 

Charles Alfred Goodwin, bom March 23, 1888, at 
Waltham, Mass.. Son of William T. and Alice G. Good- 
win. Entered service Oct. 5, 1917, at Camp Devens, and 
was later transferred to the Medical Corps and stationed 
at the base hospital at Camp Devens, Nov. 22, 1917. 
Transferred to Fort Jay, New York, and went overseas 
Jan. 4, 1918. Sent to Blois to assist in organizing a hos- 
pital, then transferred to Bordeaux and was stationed in 
the office of the Base Surgeon, Base Section 2, A. E. E. 
Made a Sergeant in March, 1918, and promoted in Sept., 
1918, to Sergeant first class. In November, 1918, com- 
missioned Second Lieutenant and served as statistical offi- 
cer on the staff of Major General Robert E. Noble, Base 
Surgeon. Discharged at Camp Devens April 10, 1919. 

Harold Went worth Gould, born October 25, 1897, 
at Ipswich. Son of Arthur W. and Gertrude W. Gould. 
Mustered in April 15, 1918. Private, Engineers, Co. I, 
34th Regiment, Camp Dix, Wright stown, N. J. 

Sailed from Hoboken, July 8, 1918, in S. S. France, 
for Brest, and proceeded to the American rest camp in the 
barracks of the old Napoleonic prison camp at Pont-a- 
Nazen, and three days afterwards to the great Interme- 
diate Engineers Supply Depot No. 1, at Gievres. The 
train loads of engineers' supplies came directly from the 
ships and the contents were assorted here, stored in innum- 
erable warehouses and shipped to the front. He was 
engaged in this service until June 5, 1919. Sailed from 
Brest June 24, in S. S. Vedic. At Boston July 3. Dis- 
charged from Camp Devens July 7, 1919. 





EDWARD T. WELLS 



ALBERT F. WELSH 





JOHN WILK 



THOMAS H. WILKINSON 



MILITARY RECORDS 129 

Eoscoe Wellington Gould, born at Ipswich, April 4, 
1806. Son of Arthur and Gertrude W. Gould. Mustered 
in July 31, 1917. First class private Signal Corps, Depot 
Regiment, Company F, at Burlington, Vt. Discharged 
February 6, 1919. 

Raymond Langley Grady, born May 12, 1895, at Ips- 
wich. Son of David A. and Eva A. Grady. The Ipswich 
Chronicle of June 1, 1917, notes: "Raymond Grady of 
New York City has successfully passed examination for 
rank of sergeant chauffeur of the Officers Reserve Corps 
of New York, and is now in command of 10 motor trucks 
and equipment. He passed with the highest rank, 92 
per cent." 

He joined the 131st Aviation Corps in Texas, was in 
service later at Newport News and in New York, and 
went to England in the same service. He was discharged 
December 7, 1918. 

George Lewis Grant, born September 15, 1896, at 
Newburyport. Son of Fred L. and Elizabeth Grant. 
Mustered in September 6, 1918, private. Stationed at 
Syracuse, N. Y., then at Newport News, later, rank of 
Corporal, Quartermaster's Co., Hospital 51, National Sol- 
diers', Home, Hampton, Ya. Discharged April 10, 1919, 
Utiljties Department No. 11, T. M. C, Camp Devens. 

Stephen M. W. Gray, born Feb. 9, 1893, at Boston. 
Son of Mr. and Mrs. Samuel S. Gray. Enlisted April 3, 
1917, in the IT. S. N. R. F. and was stationed at Com- 
monwealth Pier, Boston. He was later transferred to 
and served at the U. S. Naval Air Station at Chatham, 
Mass. Released from active duty January 3, 1919. 

Charles Gwinn, born Sept. 1, 1896, at Ipswich. Son 
of Charles T. and Jennie (McLean) Gwinn. Mustered in 
Aug. 27, 1918. Stationed at Camp Jackson, Columbia, 
S. C. Removed to Newport News, Oct. 28. Returned to 
Camp Jackson Nov. 25. Discharged at Camp Devens, 
January 10, 1919. 

George Henry Gwinn, born at Ipswich, Mass., May 
26. 1.891. Son of Charles T. and Jennie (McLean) Gwinn. 





A. HAROLD WILSON 



HENRY E. WILSON 





LESTER L WOOD 



ALBERT C. WRIGHT 



MILITARY RECORDS 



131 



Left Ipswich in January, 1917, and sailed from Boston 
for France. Nothing further has been heard from him 
directly from the time he left Ipswich until the time of 
compiling these records. 

In April, 1917, a letter was received here by his mother, 
from a .Mrs. Brooke, of London, England, who told of 
meeting him at a supper given for sailors, near London 
Bridge. Recognizing him as an American, she questioned 
him as to where he came from, and was much surprised to 
learn that he came from Ipswich, .Mass., as she was 
acquainted with people living on the Upland Farm at 
Ipswich, .Mass. At that time he was in service in the 
English Xavy, and in the absence of news from him it 
is thought he must be dead. 

Harry E. Gwinn, born at Ipswich, Mass., Aug. 20, 
1895. Son of Charles T. and Jennie (McLean) Gwinn. 
Entered service .November 1, 1916, in the U. S. K R. E. 
Served on the IT. S. S. Oklahoma and U.S. S. Kansas, 
and made several trips overseas. Released from active 
duty in October, 1911). 

Lawrence Roland Gwinn, born Eel). 11, 1898. Son of 
Charles T. and Jennie (McLean) Gwinn. Enlisted Dec. 
13, 1917, private, 7th Company, C. A. C, Fort Warren, 
Boston Harbor. At Camp Merritt, X. J., Sept, 19, 1918. 
Transferred to Casual Co., Co. C, Oct. 2, and to Battery 
C, 137th Field Artillery, 63rd Brigade, 38th Division, 
the Cyclone Division, at Camp Mills, Long Island. Sailed 
October <> on Empress of Britain. At Liverpool Oct. 17, 
and proceeded to Camp Codford, Wilts., to Southampton 
and Cherbourg. Billeted at Ploernel, Morbehan, France, 
until Xovember 4, when removed to Cam]) de Mencon, 
where training in use of 75 mm. guns was completed. 

After the armistice the Regiment went to Brest, sailed 
on the La France, Dec. 17, and on arrival, went to Fort 
Benjamin Harrison, Indiana, where the Battery was dis- 
charged January 17, 1919. 

Stelianos Hatzistamation, ao-e 21, horn in Pyrgos, 
Island of Samos, Greece. Came to United States in 1914. 



132 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Enlisted in June, 1918. Sailed for France, Sept. 16, 
1018. Gassed at Verdun, went to hospital for two weeks. 
Returned in May, 1919. Discharged in May, private, 
Company 0, 188th Regiment, 35th Division. 

Lyman Hale IIaggerty, horn August 17, 1SS7, at 
Ipswich. Son of Daniel and Elizabeth IIaggerty. Mar- 
ried, dune 16, 1000, Miss Ilattie E. Davis. Enlisted 
October 27, 1017, at Cambridge, Mass., Ground School 
Aviation, transferred to Princeton University, Tan. 1, 
1018, and graduated Feb. 8, 1018. Transferred then to 
Camp Dick, Dallas, Texas, and remained there until 
April, 1018_, when he was transferred to Mineola, Long 
Island. Regan Hying there and completed the course and 
was commissioned 2nd Lieutenant, June 8, 1018. 

Transferred then to Instructors' School, Brooks Field, 
San Antonio, Texas, then to Wilbur Wright Field, Dayton, 
Ohio, for course in gunnery, and to Garden City, Long 
Island, under overseas orders, and remained until the 
armistice. An attack of influenza prevented his going 
overseas with his squadron. Recovering, he was sent to 
Rockwell Field, San Diego, Cal., for aerial gunnery and 
pursuit course, and was graduated as Pursuit Pilot, March 
8, 1010. Transferred to Mather Field, Sacramento, and 
engaged in Fire Forest Patrol work in aeroplane. 

Lieut. IIaggerty on one occasion fell with his aeroplane 
2300 feet, but escaped serious injury, suffering only a 
broken nose. Discharged October 31, 1010. 

Clyde Keith Hall, born IsTov. 0, 1800, in Ipswich. 
Son of Emery A. and Emma J. Hall. Before enlistment 
lie had taken a course at Lowell Institute and a partial 
course in the Institute of Technology. Enlisted Ian. 20, 
1018, 1st class private, Aviation School of Military Aeron- 
autics, University of Texas, Austin, Texas ; completed 
War Course of School of Five for Field Artillery at Fort 
Sill, Oklahoma, Dec. 0, 1018, and was commissoned 2nd 
Lieutenant. Discharged January 30, 1010. 

Eugene John IIaurigan, born October 22, 1807, at 
Iloulton, Maine. Son of John C. and Elizabeth Uarrigan. 



MILITARY RECORDS 133 

Mustered in Dec. 2, 1017, Auxiliary Remount Division, 
Depot 320, at Camp Traverse, San Antonio, Texas. Con- 
tinued there in the breaking and training of horses and 
mules, until return to Camp Devens. Discharged March 
28,1910. 

Abraham Harris, born Sept. 0, 1893, at Salem, Mass. 
Son of Herman and Rachel Harris. Mustered in April 
27, 1018, at Camp Devens, 151st Depot Brigade; trans- 
ferred to 304th Infantrv, G Company, 76th Division, on 
May 28. 

Sailed from Boston, July 7, on S. S. City of Brisbane, 
for Liverpool. The convoy was attacked by a submarine, 
which destroyed one ship. Proceeded to Southampton and 
Havre, and on July 20, at Chateau Thierry, joined 30th 
Infantry, 4th Division of the Regular Army. At Muriat 
Woods August 2-7, at the Vesle River August 7-12, where 
engaged in first real action, sixty-nine days after being 
mustered into service. 

Was at St. Mihiel for two days, Sept. 12-14-, in the 
Meuse-Argonne Sept. 20 to Oct. IS. Remained on this 
front until the armistice. In the Army of Occupation, 
marched from Nov. 20 to Dec. 8, by way of Luxembourg, 
to the Rhine. Stationed at Coblenz five months, engaged 
in constant guard duty ; at Andernach one month, and 
changed there to Pioneers and took over the 3rd Army 
forage dump, involving work in fatigue suits, checking 
the forage as unloaded from barges, switching cars, making 
up trains, etc. Transferred to Rolandseck, then to various 
towns and villages. Entrained on July 22, from Germany, 
and sailed from Brest August 1, on S. S. Leviathan for 
Hobokcn, then to Camp Merritt and Camp Devens. Dis- 
charged August 12, 1010. 

Fred Dudley Harris, born August 8, 1806, at Med- 
ford, Mass. Son of Ned L. and Alice D. Harris. En- 
listed, in Merchant Marine^ August, 10 IS, on training ship 
Meade. Ordered to Quebec to make up a crew, thence to 
New York. Transferred to S. S. Randolph S. Warner, 
New York to Norfolk, thence to Rio Janeiro, as ship's car- 
penter, to Rosario and Argentina. Discharged August 15, 
1010. 






134 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Moses Jacob Harris, born Oct. 12, 1887, at Boston. 
Son of Herman and Rachel Harris. .Mustered in Oct. 5, 
1917, private, 5th Bat., 18 Co., Depot Brigade, Camp 
Devens. With the Camp Quartermaster until discharged, 
December IS, 1918. 

Henry Hamilton Harvey, born March 8, 1890, at 
Ipswich. Son of Charles \V. and Eliza C. Harvey. .Mus- 
tered in August 10, 1917, private, Medical Corps, Fort 
Ethan Allen, Vermont. Changed to cook, Medical lie- 
serve, Field Hospital Xo. 30, Fifth Sanitary Train, Fort 
Ontario, Oswego, X. Y. 

Sailed from Iioboken, June 4, 191S, on S. S. Mauri- 
tania for Liverpool, and proceeded to Southampton and 
Havre, and to training cam]) at Corseux. Transferred to 
training camp at La Salle, then to hospital at St. Die when 
wounds were received from the battle at Erappelle in the 
Yosgos Mountains, and successively to cam]) hospital at 
Eloyes and to rest camps at Romain and St. Germain, 
approaching the St. Mihiel front. Stationed at St. Jean, 
where casualties were received, at cam]) hospital at Eranch- 
ville and Souhesmes-le-Grand and at the hospital at Sivry- 
la-Perche in the Argonne during the offensive up to the 
armistice. Then moved to Scptsarges, a rest camp; to 
Dun-sur-Meuse, a rest camp, and to hospital at Longwy. 
On Jan. 1, 1919, moved to Luxembourg, and remained 
there until March 20. Sailed from Brest April 14, in 
S. S. Vedic for Boston. Discharged from Camp Devens, 
April 20, 1919. 

Edmund Ralph Haskell, born August 2, 1S90, in 
Xew Orleans, La. Son of Edmund and Bena Ilaskins 
Haskell. Enlisted April 10, 1917, in H. S. X. B. E. 
Served as Executive Officer on the U. S. S. Halcyon IT, 
and later as Commanding Officer. Beleased from active 
duty, .March, 1919. 

IIakold Ivyf.s Haskell, born May IS, 1894, at Eeter- 
borough, X. II. Son of George II. and Katharine Has- 
kell. Married Sept. 29, 1917, Miss Louise Eox. Mus- 



MILITARY RECORDS 



tered in Jan. 28, 1918, plumber, Commonwealth Pier; 

transferred to Naval Experiment Station, New London, 
Conn. Discharged February 14, 1919. 

Francis Joseph Herliiiy, born March 14, 1890, at 

Ipswich. Son of Michael and Catherine Ilerlihy. En- 
listed Sept. 20, 1017, 1st class private, Signal Corps. 
Assigned to Depot Co. F, Signal Corps, University of 
Vermont, Burlington, \ T t., where he studied telegraph, 
telephone and wireless, Sept. 20 to Feb. 15, 1918. At 
Carnegie Technical Institute, Pittsburg, Feb. 17 to May 
20; radio mechanic and instructor at Southern Field, 
Americus, Georgia, May 22 to "Nov. 1, 1918. Discharged, 
with rank of 1st Sergeant, from Camp Meade, Md., Dec. 
28, 1918. 

Morris Jerome Herliiiy, born August 27, 1S04, at 
Ipswich. Son of Michael and Catherine Ilerlihy. Re- 
jected at physical examination for the 1J. S. Navy, he 
enlisted in the Merchant Marine. Stationed three months 
on training ship Cow Dingley, then on Black Arrow to 
Bordeaux, then to South Africa. Discharged August 20, 
1910. 

John Parker Hills, born Dec. 23, 1887, at Ipswich. 
Son of Howard and Harriet M. Hills. Mustered in July 
1, 1918. Went to Wentworth Institute, special student, 
then to Fort Andrew. Discharged April 7, 1919. 

Ezra Gooowix Hinckley, 2nd, born October 12, 1891, 
at Ipswich. Son of David B. and Agnes Hinckley. Mus- 
tered in July 31, 1918, at Camp Syracuse, X. Y. About 
the end of August, sent to Camp, Mills, Long Island, and 
attached to headquarters as orderly. Discharged from 
that cam]) January 13, 1919. 

Henry Harold Holland, born February 1, 1892, at 
Ipswich. Son of Edgar I. and Margaret A. Holland. 
Enlisted June 9, 1910, in IT. S. Navy. Trained three 
months at Newport, B. I., then assigned to battleship 
North Dakota on a cruise to England, France and Ger- 
many. Remained on this ship two years, and spent the 



136 



M1LITAKY RECORDS 



two following years in {lie Torpedo School at Newport 

rated as coxswain. Attached to the Tennessee, 2nd class 
boatswain's mate, he had a thrilling experience when a 
huge tidal wave wrecked the ship at San Domingo. Many 
lives were lost and he was finally thrown upon the rocky 
shore, after being in the water for two hours. 

Assigned then to the U. S. S. Ohio he reached the 
rating of chief boatswain's mate. During the War his 
ship performed patrol duty on the U. S. coast, and since 
the armistice was engaged in transporting the soldiers 
home from France. Still in service. 

Donald Edward Homans, born January 7, 1898, in 
Ipswich. Son of Henry B. and Lottie C. Iiomans. In- 
ducted into the Students Army Training Corps at Middle- 
bury; College, Vermont, October, 1018. Discharged De- 
cember, 1918. 

Joseph Warren IIortox, born in Ipswich, "Mass., on 
December 18, 1881). Son of Benjamin and Susan Tower 
Horton. Graduated from the Massachusetts Institute of 
Technology, June 9, 1911. Married Adelina C. Doucet, 
on September 7, 1910. Was employed by the Western 
Electric Company in its research laboratories, and with 
America's entry into the war was sent to the Xaval Air 
Station at Pensaeola, Ida., to develop apparatus for the 
detection and location of air craft. Was transferred to 
anti-submarine work, sent to the experimental station at 
Nahant, JMass., together with engineers and scientists 
working in connection with the naval authorities. Was 
granted a leave of absence by the Western Electric Com- 
pany and entered the Naval Service on September 20, 
1918, as a technical expert to assist in placing the latest 
American anti-submarine devices in actual operation in 
European waters. 

Sailed from i\ T cw York on the Carmania on October 6, 
1918, and was sent to a number of British naval stations 
with members of Admiral Sims' staff, to investigate and 
report upon the apparatus that was being used by the 
Allies. Was engaged in this work when the armistice was 
signed. Sailed from Liverpool on the Empress of Brit- 



MILITARY RECORDS 137 

ain on December 1, 1918, and was honorably discharged 
from the service on December 13, 1018. 

George 11. Hovalek, born September, 1804, in Poland 
Mustered in October 8, 1917. Musician, Headquarters 
Company Band, 327th Infantry, Camp Gordon. Honor- 
ably discharged. 

George Russell Hovey, born Dec. 8, 1899, at Ipswich. 
Son of Thomas and Ella Hovey. Enlisted Dec. 31, 1915, 
at Campbelton, N. B., Canada, in the 132 Battalion Can- 
adian Infantry, but his feet failed and lie was dismissed 
Sept. 29, 191(5. Re-enlisted May 8, 1917, at Sussex, 
N. B., in No. 2 Field Company.' Sailed Sept. 5, 1917, 
from Halifax on the S. S. Megantic for Liverpool. Pro- 
ceeded to Sunningdale Training Camp. On Oct. 17 went 
over to Boulogne, and then to the front line at Lens, an 
active sector, in the 1st Battalion, 1st Canadian Division. 
Remained there two weeks, and then moved to Ypres. 
Engaged in a four days' drive and then holding the line 
for the rest of the year. 

In January the battalion was at Lieven, between Lens 
and the Arras sector, and at Arras during the months of 
March, April and May, holding the line under constant 
tire. Two months 7 rest followed and on August 2 the 
Battalion returned to the battle line at Amiens and engaged 
in the Battle of Amiens, August 8 and 9. The Battle of 
Amiens was the first of the great eounter-oifensives in 
which the British armies were engaged during the latter 
half of 1918, the French on the right, the Canadian corps 
in the center, the Australian corps on the left. 

Zero hour was at 4.20 o'clock on the morning of Aug. 8. 
Promptly to the minute the barrage opened lire and the 
infantry and tanks crossed the jumping-off line and moved 
forward to the attack. The First Brigade attacked with 
three battalions in line, the First in support, and was suc- 
cessful everywhere, securing the high ground east of Cay- 
eux and the crossings of the Biver Louze before noon. On 
the second day of the battle, August 9, on the 1st Division 
front, the 1st Brigade was ordered to capture Beaufort 
and Bouvrav. The attack was made with the First and 



138 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Fourth Battalions in lino, with machine gun support. 
Heavy machine gun fire was met at the outset, but the 
objective was readied. In this battle Hie hirst Canadian 
Division suffered severely, the casualties including 170 
officers and 3,148 other ranks. 

On xlugust 20, the Canadian troops began to move north- 
ward again, in order to take part in the operations east 
of Arras, that were but the beginning of a battle that 
lasted for more than two months and ended only when the 
armistice came into force. The Battle of Arras, which 
lasted from August 2G until September 3, 1918, was the 
next great battle in which the Canadians took part. The 
First Canadian Division having been moved rapidly from 
the Amiens front, relieved the Second Division on the 
night of August 28. It went into action at 4.40 a. m. in 
the morning of the 30th, attacking the strong Fremes- 
Boncowy trench line. Heavy fighting continued through 
the greater part of the day. Days of hitter hand-to-hand 
fighting followed, but the Drieneourt-Qucant line Avas 
forced and the advance was pushed twelve miles to the 
Canal du JSTord, outflanking the enemy's defenses west of 
Douai and causing a retirement from Arras and Armen- 
tieres. The First Canadian Division was relieved on Sept. 
5 and moved to the Walrus area, southwest of Arras. 

The great battle of Cambrai was now at hand. The 
First Division was recalled to the line and reached its 
area on Sept. 25, and on the night of Sept. 20 all units 
moved to their positions, the night being exceedingly dark 
and heavy rain falling until nearly dawn. Before them 
was the canal and beyond it the canal trench, strongly 
wired and machine gum The battle opened on Friday 
morning, Sept. 27, with an enormous concentration of 
artillery fire, machine guns firing in barrage, while the 
Fngineers were projecting smoke and boiling oil into the 
village of Marquion and the high ground further to the 
north. The first rush carried the canal and the opposing 
trenches. The First Battalion passing through the Fourth, 
took up the fight and carried the line forward 1,500 yards. 
It was then held up by heavy machine gun fire, and the 



MILITARY Kti'COKDS 



189 



Second and Third Battalions passed through and by hard 
fighting reached its objective. 

The battle was waged furiously day after day. On 
the 29th of September the advance was held up by the 
enemy's fire. The 30th brought no decision. On the 
morning of October 1 the First and Fourth Battalions 
launched the attack for the First Brigade. The First 
Battalion secured the line of the railway north of Blecourt, 
but was unable to advance further owing to the intense 
fire from Abancourt. A general retirement followed, but 
a great attack was made on October 8 and 9, and Cambrai 
fell. 

The First Canadian Division had no active part in later 
operations. It was in billets in the Somain-Pecquencourt- 
Masny area when the armistice was announced. On Xo- 
vember 13 the move to the concentration camp west of 
Mons was begun. On Xovember IS the march for the 
Bhine was begun. The frontier was reached on Dec. 4, 
and on Friday, .Dec. 13, the entire Division marched 
through Cologne and crossed the Bhine over the Xeuc- 
Briicke bridge. The bridgehead area was occupied until 
January 5, 1919, when it was relieved and began with- 
drawal to the II uy area, where it remained until March 1, 
when the return to England began. 

Mr. Ilovey sailed from Southampton, April 15, on 
S. S. Olympic for Halifax, and was discharged at St. 
John, X.B.; April 22, 1919. 

IIaleett Dole Howe, born at Ipswich, Mass., Jan. 7, 
1893. Son of Thomas A. and Annie Howe. AVas com- 
missioned Dec. 12, 1917, as a Second Lieutenant in the 
Ordnance Engineering Division and reported for active 
duty January 15, 1918, at Washington, D. C. Served 
under Col. J. B. Bose, and was assigned to the Anti- 
Aircraft Section of the Engineering 1 Hvision. Tie was 
later placed in charge of Fire Control Material, and later 
of Eire Control Material for all Field Artillery, both light 
and heavy. Promoted to rank of First Lieutenant of 
Ordnance, August 15, 1918, and was transferred to Bos- 



140 



MILITARY RECORDS 



ton to supervise inspection of fire control material. Hon- 
orably discharged October 31, 1910, at Boston. 

Theodore Cummings Howe, born May 4, 1846, at 
Braintree. Son of Daniel and Hannah L. Howe. Mar- 
ried, March 17, 1807, Miss Sarah E. Brown. 

Mr. Howe served in the Civil War and in the IT. S. 
ISTavy in the Spanish War. He was paymaster on the 
school ship Ranger for five years and made a cruise around 
the world. Recalled from the retired list when war was 
declared against Germany, he acted as Chief Yeoman at 
Little Building and more recently at the Xavy Yard. 

Theodore Frederick Howe, horn August 29, 1876, at 
Ipswich. Son of Theodore C. and Sarah E. Howe. lie 
enlisted in the 17. S. Xavy in. 189 S, accompanied .the 
"White Squadron'' in its world cruise, was stationed in 
Hayti in charge of U. S. interests, whence he was recalled 
to service at the Navy Yard and Commonwealth Pier. He 
ranks as Lieutenant. Still in service. 

Arthur Aeliston Hull, born March 23, 1808, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Frederick R. and Minnie B. Hull. Mus- 
tered in October 28, 1918, 7th Co., Co. B, Coast Artillery 
Band, at Eort Warren. Discharged in December, 1918. 

Edward G. IIule, horn May 0, 1895, at Ipswich. Son 
of Justin J. and Eva A. Hull. Mustered in Aug. 25, 1917, 
Coast Guard No. 24, Xahant. August 14, 1918, engaged 
with the Boston Auto Gauge Co., taken over by IT. S. to 
make gauges for gasoline tanks. Discharged August 11, 
1918. 

Charles Trantox Huix, born May 8, 1896, at Chel- 
sea, Mass. Son of Charles G. and Margaret Hull. Mus- 
tered in Sept. 21, 1917, acting corporal Company B, 302nd 
Machine Gun Battalion at Camp Devens. Sailed from 
Boston July 5, 1918, on S. S. Ajax, for London. After 
a brief stay at Winchester, proceeded by way of South- 
ampton and Havre to a convalescent camp for three days, 
then to St. Elorent for a week. 

Transferred to replacement company 147th M. G. B. 
and sent to training camp at Solsichur. Left August 2 



MILITARY RECORDS 141 

for Chateau Thierry, where lie joined the 306th M. G. B., 
Company B, '/7th Division, then in the active front at 
the Vesle. Went over the top August 21, with the 306th 
and 30Sth Infantry of the same Division. Fismes and 
Chery were taken, hut re- captured by the Germans. Two 
days later advanced to Blenzy, where the Americans 
were relieved by the Italians. Acted as gunner Xo. 1 and 
sometimes as loader No. 2 in the machine gun squad. 

A ten-hour hike brought them to Chateau Thierry, where 
the night camp was made in the woods, and the next day 
taken in lorries hack across the Marne and arrived in two 
days at the Champagne front, at the left of Verdun. 
In the Argonne drive the 77th Division held the left. 
Two nights were spent in the trenches before the action 
began. On Sept. 20 the Americans attacked, following a 
heavy barrage which overcame the German fire and pre- 
pared the way for the advance. Moved through the 
trenches about two miles to the front, close to Jerries. 
Continued in the Argonne advance without relief until 
about October 20. Grand Pre was taken twice and lost 
twice, then taken a third time and held. 

The 77th Division was relieved now by the 82nd Divi- 
sion and withdrawn into the forest for a two days' rest. 
Took up the drive again at Stonne and Remilly, halting 
at the Mouse, two miles from Sedan, and occupied the 
trenches, under heavy barrage, until the armistice, ISTo- 
vember 11. Three men in the squad were killed in these 
operations. Mr. Hull was ^nssed, but recovered in a few 
days. He was lost three hours one night in the Argonne 
Yorest in a withdrawal from an advance position, hut by 
a happy chance met a doughboy and escaped from shell 
hole to shell hole through the barrage to the American 
lines. On one occasion, sitting with his squad in an aban- 
doned German dugout, a three-inch shell came through the 
roof into their midst, but failed to explode. Tood failed 
in these rapid movements, and often a dead soldier's iron 
ration was eagerly sought. 

After the armistice a lonir, fourteen days' hike brought 
the regiment through Stonne, St. Florent, and other towns 
and villages to Kennepont, where two months were spent 



142 



MILITARY RECORDS 



and Christmas celebrated. Mgyed in box cars three days 
to Vion in Le Mans area, and were billeted there in tiie 
stone cottages with stone floors for two months more. 
Sailed from Brest April 19, 1919, on S. S. Aqnitania, for 
New Fork. After a week at Camp Mills, Long Island, 
and a few days at Cam]) Devens, discharged May 8, 1919. 

James Joseph Hughes, Lorn February 7, 189G, at 
Boston. Son of James J. and Susan Hughes. Mustered 
in December 4, 1917, Cam]) Devens, 1st Depot Brigade. 
Transferred to Headquarters Company. Discharged from 
Camp Devens, June 12, 1919. 

Robert Hazen Irvine, born April 6, 1891, in New 
Brunswick. Son of Robert and Clara Irvine. Mustered 
in Feb. 25, 1918, private, 6th Co., 151st Depot Brigade, 
at Camp Devens. Transferred to Co. C, 303rd Infantry, 
76th Division, Headquarters Troop. Sailed July 5, on 
S. S. Burma. Stationed at Vesmcs, then at St. Amand 
until after the armistice. Returned in the Kroonlanch 
Discharged December 16, 1918. 

Garland Jean, born February 16, 1899, at Ipswich, 
Son of William G. and Annie B, Jean. Mustered in 
June 23, 1918, 191st Co., A Battalion, IT. S. Marines. 
At Paris Island, S. C, three months, then at Qnantico, 
Virginia, where he was transferred to Company B, 13th 
Regiment, IT. S. Marine Corps. 

Sailed September 15, 1918, on S. S. Yon Steuben 
for Brest. Stationed a month at Brest, then at Bor- 
deaux, at Bassens, and back to Bordeaux, where he re- 
mained three months, engaged in guard work and drill- 
ing. Sailed for home on S. S. Huron, June 30, 1919, 
for Newport News. Dismissed from Navy Yard, Nor- 
folk, Va. : July 14, 1919. 

Grenville Maurice Jewett, Corporal, born in Ips- 
wich Village, July 9, 1890. Son of Ames Everett Jewett 
and Ada Louisa (Forbes) Jewett. 

Sailed for England March 18, 1915, on the Devonian. 
Landed at Liverpool April 1. Enlisted in British Army 
April 8, in Army Service Corps, Motor Transport. Went 



MILITARY RECORDS 143 

to Grove Park, London, from there to Camp Bulford, 
Salisbury Plain, April 13, then to Avonmouth, where the 
cars wore put aboard the transport, then by rail to South- 
ampton, sailing f r0 m there April 30, arriving at Rouen 
May 1, with the 51st Highland Division. Went up the 
line May ;>, going at once 1 into battle of Festubert, and 
was constantly in action until July 1. 

During July the Division was at Laventie, then moved 
to Albert on the Somme, the first British troops in that 
sector, relieving the Drench Division. Stayed at Albert 
until day after Christinas, then moved up to Arras sector, 
staying there until July, 1916. Except while on the 
march the Division was constantly in action, holding the 
line at these points. During this time was driving supply 
truck eight months, and from March to July Brigade 
Commander Stewart's car. Transferred to Field Ambu- 
lance July 2, 101G. The Division went into Somme Bat- 
tle July 8 for eight days, Avas then withdrawn and re- 
inforced ; went in for eleven days and was practically 
annihilated, the life of a division at that time in the 
British Army being estimated at nine days. 

Went to Armentieres sector in August, stayed until 
October, serving as despatch rider part of time. While 
there brought General Stewart's body from the front, he 
having been killed at Houplines. Then to La Sarres sec- 
tor, holding line at Mailly-Maillet. In the middle of Octo- 
ber was transferred to 19th Division, and was in the battle 
of Thiepval, November 10. Drove General Bridges (Di- 
vision Commander) car from January to June, 1917, with 
the exception of three weeks in hospital with trench fever. 
Division during this time was taken out, reinforced, and 
trained for a month, returning to line in April, then moved 
up to Ypres sector, holding the line, being constantly under 
shell fire. Was wounded with shrapnel July 8, 1917, in 
the battle of Messines Ridge, and spent seven weeks in 
hospital. Affer leaving hospital served as motorcycle 
despatch rider, losing three machines in less than two 
weeks by shell fire. 

Came home on furlough October 5, 1917. Returning, 
sailed from ^Tew York November 22. Banded in Eng- 



144 



MILITARY RECORDS 



land December 6. Injured in London December 26, by 

falling girder during German air raid. Was in hospital 
six weeks with broken shoulder-blade and cuts on head. 
At Shortlands, Kent, until the last of April, then joined 
Division in France. In active service two weeks at Ypres, 
during hardest of lighting, it being expected the enemy 
would break through to Calais at that time. Recalled 
May 24, and transferred to American Army in England, 
and attached to Base Section Three. 

At American Rest Camp, Morn Hill, Winchester, driv- 
ing commandant's car (Col. DeSombre) one year. Lon- 
don, American garage, from June 7, 1919, to Jan. 13, 
1020. Sailed for home Jan. 14, on JSTorthern Pacific, two 
prisoners in charge, last of the A. E. F. Landed in New 
York, January 24. 

Discharged at Camp Dix, January 20, 1020, after three 
years forty-seven days with British Army, and one year 
eight months with American Army. Total service, four 
years, nine months, seventeen days. 

Mayxard Campbell Jewett, born June 16, 1895, at 
Ipswich. Son of Leander and Katherine Jewett. Mus- 
tered in Dec. 13, 1017, as seaman, at the U. S. Naval 
Station, Bumkin Island, Boston, Mass. Transferred to 
LT. S. Naval Base, Squad J, East Boston. Released, Jan- 
uary, 1010. 

Henry Stephen Joyce, born June 20, ISO 5, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Henry and Emma B. Joyce. Mustered 
in October 10, 1017, Medical Reserve Corps, stationed 
at Long Island Hospital. Released April, 1010. 

Charles M. Kelly, Jr., born May 10, 1801, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Charles M. and Sarah E. Kelly. Ordered 
to active duty October" 18, 1017, for instruction at U. S. 
Naval Academy. Rank, Lieutenant (junior grade). Or- 
dered to sea duty as radio officer TJ. S. S. Nevada. Or- 
dered to duty as division radio officer for Rear Admiral 
J. L. Jayne, IT. S. N\, Commander Battleship Division 
Three, IT. S. Atlantic Fleet. Ordered to duty as aide and 
division radio officer for Rear Admiral Thomas Washing- 
ton, IT. S. N\, Commander Battleship Division Two, l r . S. 



MILITARY RECORDS 



145 



Atlantic Fleet. Promoted to Lieutenant (senior grade), 
April, 1918. Ordered to duly as aide and division radio 
officer for Rear Admiral Roger Welles, U. S. N., Com- 
mander Battleship Division Two, II. S. Atlantic Elect. 
Placed on inactive duty October 13, 1910. 

John Daniel Kelley, born March 2, 1893, at Nova 
Scotia. Son of Howard L. and Elizabeth Kelley. Mus- 
tered in Sept. 21, 1917, Cam]) Devens, Co. B, 302nd 
Machine Gun Battalion. 

Sailed from Boston July 8, 1918, in S. S. Ajax, for 
London, proceeded to Havre, transferred to Company A, 
310th Machine Gun Battalion. At Montfaucon Sept. 5, 
where first drive N was made. At St. Mihiel, September, 
and the Argonne Forest. On Nov. 10 the night before 
the armistice, stationed at Hill 378, bound for Death 
Valley the next day. 

After the armistice, withdrawn to Camp Monthauron 
for four months, another month at LifTol-le-Grand, at 
Buonneti three weeks. Sailed for home from St. Nazaire, 
May 10, 1919, on S. S. Prince Matokas, for Hoboken. 
Discharged from Camp Dix, May 30, 1919, having suf- 
fered neither wounds nor sickness. 

Miss Katiieimxe A. Kelly, of the Coburn Home. 
Born October, 1880, in Ireland. Registered as Bed Cross 
Nurse and assigned to Hospital at Otisville, N. Y., Octo- 
ber, 1918. Transferred to Hospital at New Haven, and 
later to Hospital at North Carolina. Discharged October, 
1919. 

Louis Kelley, born May 1, 1893, at Nova Scotia. 
Son of Howard and Elizabeth Kelley. Mustered in June 
25, 1918, at Camp Devens, in 47th Depot Brigade; trans- 
ferred to 73rd Infantry, and again to Company A, 36th 
Reg. Infantry at Camp Devens. Discharged from there 
June 12, 19i9. 

W. Quixcy Kinsman, born in Ipswich on May 7, 1877. 
Son of Mary Quincy and "Willard Francis Kinsman. 
Married Mary Elizabeth Nickelson on t June 9, 1901. 
Served in the Philippine Islands from December 29, 1900 



146 



MILITARY RECORDS 



to May 6, 1902. Honorably discharged at Fort Snelling, 
Minnesota, on August 19, 1903. Served as First Lieu- 
tenant of Company 0, 15th Regiment, M. S. (L, from 
September 1!), 1917, to December, 1917. Resigned to 
enlist as private in Company A, Third Battalion^ U. S. 
Guards, on December 27, 1917. Appointed Corporal on 
January 15, 19 IS, and Sergeant on February 1, 1918. 
Honorably discharged on December 16, 1918. 

Samuel Allison Kilborn, born March 26, 1893, at 

Ipswich. Son of Samuel and Hannah E. Kilborn. En- 
listed in II. S. ~.N~avy. Served on the Korth Dakota, the 
Vermont, and seven months on the Mayflower at Wash- 
ington. Discharged on June 1, 191(5, after nearly three 
years in the service. Enlisted in IT. S. Coast Guard, 
Station No. 21, in October, 1916. Died Feb. 22, 1919. 

D albert Edward Kent, born April 2, 189 S, at Row- 
ley. Son of Charles E. and Laura M. Kent. Enlisted 
October, 1918, musician, C. A. C, Fort Warren. Dis- 
charged Dec. 9, 1918. 

Raymond Allen Kltxgku, born July 16, 189:"), at Fort 
Wayne, Indiana. Son of John A. and Louise M. Klinger. 
Married, April 28, 1917, Miss Robena M. Bruce. En- 
listed in IT. S. ]NTavy in 1910, on sea duty until his dis- 
charge in 1914. Mustered in March 19, 1918. Cox- 
swain, U. S. X. R. at Hingham. Rating, 1st elass boat- 
swain's mate. Released May 13, 1919. 

Ross Fuller Lakeman, born at Ipswich, Mass., April 
28, 1895. Son of Howard and Frances C. Lakeman. En- 
listed in 1913 in the U. S. Navy and served on the U. S. S. 
Nevada. Was honorably discharged April 2, 1917, and 
re-enlisted April 3, 1917. Served during the war and 
was honorably discharged August 3, 1919. Re-enlisted 
May II, 1920. 

.Nicholas Ladulis, born April 25, 1898, in Greece. 
Son of William and Panagota Ladulis. Mustered in July 
24, 1917, ForfSlocum, "\ T . Y., Medical Department; Post 
Hospital. Transferred to Fort Dupont, Deb, Camp Jack- 



MILITARY RECORDS 



147 



son, S. C, Camp Gordon, Georgia, and Camp Upton. 
Sailed November, 1918, in S. S. Mauretania for Liver- 
pool. In hospital service at Commercy-sur-Meuse, Neuf- 
chateau, Oquin, Nancy. Received the wounded in St. 
Mihiel drive and the Argonne. At Paris and Brest. 
Sailed from Brest July 22, 1019, on S. S. Pocahontas. 
Still in service. 

Karl Lin wood Lange, born May 12, 1808, at Ipswich. 
Son of Emil and Ida L. Lange. Mustered in July, 1917, 
quartermaster, U. S. Naval Aeronautic Station, Pensacola, 
Florida. Transferred to Naval Air Station, Chatham, 
Mass. Commissioned as Ensign. Still in service. 

George Henry Lauer, born July 18, 1887, at Maiden, 
Mass. Son of Adam G. and Emelia C. Lauer. Mustered, 
in at Camp Devens. Transferred to Camp Syracuse, 
N. Y., to Camp Stuart, Virginia, 322nd Guard and Fire 
Company. Discharged December, 1918. 

Anna Louise Lauer, born Feb. 13, 1890, at Maiden. 
Daughter of Adam G. and Emelia C. Lauer. Oath of 
office taken August 21, 1918. Reported for duty Aug. 
23, 1918, at Camp Eustis, Va. Jan. 14, 1919 transferred 
from Base Hospital, Camp Eustis, Va., to Camp Hospital, 
Camp Morrison, Va. June 1, 1919, transferred from 
Camp, Hospital, Camp Morrison, Va., to Embarkation 
Hospital, Camp Stewart, Newport News, Va. Honorably 
discharged from Army Nurse Corps, August 20, 1919. 

Henry Lavoie, born March 23, 1892, in Canada. Son 
of Samuel and Emma Lavoie. Enlisted October 21, 1918. 
Assigned to Battery B, Fort William, Portland, Me. Dis- 
charged December 21, 1918. 

Edward Leavitt, born March 11, 1892, at Newbury- 
port. Son of John and Julia Leavitt. Mustered in Feb. 
1, 1918, Provost Guard. Discharged November 28, 191S. 

William Humphrey Leavitt, born May 15, 1S85, at 
Newburyport. Son of John and Julia A. Leavitt. "Mus- 
tered in November G, 1917, Commonwealth Pier, engine- 
man, first class. May 1, 1918, assigned to II. S. S. Dyer, 
No. 81. Sailed from Boston, touched at Newport, left 



148 



MILITARY RECORDS 



New York, July 9, for Portsmouth, England, touching at 
the Azores, and proceeded to Gibraltar. The ship was 
engaged in convoy service in the .Mediterranean, between 
Marseilles and Gibraltar, until the armistice, November 
11, 1018. After the armistice, made an extended cruise 
to Tangier's and Algiers, Malta, Venice, Trieste, Fiume, 
Spolato, Brindisi, Constantinople, Athens, to Lisbon, then 
to Smyrna, Malta, Villa Franca, Nice, Monte Carlo, Gib- 
raltar, the Azores and New York. Discharged August 1, 
1910. 

Albert Henry Leet, born September 21, 1800, at 
Ipswich. Son of James and Harriet Leet. Married .Miss 
Georgia P. Perkins. Enlisted in 1SS7 in the Marine 
Corps. Retired as Sergeant after five years' service. 
Mustered in Feb. 28, 1017, chief petty officer and cook, 
Coast Guard No. 21, Newburyport. Now Acting Captain. 

Adrian Rudolph Lemieux, born February 7, 1805, 
in Canada. Son of Achille and Josephine M. Lemieux. 
Mustered in October 3, 1017, hospital apprentice, 1st class, 
U. S. jSTi Radio School Dispensary at Cambridge, then at 
Lockworth Basin, East Boston, pharmacist mate, 3rd class, 
later in Florida and Virginia. Discharged Nov. 8, 1018. 

George A. Lemieux, born June 0, 1894, in Canada. 
Son of Achille and Josephine M. Lemieux. Mustered in 
October 11, 1017, private State Guard. U. S. N. R., 
Boston. Released January 5, 1010. 

John Philip Lind, born Nov. 30, 1S03, in Sweden. 
Son of Gustav Axel and Anna L. Lind. Mustered in 
September 21, 1017, private, 302nd Machine Gun Bat- 
talion, at Camp Devens. Transferred to 301st Mobile 
Veterinary Section, 301st Train Headquarters, 70th Di- 
vision, and M. P. at Cam]) Devens. 

Sailed July S, 1018, on S. S. Cardiganshire, and landed 
at Tilbury Docks, London. Proceeded to rest camp at 
Winchester, to Southampton and Havre. Entrained to 
St. Amand, then to Bourbonnedes-Bains, and remained a 
week. At the armistice he was at Belleville in the Toul 
sector, attached to the Veterinary Hospital of the Sixth 



MILITARY RECORDS 



14!) 



Corps. Moved to Villerupt (on the Moselle) and to May- 
ence. Sailed from St. Mazaire, June 2, 1919, on U. S. S. 
Henderson. Dismissed from Camp Devens, June 23, 
1910. 

Lawrence Willard Littleiteld, born Xov. 15, 1894, 
at Ipswich. Son of Charles T. and Laura A. Littlefield. 
Mustered in April 13, 1918, ship fitter, U. S. Shipping 
Board, on U. S. S. Gov. Cobb. Discharged March 19, 
1919. Bc-enlisted on U. S. S. Alabat, April 7, 1919. 
Discharged April 15, 1920. 

Arthur Russell Lord, born Aug. 8, 1886, at Ipswich. 
Son of Aaron and Catherine Lord. He was graduated 
from the University of Maine, 1907 ; taught a year 
there; went to Havana University, Illinois, as a teacher 
of drawing. He entered the employ of the Leonard Con- 
struction Company in Chicago. Resigned his position in 
September, 1917, and enlisted as private in the Engineer- 
ing Corps at Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, where he was 
stationed three months. He was transferred to Camp 
Logan, Houston, Texas, and after six months to Camp 



Tray 



ers, 



San Antonio. He has served on the 



ng 



Board at Washington, and has been engaged in making 
tests on concrete vessels at Pittsburg and South Bethlehem, 
Penn. By successive promotions he has reached the rank 
of Major. Discharged May 10, 1919. 

Arthur Xorman Low, born April S, 1893, at Ipswich. 
Son of Howard and Eunice AY. Low. Married April 1, 
1914, Miss Gertrude Dorr. Mustered in April 2, 1918, 
at Cam]) Devens, 7th Casualty Detachment, 33rd Engi- 
neers; transferred to Company A, 33rd Engineers. 

Sailed from Hoboken May 10, 1918, on S. S. Dwinsk 
for Brest. The Company was sent to Xavers to lay tracks 
and build storehouses. En the hitter part of July he was 
detached to .Major E. A. Kingslcy, an Engineer officer, 
as chauffeur and served in this capacity 10 months and 14: 
days. His duties called him to all parts of France. A 
twelve-day excursion by automobile to Grenoble, Nice, 
Monte Carlo, to Switzerland and through the Alps to Italy 
was a delightful diversion. He was in Paris when Prcsi- 



150 



MILITARY RECORDS 



dent Wilson arrived. A brief illness sent him to the hos- 
pital at Mars-sur-Allier until May 6, 1919, when he 
returned to his company. On .May 8, went to he Mans 
embarkation camp, then to Brest, and sailed May 23, 1919, 
on U. S. S. Cruiser Fredericks. Discharged from Camp 
Devens, June 10, 1919. 

Nathaniel E. Low, born Nov. 2, 1803, at Ipswich. 
Son of Nathaniel T. and Christy MacLean Low. Enlisted 
October 4, 191S, at Bronx, N. V., chauffeur. Discharged 
December -1, 1018. 

John M. Lucczko, born in Poland, 1880. Came to 
the United States in 1914. Came to Ipswich in 1017. 
Enlisted in Boston, June, 1017, in Company B, Ammuni- 
tion Train, 5th Division, 13th Cavalry, and was stationed 
at Camp Logan, Houston, Texas, where he died in ser- 
vice. He was the second Ipswich boy to give his life 
for the country. Funeral services were held in St. Jo- 
seph's Church, and he was buried with military honors 
on Sunday, March 31, 1918.' 

Herbert Thomas Mackinxev, born Aug. 2, 1S7S, at 
Newburyport. Son of Herbert I. and Harriet E. Mac- 
kinney. Mustered in July 10, 1017, Chief Quartermaster 
Naval Station, Bath, Me. Changed to Boatswain, II. S. S. 
Admiral, S. P.. 541, Boothbay Harbor; in Boston. Re- 
leased April 12, 1010, Boatswain, 1st Naval Division. 

Thomas Joseph Magee, born March 3, 1S03, at Porta- 
down, Armagh, Ireland. Son of Joseph and Margaret 
Magee. Employed at Castle Hill. Mustered in June 24, 
1018, at Camp Devens, Depot Brigade, then Supply Co. 
Discharged from Devens, January 20, 1010, and returned 
to Castle Hill. 

Henry Edward Malixg, born April 20, 1000, at 
Clementsville, Nova Scotia. Son of George W. and Addie 
Maling. Enlisted at Boston in the British Army, Boyal 
Engineers, Sept. 0, 191S, and was sent to ("am]) Fort 
Edward, Windsor, N. S. 



MILITARY RECORDS 



151 



Sailed from Quebec, Sept. 27, on S. S. Huntsend, for 
•Davenport, England. The influenza was very prevalent 
and on the voyage 58 men died from the inlluenxa and 
pneumonia. A month was spent in quarantine in North 
Wales, then moved to Ilounslow Barracks, London, where 
ho was assigned to Machine Gun Battalion and sent at 
once to Rugley Camp, Staffordshire. Remained there 
until February 3, 1919, when the camp was demobilized 
and sent to Winchester, where lie remained a month. 

Sailed on return from Cardiff, April 28, 1019, on S. S. 
Toloa for Halifax. Allowed a month's leave to return 
home and discharged April 9, 1919. 

Charles Albert Mallard, born June 13, 1895, at 
Ipswich. Son of Albert D. and Celia T. Mallard. Mar- 
ried, July 1.1)17, Miss Marion Wheeler. Enlisted in Co. 
II, 8th Mass. Regiment, and served on the Mexican fron- 
tier in 1910 and became a Corporal. He was mustered 
into the Federal service July 25, 1917, as Sergeant, Co. 
B, 104th Regiment, encamped at Lynnheld and Westfield. 

Went overseas in the S. S. Scotland, sailing from .Mon- 
treal on October 4, 1917. Landed at Liverpool and pro- 
ceeded to Southampton and to Havre, and spent several 
months in vigorous training at Ilarreville. On Feb. 9 
moved to the trenches at Soissons, and on Feb. 19, in the 
trenches at Chemin des Dames, the battalion repelled a 
German raid, the first contact of the 20th Division with 
the Huns, and was commended for bravery under fire by 
the French general The Division entrained at Soissons 
for Bar-surAube and then hiked live days to Remaucourt, 
covering from 12 to 18 kilometers, S to 10 miles a day, 
and reached there on the 26th or 27th of March, but two 
days after moved to the Toul sector. 

On April 1, 1918, Corporal Mallard was detached from 
his company ami sent to the Drench Military School at 
Langres, where he remained until July 9, gaining his 
commission as 2nd Lieutenant, and was sent, on July 11, 
as instructor to Le Mans Two weeks later he rejoined 
his company at Chateau Thierry and went to Chatillon- 
Bur-Scine a rest camp. The Division had suffered 66 per 



152 



MILITARY RECORDS 



cent casualties, mostly machine gun wounds. With full 
ranks the regiment was engaged in the St. Mihiel drive 
on September 12 and 13. The heavy barrage by the- bat- 
teries routed the enemy so completely that Lieut. Mallard's 
company, Company A, though placed in the front line, 
lost but 9 men, 1 killed, 8 wounded. They advanced rap- 
idly six kilometers the first day, seven in the second. 

In the Meuse-Argonne sector the 104th was detached 
and joined the French troops to raise their morale. Lieut. 
Mallard's company suffered severely in action on October 
10. The commanding officer was killed, another wounded 
and a third was missing for two days. Thirty-eight men 
were killed, seventy-seven wounded, and three taken pris- 
oners in less than two hours. Only 168 men were left in 
the ranks of Company A. Lieut. Mallard was slightly 
wounded. For bravery in this action he was promoted to 
1st Lieutenant on November 3, 1918. 

For five days the 104th held the line alternately with 
the 101st and 102nd in the attacks, all three regiments 
suffering severely. Withdrawn for two days' rest, it was 
again at the front when the attack was made on the lGtk 
of October. Flabas was captured but Ville de Chaumont 
could not be taken, though attacks were made twice at 
daylight. The battalion was now so reduced that only 25 
men remained in Company A on Nov. 9 and 10, its full 
strength being 250. The hardships of the march over the 
muddy roads, the complete failure of the food supply for 
two days, the constant shell fire, took heavy toll. Giving 
up the attack on Chaumont the regiment was moved in 
the night of November 10 to Beaumont, relieving the 101st 
which had driven the Germans. The 104th continued the 
pursuit, but on the morning of November 11 so great were 
the casualties that Lieut. Mallard's battalion, with a nor- 
mal strength of 1,200 men and 20 officers, numbered but 
1GS men and officers. 

At 10.25 a. m. on November 11, as they were prepar- 
ing to advance, message came from the rear that the 
armistice had been signed, but that the advance was to be 
made, crushing all resistance until 11 o'clock. On the 
dot the firing stopped. The German dugouts which had 



MILITARY RECORDS 



153 



been eaptureed were plentifully supplied with flares and 
signal fires, and at night the whole heavens were illumined 
with the display of colored tires. 
Discharged April 28, 1918. 

1st Lieut. Charles B. Mallard, 
104th Infantry. 
I have read w.ith much pleasure the reports of 
your regimental commander and brigade com- 
mander regarding your gallant conduct and de- 
votion to duty in the field on Oct, IS-Xov. 11, 
19 IS, in the attack under heavy enemy fire, 
north of Verdun, and have ordered your name 
and deed to be entered in the record of the 
Yankee Division. C. R. Edwards, 

Major General, 
Commanding 2Gth Division. 

Frank Woodbury Mallard, bom August 26, 1S9 3, in 
Ipswich. Son of Albert D. and Celia T. Mallard. En- 
listed in Company II, Stli Mass. Regiment and served on 
the Mexican frontier in 1916, and became a corporal. 
Mustered into the Federal service July 25, 1917, as Ser- 
geant, Company B, 104th Regiment. 

Sailed overseas October 4, 1917, landed at Liverpool 
and proceeded to Southampton and to Havre. February 9 
moved to the trenches at Soissons. On Feb. 19, in the 
trenches at Chemin des Dames, the battalion repelled a 
German raid, the first contact of the 2Gth Division with 
the Huns, and was recommended for bravery under fire 
by the French General. Then to Toul sector by train. 
From Toul sector by truck transport to Chateau Thierry 
sector. Relieved Marine Corps of 2nd Division in Belleau 
Wood. Participated in Chateau Thierry drive. When 
relieved went to Chatel for rest. In September in the St. 
Mihiel drive, then moved to Verdun, taking part in the 
Argonne offensive until armistice was declared. The divi- 
sion moved to rear to wait for transport. Sailed from 
Brest and landed at Boston. Discharged from Camp 
Devens April 27, 1919. 



154 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Sergt. Frank W. Mallard, 
104th infantry. 
I have read with much pleasure the reports of 
your regimental commander and brigade com- 
mander regarding your gal hint conduct and devo- 
tion to duty injlie field on Sept. 12, 1918, attach- 
ing machine gun nests under heavy enemy lire 
at St. Remy, St. Mihiel salient, and have ordered 
your name and deed to be entered in the records 
of the Yankee Division. C. R. Edwards, 

Major General, 
Commanding 2Gth Division. 

Jonx Grant Mansfield, born May 6, 1891, at Ips- 
wich. Son of John W. and Helen G. Mansfield. Married, 
Feb. 28, 1909, .Miss Grace M, Richer. Enlisted i\ T ov. 10, 
15)09, in IT. S. Xavy; re-enlisted in 1913 and 1917; 
attached to IT. S. S. Seattle, armored cruiser, with a crew 
of 1100 men, as chief electrician in January, 1917. Dur- 
ing the War his ship, attached to Admiral Gleaves's con- 
voy squadron, made eight round trips across the Atlantic. 
On the njght of June 22, 1918, it Avas attacked by a Ger- 
man submarine, but evaded the torpedo. Mr. Mansfield 
was detached from the Seattle, August 31, 1918, with a 
rating of warrant officer^ rank of gunner. After some 
months on waiting orders, now attached to ISTavy Yard. 

Ered Mantjiorn, bom September 8, 1890, in Lowell. 
Son of Enoch and Ida Manthorn (now Curtis). Enlisted 
in 1916 in National Guard. April 2, 1917, ordered to 
Fort Ethan Allen, Vermont. After seven months trans- 
ferred to Wcstfield, then to Camp Green, X. C, and Camp 
Wadsworth, S. C, and Camp Merritt. Sailed Sept. 29, 
1918, on the Leviathan, and spent three months in training 
camps. Returned on the George Washington in January 
and was discharged March 4, 1919. 

Arthur William Matszer, born May 20, 1880, in 
ISTova Scotia. Son of Henry and Abigal Manzer. Married 
Eva Lonus, June 9, 1904. Enlisted January 2, 1918, 



MILITABY RECORDS 155 

U. S. Guards, stationed in Boston. Released January 23 
1919. 

Arthur Peter Marcorelle, born Jan. 11, 1895, at 
Ipswich. Son of Napoleon and Vital! no Marcorelle. 
Married Miss Bertha Duguay, Jan. 22, 1919. Mustered 
in Dec. 7, 1917, at Fort Slocum, private, Aviation Sec- 
tion. Sent to Kelly Field, San Antonio, Texas. Signal 
Corps, 224th Aero Service Squadron. 

Sailed March 29, 1918, from Hoboken on S. S. St. 
Louis for Liverpool. Sent to Croydon for five months, 
engaged with the English in training air pilots, then sent 
to Aviation School at Wellington, as. engine fitter. Later 
sent to Aviation Camp, Lupcomb Corner, Salisbury Plain, 
for a month, still engaged in machine fitting. Nov. 1, 
1918, appointed Sergeant Mechanic in Aeronautics. 

Sailed on return on S. S. Orca, November, for Hoboken. 
Discharged from Camp Mills, December 5, 1919. 

Athaxasios Xaiiolos Markos, age 23, born in Derra- 
hion, County of Megalopolis, Greece. Came to America 
in 1912. Volunteered in the Cavalry in 1917. AVent to 
France, February, 1918. Participated in battles of Bel- 
leau Wood, Chateau Thierry, Saint Mihiel. Wounded at 
Chateau Thierry. Returned in July, 1919, under treat- 
ment in hospital a month. Discharged in August, 1919. 

Joseph Marks, born April 11, 189G, at Jernil, Por- 
tugal. Mustered in April 21, 1:917, Machine Gun Bat- 
talion 302, Camp Devens. Changed to Depot Brigade. 
Discharged December 22, 1917. 

Arthur Raymond Martel, born iSTovember 29, 1S93, 
at Ipswich. Son of Joseph and Frances Martel. Mus- 
tered in April 29, 19 IS, at Camp Devens, Company D, 
302nd Machine Gun Battalion, Depot Brigade. 

, Sailed from Boston, July S, 1918, on S. S. Ajax for 
Halifax (to join the convoy) and London. A day was 
spent in London, a day in Winchester, two days in Havre, 
and about July 25 arrived at St. Amand in central France. 



156 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Transferred on Nov. 7 to Sanitary School at These, and 
two weeks later to Medical Outfit, Cain.]) Hospital No. 7, 
in the Marne sector. On March 20, 1919, transferred to 
Trier in Germany, Advanced Medical Supply Depot No. 
2, and remained there until August 25. Changed then to 
Coblenz, and on August 28, after enjoying several excur- 
sions on the Rhine, entrained for Brest by the northern 
route, through Cologne, Liege, lumen and the devastated 
sections of Belgium and Northern Trance. 

Sailed from Brest September 1, 1019, on S. S. Kroon- 
land for New York. Discharged from Camp Devens, 
September 17, 1919. 

Trukkley David Martel, born July IS, 1895, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Joseph and Trances Martel. Married, 
August, 1919, Miss Alice Marcaurelle. Mustered in Sept. 
21, 1917, private, Machine Gun Battalion 302, at Camp 
Devens. Sailed from Boston, July 8, 191 S, on S. S. 
Ajax for Liverpool, by way of Halifax. Troceeded at 
once to Southampton and Havre, to training camp at 
Lunery, where lie was appointed Corporal in August. In 
September went to St. Agnan for classification and 
assigned to Company B, 147th Machine Gun Battalion, 
41st Division, at Saulcicheri. Remained there after the 
armistice, until January 25, 1919, engaged in drill. At 
Brest two weeks and sailed Feb. 12, 1919, on l T . S. Battle- 
ship Rhode Island, arriving at Newport News February 
28. Discharged from Camp Devens, March 11, 1919. 

Joseph Edward Martel, born March 27, 1899, at 
Ipswich. Son of Edward and Mary Adeline Martel. 
Mustered in August 5, 1917, private, Artillery, Battery 
1), 101st Regiment. Encamped at Boxford. 

Sailed from Hoboken Sept. 7, 1917, in S. S. Adriatic 
for Liverpool. Troceeded to Southampton and Havre and 
to artillery training camp at Coetquidau in Brittany. 
After several months, moved to the front at Soissons, in 
latter part of January, where the battery was in action, 
supporting the infantry. Went to the Tout sector in box 
cars and stationed near Montreuil about a month. In action 
at Apremont, April 12 and 13, at Seicheprey am 



Xivray, 



MILITARY RECORDS 157 

and then removed to Chateau Thierry. Engaged in the 
St. Mihiel drive in September, and in constant action on 
the Verdun front until the armistice. Withdrawn then 
to Montigny-le-Roi, and later to the Le Mans area. Re- 
turned from Brest on the S. S. Mongolian. Landed at 
Boston April 10, 1010. Discharged April 10, 1010. 

Joseph Louis Martel, horn at Ipswich, Mass., Oct, 
23,1805. Son of Edward K and Mary A. Martel. 
Served four years in the IT. S. jSTavy as a seaman on 
IT. S. S. New Jersey. Enlisted in the IT. S. K R. E. 
Dec. 5, 1917, and reported at Commonwealth Pier, Bos- 
ton. Served on the U. S. S. Ticonderoga, with rating as 
a second class boatswain's mate. Was lost at sea on the 
morning of Sept. 30, 1018, when this vessel, on her fourth 
trip overseas, was torpedoed by a German submarine. On 
the IT. S. S. Ticonderoga with him was Paul Chaput of 
Ipswich, who was also lost. 

Josepii: Peter Martee, born July 20, 1800, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Joseph and Frances Martel. Married, 1st, 
Oct. 31, 1000, Miss Celia Leno, who died July 20, 1010; 
married 2nd, June 30, 1010, Miss Margaret D'Entremont. 
Mustered in Xov. 14, 1017, machinist, IT. S. Navy, Divi- 
sion 4, Bumkin Island, later Division 8, Section 2, Bnm- 
kin Island, then at New London. Released Feb. 5, 1010. 

Wilfred Joins 7 " Martee, born Oct. 4, 1000, at Ipswich. 
Son of Joseph and Erances Martel. Mustered in October 
8, 1017, II. S. ISTaval Station, Norfolk, Va. Junior In- 
structor. Attended Radio School, May IS, 101S, to his 
graduation, October 5, 1018. Sailed on Oct. 0, 1018, on 
S. S. President Grant for Brest. On arrival assigned to 
Base 20 at Cardiff, Wales. On duty on IT. S. S. Lake 
Huron. Transferred back to Base 20. Assigned to II. S. 
transports Brandenburg and Plattsburg. Ordered to 
receiving ship at New York. Landed on May 20. Dis- 
charged June 20, 1010, as Electrician, first class. 

Eugene Mat-iieson", born Xov. 25, 1800, at "Rowley. 
Son of Robert D. and Grace E. Matheson. Married Aug. 
3, 101S, Miss Goldie Brown. Mustered in Sept. 4, 1018, 



158 



MILITARY RECORDS 



15th Company, Depot Brigade. Changed to 45th Com- 
pany. Discharged, as Corporal, December 4, L918. 

George Edward Matiieson - , Lorn .May 16, 1895, at 
Rowley. Son of Robert D. and Grace E. Matheson. Mus- 
tered in "December, 1917, private 4th Co., C. A. C, N. E. 
Department, Fort II. G. Wright, iSTew York. Promoted 
to Corporal and Sergeant. Transferred from Fort Wright 
in August, 1918, to Fort Hamilton, later to Camp Eustace 
and Cam]) Stuart, Virginia. Discharged Dec. 7, 1018. 

John M-oCleixan Mayes, born August 27, 1884, in 
Nova Scotia. Son of William and Margaret E. Mayes. 
Enlisted in Regular Army and was stationed in Cuba in 
the Army of Pacification two years and a half; in San 
Domingo and Hayti; in San Francisco at the time of the 
earthquake, and on the Mexican frontier. Discharged 
after more than ten years' service, he enlisted on Sept. 3, 

1918, in the Canadian Engineers and sailed from Van- 
couver on September 17, 1918, for Siberia. 

Loeetta E. McGuire, of the Cable Memorial Hospital. 
Born elan. 1, 1SD4, at Boston. Daughter of John and 
Ellen McGuire. Mustered into service January 2, 1918, 
Army Nurse Corps. Served as army nurse at Walter 
Reed General Hospital, Washington, D. C. ; at U. S. A. 
General Hospital No. 11, Cape May, X. J. 

"Went overseas July, 1918, with Unit 115, Special Head 
Surgery Xurse. Served with Base Hospital 15, A. E. E., 
at Chaumont, Erance; with Base Hospital 115, A. E. F., 
at Vichy, France. Returned to United States, March, 

1919. Stationed at Barker Hill Hospital, Boston, Mass. 
Discharged July 5, 1919. 

Charles Augustine McInnis, born Oct. 19, 1891, at 
Ipswich. Son of Simon and Mary K. Mclnnis. Enlisted 
May 10, 1918. Went to Fort Slocum, then to Fort Ethan 
Allen, Vermont, private, Troop E, 110th Cavalry. The 
cavalry was disbanded and he was transferred to Battery 
E, 58th Eield Artillery, at Camp Jackson, S. C. Dis- 
charged January 29, 1919. 



AI [LIT ATS Y RECORDS 



1 59 



JameS Aneijs McInnis, born May 30, 1888, at Merri- 
macport. Son of Simon and Mary K. Mclnnis. Clustered 
in October 5, 1917, private, 304th Ambulance Co., 301st 
Sanitary Train, 76th Division, at Camp Devens. 

Sailed July 10, 1918, on S. S. Durham Castle, for 
Montreal, Halifax and Cardiff, Wales, the first American 
troops landed at Cardiff, and received with great enthu- 
siasm. Proceeded to Winchester rest cam]) for three days, 
then to Southampton and Havre, to St. Amand. Ap- 
pointed Corporal in August and Sergeant a month later. 
Engaged in Ambulance work in this region until ordered 
to St. I^azaire. Sailed from St. Xazaire, Thanksgiving 
Day on S. S. Kroonland, for Iloboken. At Camp Merritt, 
jS T .J., and Cam]) Devens. Discharged Dec. 15, 1918. 

Everett Lord McIntire, horn Dec. 19, 1888, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Dexter and Ann T. Mclntire. Mustered 
in June 27, 1918, at Camp Dix, X. J., private, 39th Co., 
153rd Depot Brigade. 

Sailed August 14 on S. S. Rhesus, for Liverpool, and 
after live days at Winchester, arrived at Cherbourg, Sep- 
tember 2. Then at La Triste, near Bordeaux, at Camp 
Hunt, which the Americans had taken over from the 
French, four or live days. Assigned to Battery A, 3rd 
Field Artillery, at Valadon. He was taken sick with 
influenza ami went to the hospital on Sept. 20, from which 
he was discharged on Xov. 14, and rejoined the Battery 
on the Kith at Lift'ol-le-Grand. Remained here until 
December 4, when a seven days' hike to Chaume was 
begun. The winter was spent in Chaume broken only by 
a very enjoyable seven days' leave at Nice and Monte 
Carlo, 1 March 4th to the 13th. Removed to Brest May 21, 
and sailed for home from that port on June 10 on the 
S. S. Kaiserin Augusta Victoria for Iloboken. Discharged 
from Camp Devens, June 26, 1919. 

Harold Felton Metcalf, born Dec. 24, 1899, at 
Middleton. Son of Benjamin E. and Aldie E. Metcalf. 
Enrolled Oct. 14, 1918,' at Cambridge, private, Co. B, 
Student Army Training Corps, Institute of Technology. 
Discharged Dec. 21, 1918. 



160 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Antony Paul Millak, born Juno 13, 1898, at Boston. 
Son of Michael and Felicia Millan. Mustered in May 29, 
1017. Assigned to Fort Slociim, N". Y., attached to Gth 
Engineers, Co. F, at Washington, I). C, June 11, 1017. 

Sailed December 4, 1017, on IT. S. S. Huron, landing 
at St. ISTazaire, December 20. The Engineers were en- 
gaged at once in building hospitals and barracks at Base 
Hospital 18, for two months, and went to the front in 
March at Amiens, attached to the Fourth British Army, 
under Gen. Rawlinson. Here they were engaged in build- 
ing bridges, dugouts, barbed wire entanglements, machine 
gun nests, camouflaged, being constantly under the enemy's 
fire. Obliged to retreat before the great March drive of 
the Germans, they blew up all the bridges and roads, and 
armed with their rifles and machine guns they fought in 
the ranks, while the General was organizing his defence. 
Col. Hodges, then in command of the Engineers, was pro- 
moted to General, and the regimental flag decorated. 

They arrived at Chateau Thierry about the middle of 
June, and resumed their work on entanglements and 
machine gun nests, losing 20 per cent of their number in 
killed and wounded. On the night of July 17, while 
engaged in building a bridge over the Marne, Company F 
suffered 20 casualties. They remained on this front until 
Aug. 15, then withdrawn for rest. Eleven night marches, 
covering ten to twelve miles each night, brought them to 
St. Mihie] and road work preparatory to the advance. 
After brief rest, moved to the Argonne Forest, where a 
week was spent in repairing the roads, which were in 
frightful condition, and building roads across Xo Man's 
Land, and then to Mon.tfau.coii. 

On October S, Mr. Millan was lifted from his feet by 
the explosion of a shell. Picked up at once, with a gaping 
wound in his hip, he was removed to the Field Hos- 
pital and Base Hospital 11, where he remained until 
Jan. G, 1010. Changed then to St. Agnail, and shipped 
home on the Nebraska, arriving in Boston, March 12. 
Discharged December, 101 S. 

Leslie Cooper. Millard, born December 16, 1S05, in 
Boston. Son of Simeon and Maud Millard. Sergeant, 



MILITARY RECORDS 



161 



Air Service, 880th Aero Squadron, Montgomery, Alabama. 
Enlisted Xov. 10, 1017, at Georgetown, Mass. Discharged 
while in Officers Training School, Camp Bike, Arkansas, 
December 5, 1918. 

Charles William Miller, horn Octoher 3, 1892, in 
Nova Scotia. Son of Charles and Emma Miller (now 
Claxton). .Mustered in December 12, 1917, painter, Avia- 
tion Corps, Camp Kelley, San Antonio, Texas. Trans- 
ferred to Casual Co., .Motor Machine Keg., Camp Han- 
cock, Augusta, Ga. ; changed to 272nd Aero Squadron, 
Ellington Field, Houston, Texas. Discharged from San 
Antonio, April 19, 1919. 

Clarence Edward Miller, horn March 28, 1894, at 
Nova Scotia. Son of Charles and Emma Miller (now 
Claxton). Mustered in June 12, 1917, private, Co. E, 
3Sth Regiment. Sent to Eagle Pass, Texas, then trans- 
ferred to Co. E, 49 tli Regiment, at Syracuse, X. Y., then 
to Camp Merritt, TenahV, N". J., and to Camp Upton, 
Long Island. 

Sailed from New York, June 20, 1918, on S. S. Tar- 
menia for Brest. At Le Gcirche three weeks, training. 
Transferred to Company L>, 112th Infantry, 28th Div. 
At Scrupt four days, then moved to St. Florence in the 
Argonne. Stationed in the third line trenches, the reserve 
line, until Sept. 2(5. At 5.30 a. m. on the 26th went 
over the top and remained on the firing line 15 days; 
gassed hut not severely. The Company went in with 155 
men, came out with 07. 

Left the line at midnight of the 16th day, and traveled 
that night and all the next day in auto trucks to Browsey 
and remained there four days, living on German supplies, 
and cabbage and other food from the neighborhood, as the 
commissary food had been distanced. On the fifth morn- 
ing started for the Thiaucourt sector in the Bennie Woods, 
and held the line, going over the top now and then in 
raiding parties and capturing many prisoners, until the 
armistiQe, November 11. November 12 started on a four 
days' hike, sleeping in billets in the Erench villages, and 
arrived at Buxierres, near Mont Sec, where 30,000 French 



1G2 



MILITARY RECORDS 



had boon killed. Spent Christmas there and left the first 
of February. Hiked three days to Gous3aincourt near 
ISTeufch&teau. Entrained there on freight ears, March 20, 
for Le Mans, where the command was "cootie-ized" and 
fitted for the home going. 

After two weeks proceeded to St. Xaxaire and sailed 
on II. S. S. Mercury, April IS, landing at Philadelphia 
April 30. Discharged May 6, 1919. 

Thomas Milleimok, horn Oct. 14, 1889, in Ireland. 
Mustered in April 1, 1918. Private, Gth C 1 o., 2nd Bat- 
talion, Depot Brigade, Camp Devens. Served with the 
Headquarters Troo]), TOtli Division, sailing with them on 
duly 8, 1918, on the l T . S. S. Acquitania, for France. 
Stationed at St. Amand. Returned with the 70th Divi- 
sion, Decemher, 1918, on the U. S. S. Kroonland. Dis- 
charged January, 11)19. 

Feanklix Butler Mitchell, horn Dee. 17, 1890, at 
Ipswich. Son of William A. and Mabel Y. Mitchell. 
Enlisted May 10, 1917. Mustered into Federal service 
July 25, 1917, private, topographical draughtsman, Co. C, 
101st ttegimcnt 0"* S. Engineers. At Wentworth Insti- 
tute, Boston, as instructor immediately after enlistment. 

Sailed on the Andania, Sept. 24, 1917, proceeded by 
way of Liverpool, Southampton and Havre to Bazoilles- 
sur-Mensc, where the regiment remained until February -1, 
1918 1 in training and in building hospitals. Gloved to 
Ocroveux, then to the trenches in the Toul sector. 

On June 25, a shell killed a man near him, and Mr. 
Mitchel received a severe shell shock, lie was sent to 
Field Hospital 101 at Chateau Thierry, then to Base 
Hospitals 18 and 117. Left the latter Sept. 17, proceed- 
ing to Blois by way of Tours and to Angers, where he re- 
mained a month in convalescent cam]), still suffering from 
nervous breakdown and left arm completely disabled. 

He attempted work with the Army Transport Service 
at Tours in late October, but was unequal to it and was 
sent to Les Sables de Dolonne, Avherc he passed three 
months, reporting constantly at the hospital for treatment 
and examination, and attained final recovery. Promoted 



MILITARY RECORDS 



163 



to Corporal April 10, 1918. After waiting three weeks 
at St. Nazaire, sailed on II. S. S. Kroonland. Discharged 
at Devens, March 5, 1919. 

Ralph Andrew Mitchell, horn May 19, 1895, at 
Ipswich. Sou of Eugene E. and .Mary 1). Mitchell. En- 
listed April 20, 1918, in .Merchant Marine, on training 
shij) at East Boston. At Newport News shipped on U. S. 
S. Oregonian, cargo transport, early in June as messman, 
and made round trip to France in a convoyed fleet of 
5G ships. A submarine was sighted in mid-ocean, hut no 
attack was made. Assigned to the Pollux, a Dutch ship, 
Portland to Newport News, then through Panama Canal 
to Iquique, Chile; loaded with nitrate and returned 
through the Canal to Wilmington, N. C. Released Jan. 
4, 1919. 

Roland Jackson Mitchell, horn October 1, 1892, at 
Ipswich. Son of William and Mabel Butler Mitchell. 
Enlisted Oct. 27, 1917, at Omaha, Nebraska. Stationed 
at Camp Funston, Kansas, with Depot Brigade. Remained 
there a month. January 15, 1918, went to Camp Pre- 
cidio, San Francisco, and was placed with 5th Regiment, 
Medical Detachment, August 20, 1918. Then to Port 
Douglas, Salt Lake City, Utah. Discharged November 
23, 1918. 

Frank IIadley Morgan, born November 20, 1894, at 
Nova Scotia. Son of Hugh and Isabella Morgan. En- 
listed in Battery K, 1st Mass. Heavy Artillery, and was 
stationed on the Mexican border in 1910. Mustered into 
Federal service J ulv 25, 1917, first class private 4 , Battery 
E, 101st ^Icp:. Field Artillery. In camp at Boxford and 
Westheld. Weill overseas September 7, 1917. 

Mr. Morgan's letter to his parents, dated Guerporte, 
France, Nov. 21, 1918, gives an interesting sketch of his 
experiences. After the winter training, their first front, 
he says, was at Chemin des Dames, where they were sta- 
tioned four or five days, using French 75 mm. guns, 
horse drawn. The original allotment was six horses 
to each of the four guns, and six to each caisson, one 



1G4 



MILITARY EECOEDS 



man riding the "nigh" horse of each couple. As the 
campaign advanced many horses were lost, and on the 
muddy and almost impassible roads the men, who usually 
rode on the guns and caissons, were obliged to walk and 
carry what they were able to relieve the draft, which was 
reduced sometimes to four and even two horses. 

"The Germans started their Spring drive of 1918 the 
very day we left Soissons (March 21). They shelled Sois- 
sons while we were loading our stuff on the train. After 
we started a German aviator chased us down the track and 
dropped bombs on us." They remained in the Toul sec- 
tor, in Lorraine, 60 days, and had "their first real tasto 
of Avar in Apremont Woods, April 12, and Siecheprey and 
Xivray. They were in action at Chateau Thierry and in 
the St. Mihiel drive, where the guns were packed so closely 
together for the great barrage that their wheels touched. 
Pulling away from the St. Mihiel sector one night, under 
heavy fire, many men were gassed. The Verdun sector 
was their next objective_, "the worst front of all, facing 
the best German troops." 

"I was a cannoneer," Mr. Morgan writes, "on every 
front except the Verdun sector or Argonne Forest. I was 
transferred to the band just before we left St. Mihiel and 
came up to the Argonne Forest and T am still in the band. 
The battery lost a third of its horses, and in one engage- 
ment two shells killed and wounded eight men." 

lie left Marseilles March 4, 1919, on the S. S. Venetian, 
and was discharged April 5, 1919. It is an interesting 
family coincidence that Mr. Hugh Morgan, father of 
Frank, served 14 years in the British Army, in the Artil- 
lery, at Malta, Gibraltar, Jamaica and in England, and 
had the same place, 'No. 2, in the gun crew. 

Wilfbkp David Morgan, born January 27, 1S96, in 
Nova Scotia. Son of Hugh and Isabella Morgan. Mus- 
tered in June 21, 1917, private, Field Hospital ISTo. 30, 
5th Sanitary Train, Fort Ontario, Oswego, 1ST. Y. A very 
interesting letter to his parents, dated Dun-sur-Meuse, 
as or. 24, 1918, sketches his experiences. Landed from the 
Mauretania at Liverpool, June 11, 1918. Eeceived with 



MILITARY RECORDS 



165 



crowds and cheers, the British band playing "The Yankees 
are coming." Proceeded to Southampton and remained 
in rest camp until June 15, then to Havre, by train to 
Gerardiner in the Vosgeg on June 20, and by truck to Cor- 
cieiix, wjjere a month was spent in training. Went to 
Lassall duly 15, then to St. Die, where he had his first 
experience with wounded men in the operating room, when 
Trapelle was taken. 

IFe followed the advance in the St. Mihiel drive for 
five days and went with the Division to the Argonne and 
the Meuse setcor. At Sivry-la-Perche he met his brother 
Frank, and was with him a month. He was on the firing 
line on the day of the armistice. Discharged July 29, 
1910, from Camp Devens. 

Forrest Likwood Morton, horn October 30, 1891, at 
Ipswich. Son of Joseph T. and Jessie L. Morton. Mus- 
tered in December 11, 1917, private, Quartermaster lie- 
serve Corps at iS r ew York. Promoted to Quartermaster 
Sergeant. Discharged February 4, 1919. 

Benjamin B. P. Moseley, bom at West Newbury on 
August 20, 1881. Son of Frederick Strong Moseley and 
Alice Poore. Married Elizabeth Whitwell Thomas on 
June 1, 1918. Enlisted in the IT. S. ST. K. F. on August 
20, 1918. Eeleased from active duty on Dec. 5, 1918. 

Albert Leo Mounter, born March 10, 1900, at Taun- 
ton, Mass. Son of Leo and Margaret M. Mounier. En- 
listed at Boxford, Aug. 24, 1917, and made wagoner in 
101st F. A. Supply Co. Later transferred to Newport 
News, and sailed overseas December 0, 1917. Landed at 
La Pallice and sent to Camp Coutquidan and from there 
to the Soissons front. After 48 hours rest to La Peine, 
in the Boueq sector, near Toul. Later was in the engage- 
ments at Xivray, Marvoisin and Seicheprey. Then trans- 
ferred to Battery K, 101st Regiment, and was at Verdun 
at the time of the armistice was signed. After armistice 
entrained for Guerporte, then at Aubigney, from there to 
Mayet. Sailed from Brest March 31, arriving in Boston 
April 10. Discharged April 29, 1919. 



166 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Edwin Parker Murray, born Dec. 8, 1888, at Rowley. 
Son of Henry G. and ITellentha E. Murray. Mustered in 
Sept. 5, 1918. Assigned to Motor Transportation Unit, 
Syracuse, N". Y. ; transferred to Camp Holabird, Md. ; 
then to Washington, I). C. Chauffeur of auto-bus for 
officers. Discharged February 21, 19 ID. 

Joseph Howard Murray, born duly 4, 1893, at Row- 
ley. Son of Henry G. and ITellentha E. Murray. Mar- 
ried December 30, 1913, Miss Sadie G. Kent of Rowley. 
Enlisted Sept. 27, 1917, Camp Syracuse, X. Y., trans- 
ferred to Camp Greene, N". C. Went overseas in May, 
1918, in L Company, 39th U. S. Infantry, lie wrote his 
last letter home July 29, and was killed in action shortly 
after, probably at Chateau Thierry. 

The Chaplain of the Regiment wrote a consoling letter 
to his parents. He remarked : 

"Some weeks ago our regiment went into 
battle. Our men fought bravely, heroically. In 
the course of the engagement your son, Corporal 
Joseph Murray of L. Company, fell fighting for 
liberty and human justice, principles loved by 
all Americans. His life was not given in vain. 
He is honored by his comrades, his officers, and 
all who love freedom." 

Memorial services were held by the Regiment, in honor 
of officers and men of the 39th IT. S. Infantry, fallen in 
action, July 18 to August 13, 1918. 

Russell Surle Murray, born Aug. 6, 1S8S, at Boston. 
Son of Rev. David B. and Martha L. Murray. Mustered 
in July 25, 1917, cook, 1st Corps Cadets, 1st Reg. of 
Engineers, Massachusetts National Guard. On Aug. 21 
it was officially designated the 101st Regiment of En- 
gineers, 26th Division. Training was begun at once at 
the Wentworth Institute. Instruction was given in steam 
and gas engine work, concrete construction, bridge work, 
map making and drafting, which was supplemented by 
field work on roads in the country districts outside the 
city. Eield fortifications were constructed and detach- 



MILITARY RECORDS 



167 



ments worked with the gangs, which relaid a section of 
track of the Boston Elevated and graded and laid the 
rails for a spur track on the Boston & Albany R. R. 

Sailed from ISTew York September 26, on S. S. Andania, 
for Liverpool by way of Halifax, where the other ships 
of the convoy were met Arrived at Liverpool October J>, 
proceeded at once to Southampton, and on October liJ 
crossed the channel to Havre, and the next day moved 
to Rplampbrt. Mr. Murray was cook in the Headquarters 
Company. At Christmas the 101st Avas relieved by the 
Engineer Regiment of the Rainbow Division, and started 
for a new_area, with headquarters at Doulainconrt, where 
it was employed in construction work until January 29, 
when the regiment moved to Freville, to devote a few 
weeks to the study of military engineering, varied with 
military drill and practice marches. 

In February, with the exception of two companies, the 
whole regiment was sent to Soissons, in lino with the 
French troops, with a French officer as instructor, with 
headquarters at Missy. The men were engaged in road 
building, digging trenches and dugouts, erecting wire 
entanglements. Company A suffered its first losses in 
building a bridge for the infantry under fire. All the 
companies had the experience of being under shell fire. 
On March 21, the regiment began to entrain for the Toul 
front, where headquarters was established at Boiicq, and 
remained here until the last of June, though the town was 
shelled severely on several occasions. 

Moved then to Chateau Thierry fronts and engaged in 
digging trenches and stringing wire ncross the division 
front, often held up by enemy fire and suffering many 
casualties from shells and gas. The counter attack started 
on July 18, and the regiment sent forward details with 
the attacking parties. On July 22 regimental headquar- 
ters Avere moved forward from Montreuil to Farsoy Farm, 
but were obliged to be moved hastily at once to Lauconnois 
Farm, and when scarcely settled there were moved up into 
the neighboring woods to make room for a hospital unit. 
In addition to road work, the regiment was called upon to 
help bury the dead. American, French and German sol- 



168 



MILITARY RECORDS 



diers were buried and their graves marked. On the 20th 
the headquarters were moved forward to Beauvardes. 

August 30 the regiment was relieved and began march to 
INTanteuil-sur-Marne, and a few days after arrival, to the 
area near Chatillon for much-needed rest. 

On August 30 the regiment left Chatillon for St. Mihiel. 
Detraining at Kaucois and Longeville it began a series of 
night marches and daylight hidings. The march ended 
at Kupt-en-Moevre. when the regiment went into camp in 
the Bois de Trois Monts on September 7. On Sept. 12 
the great drive began, and to the Engineers fell the almost 
impossible task of making the roads, which had been blown 
to pieces by shelling and crossed by wire entanglements, 
passable for animal-drawn transportation and guns within 
the time available. But the task was accomplished and 
the next day ration trucks went forward to supply the 
troops in their steady advance. 

Mr. Murray died at Troyon, Meurthe-et-Moselle, of 
acute cardiac dilation, September 22, 1918, and was bnried 
at Troyon-sur-Meuse, seven miles from St. Mihiel. He 
had been engaged in his mounted courier work only nine 
days. 

The chaplain wrote very sympathetically: 

Y. M. C. A. Sunshine Hut, France. 
Sept. 25, 1918. 
My dear Mrs. Murray, 

I am writing to let you know of the death of 
Pr. E. S. Murray. He died on Sunday, Sept, 22, 
at a held hospital of heart trouble. Two 
days previous he was taken sick and was at once 
evacuated. 

He was buried with full military honors! I 
have seen to it that his grave was carefully 
marked by a cross, so that after the war it can 
be very easily identified. 

Ever since Pr. Murray has been with the 
regiment he has done splendid work. In the 
difficult and trying times of battle he always did 



MILITARY RECORDS 



1(39 



his work with, the same care and faithfulness. 
His death is a great loss to his company. 

Col. Bunnell joins me in expressing to you 
our heartfelt sympathy in the death of your son. 
By the mercies of God may his soul rest in peace 
and may light perpetual shine upon him. 
Very sincerely yours, 

IL Boyd Edwards. 

Charles Francis ]NTasox, horn Jan. 7, 1896, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Frederick A. and Susan M. Nason. Mus- 
tered in July 25 , 1917, Band, 8th Regiment, Headquarters 
Company. In camp at Lynnheld. Stationed later at 
Camp Bartlett, AVestfield, and Camp Greene, N". C. On 
February 20, 1918, he went to the Ground School Aero- 
nautics at the Ohio State University, Columbus, gradu- 
ated April 20, and went to the Aviation Concentration 
Camp at Cam]) Dick, Dallas, Texas- then, late in June, 
to Ellington Field, Houston, Texas. Filtered the Aerial 
Gunnery School at San Leon in the middle of September 
and graduated on October 24. He was commissioned 2nd 
Lieutenant Air Service Aeronautics, rating ''military 
bombing aviator, aerial gunner and observer." Returned 
to Ellington Field, and was dismissed January 3, 1919. 

Myroi Frederick ".Nasox, born Nov. 19, 1898, at 
Ipswich. Son of Frederick A. and Susan M. Wason. Mus- 
tered in July 25, 1917, Band, 102nd Field Artillery, 
Headquarters Company, at Boxford. 

Went to Hoboken September 1, and sailed in S. S. Fin- 
land. Landing at St. ISTazaire, went to the Artillery School 
at Camp Coequidan, and early in February moved to the 
front at Soissons and remained there until April. Hiked 
with the artillery through Haute Marne to Ilemaucourt, 
and then to the Tout sector, where the artillery, horse- 
drawn French 75''s, were located at Sauzey until late in 
June. .Moved then to Meaux, towards Chateau Thierry, 
and on July 4 left Meaux for the reserve line and took 
over the advance line July 20 at Vaux. The artillery re- 
mained at Fismes, but the infantry had been badly shot up. 
r Ibe whole 26th Division was withdrawn to Chatillon-sur- 



170 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Seine for two weeks' rest, but maneuvers were continued. 
Advanced through Bar-le-Duc to the St. Mihiel sector. 
The artillery was stationed at Mouilly, but followed up 
the big drive of Sept. 12 and 13, until the First Division 
was met. Left this sector in the middle of October for 
the Meuse-Argonne, where it remained in constant action 
until the armistice. There were many casualties and all 
the original complement of horses had been lost. 

While a member of the band, he was constantly em- 
ployed in other work, transporting food supplies and 
ammunition, etc. Dismissed April 29, 1919. 

Daniel iSTevins, born June 4, 189G, at Roxbury. Son 
of Thomas Kevins. Mustered in duly 20, 1917, private, 
19th Infantry, Camp Syracuse, X. Y. Transferred to 
Company H, 49th Regiment, Camp Merritt, Tenany, 
±\T. J., then to Company C, 49th Regiment, Camp Upton, 
Long Island. 

Sailed July 17, 1918, on S. S. Queen of Italy for Brest, 
and after three days rest proceeded to rest cam]) at Labe- 
zode for two months. Sent to the Classification Camp at 
Le Mans about Sept. 1 and assigned to 331st Infantry, 
83rd Division, billeted at St. Jean. Two weeks later 
sent to Infantry Weapon School of Instruction at Clamecy 
and remained about seven months. The winter was spent 
at Auxerres and Xemours. 

In March, 1919, sent to the Inter-Allied Rifle Shooting 
Contest and remained there two months. A squad of 25 
men from the British, Trench, Italian, Greek, and all the 
rest of the allied armies participated. Private Xevins was 
included in the American squad, which Avon first honors. 

Returned in Casual Company 1721, sailing from Brest 
July 15, in S. S. Prince Frederic Wilhelm for Iloboken. 
At Camp Merritt and Camp Devens. Discharged July 
25, 1919. 

Benjamin Newman, born July 28, 1894, in Russia. 
Declarant. Son of Max and Mary Newman. Mustered in 
October 5, 1917, private, 327th Infantry, Camp Gordon, 
Georgia. Assigned to Medical Department, 327th Reg., 
82nd Division. 



MILITARY RECORDS 



171 



Sailed April 25, 1918, on S. S. Baltic for Liverpool. 
Proceeded by way of Southampton and Winchester to 
Havre. In reserve with the British Army at Frcssenville 
about six weeks, then in the Toul sector at Seieheprey 
about two months, relieving the 26th Division. Went to 
the Marbache sector about the middle of August and re- 
mained till after the St. Mihicl drive. Appointed Ser- 
geant in August. 

After the drive moved to Rarecourt for a week, then 
to the woods at Varennes for four days, and then to the 
Meuse-Argonne, October 4, remaining until October 31 in 
constant action. The First Aid Station was established 
near the front and twelve men from each company were 
detailed as stretcher bearers. They pickd up the wounded 
as they fell and brought them to the station. . Sergeant 
Newman acted with the medical officers in caring for the 
wounded. He was slightly wounded on October 7, but 
was at his post again after a few days. 

The 327th was near the front when the armistice was 
signed, then removed to Champlitte near Dijon, later to 
the south of France. Sailed from Bordeaux May 7, 1919, 
in S. S. Luckenbach. Discharged from Cam]) Devens, 
May 25, 1919. 

JoriN Edward Normal, Jr., born May 1G," 1897, at 
Ipswich. Son of John E. and Emma A. Korman. Mus- 
tered in April 22, 1917, radio operator to U. S. A. Badio 
Station, Bar Harbor, Me. Studied at Badio School at 
Harvard College several months. In November he picked 
up an S. (). S. call and promptly communicated with 
proper officials, who dispatched help. His name was sent 
to Washington for recognition by the Department. Trans- 
ferred to Deer Island, Boston, early in 1919, rated as 
first class operator, for instruction in use of compass with 
wireless. Then to Gloucester for Coast Guard instruction. 
Assigned to Station Badio Compass, Appledore Island, 
rated as electrician in charge. Beleased Aug. 22, 1919. 

William Gray Norwood, born March 2, 1897, at 
Ipswich. Son of William J. and Elizabeth (Bobinson) 



i 



172 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Norwood. Mustered in July 27, 1018, Paris Island, S. C, 
U. S. Marines, and remained there until October 19. 
Sailed from Eloboken, October 21, on S. S. Pocahontas. 

At Brest Nov. 3, and ten days later entrained for Verdun 
and joined there the 6th Regiment Marines, 2nd Division. 
On November 10 began the march to the Rhine, halting 
five davs at Luxembourg, and reached the "Rhine on Dec. 
at Andarnach. Crossed the river Dec. 13, and was bil- 
leted in Lentesdorf, in Army of Occupation, until July 10. 
Began the return by train through Northern France to 
Brest, and sailed on duly 27 on S. 8. Wilhelmina. At 
New York, at Gamp Mills. Discharged from Quantico, 
Va., August 13, 1010. 

The Ipswich Chronicle of August 15 contained a very 
complimentary item : 

"During his service with the Marines, 'Gray' contrib- 
uted a number of cartoons to 'The Indian,' the official pub- 
lication of the Second Division. In the current issue, 
which, by the way, is the last edition of the magazine, 
there is a full page cartoon by Norwood entitled 'In Case 
We Should Migrate.' 'Gray' is also mentioned in the 
editorial columns as being one of the men who have worked 
long and hard to make the magazine a success." 

Ghakles Thomas O'Connor, born May 20, 1807, at 
Medford, Mass. Son of Charles E. and Mary E. En- 
rolled December 14-, 1916, in the IT. S. N. R. E. as a 
fireman and was stationed at the Charlestown Navy Yard. 
To later served on the repair ship Katrina Luckenbach. 
Released from active duty November 18, 1010. 

Mtcjiaee Olejtovik, born at Wolpa, village of Laza, 
Russia, in 1802. Came to this country in 1010 and re- 
sided for awhile in Ipswich. He then moved to Water- 
bur}'', Conn., and was employed there at the outbreak of 
the war. lie enlisted as a private in Company Iv, 38th 
Infantry, and was killed in action in Erance, July 25, 
1018. 

Robert Bayley Osgood, born July 0, 1873, Salem, 
Mass. Son of John Christopher Osgood and Martha Ellen 






MILITARY RECORDS 



173 



(Whipple) Osgood. Called into active service May 5, 
1917. Sailed for foreign service May 11, 1017. 

May 30 to September 21, active duty as Chief of 
the Surgical Service, British General Hospital No. 11, 
Dannes-Camiers, France. In August appointed member 
of Army Board to standardize splints and appliances for 
the Medical Department of the United States Army. In 
collaboration with Board, "Manual of Splints and Appli- 
ances 1 ' prepared, published in England through the Amer- 
ican Red Cross, distributed to all Medical Army Officers, 
A. E. F. 

September 21, 1917, to February 14, 1918, service with 
the Division of Military Orthopaedic Surgery under 
Major General Sir Robert Jones, British War Office, Adas- 
tral House, London. 

October, 1917, appointed Assistant Director of Military 
Orthopaedic Surgery, American Expeditionary Forces. 

February 14 to May 20, service with the American 
Expeditionary Forces stationed at rTeufchateau, France, 
in the office of the Medical Consultants and at Medical 
Headquarters in Tours, France, as Consultant in Ortho- 
paedic Surgery, American Expeditionary Forces. 

Sailed for America under orders on May 20, 1918, for 
duty at the Surgeon General's office, Washington, as Con- 
sultant in Military Orthopaedic Surgery for the U. S. 
Army General Hospitals in the United States. 

Discharged from service January 27, 1919. 

Original commission as Major dating from April 11, 
1917. Commissioned as Lieutenant-Colonel, dating from 
July 29, 1918. Commissioned as Colonel, Medical Officers 
Reserve Corps, dating from July 31, 1919. 

Edward Harrington Paige, born September 20, 1888, 
at Watertown, Mass. Son of John and Annie R. Paige. 
Married, June 26, 1915, Miss Fannie M. Huntoon. En- 
listed and rejected as physically disqualified, but enlisted 
again July 15, 1918. Credited to Franklin, 1ST. H. As- 
signed to 1ST. H. Training Detachment, Co. C, Durham, 
N. 11. Transferred to Raritan Arsenal, 4th Ordinance 
Supply Co., at Metuchen, 1ST. J. Discharged January 9, 
1919. 



174 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Evangelos PappadoyianeSj known as Angel Pappas, 
born June, 1805, in Loganiko, Sparta, Greece. Son of 
George Pappadoyianes. Came to the United States in 
1903. Enlisted 'in the infantry in 1917, Co. A, 38th 
Regiment. Sailed for France, November, 1917. Killed 
in battle at the Maine, June -1, 1918. Rank of Sergeant. 

Nickolas Pappalymperts, born February, 1895, in 
Loganiko, Sparta, Greece. Came to the United States 
in 1910. Enlisted in August, 1917. Killed in battle of 
Chateau Thierry. 

Aristides Pappalymperis, born May, 1892, in Logan- 
iko, Sparta, Greece. Came to the United States in 1909. 
Enlisted in 19 IS, at Camp Devens. Discharged in the 
Pall of the same year. 

13 an a Greenleae Parsons, born October IS, 1S99, at 
Ipswich. Son of George E. and Ellen D. Parsons. Mus- 
tered in May 16, 1918, seaman second class, Marine Bar- 
racks, Indian Head, Maryland. Assigned to Keill, Va., 
testing explosive shells. After three months here, about 
Feb. 19, sent to receiving ship at Norfolk, Va., and as- 
signed later to Battleship Rhode Island, and made three 
round trips to Brest in transport service. Discharged at 
Boston, July 23, 1919. 

Charlotte Elizabeth Parker, born Feb. 21, 1890, at 
Ipswich. Daughter of Rev. Robert B. and Sarah E. Par- 
ker. Went to France in October, 1917, under a six months' 
contract with the American Fund French Wounded, which 
was renewed for a similar period. She had been at work 
in Paris fitting and buying supplies. Her proficiency in 
French has made her exceptionally useful and she has won 
much praise for her patient and helpful service. 

Robert Benjamin Parker, Jr., born !N"ov. 4, 1891, at 
Ipswich. Son of Rev. Robert B. and Sarah E. Parker. 
Married Feb. 2, 1918, Miss Mary Hubbard Joss of In- 
dianapolis, Ind. Graduated from Harvard College 19 1G, 
A. M., 1917. While in college he was a member of Battery 
A for three years and finished his term of enlistment just 
before the war began. He went to Plattsburg, the second 



MILITARY RECORDS 



175 



camp, and enlisted at Camp Harrison, Indianapolis, "but 
failed to pass the physical examination on account of his 
eyes. 

He sailed overseas in October, 1917, under appointment 
in the American Field Service, then controlled by the 
French Government, but when the United States Govern- 
ment took over the work he was again rejected because of 
defective sight. He was engaged with the Transportation 
Department of the Red Cross in Paris until January, 
1918, returned from the draft and was assigned to clerical 
work in Indianapolis. In July he secured an appointment 
in the Navy as first class yeoman and was engaged in cod- 
ing and decoding messages. His commission as Ensign 
came to him in November and he was discharged in Decem- 
ber, 1918. 

Lemuel Frank Parsons, born at Ipswich, Mass., 
June 22, 1895. Son of Frank II. and Annie E. Parsons. 
Enlisted Sept. 2, 1915, in the IT. S. Army. Served as a 
Sergeant in Company B, 45th Regiment, stationed at 
Camp Taylor, Kentucky. Honorablv discharged. 

Frederick Palmer Peatfield, born August 12, 1887, 
at Ipswich. Son of Augustine II. and Josephine Peat- 
field. .Inducted into service May 27, 1918, at Camp Up- 
ton, Long Island, private, Co. G, 314th Infantry, 79th 
Division. Transferred to Camp Aleade, Maryland. 

Sailed July 8, on S. S. Vaterland. At Brest July 15, 
and proceeded to training camp at Genivers. At Burt le 
Finisterre, July 15 to 19; at Laignes, Cote d'Or, July 
21-22; at Amphilly-le-Sec, Cote-d'Or, July 22-24; at 
Argilles, July 25 to Sept. 8 ; at Laherte, Sept. 8-9 ; at 
Fains-Meuse, Sept. 9-13 ; Remaucourt, Sept. 14-15; Camp 
des Pommiers, Sept. 15-20; Bois de Hesse, Sept. 20-25, 
in the Department of Haute-Marne. 

In action at Mt. Joucon, Sept. 25-30. \Yent over the top 
Sept. 20, at 5.30 a. m., under heavy German smoke bar- 
rage. The French had taken it previously with great 
loss, but were unable to hold it. Hiked to Bois de Hesse, 
October 1-3; at Bois de Severcourt, Oct. 4, and at a rest 
camp in the Rupt sector a week, Oct. 4-11. Moved then 



176 



MILITARY RECORDS 



to the Meuse-Argonne. At Bois de Warmley, Oct. 11-12, 
and at Ambley, Oct. 12-24. At Sommedieu-Meuse, Oct. 
24-27; Bois de Claude, Oct. 28; Clioiset, Oct. 28-29; Bois 
de Forges, Oct. 29-31. Remained in the Meuse-Argonne 
until the armistice. 

After the armistice removed to Damvillers, Mouse, and 
spent the winter at Montmedy and St. Glin, engaged in 
frequent long hikes. Sailed from St. Nazaire, May 16, 
1919, on S. S. Prince Matoika for Ifoboken. Discharged 
from Camp Dix May 30, 1919. Mr. Peatfield was neither 
sick nor wounded and had not been away from his com- 
pany a day. 

Quoting from a summary of the Division: "The 79th 
saw heavy lighting and in the Argonne-Meuse offensive 
took Montfaucon, known as the German Gibraltar. It 
was active in the Grand Montagne sector and the heights 
east of the Meuse River. Beginning Sept. 26, it was in 
action almost constantly. It captured 1 officer, 391 men, 
32 big guns, 275 machine guns, advanced a total of 12 
miles, had 3,223 casualties, and received 80 Distinguished 
Service Crosses." 

Lawrence Benjamin Peatfield, born at Ipswich, 
December 30, 1896. Son of Augustine and Lucy Ells- 
worth Peatfield. Married Stella Bampton of Ipswich, 
June 10, 1920. Enlisted March 25, 1916, at Haverhill, 
in Company F, and served on Mexican border. Dis- 
charged November 22, 1916, and re-enlisted the same day 
for training in C. A. C. and was sent to Fort Slocum, 
and then to Fort Warren, Boston. At the outbreak of 
the. war he was assigned to duty at Fort Andrew as a 
private in the 153rd Company, C. A. C. July 21, 1917, 
transferred to Fort Adams, Rhode Island. Left there 
with the 51st Reg., C. A. C, for New York, and sailed 
from New York to Halifax on August 14, for foreign 
service. Arrived August 29 at Bandusty Bay, Ireland, 
and Liverpool' on August 30, and from there to Camp 
Allshot, staying at the camp until August 14. Arrived at 
Le Havre Sept. 16, 1917. Went to the front lines April 
10, 1918, and was under fire for the first time May 17, 



MILITARY RECORDS 



177 



18 and 19. Was in action at No van, Boise de Grand, St. 
Jean, and was in the St. Mihiel drive, Sept. 12, 1918. 
Was gassed twice, but not seriously. Left the front Oct. 
29, 1918, and arrived in Brest December 29, 1918. 

Sailed for the United States Jan. 28, 1919, arriving 
in New York Feb. 3, 1919. Was furloughed at Fort 
Hamilton to the Regular Army "Reserve, Aug. 6, 1919. 

Sydney Harold Perley, born February 23, 1894, at 
Ipswich. Son of D. Sydney and Anna Louise Perley. 
Went to Plattsburg, First Officers Training Camp, May 
14, 1917. Commissioned 2nd Lieutenant, ".Nov. 27, 1917. 

Sailed from Hoboken, Jan. 10, 1918, in S. S. Mada- 
waska, for St. Nazaire. Arrived Jan. 26 and proceeded 
to Tours and to the Saumur Field Artillery School on 
February 3. On May 4 went to the Toul sector with the 
French. Came back to the 54th Artillery, Coast Artillery 
Corps, and stationed at Mailley-le-Camp two months. At 
the Heavy Artillery School at Angers two months. As- 
signed to the 63rd Artillery, C. A. C, on August 27 ; to 
the Artillery Information Service in Alsace, with the 
French army, on October 14. Returned to the 63rd about 
November 8, at the artillery range at La Courtine. 

After the armistice ordered to return to Limoges, then 
to Bordeaux, and sailed from Marseilles Feb. 6, 1919, 
on S. S. Caserta, stopping at Gibraltar. Landed at New 
York, Feb. 27, and spent a week at Camp Mills. Was 
then stationed at Camp Merritt in troop convoy service. 
Honorably discharged August 30, 1919, at Camp Merritt. 

Joseph Francis Perkins, born August 6, 1893, at 
Ipswich. Son of J. Warren and Martha F. Perkins. 
Mustered in July, 1918, Medical Department, Camp De- 
vens; transferred to Camp Upton, January, 1919. Dis- 
charged June. 21, 1919. 

Maxime Joseph Perry, born 'Nov. 10, 1896, at Prince 
Edward Island. Son of Edmund and Margaret Perry. 
Enlisted May 21, 1917, private, Co. II, 8th Massachusetts. 
Mustered into the Federal service Aug. 5, 1917. In camp 
at Lynnfield; then at Westfield. Sailed from Montreal 



178 



MILITARY RECORDS 



on S.'S. Scotian, Oct. 4, 1017. At Liverpool Oct. 24, 
and by way of Southampton, Oct. 24, and Havre, Oct. 29, 
to the training camp at Harreville. He remained with 
the company in all its movements as detailed in the narra- 
tive of the company, until it reached the Toul sector at 
Vignot. 

On April 2, 1918, he was detailed from Company H 
to the 101st Train Headquarters and Military Police, 26th 
Division, at Division Headquarters near Boncq, and acted 
as interpreter and clerk with the Town Major Department 
in charge of billeting troops and various other services. 
Moved to Laign, in the same sector, about the middle of 
May, engaged in the same work ; two weeks at Minerville, 
three miles from front ; moved up to Chateau Thierry with 
the headquarters ; to St. Mihiel and the Meuse-Argonne, 
still in charge of billeting troops, taking care of officers' 
rooms, keeping touch between French and American offi- 
cials. As interpreter he was in interesting contact with 
French generals and on one occasion interpreted in an 
interview between General Mangin of the French Army 
and Colonel Sweetser. 

At Verdun he was in charge of an old French armory, 
which held 1,800 men, for a month and a half. It was 
exposed to constant shell fire, and two days before the 
armistice 150 French soldiers quartered on the ground, 
were gassed. He was slightly gassed at Chemin des Dames 
but never in hospital. After the armistice, followed the 
Division, continuing his work in billeting, etc., until it 
reached St. Mars, when he was returned to Company H, 
and came home with his regiment on the Mount Vernon. 
Discharged April 28, 1919. 

Chester Howard Pickakd, born July 8, 1895, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Henry A. and Abbie A. Pickard. Mustered 
in December 8, 1917, private in 4th Field Artillery ; trans- 
ferred to Battery F, 10th Field Artillery. The History of 
the 16th, by Rev. Charles M. Ryan, the Chaplain, sketches 
graphically the record. 

Trained at Camp Greene, Charlotte, X C. Sailed in 
May, 1918, in Italian ship Due d' Aosta, one of a convoy 



MILITARY RECORDS 179 

of 14 ships carrying the Fourth Division, ,30,000 men. 
Spent seven weeks in intensive training at De Sougc, near 
Bordeaux. Ten days after the battle of Chateau Thierry 
the regiment moved up to the ruined city. Their first 
experience with dugouts was in a forest, where the whole 
Artillery Brigade dug in. "The first night was made 
hideous with three gas alarms. Getting on one's own gas 
mask was all right, done in seven seconds, hut when the 
men with their own gas masks on tried to put masks on 
the horses picketed in a rather dense forest without lights, 
everyone realized that war was everything Sherman said, 
it was." 

The first shot of the regiment was fired by Battery A, 
August 6, 1018, supporting the 30th and 47th at St. Thi- 
baud, Bazzoches, and the 58th and 50th at Villier-en- 
Savois, and the 4th Engineers constructing bridges toward 
the town of lusmes. On the Vesle front there was much 
aerial activity, and the regiment lost 15 men, killed in 
action. The first great rolling barrage the regiment fired 
was on September 12, in concert with an immense assem- 
bly of artillery on the hills, at 5.30 a. m. till 3 p. m., 
scattering and routing the German line. "Prisoners came 
in by scores, saluting every buck private they saw, and in 
the immediate sector of our fire about 2,000 were taken. 
St. Mihiel fell shortly after (Sept. 13) and the American 
troops helped to wipe out in 48 hours a salient of four 
years standing." 

A week's rest and new equipment at Doulaincourt fol- 
lowed. The narrative continues, "Probably the night trip 
from Foret de Souilly to Blercourt will be remembered by 
all as the hardest night approach the regiment had. A cold 
rain prevailed and men and animals were wet through. 
Tanks, machine guns, convoys, ammunition trains, choked 
the road." 

"They opened up their cans of corned willie and hard 
tack and waited patiently for the engineers to lay down 
the nine-foot metal road that was to give the regiment 
renewed contact with the Bodies. . . . Till 3 o'clock 
the regiment waited. The horses had no water, as there 
was none to give, and the only available water was the 



180 



MILITARY RECORDS 



yellow mustard water in the craters. But at lastthe order 
was given to march into Malanconrt, and at about six 
o'clock the guns were put in position.." 

Orders were given in half an hour to get the regiment 
into Cuizy-Cuizy. "Never were horse and man told to 
execute such difficult draft. The night was dark, the 
road for one mile or so was not so bad, but at this point 
another battery congested the road and caused indescrib- 
able difficulty and delay. It was common to have a wheel 
tear in an immense crater with the lead team on the brim 
and the gun and caisson balancing on two wheels. Thus 
the whole night long. With the aid of 40 doughboys the 
draft was executed. Arriving in Bethineourt, again 
owing to congestion in the roads, it stood for hours in a 
pouring rain. Late that afternoon arrived in Septsarges- 
Cuisy road and began tiring immediately. This was the 
first chance the men had to make hot coffee." 

"F Battery (of which Mr. Pickard was a member) wag 
singularly unfortunate, as the enemy bombardment was 
so heavy that five men were killed in a trice." Casualties 
among the horses were very heavy. Eleven were killed 
by one shell alone. Only two meals a day could be served, 
though the kitchens had been established in a ravine near 
Septsarges. 

On October 24 the regiment was withdrawn to Foret 
de Hesse, where new underclothing was provided and 
baths were possible. Moving back through Montfaucon to 
Bomagne, great booty left by the Germans was found and 
the men had coal for their fires and splendid lumber for 
dugouts. "For four days the guns were silent, ammuni- 
tion piling up in dumps. On November 1, at 5.30 the 
barrage began. As far as recollection serves the writer, 
20,000 shells were shot by the regiment in 14 hours, and 
3,000 were poured out. the next morning. After the bar- 
rage the regiment moved to Andevanne, where another 
barrage was delivered. The gnus were parked here, and 
on November 10 the regiment headed for Dombasle." 

After the armistice, waited orders one day, then 
marched several days to Donneeourt, where new equipment 
and fresh horses were received, then began the long hike 



MILITARY RECORDS 



181 



to Alsace-Lorraine. Arrived at Bongard Dec. 20, 1918, 
and were billeted in several towns. Moved up to the 
Bhine and remained in ITeimeisheim, on the Avest bank, 
until recalled. 

Left Germany July 0, sailed from Brest July 19, on 
S. S. Zeppelin, at Xew York July 29. Discharged at 
Camp Devens, August 4, 1919, having suffered neither 
wounds nor sickness. 

Antonios Vasileos Piciiilis, born Nov. 2, 1892, in 
Thoknia, Megalopolis, Greece. Came to the United States 
in 1911. Enlisted in May, 1918, in the artillery, Battery 
E, 5Sth Eield Artillery, Camp Jackson, S. C. Discharged 
January 30, 1919. 

John Pichilis, born January 1891, in Thoknia, Mega- 
lopolis, Greece. Came to the United States in 190G. 
Enlisted in artillery, May, 1918, at Camp Jackson. Dis- 
charged, Corporal, January 31, 1919. 

Alfred Henry Player, born Aug. 20, 1894, at Lynn. 
Son of Bobert and Dora Player. Mustered in Dec. 18, 

1917, ship's cook, first class, Commonwealth Pier, Boston; 
transferred to Holyoke Wharf, Portland, Ale. Discharged 
January 2, 1919. 

Joseph Abel Porrier, born July 31, 1898. Son of 
Philicien and Alary Porrier. Enlisted early in August, 

1918. Mustered in at Port Slocnm, !N\ Y., in September, 
Troop C, 5th Cavalry, and transferred to Port Bliss, 
Texas. Pemained there six months, then stationed on the 
Mexican boarder three months. Discharged from Camp 
Albert, Maria, Texas, September 15, 1919. 

Walter Bttssell Prentiss, born Sept. 30, 1893, at 
Ipswich. Son of George and Lucy. Prentiss (now 
Knowles). Enlisted in April, 1916, in IT. S. 2s r avy, coal 
passer on U. S. S. Texas. During the War stationed with 
the Allied fleet in the North Sea. Bated fireman, attached 
to the same ship. Discharged July 15, 1919. 

Elmer Euller Prescott, born April 15, 1917, at 
Monmouth, Maine. Son of William X. and S. Josephine 



182 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Frescott. Mustered in June 18, 1916, Company C, '2nd 
Regiment, ]\Iass. National Guard, at Worcester. Dis- 
charged July 9, 1916, and re-enlisted same day. Hospital 
Sergeant, 8th Infantry, Sanitary Detachment, Camp 
Greene, Charlotte, X. C, later 1st class Sergeant, Medical 
Department, Headquarters 3rd Division, Regular Arm v. 

Sailed for France March 2*3, 1918, on U. S. S. Martha 
Washington, landing at Bordeaux. Proceeded to Chateau 
Villian, ITaute-Marne ; on duty at Chateau Thierry, St. 
Mihiel and Argonne-Meuse. Commissioned 1st Lieutenant, 
Evacuation Hospital Xo. 114. When stationed in a hos- 
pital in an old French nunnery, with 40 Iced Cross nurses, 
a train hacked in with 500 patients from the front. The 
hospital Avas bombed. Three men were killed beside him 
and ten wounded. Lieut. Frescott has been gassed twice. 

After the armistice, Lieut. Frescott was relieved from 
duty with Evacuation Hospital Xo. 114, and ordered to 
report to the Headquarters 4th Division at Bad Bertrich, 
Germany, for duty as Assistant to the Division Surgeon, 
Headquarters 4th Division. Moved to Xeiderbriesig r 
Germany. Ordered to the Headquarters 4th Sanitary 
Train as Adjutant of that unit, and still in service. Re- 
turned to United States on IT. S. S. Minnesotan, landing 
August 3, 1919. Still in service. 

Stepiiex William Prisby (Frzyrysewski), born 
Sept. 6, 1803, in Poland: Son of Adam and Antonia 
Prisby. Married Frances Sobtoka and has two children. 
Mustered in Sept. 21, 1917, at Camp Devens, Company B r 
302nd Machine Gun Battalion. 

Sailed July IS, ID 18, on S. S. Jacobs, from Boston for 
Halifax and London. Proceeded to Southampton and 
Havre. Stationed at Lunery, assigned to 127th Machine 
Gun Replacement Battalion. At Saulcichere training 
station a week, then to the front at Soissons. AVas in the 
drive at Chevigny Village, which resulted in the capture 
of the village and railroad track. He was shell-shocked by 
the explosion of a large shell close at hand, and spent the 
next six weeks in the hospital. Reclassified in the hos- 
pital, put in Class C, and assigned to the Postal Express 



MILITARY RECORDS 



183 



Service Lack of the lines. At the armistice lie was in 
Genicourt, then at Langes and Chaumont. Sailed from 
Marseilles on S. S. Argentina. Discharged June 10, 1019. 

Edward Wii.mam Prlsby, horn May 2(5, 1898, at 
Brooklyn, ]^. Y. Son of Adam ami Antonia Prisby. 
Enlisted .March 28, 1017, Battery E, 101st Field Artil- 
lery. Mustered into Federal service July 25, 1017, at 
Oamj) Curtis Guild, Boxford. 

Sailed from A T ew York on Sept. 0, 1018, on S. S. Adri- 
atic for Liverpool, and proceeded by way of Southampton 
and Havre to artillery training camp at Camp Coetquidan, 
remaining there from Sept. 28 to Feb. 2, 1018. Moved 
then to Soissons in Chemin des Dames sector, and sta- 
tioned there until March 21. Bemoved in cattle cars, the 
train heing shelled by enemy aeroplanes, and a long nine- 
day hike to the Toul sector on the Lorraine front. Ad- 
vanced to "Hell's Half Acre'' at Apremont. 

Engaged in major operations in the Aisne-Marne offen- 
sive, July 18 to August 4, 1018. In the St. Mi hi el offen- 
sive Sept. 12 to 1G, and in the Mensc-Argonne offensive 
Sept, 20 to Nov. 11. At the Verdun front when the 
armistice was signed. Assigned then to Beaumont. Sailed 
from Brest in the S. S. Winifredian. At Boston April 18. 
Discharged April 20, 1010. 

Thomas Emerson Proctor, 2nd, born June 2, 1808, 
at Hamilton. Son of James H. and Martha Biker Proc- 
tor. While a student at Harvard, Class of 1010, he at- 
tended the Plattsburg Camp in the summer of 1916 and in 
August, 1017, enlisted hi the 101st Engineers in Boston, 
with the rank of Sergeant, Company A. Training was 
begun at once at the Wentworth Institute. Instruction 
was given in concrele construction, bridge work, map mak- 
ing and drafting, supplemented by field work in road- 
making and construction of field fortifications. 

Sailed from New York on Sept. 20, on S. S. Andania 
for Halifax, and with the convoyed fleet of transports to 
Liverpool and proceeded at once to Southampton, Havre 
and Bolampourt. 

At Christmas the 101st was released by the Engineers 
of the Bainbow Division, and moved to Doulaincourt, 



18 1 



MIUTAItY IMWOKDH 



where it was employed iii conslniHion work until Jan. 20, 
when the regiment moved to kYeville for military drill 
and practice in marching. In February, 11)18, the regi- 
ment was sent to Soissons, in line with the French troops. 
Company A was on the extreme right of the line and 
engaged in reconstruction of the Ohemin des Dames, where 
the work was done under observation of the enemy. Light 
railways were built, as well as the usual trench work and 
wire entanglements. At Ostel several men of Company A 
went out with a raiding party to build a bridge over a 
stream for the infantry. Three men were killed and six 
wounded, their first losses. The Croix de Guerre Avas 
awarded to fourteen of the Engineers for bravery in this 
action. 

Late in March the regiment entrained for the Toul 
sector, and tho 2nd Battalion was stationed at Vignaut, . 
remaining here until the last of June, when the regiment 
moved to the Chateau Thierry front, and the 2nd Bat- 
talion was quartered at Bois Gros Jean. The battle began 
July 18. During the second day the 2nd Battalion was 
ordered to go into the fight as reserves, and later was sent 
forward to take a part of the line, and on the 24th the 
entire Battalion was sent into line at Breteuil. Sergeant 
Proctor was gassed and spent the following six weeks in 
hospital. 

In November, 1918, was sent to Army Candidates 
School at T>angros. Boturned to United States in March, 
and was discharged at Camp Devens, April 1, 1919. 

Joseph IT. Proctor, born at Peabody, Mass., Sept. 19, 
1867. Son of Thomas E. and Emily E. Howe Proctor. 
Married April 27, 1897, in New York City to Martha J. 
Biker. Attended Plattsburg Camps 1915 and 1916. 
Commissioned Captain Q. M. C. D. S. B., June 1, 1917. 
Ordered on Active service June 27, 1917, at Camp Bowie, 
Fort Worth, Texas. Promoted Major Q. M. C, March 11, 
1918. Sailed with 36th Division on July 15, 1918, on S. 
S. George Washington. Served in France as Subsistance 
Officer of 36th Division until the Armistice. After the 
armistice was returned to the United States and discharged 
on January 15, 1919. 



MILITARY RECORDS 185 

Alfred Sherman Poyner, born Sept. 28, 1888, at 
Need ham, Mass. Son of John and Jemima Poyner. En- 
listed May 1, 1918, in Merchant Marine on TJ. S. Collier, 
Cumberland, on coast service ; transferred to IJ. S. S. 
Lake Bludsoe on coast service; shipped to Canada. Re- 
leased Jan. 4, 1019. 

Arthur Ernest ProvenC'her, born Sept. 28, 1897, at 
Pittsburg, Pcnn. Son of Gideon and Lvdia Provencher. 
Mustered in to Federal service July 20, 1917, private, Co. 
H, 8th Mass., later 101th Peg. He sailed from Montreal 
in S. S. Scotian, Oct. 5, 1917, and proceded from Liver- 
pool to Southampton and Havre to the training camp at 
Harreville, where he remained until Feb. 5. Then moved 
to Soissons, and on the first day after arrival was severely 
burned in a gas attack and disabled for two weeks. Had 
part in the long hike to St. Bluni. Pe joined the company 
on its return from Apremont and was present at the review, 
where decorations were bestowed on the men and flag of the 
101th. 

After two weeks at Vertuessi stringing barbed wire 
moved up to Gerard Sas, then to the sector at the right of 
Schrestry and to Jerry Woods near Mini le Sec. and to 
Pagney. The regiment was then withdrawn to Paris, but 
was recalled to the front to withstand the German rush at 
Chateau Thierry on July 30, where it held the front line. 
He went over the top on the morning of July IS and was 
wounded by a shell fragment near his left temple, which 
sent him to the hospital for three weeks. 

He rejoined his company about August 9. Hiked to St. 
Mihicl and engaged in the attack of Sept. 12 and 13, then 
to the Argonne sector, where Co. II suffered severely in 
the heavy fighting, and remained there until Nov. 11th. 
Pelieved the day after the armistice. Hiked to the rear to 
Bonnecourt and after two months to St. Mars for a two 
months' stay. Entrained for Brest and returned on the 
S. S. Mount Vernon. Discharged April 28, 1919. 

Frank Allen Beddy, born July 25, 1891, at Ipswich. 
Son of Thomas H. and Annie L. Reddy. Enlisted Sept. 



186 



MILITARY RECORDS 



14, 10.17. Mustered in Sept. 25, 1st Class private, Signal 
Corps. Stationed at School of Instruction, Burlington, 
Vermont, at Carnegie Institute, Pittsburg, Penn., and at- 
tached as Corporal to 83d Aero Squadron, Langley Field, 
Hampton, Va. Sailed last of August, 1918, with 1102nd 
Aero Squadron, engaged in mechanical work. Discharged 
March 21, 1910. 

John- Capples Reddy, born Oct. 30, 1805, at Ipswich. 
Son of Thomas 11. and Annie L. Reddy. Mustered in 
Nov. 10, 1017, yeoman, II. S. X. R. on receiving ship in 
Boston, stationed at Brunswick, Me., Quiney and Wor- 
cester. Released Xov. 21, 1018. 

Carl Reed, horn Feb. 1, 1802, in Sweden. Son of Jan 
and Marie Reed. Employed at Turner Hill. Mustered 
in Sept. 5, 1017, at Camp Devens, 301st Machine Gun 
Battalion; transferred to Camp Darling, Framingham, 
Co. A, 102nd Machine Gun Battalion. 

Sailed Sept. 21, 1017, on S. S. Antilles for St. Nazaire. 
Spent ten days in cam]) there and then four months at the 
training camp at Ncuf chateau. On Feb. 5, 1018, moved 
to an inactive front at Chemin des Dames and remained 
until March 18. Then transferred to active front in the 
Toul sector and engaged in the battle of Seicheprey on 
April 20. Participated in the battles at Chateau Thierry 
July 15 to 23, and in the St. Mihiel drive. 

Moved to the Meuse-Argonne Oct. 21, in deep mud, 
under constant shell fire, and continued there until the 
armistice, Nov. 11. A long twelve days' hike, covering 11-i 
miles brought them to Poulangey, where they remained six 
weeks. The winter was spent at Monsigneur. On March 
24, 1010, went to Brest and sailed from that port April 
8 on S. S. Patricia for Boston. Discharged from Camp 
Devens April 20, 1010. 

James Daniel Reilly, born July 10, 1000, in Ipswich. 
Son of William P. and Mary A. Reilly. Enlisted at Bos- 
ton, July 10, 1018, in the TJ. S. K R, F. and reported 
for active duty at Bumkin Island Oct. 23, 1018. Served 
on the TJ. S. Destroyer Tucker, the IF. S. S. Wilhelmina, 
and on a receiving ship at New York. Made two trips 



MILITARY RECORDS 



187 



each to Bordeaux, St. Nazaire and Brest. Released from 
active duty August 22, 1919. 

Thomas Emerson Proctor Bice, born in Boston Dec. 
10, 1894. Son of Charles G. and Anne Proctor Bice. At- 
tended St. Paul's School, Concord, N. IT. February 19, 
1917, enlisted as Sergeant A. S. S. E. B. C. and started 
flying; at Curtiss Aviation School, Newport News, Va. He 
was injured in accident April 26 and ordered home to re- 
cover. May 28 he entered M. I. T. Ground School and 
July 22 continued training at Essington, Pa., where Sept. 
24, 1917, lie was commissioned 1st Lieut. 

lie sailed overseas Oct. 27, 1917, in charge of 93 Cadets 
and trained at Issoudun from Nov. 28 to January, 1918, 
when he was made Instructor of Nienports. On April 9 
he was transferred to Clermont-Ferrand, where he trained 
for two months. From June until the middle of October 
he was in active service at the front, engaged in night 
bombing. After leaving the front he was prepared to re- 
turn to the United States as a night bombardment instruc- 
tor. He reported to Washington, D. C, Nov. 20, 1918, 
and was honorably discharged Nov. 30, 1918. Croix de 
Guerre. 

Warren Cook Bioiiaiidsox, born July 24, 189G, in 
Salem. Son of Burritt and Mabel E. Richardson. Mus- 
tered in Aug. 24, 1918, Camp Jackson, S. C, 3rd Beg. F. 
A. B. D. Then to Newport News, returned to Cam]) Jack- 
son. Discharged from Camp Bcvens Jan. 10, 1919. 

Francis Marion Biley, born May 17, 1892, at Bow- 
ley. Son of William J. and Adell G. Biley. Mustered in 
May 30, 1917, at Qnantico, Virginia, private, 49th Co., 
5th Regiment, U. S. Marines ; transferred to Philadelphia 
Navy Yard June 5. 

Sailed overseas June 11, 1917, S. S. He Kalb. At St. 
Nazaire June 27 moved to Naix training camp and as- 
signed to 2nd Division, then to Breauvaunes, near Neuf- 
chateau training camp, remaining until March 12, 1918. 

Moved then to Verdun front, a quiet sector, and on 
May 17 to Bourrie and a few days later to Belleau Woods 
in Chateau Thierry sector on the nidit of May 31. In the 



188 



MILITARY RECORDS 



great defensive against the -German advance he was 
wounded in the right arm and back on June 2 and re- 
mained in hospital until the latter part of .November. Sent 
by train to Xcuwied on the Rhine near Coblenz and re- 
mained with the Army of Occupation. In the middle of 
June withdrawn and sailed from Brest June 26, 1919, on 
S. S. "George Washington" for New York. Discharged 
from Quantico, Va., August 13, 1919. 

William Mason Riley, born Sept. 19, 1899, in Row- 
ley. Son of William J. and A dell G. Riley. Mustered in 
Oct. 6, 1918, Cmpany C, S. A. T. 0., Boston Univeisity. 
Discharged Dec. 12,' 1918. 

William James Robbies, born ISTov. 21, 1899, at Bos- 
ton. Son of William J. and Jane Bobbins. Employed at 
Turner Hill. Mustered in April, 1918, Troop L, 305th 
Cavalry; transferred to Battery E. 45th Field Artillery, 
Camp Stanley, Texas. Discharged from Camp Stanley 
February 20, 1919. 

Thomas Robiciiau, born Dec. 14, 1893, at East Bos- 
ton. Son of Thomas and Mary Agnes Robichau. Mus- 
tered in Dec. 21, 1917, private, Co. B, 302nd Machine 
Gun Co. ; transferred to 306th Machine Gun Co. 

Sailed from East Boston, July 8, 1918, on S. S. Ajax, 
for London, and proceeded by way of Winchester to Havre. 
At camp at Longly, and machine gun school. Went to the 
front and engaged in Oise-Aisne offensive, Sept. 5 to 16; 
then by long hike to the Meuse-Argonne front, where 
engaged from Sept. 26 to Oct. 14, 1918. Moved to Harri- 
cot the night before the armistice, then on guard duty on 
the border a week. 

The machine gun squad consisted of eight persons. 
No. 1 carried the gun and served as gunner ; No. 2 loaded 
the gun ; 'No. 3 carried the ammunition ; No. 4, the cor- 
poral, stationed at the side of the gun in action, in case 
anything happened amiss; No. 5 carried spare parts; 
JSTo. 6 carried shovels and sand bags ; Nos. 7 and 8 nom- 
inally led mules and miscellaneous service. 

A French Hasket gun was used. The ammunition was 
fed in clips containing 24 cartridges, and in belts which 



MILITARY RECORDS 



189 



contained 250. Mr. Robichaii was gunner of the squad. 
Xo. 2 was killed in the Argonne, and others were wounded. 
lie escaped without injury. 

Sailed from Brest, April 17, 1010, in S. S. Mount 
Vernon. Discharged' May 8, 1010. 

Frederick Joseph Robiciiau, horn June 24 ,1800, at 
Ipswich. Son of Tenney and, Fanny Robichau. Mus- 
tered in at Camp Syracuse, Syracuse, N". Y., Oct. 3, 1017, 
private, Company M, 30th Infantry; transferred to Camp 
Greene, Charlotte, !NT. O., a month later, and assigned to 
11 th Machine Gun Battalion. Remained in camp six 
months. 

Sailed from Iloboken, May 10, 1018, on S. S. Rhydam, 
for Brest, proceeded at once to British training- camp at 
Calais, and two days afterward to a reserve position hack 
of the Arras front. Remained there under shell fire three 
weeks, and then moved to the support of the Trench, in 
the rear of Chateau Thierry. On July 18 w T ent over the 
top in counter attack. Remained there 27 days in sup- 
port or in front line. 

On August 12, beginning a long hike with a single day's 
march of about 30 miles, moved to Remaucourt, in the 
Haute Marne, and after ien days' rest moved to Bar-le- 
Thic on trucks, and after a two days' rest, marched a w r eek, 
covering from twelve to eighteen miles a day, toward St. 
Mihiel. \Yent over the top on Sept. 12, and, having 
completed the objective the first day, the battalion was 
relieved and put in reserve for two days. ]\ Toyed then to 
support the French attack in Toulon sector, and then in 
trucks and on foot to the Argonne. Went into action on 
Sept. 2G, the first day of the offensive, and continued to 
advance four days, taking all objectives. On the second 
day the battalion lost 200 men, killed and wounded. 

The 11 tli Machine Gnu Battalion was attached to the 
7th Brigade, 4th Division. On Sept. 30 the 7th went to 
the support of the 8th Brigade, which had failed to 
attain its objective, and remained in this position. On 
October 12 Robichaii was wounded in the knee and ankle 
and gassed; was in hospital three weeks, and was on his 



190 



MILITARY RECORDS 



way to rejoin his battalion when the armistice was an- 
nounced. The battalion was withdrawn at once to the 
Casual Camp at Toul, and remained there Until Dee. 24. 
On the afternoon of that day began the move into Ger- 
many, in box ears to Alt' on the Moselle, then in trucks 
to the village of Musch, where it was billeted until March. 
The kindliest feeling prevailed on the part of the German 
families, and the children were hugely pleased with the 
chocolates and dainties which the soldiers lavished on 
them. The family fare was black bread and potatoes, but 
out of their humble larder they prepared a lunch of sand- 
wiches when their enforced guests left their, and expressed 
great regret at their departure. 

After a fortnight's stay at Oberwinter on the Rhine, 
where the men were billeted and found the same cordial 
feeling, moved to Bemagen on the Rhine in June.. Passes 
were granted for Coblenz and excursions on the famous 
river. Entrained on duly 11, and proceeded by the usual 
route through the devastated areas in Belgium and Xorth- 
ern France to Brest. Sailed on duly 18, on S. S. Tiger, 
for ]\ T e\v York. Dismissed from Camp Devens, August 
4, 1911). 

Llewellyn Ayer Rogers, born June 17, 1882, at 
Gloucester. Son of Samuel and Maud L. Rogers. Mar- 
ried Lillian Player, Sept. 7, 1903. Enlisted January 7, 
1918, 1st class baker, Commonwealth Pier. 1st class cook 
on U. S. S. Savannah. Beleased January 15, 1919. 

Francis Gray Boss, born April 30, 1892, at Ipswich. 
Son of Fred G. and Mary F. Boss. Enrolled in U. S. 
X. B. F. as Yeoman, first class, on July 2, 1918. Called 
for active service on July 23, 1918, and assigned to IT. S. 
Naval Training Camp, llingham, Mass.; stationed there 
until August 13, 1918, when assigned to office of the Cost 
Inspector, U. S. X., Fore River Plant, Bethlehem Ship- 
building Corporation, Inc., Quincy, Mass. ; on duty there 
until released from active service on duly 10, 1919; pro- 
moted to rank of Chief Yeoman, May 8, 1919. 

James Jeremiah Ryan, born April 1, 189G, at Xew- 
buryport. Son of Michael and J ulia Ryan. Enlisted 



MILITARY RECORDS 



191 



April 11, 1017, Battery A, 2nd Mass. Field Artillery, 
National Guard. Mustered into Federal service Aug. 4, 
1917, Battery A, 102nd Field Artillery at Camp Curtis 
Guild at Boxford. Sailed Sept. 22, 1917, in U. S. S. 
Finland. Landed at St. Nazaire, spent four months at 
Artillery Training Camp at Coetquidan. lie was taken 
sick at this camp and went to Hospital Camp 15, then to 
Savernay. Returned in the President Lincoln, and on 
arrival went to TJ. S. Hospital, Fort Bayard, New Mexico. 
Discharged March 17, 1010. 

Charles Thomas Saunders, born April 30, 1807, at 
Ipswich. Son of Moses A. and Eliza A. Saunders. Mar- 
ried, May 10, 1817, Miss Irene A. Bishop of Lynn. En- 
listed Feb. 15, 1915, in Company II, 8th Massachusetts. 
Reported for duty on the Mexican border, July 25, 10 10. 
Discharged Oct. 17, 1017. 

In August, 1918, re-entered the service at Camp Jack- 
son, S. C, in Field Artillery. Discharged from Camp 
Devens, Jan. 10, 1010. 

Enlisted in Merchant Marine, Jan. 22, 1010. Dis- 
charged Feb. 12, 1919. 

Arthur Bernard Anthony Scautkl, born Feb. 22, 
188S, at Ipswich. Son of Bernard II. and Margaret Sea- 
hill. Mustered in Dec. 13, 1917, storekeeper 1st class, 
II. S. JST. R., at District Supply Office, Boston. Released 
Dec. 11, 1018. 

Chester Arthur Scaihee, Corporal Company II, 
104th Infantry, 20th Division. Born at Byfield, Mass., 
June 28, 1801. ~ Son of Thomas and Cornelia Isabel Sea- 
hill. Died in service, in France, September 20, 1018, at 
French Hospital No. 41, St. Dizier. 

Enlisted in Company II, 8th Mass. Vol. Militia, in 
1015. Served with this organization on the Mexican bor- 
der in 1010. Together with his other Ipswich comrades 
in this company, he answered the call for service on July 
25, 1017, and went with his company to Lynnfield. Left 
Lynnfield and encamped at Westfield, and was mustered 
into Federal service in September, 1017, becoming a part 
of the 104th Infantry of the 20th Division. 



192 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Went overseas in the fall of 1917, arriving at Liver- 
pool, October 24. In February, 1018, participated in the 

first engagements of this division in the Cheinin des Dames 
sector, and later, in the active fighting in the Tonl sector. 
During the lighting at Apremont he was disabled and sent 
to a field hospital and later to a base hospital at Le Mans. 

A letter received by his mother from IT. O. Tanner, 
A. R. C, under date of June 30, 1918, from Base Hos- 
pital 117_, brought the news that he was undergoing treat- 
ment in that hospital and was improving in a satisfactory 
manner. Under date of September 9^ 1918, from the 
Brunswick Hospital, St. Dizier, Corporal Scahill wrote 
his mother that the critical point of his illness had been 
safely passed, and that he was recovering, although still 
very weak. From the meager information that it has been 
possible to obtain concerning his death, it appears that at 
about this time he was very anxious to rejoin his comrades, 
and that he left the hospital in an attempt to reach his 
organization, and that, through exposure, he was stricken 
with bronchial pneumonia, resulting in death at Bruns- 
wick Hospital No. 11, St. Dizier, on Sept. 20, 1918. 
He was buried with full military honors at St. Dizier. 

A letter from Major Luke C. Doyle, under date of 
Isov. 19, 1918, and a letter from Lieut. J. F. Scarborough, 
commanding officer of the St. Dizier hospitals, the latter 
dated Dec. 7, 1918, and both written from St. Dizier, 
agree as to the place and date of death. 

Major Luke writes, in part: "He lies buried in the 
little St. Dizier cemetery, with 30 other American boys. 
Over his resting rdacc stands a cross, with his identifi- 
cation tag, and his name, in print. He had the service of 
the French Protestant chaplain read at his grave, and he 
was buried with full military honors." 

September 12, 1918. 

American Regulating Station B. 

A. P. O. 700. 

Saturday wo buried a boy here and I attended 

his funeral as medical representative. I learned 

that he was from Ipswich, which took me back 



MILITARY RECORDS 193 

home. His name was Chester C. Scahill, of the 
104th Infantry Regiment, Company II, which is 
attached to the Xew England Division. 

He was passing through our station on his way 
to his regiment in the lines and was suddenly 
stricken with pneumonia. I obtained a Cana- 
dian nurse for him immediately, stayed with 
him for two hours hefore he died, and my cor- 
poral stayed with him the entire time up to the 
end. His last message was for his mother and 
father, to tell them that he was fine, and would 
see them soon. He was in the best hospital in 
the locality and received the best care that could 
be given him. He was buried with military 
honors, his casket being draped with the Amer- 
can and French flags. The carriage was deco- 
rated with our flag and was accompanied by an 
escort of sixteen American soldiers and two offi- 
cers. Services were read in the hospital and at 
the military cemetery, where hundreds of 
French, English and American boys lie sleeping. 
Three salutes were fired over his grave, which 
is a very rare attention during this war. 

I am telling you this, as I wish you to trans- 
mit this message to his mother and father. I 
know how glad they will be to receive any news 
of their boy, as I know how I would feel if the 
same thing happened to me, and how much such 
information would be appreciated by those at 
home. 

His division had gone through terrific fighting 
and he was evidently all used up. He died with 
very little suffering. 

Lieut. Cuinigsry Davisox. 

Walter Curtis Senior, born February 13, 1892, at 
ISTewbury. Son of Joseph W. and Josephine (Hill) Senior. 
Mustered in Sept. 1, 1917, Camp Fort Ethan Allen, Yt. 
Transferred i^ov. 22 to Base Hospital Q6, Camp Merritt, 
Tenafly, K J. 



194 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Sailed Dec. 17, 1917, on S. S. Orduna, for Glasgow, 
then, to Winchester and Havre, to Neufchateau. Trans- 
ferred to Base Hospital 117, about March 20, 1918, at 
Lafonche, and remained there until June 5. Transferred 
then to Camp Hospital 9, at Chateau Villain, returned 
to Base Hospital 117 on July 13. Changed to Base Hos- 
pital 116 at Blazoilles-sur-Meuse, engaged in the transpor- 
tation of mental cases. Transferred to Base Hospital 79 
at the same place, and spent the winter there. Early in 
May transferred to Base Hospital 214, at Savenay. 

Sailed homeward from St. .Nazaire, May 17, 1919, on 
S. S. Mallory. Discharged from Hoboken, July 5, 1919, 
first class private, hospital attendant. 

Henry Siiaw, born January 3, 1895, at Ipswich. Son 
of Thomas and Agnes Shaw. Mustered in May 29, 1917. 
II. S. Naval Reserve, seaman, LI. S. S. Covington. 

The Covington, the former German liner Cincinnati, 
17,000 tons, was torpedoed by a German submarine on 
June 30, 191 S. Three men were killed by the explosion 
of the torpedo, and three lost in taking to the boats. 
After an hour and a half in boats and on rafts, all were 
rescued by the destroyer Smith. Summoned by wireless, 
tugs came from Brest, 150 miles distant, and took the 
Covington in tow, but she sank in four hours on July 1, 
1918. She was the only ship lost in the convoy. Mr. 
Shaw was on his sixth round trip, homeward bound, when 
the ship was lost. 

He Avas assigned to the H. S. S. Carola, receiving ship 
at Brest, went to La Pallice, France, where he was sta- 
tioned till Dec. 14, 1918, when he returned and was 
released January 8, 1919. 

Clayton Lokenz Simms, born September 8, 1900, at 
Liverpool, Nova Scotia. Son of Lorenzo and Mary Simms. 

While resident in Liverpool, in his youth, he enlisted in 
the Canadian Army, and was stationed in the citadel at 
Halifax, and afterward in the Cambridge Battery on the 
sea-coast nearby. He left the army after five months.. 

He enlisted December 19, 1917, in the 55th Artillery; 



MILITARY RECORDS 195 

was transferred to Battery C, 65th Artillery, in Boston 
Harbor, thence to ("amp Merritt, X. J., and sailed from 
IToboken, Mardh 21, 1918, in U. S. S. Chicago, for .Bor- 
deaux. After two weeks in training camp, spent three 
weeks in the artillery training school at Liipouge, and 
another period at Cam]) Mailley, and then to the front in 
the Toul sector in the latter part of June. 

The battery was in action on this front and in the St. 
Mihiel drive. Removed to Etrayes, then to Verdun and 
the Argonne, and was in action until the day of the armis- 
tice, November 11. The battery lost thirty-two men 
gassed, seven killed. It was equipped with heavy British 
seige guns, tractor drawn. After the armistice, withdrawn 
to Souilly, and embarked at Brest on S. S. Xew Haverford. 

Mr. Simms was slightly wounded and was in hospital a 
few weeks. Discharged April 17, 1919. 

Henry Swain Simms, born May 26, 1896, at South 
Manchester, Conn. Son of Thomas and Nellie 15. Simms. 
Enlisted in Engineers Reserve Corps, at Orono, Maine, 
in February, 1918; transferred to Students Army Train- 
ing Corps at Institute of Technology, Boston. Mustered 
out, December, 1918. 

Elmer Chester Smith, born Feb. 24, 1888, at Rock- 
port, Mass. Son of Elmer 0. and Julia Smith. Mus- 
tered in Feb. 26, 1918, Cam]) Devens, Depot Brigade, 
6th Company; transferred to Headquarters Company, 
301st Engineers, 70th Division. 

Sailed July 11, 1918, on S. S. Katomba, for Liverpool, 
and proceeded to Southampton and Havre, thence to St. 
Amand, where he remained until September 10. Engaged 
in the St. Mihiel offensive, Sept. 12 to 16, and in opera- 
tions in the Toul sector, Sept. 16 to 'Nov. 11, under con- 
stant shell fire for 59 days, acting as regimental runner. 

After the armistice advanced in the Army of Occupa- 
tion to Boppard on the Rhine, which was reached on De- 
cember 12, and five days later advanced to Brohl, about 
twelve or fifteen miles from Coblentz. Stationed there 
until May 27, 1919. Sailed from St. Nazaire, June 5, 
on S. S. Calamores, at Boston June 13. Discharged from 
Camp Devens, first class private, June '20, 1919. 



196 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Julian Dexter Smith, born at Ipswich, Mass., Jan. 8, 
1900. Son of Dexter Munroe and Anna Cogswell Smith. 
Enlisted October 10, 1918, Company G, Harvard Unit, 
S. A. T. C, Cambridge, Mass. Discharged Dee. 9, 1918. 

Joseph Grace Souz'a, born September 14, 1897, at 
Gloucester, Mass. Son of Joseph G. and Nancy G. Sonza. 
Enlisted in August, 1918, and was assigned to 15th Co., 
Aviation Squad i Garden City, Long Island, as a machinist- 
Discharged December, 1918. 

John G. Sperling, Jr., born May 20, 1S97, at Ipswich. 
Son of John G. and Agnes Sperling. Enlisted in Chicago, 
June 29, 1917, in Company A, 24th Battery, in Radio 
Department, and acted as Radio Instructor in charge of 
a class of SO men. October 10, 1917, changed to 314th 
Field Signal Battalion, Camp Funston, Kansas, and Feb. 
27, 1918, to Casual Detachment Radio Operator, Camp 
Vail, Little Silver, K J. 

Sailed March 22, 1918, in S. S. Finland, from Hobo- 
ken, for St. Nazaire. Proceeded to Signal School at 
Langres for a radio course, where he met Sergt. Charles 
Mallard of Ipswich, who was taking a course at the Officers 
Candidate School. On June 1, having completed his 
special studies, he was assigned to service with the French 
Army at Villotte-devant-Louppy, in the Radio Section 
Signal Corps, Radio Intelligence Dept., to become familiar 
with the French method of radio communication. In the 
middle of August sent to Souilly, about 10 kilometers 
from the front, in the neighborhood of Verdun and St. 
Mihiel, to handle a two-kilowatt station, and was there 
engaged in transmitting meteorological reports every four 
hours for the artillery in that sector, and in receiving 
German radio intercepts. 

In September he was detached from the French Army 
and assigned to the American Army at Souilly, at the 
commanding station (P. C. T. Post Central Telegraph), 
for communication, receiving and transmitting gonio- 
metric reports, so called, by which, through an ingenious 
triangulation method, German radio stations were located 
and thus made subject to artillery fire. The American 



MILITARY RECORDS 197 

stations were exposed to the return shell fire and aerial 
attacks of the enemy, but few casualties ensued. 

In October he was appointed Corporal. Continued in 
this department of service at Souilly until the armistice. 
On November 22, assigned to the radio section base at 
Ton], in charge of a radio station, and instructing soldiers 
in the methods of handling radio communications. On 
January 2, 1919, with about 300 men, sent to a re-classi- 
fication cam]) at Cours Cheverny and there assigned to the 
109th Field Signal Battalion, stationed at Chiteney for 
two weeks. 

The whole Battalion was then sent to Lusasac de Li- 
bourne, about 25 kilometers from Bordeaux. On April 
11, marched to Libourne, and the next daj r to the debus- 
ing camp at Genicourt, thence to the Bassens docks, near 
Bordeaux, and sailed on xVpril IS, in IT. S. S. Siboney, 
conveying home 2,000 wounded and 1000 detached sol- 
diers. Corporal Sperling assisted in the radio work dur- 
ing the homeward trip. After a brief stay at Camp Up- 
ton, Long Island, and Camp Devens, he was discharged 
May 21, 1919. 

Frank Alton Stevens, born May 24, 1892, at Glouc- 
ester. Son of Frank and Sarah A. Stevens. Mustered 
in July 27, 1917, private, Company A, 49th Infantry, at 
Syracuse, K. Y. Transferred to Co. A, 23rd Begiment, 
then to 924th Casual Co. 

Sailed from Iloboken Sept. 7, 1917, on Frederick der 
Grosse, for St. Nazaire. Broceeded after a week to St. 
Thibault, and remained until March, when advanced to 
St. Microy sector, at the front. In May withdrawn to 
training camp at Chaumont, and on June 1st changed to 
Chateau Thierry, and remained there, actively engaged, 
forty days. Transferred then to Soissons for four days, 
and later to Bont-a-Mousson sector. He was at St. Mihiel 
Sept. 11 and 12, on the Champagne front, and in the 
Argonne Forest, and on November 4, only a week before 
the armistice, stricken with appendicitis, was removed to 
Base Hospital 14 for operation. Beturned on the Vedic. 
Discharged March 15, 1919. 



198 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Charles Titcomb Strotjt, born January 1<>, 1889, at 
Salem. Son of Samuel A. and Carrie Titcomb Strout. 
Married Miss Jennie Marshall. Enlisted at Roxbury, 
April 20, 1918, 2Gth Co., 151st Regiment, Depot Brigade, 
Camp Devens. Discharged Dee. 5, 1 D IS. 

Murray .Daniel SurRette, born June 19, 1888, at 
Nova Scotia. Son of Joseph and Alary Surrette. Clus- 
tered in August 5, 1918, and assigned to New Haven, 
Conn. Engaged in reconstructing wounded soldiers, 
teaching landscape gardening, in preparation for voca- 
tional training. Discharged August 18, 1919. 

Joseph Allen Surrette, born August 11, 1891. Son 
of John D. and Madeline Surrette. Enlisted April 10, 
1917, 2nd .Mass. Field Artillery. Mustered into Federal 
service July 25, Battery A, 102nd U. S. Field Artillery, 
at Camp Curtis Guild, Boxford. 

Sailed September 22, in company with James J. Ryan, 
in the Finland, and after three weeks in rest camp, pro- 
ceeded to the French Artillery Training Camp at Coetqui- 
dan. Remained there until January 28, using French 
75 mm. guns, horse drawn, eight men to a gun. 

Their first front was at Soissons, just evacuated by the 
Germans, where they were camped in the Cathedral, on 
Feb. 4, 1918, and next day moved to Bussey de Long, and 
placed their guns in position, seven kilometres from the 
front. Continued there 45 days, firing frequently ; under 
the enemy's fire most of the time, but losing only one man 
wounded ; and then withdrawn to the Toul sector, spend- 
ing four days in box cars and fourteen on the road. Went 
into action in April, relieving the 6th Field Artillery, at 
Seicheprey, and at Fleuri April 20 to 24. Two men were 
killed on the 22nd, and two others, runners to the front, 
were captured. From Seicheprey removed to Remaucourt, 
in same sector. 

Mr. Surrette was wounded in action on May 30, receiv- 
ing a shell wound in the left thigh, and was removed to 
Evacuation Hospital No. 1, at Toul, and nine days later 
to Base Hospital 15, at Chaumont. He returned to the 
ranks July 8, in Battery C, 27th Division, was in action 



MILITARY RECORDS 109 

at Chateau Thierry on July 12, was gassed on the 14th 
and sent back to St. Agnan, and to a replacement camp 
at Lactine. While acting as equitation instructor at Coet- 
quidan, he suffered an attack of influenza in November. 
Returned from St. Xazaire, .January 12, 1919, on the 
Manchuria, and was discharged Feb. 11, 1911). 

Peter Surrette, born .May 5, 1894, in Xova Scotia. 
Son of Joseph and Mary Surrette. Mustered in October 
20, 1917. Sergeant Marine Corps Heavy Artillery, 6th 
Company, Quantico, Va. Later changed to 149th Co., 
A. E. F. Discharged January 22, 1920. 

Archie Theriauxt, son of Peter and Catherine (Co- 
mean) Theriault, was born at Meteghan River, Nova Sco- 
tia, Canada, on October 7, 1S87. lie enlisted from Ips- 
wich, July 6, 1918, and was discharged July 18, at Fort 
Slocum, New York. 

Eliot Franklin Tozkk, born Sept 30, 1895, at Ips- 
wich. Son of George W. and Lucy C. Tozer. Enlisted 
Aug. 3, 1917, in Reserve Corps. Mustered in Aug. 25, 
assigned to 101st Field Signal Battalion at Cam]) Norman 
Prince, Boston. Left Boston Sept. 21 and sailed from 
New York in S. S. Antilles for St. Xazaire. After two 
weeks there proceeded to .Neufchateau, headquarters of 
Division 26. On Friday, Feb. 8, 1918, moved to Sois- 
sons, and was engaged two weeks in laying telephone cables 
under the command of the French. The infantry had 
dug the trenches two meters dee]), to avoid damage as far 
as possible by the enemy shell lire. Two men carrying a 
reel of cable on a crowbar laid it by night, or under cover 
of fog and rain. Engaged in this work from Feb. 13 to 
Feb. 28, 1918, then returned to Soissons and was em- 
ployed through .March on telephone line work in the 
vicinity. Left Braisnes, near Soissons, March 29, by 
train. They left the railroad at Bar-sur-Aube and then 
hiked four days to San Blin, on the east, border of the 
Haute Marne department. Left there in camions driven 
by Chinamen, on Easter Sunday morning. Arrived in 
the Tout sector in the afternoon^ at Vignaut, where lie 



200 



MILITARY RECORDS 



was detached for operating French telephone switchboard 

ten days, when he was recalled to Boucq, headquarters of 
the battalion and division. 

He was now assigned to a motorcycle with side-car, and 
drove the Captain by day and brought up supplies at night 
for about three weeks, at Apremont and Seicheprey, losing 
his headlight by an enemy projectile. Then assigned to 
an automobile, and drove his division signal officer until 
October 1. lie carried a small cot in the car, which ho 
occupied by night in any chance shelter, while tho officer 
slept in the car. 

With the Division he left the Toul sector July 1, and 
proceeded to J^antil near Meaux, and after a week moved 
to front line at Mery, where he remained until the Chateau 
Thierry offensive in July. Returned to Mery at the end 
of July and remained until -Vug. 15, when he moved with 
the infantry to Mussy-sur-Seine in the Chatillon area, for 
training and rest until the latter part of August. 

The division detrained at or near Bar-le-Due and hiked 
to Somme Dieu, and after four or five days to Bupton-en- 
Woeuvre, where division headquarters were established 
during the St. Mihiel offensive. Five days later, moved 
to Troyon, and about Oct. 4th went to Verdun. Head- 
quarters were at the citadel until about October 15, under 
constant enemy fire, then moved to Bras and remained un- 
til the armistice. 

Sailed from Brest April G on the Patricia for Boston. 
Discharged April 29, 1910. 

Battles — Bois Brule, Seicheprey, Xivray, Marvoisin, 
Torcy, Belleau, Givry, Boureches, Till 190, Epieds, 
Trugny, St. Mihiel, Bois de Haumont, Bois Belleau, Bois 
d'Armodt, Bois de Ville. 

Dana Kewcomb Trimble, born May 23, 1892, at 
Queenston, Ontario, Canada. Son of Dr. B. J. and Maud 
S. Trimble, and grandson of the late W. A. Thomson, 
M. P. for Wetland County ; graduate of Harvard, Class 
of 1915. Enlisted May 17, 1917, private, B Company, 
1st IT. S. Engineers, at Washington Barracks; three weeks 
later went to Belvoir, Ya. Promoted to Corporal June 22. 



MILITARY RECORDS 



201 



Sailed from IToboken, August 7, 1017, in S. S. Finland. 
Arrived at St. Nazaire, France, Aug. 20, 1917. Remained 
there two weeks, was then sent to the advance zone of 
the American Army in the Gondrecourt district, and sta- 
tioned there until November 10, when he went to the 
front, with the 2Stli Infantry, 1st Division, in the Som- 
meville sector, 10 miles northeast of Nancy, a quiet sector, 
the first front line of the Americans in the War. On 
Jan. 18, 1918, moved to the Toul sector, an active sector, 
remaining until relieved by the 2Gtb Division on April 1, 
1918. 

The 1st Division was then moved to the Montdidier 
sector, B. Company, 1st Engineers, leading the advance, 
and took the position on April 19 then held by the French. 
Corporal Trimble had been promoted on April 1st to 
Sergeant and Battalion Gas Non-Commissioned Officer, 
This was one of the most critical periods of the war. The 
American troops had not arrived in adequate numbers, 
nor attained sufficient military proficiency to render the 
help that had been expected. The British and French 
were despondent and the outlook was depressing. At thi3 
juncture, Gen. Pershing turned over his troops to Gen. 
Foeh, to be used at his discretion. Foch ordered the First 
Division to the Montdidier sector, where the French Terri- 
torials had suffered frightful losses. Gen. Billiard, com- 
manding the First Division, requested the privilege of 
attacking Cantigny, which had been taken twice and lost 
twice by the French. The position was totally unpro- 
tected, with no trenches, no cover but shell holes, and no 
communication with supporting lines. Trenches were 
built under heavy shell fire, and on May 26, Cantigny was 
taken and held against three counter attacks of the Ger- 
mans,^ although the French expected that the Americans 
would be obliged to withdraw. 

Division after division was sent to relieve the First, 
but was withdrawn before reaching them to other exposed 
points, and it held its ground, under constant shelling and 
the discomfort of cootie fever, until July 7, 1918. Ser- 
geant Trimble had been detached on June 9 to the School 
for training officers of the First in gas, at Divisional Head- 



2)2 



MILITARY RECORDS 



quarters, about an hour's walk from the front. Two 
classes were formed, 32 officers in each 2 which received 
three days' instruction every week. He continued as ;m 
instructor until July 3, when he reported back to Com- 
pany B on the front. 

On July 7, the First was relieved and withdrawn to 
Beauvais, and on the 14th moved toward Paris. But 
when within 21 miles of the city, the German advance 
compelled a sudden change of plan, and the division was 
hurried into trucks and rushed to Soissons, where it went 
over the top on July IS. B Company, 1st Engineers, with 
no especial infantry weapons, such as machine' guns and 
automjatic rifles, with only their rifles and bayonets, fought 
as infantry with the Third Battalion of the Kith infantry. 
On July 20, the third day of the battle, while his com- 
pany was attacking the Germans, entrenched along the 
Paris-Soissons railroad, Sergeant Trimble was severely 
wounded in the action for which he was decorated. 

lie lay on the held for eighteen hours, until about 
2.30 on the morning following, July 21st, when he was 
picked ii ] > by the stretcher bearers and carried back to a 
first-aid station, from which he was evacuated to Field 
Hospital No. 13, near Crepy. Here shell fragments were 
removed from the left hip on the evening of July 21st. 
Then moved to Paris, where another operation on July 
23 removed more shell fragments. On the 21-th moved to 
Base Hospital Xo. 20, at Chalet Guyon, where he remained 
six months. Sergeant Trimble cannot say enough in praise 
of this hospital, a University of Pennsylvania unit. After 
being in six army hospitals in France and in the United 
States, Sergeant Trimble is of the impression that for 
care and devotion, the officers, nurses and men of Base 
Hospital Xo. 20, excel every other unit in France of 
which he has any knowledge. Here the Distinguished 
Service Cross was pinned upon his breast with imposing 
ceremonies, for great bravery at Soissons. 

On Jan. IS, 1919, he was able to be moved to a Base 
Hospital at Perigueux, and two weeks later to Beau De- 
sert near Bordeaux, where he remained three months; then 
to Brest on April 13. In hospital there until July 23, 



MILITARY RECORDS 203 

when he embarked in the hospital bay of the S. S. Pres- 
ident Grant, arriving Kew York, May 0, 1919, twenty-one 
months from the day lie sailed for France. He had spent 
four months training in France, seven months on active 
service on the front, and ten months as a wounded patient 
in hospitals in France. 

Two weeks after arrival in the United States he was 
sent to IT. S. Army General Hospital Xo. 2, Bronx, New 
York, from which he was discharged Aug. 22, 1919, at 
his own request, though his wounds were not yet healed. 

The remarkably wise advice and excellent care of a 
Boston-Tpswich surgeon is doing the work so well, that 
on July 20, 1920, two years after receiving his Avound, 
Sergeant Trimble reports that in a few years he hopes to 
regain the use of his left leg. 

France, 31 October, 1918. 
By Courier. 
The Adjutant-General A. F. F.. 

Commanding Omeer, Base Hospital Xo. 20. 
Decorations. 

1. Forwarded herewith is one Distinguished 
Service Cross Xo. 671, which has been assigned 
to Sergeant Dana X. Trimble, Company B, 1st 
Engineers for the following act of extraordinary 
heroism in action: 

For extraordinary heroism in action near 
Soissons, France, 20 July, 1918. 

Sergt. Trimble volunteered and obtained the 
consent of his company commander to recover 
wounded from an exposed area in front of the 
lines. He went through a violent bombardment 
in the performance of this duty, three times, 
and stopped only when he himself had been se^ 
verely wounded. 

You are authorized to present this Cross to 
Sergt. Trimble in the name of the Commander- 
in-chief. 

2. Attention is called to Par. 4, Bui. 25, 
G. II. Q., A. F. F., 9 May, 1918. 



204 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Every effort will be made to accompany the 

presentation of the Cross with as impressive a 
ceremony as possible. 

By command of 

G eneral Persuing, 

Adjutant General. 

Everett Russell Tucker, born Dec. 23, 1898, at 
Ipswich. Son of Albert and Sarah Tucker. Inducted 
Oct. 1, 1018, S. A. T. C, Institute of Technology. Dis- 
charged December IS, 1918. 

William John Vera, born July 26, 1896, at Bermuda, 
Son of Frank and Florence Vera. Enlisted December, 
1917, TI. S. Naval Reserve, at -Newport, seaman, on receiv- 
ing ship U. S. S. Kimberly, a destroyer. Went overseas, 
promoted to Quartermaster, on convoy duty, engaged three 
months in patrol service, assigned to new destroyer Cowell. 
Released Feb. 18, 1919. 

Soterios Atiianasios Voulgaris, born Aug. 15, 1894, 
in Deliana, Tegea, Greece. Came to United States in 1912. 
Enlisted May 27, 1918. Sailed for France July 31, 1918. 
Returned on August 23, 1919. Discharged in September, 
1919, Quartermaster Butcher's Co. 330., 

Alfred Emerson Wade, born July 12, 1897, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Jesse IT. and Florence I. Wade. Enlisted in 
Co. II, 8th Mass. Reg. and was mustered in May II, 1917, 
in camp at LynnfLeld, where the 8th Mass. became the 
101th Reg. and at Westfield. 

Sailed from Montreal on S. S. "Scotjan", October 4, 
1917, for Halifax, and with the convoyed fleet of transports 
to Liverpool proceded to Southampton and after four days 
in rest camp to Havre, and a few days later entrained for 
Harreville in the Haute Marne. Remained here in train- 
ing camp from November 28 to February 6, 1918. En- 
trained there for Soissons and moved up to the trenches. 
Feb. 8th moved by night to Bois Montier and on the 13th 
to Antwich Farm and engaged there in digging trenches 
and setting barbed wire. From Feb. 19 to Feb. 28 in rest 
camp at Vauxresis and at Vauxillan Feb. 28 to March 6. 

November again to front line sector and on March 21 
hiked to Cuffins, next day to Soissons and entrained for Bar 



MILITARY RECORDS 



le Due and from this point made first long hike io St. Blin, 
arriving there .March 31. The march was made with full 
packs, containing two blankets, coat, raincoat, rubber boots, 
live pair of stockings, toilet articles and hard tack. Rifle, 
ammunition and entrenching tool added to the burden. 
From fifteen to twenty kilometers was made each day, the 
march beginning at S a. m. with a two minute rest after the 
first hour and live minutes after each succeeding one until 
early afternoon, when lunch was served and night quarters 
assigned or prepared. Moved bv trucks to Vertuessi, then 
to Yignaut, Fremerville and early in April to St. Agnaut, 
near the front line. On April 12 and 13 engaged in battle 
in the Apreinont Woods, under heavy shell lire for thirty- 
two hours, losing eight killed and many wounded. Relieved 
and withdrawn to Yignaut and Vertuessi where the regi- 
ment was reviewed and 117 officers and men were decorated 
by the French general with the Croix de Guerre, and the 
flag as well. Remained here two weeks stringing barbed 
wire in the dee]) woods in the rear of support trenches. 
Moved from here to Gerard-Sas and remained from May 2 
to May 9, then to the front line in the Toul sector. The 
26th Division left this sector permanently in the latter part 
of June and the 2nd Battalion of the 101th moved to Jerry 
Woods, then to Pagny and entrained on June 29. 

Returned nearly to Paris when the German advance 
caused a sudden change of plan and the Division was sent 
to the rear of the Chateau Thierry front four or five days 
days later, on the night of July 3, the order was given, 
"Roll packs and fall in." Took trucks, and three hours 
later the 2nd Battalion landed in the rear of Belleau Woods 
and moved up to Belleau Woods the following night. 

On July 9 Private Wade was taken sick, exhausted with 
the severe ordeal, and was sent to Base Hospital No. 1, 
Vichy, France. Transferred to Convalescent Camp then 
to Camp Hospital No. 26 and to Base Hospital No. 214, 
where he was transferred as an orderly. 

Sailed with patients on the Madawaska, Dec. 27, from 
St. Nazaire, landing at Newport News, Va., early in Janu- 
ary. After spending two months at the Debarkation Hos- 
pital at Hampton, Va., he was discharged March 5, 1919. 



206 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Francis Chandler Wade, Lorn March 18, 1892, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Jesse IT. and Florence I. Wade. Mustered 
in Oct. 5, 1017, at Cam]) Devens, 18th Co., 5th Training 
Battalion, 151st Depot Brigade, transferred to Camp Gor- 
don, Atlanta, Oct. 26, and assigned to Co. M, 32Cth In- 
fantry. Appointed Corporal January 12, 10 IS. 

On April 1-1- Co. M entrained for Camp Upton, Long Is- 
land, and on April 28, embarked on 8. S. Mauretania for 
Liverpool. Arrived on May 6 and proceeded to Southamp- 
ton, then to Havre, and Rest Cam]), No. 2. 

On the morning of May 11 entrained for Eu Marched, 
the next day to the little town of Lai can, where they re- 
mained until the morning of May 22, when they hiked to 
Saint Blimont, and eight days later moved to Ornival-sur- 
Mer. This was in the British area. On June 10 hiked to 
Woincourt and there entrained in French box ears for the 
Toul sector, held by the American Army. Arrived at 
Chaudenay on May IS and remained until the 20th when 
the 82 Division relieved the 26th, the Yankee Division, Co. 
M, occupying the front line at Bois Voisogne. Sent to the 
Automatic Bifle School at Bois Levesque on June 23, for a 
three weeks' course with the "Ghauchot," rejoining the 
company on July 13. Two days later Company M went 
back of the lines to the little town of Cholet, to prepare 
for a raid. They returned to Noviant August 2, hiked to 
a position in the old abandoned trenches at the right of 
Flirey, a French village which had been totally destroyed. 
At 3.55 a. m. (zero hour) Aug. 1, the French artillery 
put down a box barrage along the top of the hill in front of 
the lines, the crest of which was close to the German 
trenches. At the sonnd of the first gun the two companies 
swarmed out through the ends of the saps leading forward 
in a mad scramble up the hill, the steep slope of which was 
covered with barbed wire, shell craters and remains of old 
trenches, now blown to pieces. The raiding party pene- 
trated to a point beyond the German third line, climbing 
over and blowing their way through five separate barbed 
w 7 ire entanglements. Most of the Bodies, at the first note 
of the barrage, took to their dug-outs or fled. A few re- 
mained, however, to man the machine gnns, which were 



MILITARY RECORDS 207 

turned on the raiders. Their guns were quickly silenced, 
grenades were thrown into the dug-outs and the few sur- 
vivors threw up their hands. But the blood of the raiders 
was at fever heat and no prisoners were taken. 

Promptly at 4.50 a. m. the party returned. Company M 
had captured all the identifications that were secured, 
among which were three machine guns (the first captured 
hy the American Army) . 

After the raid Company M returned to !Noviant and on 
August 10 entrained for Dongermain, and on August 15 
the 326th Infantry relieved the 23rd Infantry, 2nd Div. 
in Foret cle Jacq, just east of Pont-a-Mousson. The 3rd 
Battalion moved into the front line where M Company took 
up the counter attack position at the northern end of the 
woods. The company remained here until Aug. 24. Prom 
Aug. 25 the Battalion was in reserve at Peime de !Naurot, 
near Livcrdun, until Sept. 1, when it returned to the Poret 
de Jacq in support at the southern end of the woods. On 
the night of the 9th it was moved again to the front, occu- 
pying the three small villages of Nbrroy, Xon and Iler- 
monville, the group being known as Les Menilo. While 
in this position on Sept. 14, Capt. Hamn of Co. M was 
killed near his P. C. in Hermonville hy a bomb dropped 
from an enemy plane. 

The St. Mihiel drive began on Sept. 18. The 82nd 
Division occupied the front position on the right flank of 
the advance. On Sept. 10 the 3rd Battalion was relieved 
by French infantry and moved back to the town of Cys- 
tines, where it remained until the 24th. The whole 326th 
Regiment was removed by French camions to Karecourt 
where it camped in the woods near Mobile Hospital !N"o. 2 
until Oct. 4. 

Just north of their position the big JVleuse-Argonne of- 
fensive had already, begun. On Oct. 4 the 326th marched 
north through the Argonne to a point four or five kilos west 
of Les Islettcs, where it camped for the night and resumed 
the march the next day to a point where the road running 
north and south through the center of the Forest crosses the 
Varennes Pour de Paris road. The 3rd Battalion spent 



208 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Oct. 8 at Ferme de Bclaise and relieved the 50 Brigade, 

28th Division, that night. 

On the morning of the 9th the 3rd Battalion went over 
the top, M and K Companies being in support and ad- 
vanced to Cote 244, southwest of Chatel-Chehery. The 
losses of the first day were very light. Remained at Pyloric 
until the 11th, when the battalion waded across the river 
Aire, waist deep, and pushed ahead under intense artillery 
fire to the culvert on the Fleeville-St. Juvin road, where 
M Company dug in. The 3rd Battalion went over the top 
again in the morning of Oct. 14 with K and M in the lead, 
advancing on the St. Juvin-St. George road under heavy 
machine fire from the front and both flanks. During this 
period a large number of machine guns and about 182 
prisoners were sent to the rear. The losses sustained by 
M Company to this date were very heavy. 

About 11 o'clock Corporal Wade felt a severe blow on his 
left shoulder and in a moment found himself rolling in the 
ditch by the road side, lie was able to withdraw to the 
dressing station where it was found that a bullet had 
passed through his shoulder. Sent to the Field Hospital 
and Base Hospital at Bazoille. He was evacuated from 
the Base Hospital eleven days afterward and sent to 
Convalescent Camp No. 2 at LifTol le Grand. He returned 
to Company M on Dec. 12 at Vesres-sous-Chalancey. On 
Feb. 11, 1019, the 82nd Division was reviewed by Gen. 
Pershing, near Prauthoy. On March 1 the 3rd Battalion 
hiked to Vaux, entrained there for Cerons and hiked to 
Loupiac, where it remained until April 22, hiked then to 
Langoiran, then to Embarkation Camp jSTo. 1 near Bor- 
deaux, quarantined at Pauillac from April 27 to May 24, 
when it sailed for home on the U. S. S. Eurana, and landed 
at Hoboken on June G. Discharged from Camp Devens 
June 13, 1919. 

Roy Appleton Waite, born July 20, 1891. Son of 
Waylard and Mary Waite. Enlisted in the Merchant Ma- 
rine, April, 1918. Served on the Gov. Cobb as 1st Class 
Fireman and later as oiler and made an instructor in firing. 
Discharged April, 1919. 



MILITARY RECORDS 



209 



Brainaed Cameron" Wallace., born August 4, 1890, at 
Hamilton. Son of William C. and Rachel M. Wallace. 
Enlisted August, 1918, in Merchant Marine and trained on 
S. S. Meade, S. S. Gov. Dingley, and S. S. Calvin Austin. 
Assigned to S. S. Atlantus and made a round trip from 
!N~ew York to the West Indies. Released February, 1919. 

Dennison Clarke Wallace., born Dec. 13, 1897, at 
Hamilton. Son of William C. and Rachel M. Wallace. 
Enlisted in 191G and went to the Mexican border, first 
class private, Co. IT, 8th Mass. Regiment. Called to the 
colors July 25, 1917, at Lynufield. Mustered into Federal 
Service Aug. 5, Co. C, 104th Reg. at Westfield and ap- 
pointed Corporal. 

Sailed on S. S. Scotian from Montreal Oct. 4, 1917, for 
Liverpool and proceeded to Southampton and Havre and 
to training camp at Sartes. In February moved to Sois- 
sons in the Chernin des Dames sector and remained there 
a month ; then by train to Ravsur Aube, and by three days' 
hike to Remaucourt. 

On Easter Sunday moved in trucks to the Toul sector, 
where engaged in patrol duty in the trenches for three 
months. Then went to the relief of the Marines at Bellcau 
Woods. Held the position seven days, the company suffer- 
ing many casualties. Engaged in the Chateau Thierry 
drive July 18, went from this point to Ohatillion and re- 
mained in this sector about three weeks, filling up the ranks 
with replacements. In the St. Mihiel drive Sept. and 
remained there about ten days, then to the Meuse-Argonne 
and Verdun, and remained there until the armistice, 
Nov. 11. 

Removed to Daminartin for two months drilling and 
training, then to Le Grand Luce where the regiment was in- 
spected and prepared to return. Hiked to Le Mans, en- 
trained for Brest, returned on S. S. Mt. Vernon. Dis- 
charged April 28, 1919. 

Dennis Joseph Wauner, born Oct. 8, 1897, at Caribou, 
Maine. Son of Oliver and Claudia Warner. Enlisted in 
Co. II, 8th Mass., June 24, 191G, and went to the Mexican 



210 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Border; called to the Colors July 25, 1917. Mustered in 
to the Federal Service August 5, 1017, the 8th Mass. be- 
ing merged in the 104th Reg., National Guard, in Cam]) at 
Lynnfiekl, then at Westfield, and sailed from Montreal on 
S. S. Scotian Oct. 4, 1917. At Liverpool Oct. 24 and by 
way of Southampton 24th and Havre Oct. 29 to the train- 
ing camp at Harreville. 

Detached from camp Dec. 4 and sent as British officer's 
orderly and interpreter to Millan, Nord Prance, to British 
school for training in machine gun and trench mortar, and 
then to the British front at Pasquendale, near Ypres. Sent 
back to his company at Harreville Dec. 27 and later de- 
tailed for two weeks to the running school where Harvard 
and Yale athletes trained men in cross country running. 

He was with Co. II in its advance to Soissons and its 
subsequent movements and was detailed as a runner from 
the time when the front line was taken until he was ap- 
pointed Corporal, Oct. 19, 1918. At Apremont he acted 
as Second Battalion runner and was commended for brav- 
ery in this battlee. 

Headquarters 26tti Division. 
American Expeditionary Eorce. 

France, May 13, 1918. 

General Orders. 

~No. 40. Extract. 

1. On April 2, 1918, the 104th Infantry oc- 
cupied the Bois Brule sector and between that 
date and April 14 they were attacked and raided 
by the enemy in superior numbers and with vio- 
lent artillery bombardment, especially April 10 
to 13, inclusive. The regiment has already been 
mentioned in Orders and decorated by the Corps 
Commander for its gallant conduct. Many of 
the men have also received Croix de Guerre, and 
in addition to which, in behalf of the 26th Divi- 
sion, I commend the following named officers and 
enlisted men serving with this command for gal- 



MILITARY RECORDS 211 

lantry and especially meritorious services in ac- 
tion against the enemy from April 2 to 14, 1918. 
Pri v ate Dennis J. Warner, Company IT, 
101th Infantry. 

By Command of 

Major General Edwards,, 
Duncan K. Ma job, Jr., 

Lieut. Col. Infantry, 
Chief of Staff. 
This was followed by a second personal commendation at 
a later date. 

Pvt. Dennis J. Warner, 
Co. II, 104th Infantry. 
I have read with much pleasure the reports of 
your regimental commander and brigade com- 
mander regarding your gallant conduct and devo- 
tion to duty in the field on April 2-14, 1918, 
while attacked by superior numbers under heavy 
enemy fire — Tout Sector — 

and have ordered your name and deed to be en- 
tered in the record of the 

Yankee Division, 
C. R. Edwards, 
Major General, 
Commanding 26th Division. 
At the second battle of the Marne at Chateau Thierry, 
Private Warner ran alone by day but with a running mate 
by night, keeping liaison between the 102nd and 104th 
regiments and remained with the 102nd until July 28, re- 
turning then to his company. He completed the campaign 
without a wound in the St. Mihiel drive and the Verdun 
sector, and when the armistice was signed he was the only 
Ipswich man remaining in Co. IT, all the rest having been 
sent to hospital for wounds or illness. After the armistice 
the 104th hiked two days to Bon court, then to St. Mars in 
the Sarthe Department. 
Discharged April 28, 1919. 

Wilfred Warner, born July 15, 1896, at Salem, Mass. 
Son of Oliver and Claudia Warner. Enlisted March 21, 



212 



MILITARY RECORDS 



1917, in the IT. S. 1\ T . B. F. and served at the United 
States Naval Training Station at the Great Lakes. Later 
served as coxswain on the U. S. S. Michigan, and was 
released from active duty August 22, 1010. 

Edwaed Tyler Wells, Lorn May 24, 1804, at Ipswich. 
Son of Edward E. and Grace W. Wells. Enlisted in U. S. 
1ST. R. E. April 18, 1917, at Boston as 2nd Class Machin- 
ist Mate. Stationed at Commonwealth Pier for two weeks 
then transferred to Norfolk, Ya. Shipped on the U. S. S. 
Delaware which was being used as a receiving ship at York 
River. July 1, 1017, transferred to the U. S. S. Kearsarge 
for training, remaining there till Aug. 1, 1017. 

Sailed on IT. S. S. Agamemnon the latter part of Aug- 
ust for Brest, carrying troops numbering about 4,000 up 
to the time the armistice was signed. Made ten round 
trips to Brest with United States troops. In the fall of 
1018 was promoted to 1st class engineman. 

After the armistice was signed made five trips to Brest 
in transport service, making fifteen trips in all. duly 8, 
1010, sailed on IT. S. S. Ballard fur the Azores, then to 
Brest, France, Harwich, England, Hamburg, Germany, 
and through the Kiel Canal to Dantzig l Germany, Copen- 
hagen, Denmark, then to Calais and Dover, England, back 
to Harwich, and then to Brest. Transferred from Brest to 
a receiving ship and returned to the United States on the 
transport Mercury. Honorably released from active duty 
'Nor. 10, 1010. 

Albert E. Welsh, born in Gloucester Mass., January 
0, 1 870. Son of Roderick and Christina Welsh. Came to 
Ipswich in 1805. Engaged in business until 1015. Studied 
law at the Northeastern College of Law of the Boston Y. 
M. C. A. Graduated with the^ degree of L. B. in 1011. 
Practised law in Ipswich. Appointed Associate Justice of 
the Third District Court of Essex County on April 21, 
1015. Enrolled in the Soldier AVelfare Work with the 
Knights of Columbus' Soldier Welfare Service Branch. 
Arrived in Erance in 101S. Assigned to the Slst Combat 
Division, under Major Gen. Charles J. Bailey at Verdun. 
This Division was known as the Wild Cat Division and was 
composed mostly of Southern troops. The Division parti- 



MILITARY RECORDS 213 

cipated in active fighting during the closing days of the war 
and was in action on the morning of November 10, 1918, 
and lost heavily in officers and men, hilled and wounded. 
This Knights of Columbus contingent was complimented 
by Major Gen. Bailey for service rendered to officers and 
men. After the signing of the armistice the Division re- 
tired to Mussey-Sur-Seine, remaining with the Division at 
this point until it left for home. Arrived in Ipswich in 
March, 1010. 

Daniel Stone Wendee, horn Sept. 21, 1S00, in Ips- 
wich. Son of Theodore and Lena Wendel. Mustered in 
October 28, 1018, at Paris Island, S. C, Marine Corps. 
Transferred later to Brooklyn Navy Yard. At Paris Is- 
land he made the highest score for rifle shooting with 282 
out of a possible 300 hits. He was one of the team of nine 
men who represented the Marines stationed at the Brook- 
lyn Navy Yard at a competitive shoot held at Quantico, 
Ya. lie was later assigned to duty at Caldwell, N. J. and 
assisted in constructing a rifle range at that place. Dis- 
charged Sept. 2, 1910, from the Marine Barracks, Phila- 
delphia Navy Yard. 

Joseph Leo Wilivinson, born March 11, 1805, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Harry and Jessie Wilkinson. Mustered in 
April 20, 1018, at Camp Devens, 301 Infantry. 

Sailed from New York July 5, 1018, on S. S. "Cedric" 
for Liverpool and on arrival proceded to rest camp at Kom- 
sey for two days, then to Southampton and Havre, and the 
Classification Camp at St. Arnand. Assigned there to 
Medical Corps, 301 Hospital Detachment, and remained 
until August 3, removed there to Farges for fifteen or 
twenty days, and to the classification camp at St. Aignan, 
and w r as stationed there when the armistice was signed. 

Transferred to Camp Hospital, 03, at Clamecy, (Dept. 
Nevers) and in April, 1010, to Antwerp, where the First 
American Hospital in Belgium was located. 

Sailed from Antwerp July 20, 1010, on U. S. S. "Pow- 
hatan", landed at Brest three days later, and after four 
days' stay proceded to St. Sulpice, and remained until 
September 7. Returned to Brest and sailed September 16 
on S. S. "Sol Mavis." Landed at New York Sept. 26. 



214 



MILITARY RECORDS 



At Camp Merritt and discharged from Cam]) Dix, 1ST. Y., 
October 3, 1919. 

Arthur Harold Wilson, born Aug. 11, 1891, in Ips- 
wich. Son of Joseph R. and Annie M. Wilson. Enlisted 
May 21, 1917, Co. II, 8th Mass. Reg. Mustered in Aug. 
5, 1917, Co. IT. 104th Reg. in camp at Lynnfield and at 
Westfield, assigned to Supply Co. 

He sailed from Hoboken, Sept. 27, on S. S. Lapland, 
and proceeded from Liverpool to Southampton and Havre. 
Crossing the Channel in a cattle boat, protected by nets 
and an expert gunner, two German submarines attempted 
an attack but were caught in the nets and towed into 
Havre. The winter was spent in camp at Harreville. On 
February 9, 1918, the Regiment moved to the trenches at 
Soissons and was on the front at Chemin des Dames three 
weeks. Entrained from Soissons and after leaving the train 
hiked five days under heavy packs to Vignaut, then to 
Vertuessi and to reserve line at Girondeville near Apre- 
mont. Mr. Wilson was engaged in bringing up ammuni- 
tion at night under constant shell fire. He had part in the 
Review before the French generals, when, decorations were 
given and the liag was decorated. 

Two weeks at Vertuessi and then the return toward 
Paris was checked and they were called to the rear of the 
Chateau Thierry front, where they relieved the Gth Ma- 
rines who had checked the rush of the Germans toward 
Paris. They remained in this front about three weeks and 
after a fortnight in rest camp had part in the St. Mihiel 
drive, Sept. 12 and 13, and then to Verdun, where they 
were in action all the time until the armistice. Four 
members of the Supply Company were killed and three or 
four gassed. 

Sailed from Brest March 27 on Mt. Vernon. Discharged 
April 28, 1919. 

Henry Everett Wilson, born Aug. 1, 1S9G, at Ips- 
wich. Son of Joseph R. and Annie Wilson. Enlisted 
July 12, 1918, at Boston, in Engineer Reserve. In ser- 
vice from July 12 to 'Nov. 4, 19 IS, Engineer Reserve, on 
inactive duty; from Nov. 4, 1918, to Feb. 1, 1919, Engi- 
neer Officers Training School, Camp Humphreys, Va. 



MILITARY RECORDS 



215 



Commissioned Feb. 1, 1919, as 2nd Lieutenant, Engineer 
Officers Reserve Corps. Discharged Feb. 1, 1919. 

Lester Lewis Wood, born Sept. 1, 1894, at Lynn. Son 
of Libie J. and Edith M. Wood. Mustered in June 4, 
1917, private Signal Corps, 104th Keg., 52nd Brigade. 
Transferred to private, Headquarters Co., 104th Reg. 

Sailed Sept. 27, 1917, on S. S. Lapland for Liverpool 
and proceded to Southampton and Havre to the training 
camp at Ilarreville, where he remained until Feb. 4, 1918. 
Moved then to the Soissons front and remained there until 
March 14, when he was taken sick and was in hospital un- 
til March 28. Then ordered to Chaurnont and transferred 
to 107 Motor Su^- 1 ^ Train. Went to the Belfort sector in 
Alsace-Lorraine with the 32nd Division, Sergeant, Co. E, 
107 Motor Sunnlv Train, then to Chateau Thierry to the 
Soisson sector and after a ten day rest at Joinville, to the 
Argonne Forest and the Mense-Argonne, Sept. 22 to 'Nov. 
11. After the armistice advanced with the Army of Occu 
pation to Eengsdorf, forty miles east of the Rhine, and 
remained there until April 23, when return was begun to 
Brest. 

Sailed from Brest May 7, 1919, on U. S. Battleship 
Virginia for Newport News. At Camp Hill and Camp 
Devens and discharged May 29, 1919. 

Carl Greenleaf Woodbury, born Sept. 28, 1892, at 
Ipswich. Son of Loring and Evelyn Woodbury. Enlisted 
in the Merchant Marine April, 1918, under the United 
States Shipping Board and trained on*the S. S. Gov. Cobb. 
He was sent to New York and served on steamers running 
from New York to Havana and Colon. On May 13, 1919, 
he received a license as a Mate on steam vessels on any 
waters or on any rivers. Discharged July 17, 1919. 

Albert Clarence Wright, born at South Acton, 
Mass., Eel). 22, 1888. Son of Olin L. and Mary Wright. 

Entered service from Ipswich Aug. 13, 19 IS, and was 
sent to Fort Slocnm and later to Camp McClellan. 

Served with Headquarters Co., 35th F. A., 12th Divi- 
sion, and was honorably discharged at Camp Devens, Feb. 
3, 1919. 



„Jn flDemoviam<„ 



RODNEY G. BAMFORD 

Go. B, 345th Bat., 311th Tank Corps 
Died September 28, 1918, at The Argonne Forest 

FRANK A. BARNEY 

Co. H, 8th Mass. Inf. 
Died July 24, 1918, at Salem Hospital 

PAUL CHAPUT 

U. S. Navy 
Died September 30, 1918, torpedoed on the U. S. S. Ticonderoga 

JAMES CLARK 

Co. D, 310th Inf., 78th Div. 
Died September 18, 1918, in the St. Mihiel Drive 

JAMES F. DOLAN 

U. S. Navy 
Died January 13, 1917, at Pensacola, Florida 

ARTHUR DRAPEAU 

Bat. E, Supply Co., 101st F. A. 
Died December 22, 1917, at the Long Island Hospital 

SAMUEL A. KILBORN 

U. S. C. G. 
Died February 22, 1919, at Ipswich 



JOHN M. LUCZKO 

5th Ammunition Train 
Died March 1918, at Houston, Texas 



•••In fll>emovfam„. 



JOSEPH L. MARTEL 

U. S. Navy 
Died September 30, 1918, torpedoed on the U. S. S. Ticonderogc 

JOSEPH H. MURRAY 

Co. L. 39th Inf., 4th Div. 
Died August 8, 1918, at Chateau Thierry 

RUSSELL S. MURRAY 

Headquarters Co., 101st Eng. 
Died September 20, 1918, in the St. Mihiel Drive 



MICHAEL OLEHOVIK 

Co. K, 38th Inf. 
Died November 3, 1919, in France 



ANGEL PAPPAS 

Co. A, 38ih Inf. 
Died June 4, 1918, in France 

CHESTER SCAHILL 

Co. H, 104th Inf., 26th Div. 
Died September 5, 1918, at St. Dizier, France 



FRANCIS A. WOOD 

99th Squadron, British Independent Air Force 
Died September 13, 1918, in France 



THE RECORD OF THE MEN OF 
APPLETON FARMS 



The work of the compiler is in a class by itself. It is 
not his place to make comments, draw conclusions, nor 
point out "glittering generalities." His concern is to see 
that his material is properly classified and that it bears 
evidence of a strict regard for the truth and. accuracy of 
all that he brings together. When this is clone he considers 
his work completed, and is usually satisfied when this is 
accomplished. 

But in this particular instance there is something so 
unusual and out of the ordinary, rather, that is so excep- 
tional, and so grand, and noble in its historical bearing, 
that the compiler will be forgiven if he essays to go beyond 
the ordinary limits of his work. And that is to make a 
simple comment concerning the record of a single family 
in connection with the great World War — the record of the 
descendants of General James Appleton, Avho was born in 
this town in 17 85, and of which family our esteemed 
fellow townsman, Francis II. Appleton, is at present the 
nominal head. 

If you will go over these records, you will find that no 
fewer than twenty-two — more than a score of those 
directly related to him — took part in this great struggle 
for democracy. What a glorious record ! Does anyone 
question the sincerity of such patriotism ? Can it be ex- 
ceeded anywhere? We take a just pride in their work; 
but a deeper satisfaction in the noble spirit that prompted 
such conduct, and in the exalted place the} r have won in 
the annals of this town. 

This is the result of no spasmodic impulse. No fleeting 
enthusiasm or temporary excitement held any place here. 
Such would not be true to the traditions of this family, 
which has been associated with the history of Ipswich for 

(218) 



MILITARY RECORDS 



219 



nearly three hundred years, and has taken an active part 
in all our struggles for human liberty. But why comment 
further. What they have helped to accomplish is known 
by all and will endure to the last. 

We should be ungrateful indeed if we failed to mention 
the supreme sacrifice made by the one who is truly, and in 
a double sense, still on the "other side." His work was 
nobly done, and his spirit is still marching on. His 
kindly, personal interest in the people and the affairs of 
this town, even to the last, will not fail of a grateful appre- 
ciation, but will remain with us always as a sacred 
memory. To Erahcis Applcton Wood the Father has said 
"well done," and has welcomed him home. 

Joseph II. Horton. 



$>v 



SERVICE RECORD OF THE MEN 
OF APPLETON FARMS 



Charles L. Appletox. See previous record. 

Francis R. A. Appletox, Jr. See previous record. 

James W. Appletox, Jr. See previous record. 

Charles Sumner Bird, Jr., son of Charles Sumner 
Bird and Anna Child Bird. Born September 29, 1884. 
Harvard, A. B. 1900. Married, November 10, 1917, 
Julia Appleton, second daughter of Randolph Morgan and 
Helen Mixter Appleton. 

Attended Officers' Training Camp (New England Divi- 
sion) at Plattsburg Barracks, N". Y., May 12 to August 
15, 1917. Commissioned Captain of Field Artillery 
Officers' Reserve Corps, August 15, 1917. Ordered to 
duty at Camp Devens, Mass. Assigned to the 303rd 
Field Artillery and placed in command of the Supply 
Company, August 27, 1917. Sailed overseas July 8, 
1918, with the 151st Field Artillery Brigade, which had 
formerly been a part of the 76th (Replacement) Division. 
Trained at Souges and Aubieres, France, until November, 
1918. In action just prior to the armistice in the sector 
near Verdun, the 303rd Regiment being equipped with 
155 mm. G. P. F. guns. After the armistice the 101st 
Field Artillery Brigade was attached to IX Corps, with 
headquarters at St. Mihiel. Detached from 303rd Field 
Artillery Regiment in March, 1918, on its return to the 
United States, and discharged in Liverpool, April, 1918. 

Lewis Le Boupgeois Ctiapix, son of Robert W. Chapin 
and Adele Le Bourgeois Chapin. Born December G, IS 84. 
Married, January 7, 1910, Julia Appleton Tuckerman, 
second daughter of Charles Saunders and Ruth Appleton 
Tuckerman. Yale, A. B. 1905. 

September 2, 1918, commissioned 2nd Lieutenant Motor 
Transport Corps. September 2-4 to December 2, 1918, in 
training in Training Brigade, Motor Transport Corps, 
Motor Company ~No. 1, at Camp Joseph E. Johnston, 
Jacksonville, Florida. Discharged December 2, 1918. 

(220) 



MILITARY RECORDS 



221 



Evans Dick, Jr., son of Evans Rogers Dick, Jr., and 

Elizabeth Tatham Dick. Born December IT, 1888. Mar- 
ried, July 22, 1911, Joan Tuckennan, daughter of Bay- 
ard and Annie Smith Tnckerman. 

Commissioned Ensign in U. S. Naval Reserve, May 10, 
1917. Resigned and re-commissioned in the IT. S. Navy 
as Ensign September 15, 19 IT. Promoted to Lieutenant 
(junior grade) June 16, 1918. Promoted to Lieutenant 
U. S. N.' September 21, 1918. In command U. S. S. 0. 
3G from January 16, 1918, until June T, 1919. Sailed 
for foreign waters April 25, 1918. On duty in English 
Channel. In command Division 4, later Unit 4 U. S. 
Submarine Chasers. On active service English Channel, 
West Coast Prance, Lands End and Bristol Channel, 
May, 1918, until armistice, November 11, 1918. 

Met II. E. G. N. S. U-53 with unit under his command, 
U. S. S. Parker in support, on September I, 1918, abont 
400 miles west (true) from Ushant. Chased and dam- 
aged said LT-53, causing enemy to return to base in Ger- 
many without completing her tour of duty. U-53 unable 
to resume active operations before the signing of armis- 
tice terms, and turned over to the Allies according to 
terms of the armistice still in damaged condition. Sailed 
for home, leaving Plymouth, England, February, 1919, 
visiting Brest, Erance ; Lisbon, Portugal ; Azores, Ber- 
muda, Charleston, S. G, New York, X. Y., and Boston, 
Mass. Resigned commission in IT. S. Navy, June T, 1919. 
Awarded Navy Cross but award held up pending investi- 
gation by Committee of Congress and findings of said com- 
mittee, as yet not published. 

William McIntiee Elkins, son of George W. Elkins 
and Stella Mclntire Elkins. Born September 3, 1882. 
Harvard, A. B. 1905. Married, June 10, 1905, Eliza- 
beth AVolcott Tuckerman, eldest daughter of Bayard and 
Annie Smith Tuckerman. 

Commissioned Lieutenant (junior grade) U. S. Naval 
Reserve Eorce, July 1, 19 IT, and assigned to duty at 
Washington, D. C, in the office of Naval Intelligence. 
Promoted Lieutenant June 24, 1918. Discharged Decem- 
ber 15, 1918. 





CHARLES S. BIRD JR. 



WILLIAM G. WENDELL 





FRANCIS A. WOOD 



WILLIAM L. WOOD 



MILITARY RECORDS 223 

Clarence Leonard Hay, son of John Hay and Clara 
Stone Hay. Born December, 1884. Harvard,' A. 13. 1008. 
Married, August 5, 1914, Alice Appleton, second daughter 
of Francis Randall and Fanny Lanier Appleton. 

Served from the outbreak of the War until August, 
1917, as an assistant in the section of the Xew York Police 
Department charged with combating German activities, 
and in the New York office of the Military Intelligence 
Division of the War Department. Commissioned Second 
Lieutenant of Infantry, National Army, August 5, 1917. 
Assigned to duty in Washington, D. C, April, 1918, and 
after six weeks ordered to duty at the American Embassy, 
Mexico City, as assistant military attache. Promoted 
First Lieutenant of Infantry July 26, 1918. Discharged 
at Washington, D. C, February 8, 1919. 

Lydig Hoyt, son of Gerald Livingston Hoyt and Mary 
Appleton Hoyt. Porn December 27, 1S83. Yale, A. P. 
1900. Married, June 3, 1914, Julia Kobbins. 

Attended Officers Training Camp at Plattsburg Par- 
racks, Jf. Y., May 12 to August 15, 1917. Commissioned 
Second Lieutenant of Field Artillery, National Army, 
August 15, 1917. Ordered to duty at Camp Upton, ]S T . Y. 
Assigned to the 305th Field Artillery and on duty with 
that regiment September 1, 1917, to May, 1918." Pro- 
moted First Lieutenant January, 1918. Sailed overseas 
May 10, 1918, on U. S. S. Wilhelmina. Trained wiljh 
regiment at Camp de Souge, near Bordeaux ; detailed as 
balloon observer and trained as such for two weeks, when 
detached by order of G. H. Q. for duty as liaison officer. 
Attached to staff of Commanding General (French) 10th 
Pegion, with headquarters at Orleans, June 17, 1918. 
July 18 transferred to staff of 38th Army Corps (French) 
with headquarters at Vieils Maisons near Chateau 
Thierry. Served with that corps and with I and III 
American Corps, through the second battle of the Marne. 
Transferred to Headquarters 1st American Army August 
20, and on duty with operations section (G-3) of their 
staff until ^November 4, 1918. Transferred that date to 
Headquarters, Group of Armies of the East (French), 
but the armistice intervening, did not report there for 





SAMUEL A. WELDON 



ALFRED V. KIDDER 



1 •' 






. 






\ ' fe 


■% - 






W^gk^^Sf '■:,'* 






^ ,JrO ',;; ' Ji 


'■■■>■ ■'! 










_ 

■' 




\ - 







LYDIG HOYT 



JOHN COTTON SMITH 



MILITARY RECORDS 225 

duty. After serving as attache to the American Peace 
Conference from December, 1018, to February, 1919, re- 
turned home on IT. S. S. DeKalb early in March, 1919, 
and was discharged March 13, 1919. 

Alfred Vincent Kidder, son of Alfred Kidder and 
Kate Dalliba Kidder. Born October 29, 18S5. Harvard, 
A. B. 1908, Ph. D. 1913. Married, September 6, 1910, 
Madeleine Appleton, eldest daughter of Randolph Morgan 
and Helen Mixter Appleton. 

Attended Second Officers' Training Camp at the Pre- 
sidio, San Francisco, California, August 25 to November 
27, 1917. Commissioned First Lieutenant of Infantry, 
Officers Reserve Corps, November 27, 1917. Assigned to 
91st Division, Camp Lewis, American Lake, Washington; 
reported for duty December 15, 1917. Served with 3G4th 
Infantry and at Divisional School of Intelligence until 
April 1, 1918, when appointed aide-de-camp to Brigadier 
General F. S. Foltz, commanding lS2nd Infantry Brigade. 
Sailed for France June 28, 1918, on S. S. Cretic. Trained 
with 91st Division in Chaumont area. August 29, 1918, 
was relieved as aide and assigned to Divisional Intelli- 
gence Office as assistant G-2. Present with the Division 
in St. Mihiel, Meuse-Argonne and Ypres-Lys (Belgium) 
offensives ; at St. Mihiel was observer with the French 
2nd Colonial Army Corps. Promoted Captain Infantry, 
October 27, 1918. Sailed for the United States April 6, 
1919, on S. S. Calamares. Discharged April 19, 1919. 
Received the Cross of the Legion of Honor (Chevalier) 
from the French Government, June 4, 1919. 

John Stanley Parker, son of Francis S. Parker and 
Harriet A. Parker. Born January 15, 1890. Harvard, 
A. B. 1913. Married, October's, 1914, Violet Otis 
Thayer, daughter of Bev. William Greenough and Violet 
Otis Thayer. Enlisted in TJ. S. Naval Beserve Force 
March 22, 1918. Served on U. S. S. Calhoun from June 
10, 1918, to April 22, 1919. Commissioned Ensign, De- 
cember 24, 1918. Placed on inactive duty April 22, 1919. 

George Browne Post, Jr., son of George B. Post and 



i 




BAYARD TUCKERMAN JR. 




CLARENCE L. HAY 



MILITARY RECORDS 227 

Julia Smith Post. Born February 3, 1S90. Harvard, 
1907-1911. Married, 1916, Irene Langhorne Gibson. 

Attended Enlisted Men's Artillery School at Fort Myer, 
Va., in August, 1017. Transferred as a cadet to the 
Aviation School at San Antonio, Texas, November, 1918. 
Commissioned Second Lieutenant Signal Corps, February 
1, 1918. After completing the course at the Aviation 
School in Atlanta, Georgia, assigned to the S3rd Aero 
Squadron stationed at Rantoul, Illinois, as squadron com- 
mander. Ordered to duty at Langley Field, Hampton, 
Virginia, and later ordered on detached service to Brind- 
ley Field, Commack, L. I., N. Y., and assigned as Post 
Adjutant. Discharged December 10, 1918. 

John Cotton Smith, son of Rev. Roland Cotton Smith 
and Margaret Otis Smith. Bom July 1(3, 1SS7. Mar- 
ried Isabel Townsend Labouisse, November 29, 1917. 

Attended Second Officers' Training Camp at Fort Myer, 
Virginia, August 27 to November 27, 1917. Commis- 
sioned Second Lieutenant of Infantry, National Army, 
November 27, 1917. Sailed overseas August G, 1918, 
with 831st Provisional Company of Infantry Replacement 
Troops. Duty in the A. E. F. as automatic rifle officer, 
2nd Battalion', 331st Infantry, 83rd (Replacement) Divi- 
sion. Returned to the United States January 16, 1919, 
sailing from Brest on S. S. Caronia, with 331st Infantry. 
Discharged at Camp Upton, N. Y., February 3, 1919. 

Bayaed Tuckerman, Jr., son of Bayard Tuckerman 
and Annie Smith Tuckerman. Born April 19, 1889. 
Harvard, 1909-1911. Married, June 20, 1910, Phyllis 
Sears. 

Attended First Training Regiment, Officers' Training 
Camp at Plattsburg Barracks in August, 1915. Attended 
First Officers' Training Camp at Plattsburg Barracks, 
[May 12 to August 15, 1917, and Second Officers' Training 
Camp at the sarnie place from August 27 to November 27, 
1917. Commissioned Second Lieutenant of Infantry, 
National Army, November 27, 1917. Transferred to 
Q. M. C. and assigned to the Remount Division. 



228 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Sailed overseas on IT. S. S. Van Steuben, June 25, 

1917. While with the A. E. F. on duty as Assistant Re- 
mount- Officer, advanced section S. 0. S. ; as Assistant 
Remount Officer First Army; as Assistant Remount Offi- 
cer 1st Corps; as Remount Officer 77th Division. Pro- 
moted First Lieutenant in September, 1019. Returned to 
the United States on S. S. Canopic, arriving February 20, 
1919. Discharged February 25, 1919. 

Rev. William Greenough Thayer, son of Robert 
Hilly er Thayer and Hannah Appleton Thayer. Born 
December 24, 1SG3. Amherst, A. B. 1885 ; Columbia, 
A. M. 190G; Amherst, D. D. 1907. Married, June 1, 
1S91, Violet Otis. Commissioned Chaplain 13th Infan- 
try, Massachusetts State Guard, January 1918, with rank 
of Captain. Discharged January, 1919. 

James Appleton Thayer, third son of Rev. William 
Greenough Thayer and Violet Otis Thayer. Born May 
20, 1899. Student at Amherst in the' Class of 1921. 
Attended Students Army Training Camp there October, 

1918. Ordered to Central Officers Training School at 
Camp Lee, Virginia, November 10, 1918. After com- 
pleting the three months course received a commission as 
Second Lieutenant of Infantry in the Officers Reserve 
Corps and was discharged February 15, 1919. 

Siqourney Thayer, second son of William Greenough 
Thayer and Violet Otis Thayer. Born March 24, 1S9G. 
Amherst, A. B. 1918. 

Enlisted in Massachusetts Volunteer Militia 1916, and 
served in Battery A, First Field Artillery. Transferred 
to study aviation at Institute of Technology, June, 1917. 
Sent to Mt. Clemens, Michigan, then to Aviation Camp 
at Lake Charles, La., for training, and then to Mineola, 
where he received his commission as 1st Lieutenant TJ. S. 
Air Service, November, 1917. 

Sailed overseas from .New York, March 3, 1918, on 
S. S. Leviathan. Trained in France at the flying school 
at Issoudin. Went to the front and served as a pilot from 
June 7 until the armistice, with the 12th Aero Squadron, 
1st Observation Group, as follows: June 7 to 30 Bacca- 



MILITARY RECORDS 



229 



rat sector, Alsace, with the 42nd and 77th Divisions; 
June 30 to mid- August, Chateau Thierry ; September, St. 
Mihiel; September-October, Meuse-Argonne offensive. 
Flight Commander in the 12th Aero Squadron. In the 
middle of October was transferred to the 95th Aero 
Squadron, which was a pursuit squadron. Served as a 
pilot in this from October 15 to November 11, 19 IS. Re- 
ceived a citation from the First Army (II. S.), dated 
September 13, 191S: "For gallantry in action near St. 
Mihiel, France, 13 September, 1918, while on a recon- 
naisance." 

William Greenough Thayer, Jr., eldest son of Rev. 
William Greenough Thayer and Violet Otis Thayer. 
Born June 18, 1893. Amherst, A. E. 1915. 

Attended Officers Training Camp (New England Divi- 
sion) at Plattsburg Barracks, E"ew York, May 12 to Au- 
gust 15, 1917. August 15, 1917, commissioned Second 
Lieutenant of Infantry, Officers Reserve Corps, and or- 
dered to duty at Camp Devens, Mass. Assigned to 151st 
Depot Brigade. Later detailed as instructor in Officers 
Training School, January, February and March, 1918. 
Sailed overseas July, 1918, on S. S. Durham Castle, from 
Halifax. Assigned to the 301st Infantry of the 76th 
(Replacement) Division. December 1, 1918, to March 1, 
1919, on duty with Prisoner of War Escort Company at 
Verneuil. Assigned to French University at Montpellier, 
March 1 to July 1, 1919. Discharged in France July 15, 
1919. 

William Greenough Wendell, son of Barrett Wen- 
dell and Edith Greenough Wendell. Born November 11, 
1888. Harvard, A. B. 1909. Married, October 7, 1914, 
Ruth Appleton, eldest daughter of Francis Randall and 
Fanny Lanier Appleton. 

September 16, 1918, accepted a commission as First 
Lieutenant of Infantry U. S. Army, the commission being 
dated August 16, 1918. Assigned to duty with the Ser- 
vice of Supply in the Section (Intelligence) of the Gen- 
eral Staff, with a station in Paris. Engaged entirely in 
counter-espionage work. After November 11, 1918, the 



230 



MILITARY RECORDS 



date of the armistice, relieved from duty with G-2 and 
detailed as assistant to Air. J. C. Grew, Secretary of the 
American Commission to negotiate peace. On duty with 
Mr. Grew until the date of discharge, January G, 1 i J 1 i ) . 

Samuel Alfred Welldon, son of John William Well- 
don and Janet Hume (Turnbull) Welldon. Born Sep- 
tember 28, 1882. Harvard, A. B. 1904, LL. B. 1018. 
Married, September 10, 1911, Julia Marion Hoyt, (laugh- 
ter of Gerald Livingston and Alary Appleton Hoyt. 

Attended Second Training Camp at Plattsburg Bar- 
racks, August 25 to November 27, 1917. Commissioned 
Captain of Field Artillery, Officers Reserve Corps, No- 
vember 27, 1917. Served as Captain 308th Field Artil- 
lery, Camp Dix, N. J., at Fort Sill, Okla., and in the 
American Expeditionary Forces. Sailed from New York 
overseas on R. M. S. Cedric, May 30, 1918, returning on 
U. S. S. Huron, arriving at Newport News September 2, 
1918. Promoted Major Field Artillery, TJ. S. A., with 
rank from July 30, 1918. Commanded Yale Unit, Stu- 
dents Army Training Corps, New Haven, Conn., Septem- 
ber 15, 1918, to date of discharge, December 20, 1918. 

Francis Appleton Wood, youngest son of Chalmers 
Wood and Ellen Appleton Smith Wood. Born at Briar 
Hill, Ipswich, Mass., June 2, 1894-. Columbia, A. B. 
1910. Killed in action September 13, 1918. 

Educated first at the Cutler School in New York City 
and afterwards at St. Mark's School, Southboro, Mass., 
from which school he graduated in June, 1912. He 
entered Columbia University the following autumn, and 
was graduated from there in February, 191G. 

In February, 1910, he enlisted as a private in Com- 
pany K of the 7th Regiment of the New York National 
Guard, and in June of that year went with that regiment 
to the Mexican border, where he served until March, 1917. 
While in service on the Mexican border with the Seventh 
Regiment, he was promoted Second Lieutenant of Infan- 
try and assigned to the 69th Regiment, N. G. N. Y., and 
returned with it to the City of New York. In July, 1917, 
he resigned his commission in the National Guard in order 



MILITARY RECORDS -31 

to become an aviator in the United States Army. Having 
been transferred to that branch of the service he was sent 
to the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Septem- 
ber of that year for ground training, and while there was 
appointed Right Wing Commander, the highest position 
attainable by a student in aviation at that Training School. 
Upon his graduation therefrom in October, 1917, he was 
sent, with a few of the highest in his class, to take the 
British aviation course at Camp Desoronto and Borden, 
in Canada, and afterwards to Fort AVorth and then to 
Camp Hicks, Texas, where he was still under British 
instructors, though in the United States Army. In Jan- 
uary, 1918. he received his commission as Second Lieu- 
tenant in the United States Army Air Service, and in 
February of that year sailed for England. After his 
arrival there he was sent to several English training camps 
for special training as an Aviation Pilot, and received a 
certiJicate stating that his qualifications for that position 
were "far above the average pilot.' 7 In August, 1918, he 
went to the front as a member of the 99th Squadron of 
the British Independent Air Force, to which, as appears 
from a letter of its chaplain, only the pick of the Ameri- 
can Air Service were assigned. While serving with this 
squadron he volunteered to help his own countrymen as a 
daylight bomber in the St. Mihiel drive of September 12, 
1918. He made several successful raids during that 
offensive, but on September 13, 1918, both he and his 
observer were shot and instantly killed by German anti- 
aircraft jruns, while Hying over Jouey aux Arches, in 
Lorraine. 

He was buried by the Germans in the garrison ceme- 
tery at Metz, in Lorraine, who nlaced at the head of his 
grave a white wooden cross with the inscription in Ger- 
man, "He died a hero's death lighting for his country." 
Later, he was removed to the American Military Cemetery 
at Thiacourt, France, where he now lies. 

Wieliam Lawrence Wood, third son of Chalmers 
and Ellen Appleton Wood. Born January 10, 1887. 
Columbia, A. B. 1908; Episcopal Theological School, 



232 



MILITARY RECORDS 



Cambridge, B. D. 1913. Married, April 10, 1015, Laura 
Cass Canfleld. 

August 5, 1017, appointed Red Cross Chaplain at Base 
Hospital No. 1. February 25, 1018, sailed overseas on 
S. S. Olympic for Liverpool, England. August 20, 1018, 
appointed Red Cross Chaplain of Mobile Hospital No. 2. 
October 10, 1018, received commission as Chaplain U. S. 
Army .with rank of First Lieutenant, and continued on 
duty with Mobile Hospital No. 2. "February 10, 1010, 
returned to the United States on S. S. Agamenmom. Dis- 
charged February 18, 1010. 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY. 

The adjourned Annual Meeting 1 of the Ipswich Historical 
Society was held on Monday, .January 5, 1919. The officers were 
elected as follows : 

Honorary President — Frank R. Appleton. 
Acting President — Joseph I. Horton. 
Vice-President — James II. Pkoctor. 
Secretary — Mrs. T. F. Waters. 
Treasurer — Charles M. Kelly. 

Directors — Prof. Arthur W. Dorr, James S. Robinson, 
Miss Sarah E. Lakeman. 

REPORT OF THE ACTING PRESIDENT 

The condition of this Society at the present time shows some 
very unusual extremes. Financially, as may be seen from the 
Treasurer's report, we are extremely prosperous. Expenditures 
have been slight ; interest from our investments has accumu- 
lated ; and the balance to our credit is larger than ever before. 
In the matter of visitors, though there may seem to be a little 
falling off in numbers, partly owing to the' earlier date of this 
writing, we have been greatly honored in the presence of the 
Rev. Mr. Patten, of the First Church, Ipswich, England. In 
addition to a pleasing- personality, he brought the cordial greet- 
ings of his church, the city government, and of Sir Richard 
Goddard, the donor of the old clock in the chapel of the First 
Church. He showed a keen interest in our ancient landmarks, 
and was especially delighted with his visit to the home of Mr. 
Francis R. Appleton. Our exchanges and donations, perhaps, 
have been on a parity with those of other years. But in leader- 
ship, in the power of initiative, in influence, and in hope for 
the future, we are poor indeed. 

Our leader, the life and soul of this association, is gone. 
Our assembling together at this season emphasizes and deepens 
that sense of loss, and brings to us a new realization of the 
unusual capabilities and the true worth of the man who, on 
former occasions, stood in this place and showed us the vision. 

Yes, our leader is gone. But for his sake, and the sake of 
the things he loved and for which he strove so successfully, let 
us not despair. Let us take increased devotion from his exam- 
ple and endeavor to carry out the work along the' lines which 
he laid, down. What those lines are, we shall presently dis- 
cover. 

As it is with individuals, so it is with societies. Both need 
the stimulus and spur of an . exalted ideal ; some distinct pur- 
pose, some definite goal, for which and towards which we are 
willing to strive unremittingly if only the end be accomplished. 
This is the source and cause of all success and true greatness^ 
and no man knew this better than did Mr. Waters. No man 
ever employed it to better advantage. 

In writing this report it has been my first caro to keep any 
suggestions or wandering- thoughts of my own completely in 

(233) 



234 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



the background, and to present such purposes and desires as 
were entertained by our late President in reference to the 
development and constructive work of the Society. In this par- 
ticular his wishes were most pronounced and outspoken. 

Let me repeat a few of 'his latest utterances, as expressed in 
his reports. In the last report that he read to this Society, to 
be found in the pamphlet entitled "Plum Island," 1918, he says 
this : 

"For many years our Historical Society has felt the need of 
a fire-proof building which would afford a safe place of deposit 
for the collections, allow room for the expansion of our museum, 
and provide a hall for our meetings and for many public uses. 
By its architecture', its tablets, its portraits, Ave plan that the 
hall shall be distinctively a memorial of the great events in the 
Town's history and of the good and great men and women whose 
names are held in honored remembrance." 

Again in the "John Whipple House," 1915, he writes: 

"It dares to cherish the dream of a substantial, fire-proof 
building, to be erected on the land already owned, which would 
serve many useful purposes. Primarily it would be a memorial 
building, affording the means of perpetuating and honoring the 
names of the noble founders of the Town, and those who have 
won renown for themselves and for the place of their birth in 
many generations." No outward and visible memorial of the 
Ipswich Resistance of the Andros government, the proudest 
event in its history, has yet been raised. A Hall of Fame in 
this building would provide the place for enduring tablets of 
bronze. Here again he would provide for the systematic ar- 
rangement of a museum ; an opportunity for the proper display 
of the pre-historic remains of the Indians; the weapons, tools, 
and garments of the olden times; a room for lectures and meet- 
ings ; and, lastly, this venerable dwelling-, furnished throughout 
after the manner of a Puritan home." 

"Such a building," he says, "would be second only to our 
Public Library as an educational influence. As a grateful rec- 
ognition of the noble past, an inspiration to just civic pride and 
high citizenship, it would be unique, impressive, and of far- 
reaching value." 

Again, in "Ipswich Village and the Old Rowley Road," 1914, 
he makes a stirring appeal for funds, not onl3 r for a fire-proof 
memorial building, but for the establishment of a permanent 
endowment, the income from which should help defray the ex- 
penses of the Society. And he makes suggestions as to the 
methods by which this may be accomplished. And so, running 
back through the reports 'of 1909, 1907, 1902, 1901, especially, 
we still find him persistently urging the need of a fire-proof 
building- for the purposes set forth in his many appeals. To his 
mind, then, this was the one greatest need of the Society, and 
no one ever doubted his breadth of view nor questionad the cor- 
rectness of his judgment. 

Industrial conditions, together with insufficient funds, may 
make it inexpedient to launch such an enterprise just at present, 
but may the hope that sustained and encouraged him through all 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



the years in which he so patiently and successfully wrought, 
some day Le realized. May t he dream which was his continual 
inspiration become, through ns, at last an accomplished fact. 

And Avhen that "fire-proof memorial building" shall stand in 
its place yonder, beautiful, complete, and of the type that fadeth 
not away, may his name', its founder and first president, be 
inscribed above its portals as an evidence and a fitting testi- 
monial of the esteem and affectionate regard in which he was 
held by all who knew him. May its Hall of Fame give him an 
honored place among those worthy men and women whose strug- 
gles and sacrifices and successes he has so faithfully recorded, 
and whose memory he wished so much to perpetuate. 

While all this is fitting - and proper, it will not be powerful 
enough to meet the exigencies of the times. The great changes 
that are taking place in the political, industrial and social life 
of the town, as well as of the whole country and the world 
itself, imperatively demand that we not only venerate the 
fathers, but that we emulate their example as well. The 
heritage the'y left ns to enjoy should be Ours to protect and 
defend. We all need to take the Athenian's oath, if we wish to 
enjoy for ourselves or to transmit to coming generations those 
institutions and principles of free government Avhich the fathers 
established. We must "fall in line and carry on." And so our 
Society — and every Historical Society throughout the country — 
occupies a larger field of usefulness than ever before. Our activ- 
ities must be vitalized to meet present-da y needs. Its work 
must be real and earnest ; we must teach by example as well as 
by precept, if we wish to make our Society a vital influence in 
this community. Let there be the largest measure and spirit of 
co-operation among our membership to make our Society a 
strong and telling influence both here and abroad. Let us start 
a campaign of improvement, that our town may become sweet 
and clean and beautiful ,as God certainly intended it should be. 
I have some suggestions to offer, but I wish to hear yours first. 

The material for other publications has been gathered and 
will be made' ready for the press as soon as the proper committee 
mahes a decision. 



236 



MILITARY' KECOKDS 



THE REPORT OF THE TREASURER, 19L9 

T. F. Waters, in account with the Ipswich Historical Society for 
the year ending - December 1, 1920. 



DR. 

To Annual Dues from Members $ 485 00 

To Life Membership Dues 100 00 

To Sales of Books 22 47 

To Gift from a Member 20 00 

Whipple House : 

Door fees, boohs, etc $100 00 

Annual supper 72 08 

172 GS 

To Interest on Bonds 64 81 



To Cash in Treasury, December 1, 1918 



$ 8G4 9G 
325 07 



$ 1,190 03 



CR. 

By Salary of President $ 

Printing", envelopes and postage 

Carried to Building Fund 

Insurance 

Whipple House : 

Fuel $ 7 1 55 

Water 11 00 

Repairs 118 72 

Incidentals 

Cash in Treasury, December 1, 1919 



300 00 
80 84 

164 81 
32 20 





201 
25 


27 

70 


$ 


804 
385 


82 
21 


$ 


1,190 


03 



THE IPSWTCII HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



237 



THE MEMORIAL BUILDING FUND 

Deposit in Ipswich Savings Bank, with interest 

to July, 1919 $ 1,158 96 

Ci ilt of Mrs. Alice Cogswell Bemis, $10,000, with 
accrued interest. Invested as follows: 

U. S. Liberty Loan 4y 4 % Bonds 3,050 00 

Institution for Savings, Xewburyport 371 65 

Newburyport Five Cents Savings Bank, Newbury port 1,130 39 

Danvers Savings Bank, Dan vers 1,135 71 

Woburn Five Cents Savings Bank, Woburn 1,119 69 

Warren Five Cents Savings Bank, Peabody 1,090 00 

Salem Five Cents Savings Bank, Salem 1,090 00 

Provident Inst, for Savings, Amesbury 1,090 00 

Andover Savings Bank, Andover 1,090 00 



$ 12,326 40 



238 THE II'SWICII. HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

MEMBERS 



LIKE MEMBERS 



William Sumner Appleton 

Albert Far we 1 1 Bemis 

Ogden Cod ma n 

Richard T. Crane, Jr. 

Mrs. Richard T. Crane, ,Tj 

Cornelius Crane 

Florence Crane 

Mrs. Aliee 11. Hartshorn 

Benjamin Kimball 

Mrs. Lora A. Littlefield 

Miss Katherine Loring 

Mrs. William C. Loring 

William G. Low 

Mrs. Marietta K. Martin 

Xathan Matthews 

George Prescott 

James II. Proctor 

Thomas E. Proctor . 

Charles G. Bice 

John L. Saltonstall . ' 

Biehard M. Saltonstall 

Mrs. Charles P. Searle 

John E. Searle . 

Mrs. Chester P. Seims 

John Cary Spring 

Mrs. Julia Appleton Sprin 

Eben B. Symonds 

Mrs. Ella C. Taylor . 

Mrs. Harold D. Walker 

Mrs. Adaline M. Waters 

Sherman L. Whipple 



Prid. 



Boston, Mass. 
Broolsiiue, Mass. 
New York, X. V. 

Chicago, 111. 

Chicago, III. 

Chicago, III. 

Chicago, J II. 

Taunton, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 

BrooU line, Mass. 

; Crossing, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 

Brooklyn, X. Y. 

Ipswich, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 

Rowley, Mass. 

Ipswich, Mass. 



4 

. Topsfield, 

Ipswich, 

Beverly, 

Boston, 

Boston, 

Boston, 

New York, 

Boston, 

Boston, 

Salem, 

Boston, 

Boston, 

Ipswich, 

Brookline, 



Mass. 
Mass. 
Mass. 
Mass. 
Mass. 
Mass. 
N. Y. 
Mass. 
Mass. 
Mass. 
Mass. 
Mass. 
Mass. 
Mass. 



BESIBENT MEMBERS 



Charles L. Appleton 
Francis R. Appleton 
Mrs. Francis L. Appleton 
Francis R. Appleton, Jr. 
James W. Appleton 
Randolph M. Appleton 
Mrs. Susan A. R. Appleton 
Charles Arthur 
Mrs. Nellie T. Augur 
Eben H. Bailey 
Mrs. Elizabeth H. Baker 
Charles W. Bamford 
G. Adrian Barker 
George E. Barnard 
Mrs. Kate S. Barnard 
Mrs. Alice L. Blake 
Norman J. Bolles 



Robert W. Bolles 

Warren Boynton 

A. Story Brown 

Fred A. Brown 

Frank M. Burke 

Ralph W. Burnham 

Mrs. Nellie' Mae Burnham 

Rev. Augustine Caldwell 

Mrs. Lavinia Campbell 

Jeremiah Campbell 

Mrs. Genevieve Campbell 

Edward W. Choate 

Mrs. Mary A. Clark 

Miss Marietta Clark 

Philip E. Clarke 

Miss Harriet D. Condon 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



239 



Mi.ss Iloxana C. Cowles 
Arthur C. Damon 
Mrs. Carrie' Damon 
Mrs. Ellen ('. Damon 
Miss Edith L. Daniels 
Edward L. Darling- 
Mrs. Howard Dawson 
George G. Dexter 
Miss' ('. Bertha Dobson 
Miss Grace M. Dodge 
Arthur W. Dow 
Howard X. Doughty 
Mrs. Charles G. Dyer 
George E. Parley 
Mrs. Enieline P. Farley 
Miss Abbie M. Del lows' 
Arl In ir C. Glover 
Charles E. Goodhue 
Frank T. Goodhue 
Waller F. Gould 
Mrs. Annie T. Grant 
George H. W. Hayes 
Waller E. Ilavwa'rd 
Mrs. Maude M. Day ward 
Miss Alice Heard 
Miss S. Louise Holmes 
Daniel X. Hood 
Benjamin R. llorton 
Joseph Increase llorton 
Mrs. Joseph Increase llorton 
A. Everett Jewett 
Miss Lucy S. Jewett 
Mrs. Harriett M. Johnson 
Miss Ida B. Johnson 
Charles M. Kelly 
Mrs. Oscar 15. Kippen 
Fred A. Kimball 
Robert S. Kimball 
Mrs. Isabel G. Kimball 
Gustavus Kinsman 
Miss Bethiah 1). Kinsman 
Miss Khoda F. Kinsman 
Dr. Frank W. Kyes 
Mrs. Georgie C. Kyes 
Miss Sarah E. Lalceman 
Miss Ellen V. Lang- 
Mrs. Mary S. Langdon 
Austin L. Lord 



Mrs. Lucretia S. Lord 
Miss Lucy Slade Lord 
Charles L. Lovcll 
Mrs. Mary B. Maine 
Herbert \V. Mason 
Mrs. Herbert XV. Mason 
Eben H. Moulton 
Miss Fleanor Moalton 
Miss Abb.y L. Newman 
John W. Xonrse 
Mrs. Harriet E. Nourse 
Lev. Uobert B. Parker 
Mrs. Uobert B. Parker 
Miss Charlotte 1-:. Barker 
Herbert W. Phillips 
Mrs. Herbert W. Phillips 
William II. Land 
Frank E. Raymond 
William P. Leillv 
William J. Riley 
James S. Robinson 
Mrs. Anna C. C. Robinson 
Frederick' G. Loss 
Mrs. Mary F. Doss 
Joseph F. Loss 
Mrs. Hclene Loss 
Joseph XV. Loss, Jr. 
Albert, Russell 
Daniel Satford 
Angus T. Savory 
George A. Schofield 
Miss Alice M. Smith 
Mrs. Fannie E. Smith 
Miss Lucy P». Story 
John J. Sullivan 
Mrs. Florence Thompson 
L. Elbert Titeomb 
Mrs. Miriam W. Titeomb 
Miss Fllen L. Trask 
Jesse II . Wade 
Miss Emma E. Wait 
Luther Wait 
' Albert F. Welch 
Mrs. E. H. Welch 
Miss Susan C. Whipple 
Mrs. Marianna Whittier 
Mi'ss Eva Adams Willcomb 



240 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY' 



Mrs. James W. Adams 
Frederick J. Alley 
Mrs. Mary G. Alley . 
Mrs. Clara R. Anthony 
Harry E. Bailey 
J)r. J. Bellinger Barney . 
Wm, Franklin Barrett 
Mrs. Win. Franklin Barrett 
Mrs. William S. Bedal . ' 
Henry N. Berry 
Mrs. Henry N. Berry 
Miss E. D. Boardman 
Albert S. Brown, Jr. 
Harry Appleton Brown 
Frank T. Bnrnham . 
James F. I kit lei- 
Miss Florence F. Caldwell 
John A. Caldwell 
Mrs. Elizabeth Carlton 
Miss Gertrude Carlton 
Mrs. Fannie E. Carter 
Mrs. Ruth Lambert Cheney 
Ralph I*. Cheever 
Mrs. Ralph P. Cheever 
Frank 10. Cogswell 
Mrs. Grace" T. Davidson 
Charles Davis . 
Maj. (Jen. George W. Davis 
Mrs. Harry W. Davis 
Edward Dearborn 
Mrs. Mary B. DeBlois 
John Y. Dittemore 
Mrs. Joseph ]). Dodge 
Robert G. Dodge 
Mrs. Robert G. Dodge 
Mrs. Sarah 10. Dodge 
Miss lOllen M. Dole . 
Mrs. Grace Atkins Dunn . 
Mrs. Clara 10. Edwards 
"William W, Emerson 
Mrs. W. W. Emerson 
Miss Christine Farley 
Joseph 1C. Farley 
Mrs. Joseph K. Farley 
Sylvan us ('. Farley 
Mrs. Eunice W. Felton 
Mrs. Pauline' S. Fenno 
E. Appleton Flichtner 
Mrs. Julia A. Foster . 
Amos Tuck French . 
Mrs. Harriet P. Frothingham 
Mrs. Alva H. Gilman 



:nt m 


EMBERS 


New York, X. Y. 




Hamilton, Mass. 




Hamilton, Mass. 




Brookline*, Mass. 




Boston, Mass. 




Boston, Mass. 




Chicago, 111. 




Chicago, 111. 




. St. Louis, Mo. 




Lynn, Mass. 




Lynn, Mass. 




Boston, Mass. 




Salem, Mass. 




Lowell, Mass. 




Hall, British Columbia 




. Med ford, Mass. 




. Philadelphia, Penn. 




Winchester, Mass. 




Rowley, Mass. 




Rowley, Mass. 




Lonoke, Ark. 




Rowley, Mass. 




. Dedham, Mass. 




. Dedham, Mass. 




. Pipeston, Minn. 




Chicago, 111. 




East Milton, Mass. 




Washington, 1). ('. 




Brook line", Mass. 




Lynn, Mass. 




Boston, Mass. 




. Boston, Mass. 




Lynn, Mass. 




Boston, .Mass. 




Lost on, Mass. 




Rowley, Mass. 




Salem, Mass. 




New York, N. Y. 




. Boll is, Long Island 




Haverhill, Mass. 




Haverhill, Mass. 




Cambridge, Mass. 


Koloa, Kauai, Hawaiian is. 


Koloa, Kauai, Hawaiian Is. 


. Alton, Til. 




Cambridge, Mass. 




Rowley, Mass. 




Southboro, Mass. 




Providence, R. I. 




New York, X. V. 




Boston, Mass, 




. Plainfield, N. J. 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



241 



Mrs. Mary E. Oilman 
Dr. J. L. Goodale 
Samuel V. Goodhiie . 
William E. Could 
Mrs. Amy M. Haggerty 
Arthur Vv. Hale 
Mrs. Francis B. Harringt< 
Clarence L. Hay 
Mrs. Clarence L. Hay . 
Miss Louise M. Hodgkins 
Augustus T. Holmes . 
Mrs. James R. Hooper 
William K. Howe 
Mrs. William U. Howe 
Gerald L-. Hoyt 
Mrs. Mary Hoyt 
Lawrence M. Hortoji 
Charles II. Houghton 
William P. Hubbard 
C. Whipple Hyde 
Dr. Howard C. Jewett 
Mrs. Lucy M. Johfison 
Alfred V. Kidder 
Arthur S. Kimball . 
Mrs. Laura U. Kohn 
Curtis F. Lakeinan . 
Mrs. George X. Lawrence 
John S. Lawrence 
,}. Francis Le Baron 
Mrs. Caroline Le Baron 
George H. Lewis 
Richard S. Lombard 
Edwin R. Lord . 
George R. Lord 
Mrs. Mary A. Lord . 
Mrs. Samuel M. Magoffin 
Miss Elizabeth M. R. Ma- 
Mrs. Frances E. Markoe 
Miss Marv F. Marsh 
Mrs. Sarah L. Marsh 
Everard IT. Martin . 
Albert R. Merrill 
Clarence T. Mooar 
Benjamin P. P. Moselv 
Mrs. Benjamin P. P. Most 
Miss Mary IT. Nor then d 
Dr. Robert P.. Osgood 
Moritz P>. TT. Philipp 
Mrs. Julia P». Post . 
Mrs. Alice F. Potter . 
\h\ Edward Quintard 
Augustus N. Rantoul 
A. Davidson Remick . 
Charles F. Rogers 
Derby Roarers . 



oflh 



Pittsburg, B 


'ansas 


Boston, 


Mass. 


Salem, 


Mass. 


Brooli line, 


Mass. 


. Baltimore 


, Md. 


Winchester, 


Mass. 


Boston, 


Mass. 


. Newbury, 


N. TL 


. Newbury, 


N. H. 


Wilbraham, 


Mass. 


. Camden, 


N. J. 


Boston. 


Mass. 


. Orange, 


N. J. 


Orange, 


N. J. 


New York', 


N. Y. 


New York, 


N. Y. 


Lexington, 


Mass. 


Rowley, 


Mass. 


Wheeling, Wes 


t. Ya. 


Webster Grove, Mo. 


Haverhill, 


Mass. 


Somerville, 


Mass. 


Cambridge, 


Mass. 


Oberlin 


, Ohio 


New York, 


N. Y. 


Larchmont, 


N. J. 


Puebh 


», Col. 


Boston, 


Mass. 


Panama G'it; 


r, Fla. 


Panama Git; 


f, Fla. 


Los Angeles, Cal. 


Charlestown, 


Mass. 


Boston. 


Mass. 


Salem, 


.Mass. 


New York 


N. Y. 


. St, Paul, 


Minn. 


. St. Paul, 


Minn. 


Penlyn 


n. Pa. 


Lynn, 


Mass. 


Lynn, 


Mass. 


Rome, 


Italy 


Hamilton, 


Mass. 


. Roxbnry, 


Mass. 


Boston, 


Mass. 


Boston, 


Mass. 


Salem, 


Mass. 


Boston, 


Mass. 


New York- 


, N. Y. 


New York 


, N. Y. 


. Columbus, Ohio 



New York, N. Y. 

Boston, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 
New York, N. Y. 
v Canaan, Conn. 



242 



THE IPSWICH 



Miss Susan S. Rogers 

Mrs. Albert G. Ropes 

Francis Rogers 

Mrs. Cornelia B. Rogers 

Mrs. Mary A. Ronsmaniere 

Richard W. Searle . 

Mrs. Frederick G. Sherman 

Henry P. Smith 

Mrs. Caroline P. Smith . 

Mrs. Martha E. Smith 

Theo W. Smith 

Mrs. Thro. W. Smith 

Charles Spnigue 

Harry C. Spiller 

Mrs. George 15. Stone 

Dr. E. W. Taylor 

Mrs. Arthur P. Tenney 

Rev. "William G. Thayer . 

Dr. Charles W. Tow nsend 

Frank II. Trnssell . 

Mrs. Fannie C. P.. Trnssell 

Bayard Tnckerman . 

Mrs. Annie Tnckerman 

Mrs. Rnth A. Tnckerman . 

Miss Marion Thomas 

Harry W. Tyler 

Dr. Herman F. Vickery 

Mrs. Herman F. Vickery . 

Langdon Warner 

Roger Sherman Warner . 

George F. Waters 

Mrs. Charles W. Whipple . 

Henry W. Whipple . 

Mrs. Henry W. Whipple . 

T. IT. Bailey Whipple 

Marcus M. Whipple . 

Frank J. Wilder 

Wallace Wollett 

Mrs. Rosamund W. Willett 

Ege'rton L. Winthrop, Jr. 

Frederick Winthrop . 

Thomas Lindall Winthrop 

Chalmers Wood 

Chalmers Wood, Jr. . 

Chester P. Woodbury 

Joseph F. Woods 

Isaac Rand Thomas 

Mrs. Isaac Rand Thomas 



STORICAT, 


SOCIETY 






Boston, 


Mass. 




New York, 


N. V, 




New- York, 


X. Y. 




New York, 


X. Y. 




New York, 


N. Y. 




Boston, 


Mass. 




Jamaica Plain, 


Mass. 




1*. rook line', 


Mass. 




Brook line, 


Mass. 




Boston, 


Mass. 




. Boston, 


Mass. 




Boston, 


Mass. 




Brookline, 


Mass. 




Bostoi:, 


Mass. 




. Everett, 


Mass. 




Boston, 


Mass. 




Haverhill, 


Mass. 




Son1 hboro, 


Mass. 




. Boston, 


Mass. 




* Hamilton, 


Mass. 




Hamilton, 


Mass. 




New York, 


X. V. 




Xew York', 


X. Y. 




. Boston, 


Mass. 




Portia ik 


I, Ore. 




Boston, 


Mass. 




Brookline, 


Mass. 




Brook line, 


Mass. 




New- York', 


X. Y. 




. Boston. 


Mass. 




Fall River 


Mass. 




Xew- Yorlc, 


X. Y. 




. HackcHstowi 


, X. J. 




. Hackettstown, 


X. J. 




. East Pittshn 


■g, Pa. 




Dorchester, 


Mass. 




Boston, 


Mass. 




. East Orange 


X. J. 




. East Orange 


X. J. 




Xew Yorlc, 


X. Y. 




Boston, 


Mass. 




Boston, 


Mass. 




New Yorlc, 


X. Y. 




New Yorlc, 


X. Y. 




Boston, 


Mass. 




Boston, 


Mass. 




Boston, 


Mass. 




Boston, 


Mass. 



THE IPSWICH IIISTOEIOAL SOCIETY 



243 



HONORARY MEMBERS 



John Albree, Jr. 

Frank C. Farley 
Mrs. Katherine S. Farle 
Reginald Foster 
Miss Aliee A. Gray . 
Miss Emily R. Gray . 
Albert Farley Heard, 
Mrs. Otis S. Kimball 
Miss Sarah S. Kimball 
Henry S. Manning . 
Mrs. Mary W. Manning 
Miss Esther Parmenter 
Denison R. Slade 
Joseph Spiller . 
Miss Ellen M. Stone . 
W. F. Warner . 



2nd 





Swaiupscott, 


Mass 


South 


Manchester, 


Conn 


South 


Manchester, 


Conn 




Host on, 


Muss 




. Sauquoit, 


i\. Y 




. Sauquoit, 


N. V" 




Boston, 


Mass 




Host on, 


Mass 




Salem, 


Mass 




New York, 


N. V 




New York, 


N. y 




. Chicopee, 


Mass 




H rook line, 


Mass 




Host on, 


Mass 


Fast 


Lexington, 


Mass 




St. Lou 


is, Mo 



PUBLICATIONS OF THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL 
SOCIETY 



I. The Oration by Rev. Washington Choate and the Poem 
by Rev. Edgar F. Davis, on the 200th Anniversary of 
the Resistance to the Andros Tax, 1SS7. Price 25 ets. 
II to VII, inclusive. Out of print. 
VIII. "The Development of our Town Government" and 
''Common Lands and Commonage," with the Proceed- 
ings at the Annual Meeting, 1899. Price 25 cents. 
IX. "A History of' the old Argilla Road in Ipswich, Massa- 
chusetts," by Thomas Franklin Waters. Price 25 cts. 
X. "The Hotel Cluny of a New England Village," by Syl- 
vester Baxter, and the History of the Ancient House, 
with Proceedings at the Annual Meeting, 1900. Price 
25 cents. (See No. XX.) 
XL "The Meeting House Green and a Study of Houses and 
Lands in that Vicinity," with Proceedings at the 
Annual Meeting-, December 2, 1901. Price 25 cents. 
XII. "Thomas Dudley and Simon and Ann Bradstreet." A 
Study of House-Lots to Determine the Location of 
Their Homes, and the Flxercises at the Dedication of 
Tablets, July 31, 1902, with Proceedings at the Annual 
Meeting, December 1, 1902. Price 25 cents. 
X1TT. "Fine Thread, Lace and Hosiery in Ipswich," by Jesse 
Kewkes, and "Ipswich Mills and Factories," by Thomas 
Franklin Waters, with Proceedings at the Annual 
Meeting. Price 25 cents. 

\ 



244 



HE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



XIV. 



XV. 
XVI 

XVII T. 

XIX; 
XX. 

XXI. 
XXII, 

XXIII. 



"The Simple Cobler of A^itwam," by Rev. Nathaniel 
Ward. A reprinl of the 4th edition, published in L647, 
with fae-simile of title page, preface, and headlines, 
and the exact text, and an Essay, "Nathaniel Ward 
and the Simple Cobler," l>\ Thomas Franklin Waters, 
116 pp., 75 cents; postage 10 cents. A limited edition, 



in boards, price $1.50, 



Brooh and 

logy of the 

by Thomas 

the Animal 



An Ancient 
Genealogies of John 
47 pp., and Robert 



printed on heavy paper, ho 
postage prepaid. 

"The Old Hay lioad from Saltonstall's 
Samuel Appleton's Farm," and "A Gene 
Ipswich Descendants of Samuel Applet on 
Franklin Waters, with Proceedings at 
Meeting. Price 75 cents. 
and XVII. Double number. "Candlewood. 
Neighborhood in Ipswich." With 
Brown, 39 pp., William Fellows, 

Kinsman, 15 pp. 160 pp., octavo, with maps, full page 
illustrations and complete index, by Thomas Franklin 
Waters. Price $1.50; postage 8 cents. 

"Jeffrey's Xeck and The Way Leading Thereto," with 
notes on Little Xeck. 93 pages, octavo, by Thomas 
Franklin Waters. Price 50 cents. 

"Ipswich Village and the Old Rowley Road," 76 pages, 
octavo, by Thomas Franklin Waters. Price 50 cents. 

"The John Whipple House in Ipswich, Mass., and the 
People who have Owned and Lived in it." 55 pages, 
octavo, by I nomas Franklin Waters. Price 50 cents. 

"Augustine Heard and His Friends" (Joseph Green 
Cogswell and Daniel Treadwell). 120 pages, octavo, 
by Thomas Franklin Waters. Paper covers, price 
$1.00 and postage (7 cents). Board covers, heavy 
paper, $1.50 and postage (14 cents). 

"Plum Island, Ipswich, Mass." Its earliest history, 
original land grants, land ownerships, marshes and 
thatch banks, beaches and sand dunes. Illustrated, 
with maps and many photographs of the island 
scenery. 64 pages, octavo, by Thomas Franklin 
Waters. Price 75 cents. 

"Ipswich in the World War." By Thomas Franklin Waters. 







IPSWICH RIVER 

Its Bridges, Wharves 
and Industries S 




NBWCOMB & GAUSS, PRINTERS 

SALEM, MASS. 

I923 



380922 






LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS 



Choate Bridge . 
Ipswich River . 
Isinglass Mill . 
Old Mill — Miles River 
Wharf — Lower River 



Page 

Cover 
Frontispiece 
. 5 
. 7 
. 28 




PUBLICATIONS OF THE IPSWICH 

HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

XXIV 



IPSWICH RIVER 

Its Bridges, Wharves and Industries 



THOMAS FRANKLIN WATERS 



Printed for the Society 

1923 



FOREWORD. 



The manuscript for this publication was found among Mr. 
Waters' papers long after he had passed away. 

It was given a cursory examination and then returned to its 
place, as it was uncertain whether he intended it as an integral 
part of some larger book, or as a complete unit by itself and to 
be published separately as another number of the Proceedings of 
the Historical Society. 

What his intentions as to its final disposition were we shall 
never know. But, be that as it may, the manuscript has been 
read through very carefully, and the conclusion reached that it 
should have a place with the other contributions from the same 
author. 

It treats in detail of another phase of our community life of 
the past, and bears evidence of that same painstaking care and 
thorough search that characterizes all of Mr. Waters' works. 
It will be a valuable acquisition to our historical literature, and 
prove an authentic source of information to those who desire 
first-hand knowledge of the section and of the persons named 
therein. 

With the assurance of its completeness and dependability as 
to the actual historic facts, we tender the same to the members of 
the Society and to all others who may be interested. 



IPSWICH RIVER 
Its Bridges, Wharves and Industries 



Our fancy loves to dwell upon the river of Agawam, of the 
quiet ages before the white men came. It was a larger stream 
than now, no doubt, for large areas of swamp land have been 
reclaimed by the hand of man, and lakes and ponds which once 
swelled its current with their overflow, furnish water for towns 
and cities. Its banks were heavily wooded, and furnished coverts 
for wolves and bears, deer and moose and beaver, disturbed only 
by the Indian hunter with his primitive weapons. Flocks of wild 
pigeons darkened the air in their annual migrations. Wild geese 
and ducks found rich feed along its sedgy shores. Speckled trout 
abounded in its swift, foamy rapids and its deep, dark pools, and 
shoals of shad and alewive came up from the sea to spawn, in 
springtime. 

As it met the ocean it swelled into the broad tidal river, 
abounding in great sturgeon and all the lesser fish, and lobsters, 
clams and oysters. The Indians pitched their summer wigwams 
along its banks. The solitary canoe of the fisherman or hunter, 
and the fleets of canoes, bearing war parties thirsting for the 
blood of their foe, skimmed over its surface. 

Today little of its primitive wildness and beauty remains. 
The first settlers saw the value of its rapids, built their dams and 
harnessed its current to huge water-wheels, to grind their grist 
and saw their lumber. In the course of years, three dams have 
changed the free, swift stream into a series of sluggish, muddy 
mill-ponds, and five bridges have opened thoroughfares for travel 
from bank to bank. They cut down the forests which covered 
the great bare hills about the river mouth, built ships and wharves, 
mills, salt-works, tanneries, along its banks. 

The Indians and all the teeming wild life have fled away long 
since. The long course of years have witnessed old industries 
upon its banks disappear, thriving commerce cease, wharves decay. 
The railroad supplanted it as the great artery of trade, but a 
host of memories remain. (Flowing down through all the gen- 

(1) 



X IPSWICH RIVER 

erations of Ipswich life, it binds them all together with its golden 
chain.) Starting at its upper waters, near the Topsfield line, 
we may make an excursion to the sea, and find much to interest 
as we recall the changing scenes upon its banks. 

At Willowdale there was an ancient ford-way across the river 
from early times. Dr. Thomas Manning, the well-remembered 
physician of Ipswich, the son of Dr. John Manning, who had 
built a woolen factory in 1792, saw the value of the water-power 
which might be developed here. He began to acquire land on 
both sides of the stream in 1822. His first purchase was from 
John Tuttle, ten acres of pasture on the Hamilton side, on 
Nov. 5th, 1822 (249:85), followed by the purchase of 2 acres 
30 rods of pasture from John Adams and Oliver Appleton, Nov. 
12th, 1822 (249:86), and on Nov. 13th he bought 2 acres on 
the Ipswich side from Ephraim Goodhue, reaching from the 
Topsfield road to the river (249:85). 

Daniel Kneeland sold him 5 acres of tillage land, on the Ips- 
wich side, April 22nd, 1826 (249:87). His brothers and sisters 
and niece, and other heirs of his father, conveyed several lots 
to Dr. Thomas on Aug. 16th, 1826, including V/ 2 Old Rights and 
2 New Rights in Birch Island pasture, as the locality was then 
known, 15 acres in all, bounded by the land of Aaron Goodhue, 
Topsfield road and the river (249:88,89). 

He had now secured land enough for his contemplated mill, 
and in 1829 he built a stone dam and a saw-mill. In 1830, Sept. 
30, he bought 4 acres of John Adams and Samuel Adams 3d, of 
Hamilton, "near the stone dam which has been recently erected 
on the bed of Ipswich river" (259:76). The mill was burned 
soon after its erection, and Dr. Manning built another, which 
was used in part for the sawing of fine veneers and for wood 
turning. He thus began the erection of the fine stone factory 
building and boarding house, and about the year 1834, he began 
the weaving of woolen goods. The approach to the mill from 
either side was over the old road, probably, that led to the ford. 
We may suppose that during the earliest years of its operation 
the mill products were teamed over this to Salem or Boston. But 
in August, 1844, the Town received a petition for a road and 
bridge by Manning's mill. It failed of acceptance, but it was 
carried to the County Commissioners, who summoned the Town 
to appear. A committee was appointed to oppose the project, but 
the County Commissioners ordered the building of the bridge. 
In deference to the desire of the Town, a change was made from 
a single arch, as originally planned, to the two arches which still 
span the river. 



IPSWICH RIVER 3 

The little neighborhood that centered about the present Nor- 
wood Mills, included some enterprising men. They felt the need 
of a bridge as early as 1667. In that year, John Adams, Nath- 
aniel Adams, Samuel Adams, Joseph Safford, Nicholas Wallis 
and Thomas Stace were "freed from working in the common 
highway for 7 years to come," "upon consideration of there 
building a bridge over the river at there own expense." "Sar. 
Nicholas Wallis," whose farm is now owned by the Brooks heirs, 
received permission, in March, 1686/7, "to improve the water 
by damming in the river against his own land, not exceeding 
three foot for the building a fulling mill or mills, provided he 
do it within a year and a half." 

Sergeant Wallis built neither dam nor fulling mill, and ten 
years later, other parties planned to improve the stream, that 
rushed wildly down its rocky bed through the picturesque gorge, 
which still remains the most beautiful portion of the river valley. 
John Adams Sen., his son John Adams Jr., and Michael Farley 
Jr., son of the old miller at the Saltonstall mills, came to the 
Town with their petition. The record is : 

"At a legal meeting of the Inhabitants of Ipswich, March 3, 
1696/7. 

"The humble Petition of wee whose names are under written 
to the honord Gentlemen & Inhabitants of the Town of Ipswich, 
now assembled March 3, 1696/7. our request and desire is that 
you would please to grant us leave to make a Dam cross the 
River against my land in order to the building of a corn-mill 
and a Fulling-Mill for the use and benefit of the Town, I having 
a place that is judged very convenient for such a purpose without 
damage to the Town in any particular person. The which 
request we dobt not but you will readyly grant the which will 
oblige us to serve you accordingly to the best of our abilities. 
And your petitioners shall ever pray. 

John Adams Sen. 
Michael Farley Jr. 
John Adams Jr." 

The Town granted the petition, with the provision that it 
would not prejudice any former grants and the mills be ready 
for use in a year and a half. There was a lurking jealousy 
regarding the mill privilege, we may infer from the fact that on 
May 6, 1697, it was reported to the Town that the vote of March 
3d was unsatisfactory to Lieut. Adams and his associates, and 
that they would not build on these terms. Whereupon, the objec- 
tionable clause was removed, and 



# 



* IPSWICH RIVER 

"The Town doth now grant to said parties all their interest 
and right in the stream against sd. Adams land and make a Dam, 
provided they set up said mills in a year and a half." 

Mr. Farley bought an acre and a half of upland, on the north 
side of the river, opposite the Adams land, from Thomas French, 
on June 3:1697 (13:36). The dam was built forthwith, a 
fulling mill on the north side, and a grist mill on the south bank, 
and on the 4th of May, 1699, a formal agreement was ratified 
between the owners. Farley had borne half the cost, and the 
Adamses the balance. The title of each was confirmed accord- 
ingly, 

"and whereas for y e setting Placing advancement & benefit of 
sd Mills by Darning & flowing for Rocks and Gravilling sd. 
Michael purchased one acre and a halfe of land of Thomas 
French ag st part of which sd Dam abutteth on y* north side sd 
River sd Michael Gives & grants same to bee & remaine for 
ever as a Mill lot for wayes to & use of s d owners." 

In like fashion the Adams, father and son, set apart a lot of 
the same size on their side, for common use (14:161) : 

John Adams Sen. conveyed his farm to his son, John Jr., on 
April 7:1698, but retained his ownership in "y e land the corn 
mill stands on & highway to go & come from said mill" ( 13 :291). 
He sold his quarter interest in the mills and dam to Mr. Farley, 
July 26:1702 (15:91). 

On Sept. 6:1734 (80:179), Mr. Farley sold to Caleb Warner, 
clothier, 

"a messuage on the North side of Ipswich river at a place 
known as Adams or Farley's Mills in y e present tenure of 
Eliz a (beth) Brown of Ipswich, widow, with 24 of about 2 acres 
of land thereto adjoining, which sd. Farley formerly purchased 
of Thos. French of Ipswich and also ^4 of one certain fulling 
mill to y 6 said messuage adjoining in y** present tenure of sd 
Caleb Warner with ^4 of a ^ tackle . . . sd Warner to maintain 
and repair £4 °f 1//s °f tne Damm." 

This deed is interesting in several ways. Elizabeth Brown was 
the widow of Benjamin Brown, miller, who died Feb. 16:1733, 
leaving a family of seven children, the oldest of whom was 
Elizabeth, sixteen years old, and the youngest, five-year-old 
Susanna. They lived close by the mill, as the deed shows, and 
Benjamin was the miller. The widow petitioned the Town at 
the March meeting following her husband's death, for an allow- 
ance for 

"cost and charge which hath arisen in building a bridge over 
the river & for finishing the same for the benefit of passing to 
the mill." 









I 



i 



IPSWICH RIVER 



It appears from this that a bridge, some cheap structure of 
logs, no doubt, had been built about this time. The Town 
rather heartlessly refused to recognize the widow's claim. 

Caleb Warner was operating the fulling mill, adjoining the 
widow's home, the son of Daniel and Dorcas Warner, a young 
man of twenty-seven years, and his neighborly relations with the 
miller's family had culminated in his marriage with the daughter 
Elizabeth on Nov. 8:1734, two months after he had bought the 
mill property. 

The grist mill continued in possession of the Adams family. 
It was inherited by John Adams, son of John Jr., who married 
Phebe Burnham, int. May 1:1725, and died in 1729, leaving the 
widow and daughter Eunice, who was baptized March 2:1728 
The widow married Nathaniel Cross, who operated the mill, in 
May, 1732. The daughter Eunice, married Isaac Smith, in De- 
cember, 1744. Isaac and Eunice, Nathaniel Cross and Phebe, 
conveyed to Caleb Warner the quarter part of the 2 acre mill lot 
on the north side of the river and the quarter of the fulling mill, 
which still remained in their possession, with the privilege of 
the stream "excepting when the water does not flow over the 
dam," on May 10:1750 (101:202). 

Caleb Warner had prospered in business, and a goodly family 
of sons and daughters had been born. A new and large house 
was needed, and he bought of Daniel Appleton, Esq., three lois 
and a half in that part of Bush Hill Eighth called Birch Island, 
or Birch Island Fields, adjoining the land formerly French's, 
on June 12:1755 (102:231). The large and comfortable dwell- 
ing, which still remains, was probably built about this time. 
Here he died, March 10, 1774. His estate included about 100 
acres of land and the dwelling, and the fulling mill and clothier's 
shop. The clothier's copper was inventoried at £10, the clothier's 
press £12, 3 pairs clothier's shears £10. The real estate was 
bequeathed to Asa and William, then a lad of eighteen years. 
(Pro. Rec.) 

Asa Warner, who followed his trade of clothier in Lancaster, 
Mass., sold his half interest to his brother, William Warner 3d, 
clothier, excepting an acre within the bounds of the estate, be- 
longing to the heirs of Elizabeth Brown, June 2:1787 (148:52). 
Capt. William Warner died on Sept. 13, 1827, at the age of 
seventy-one. He built a home for his son William, who married 
Mary Dodge of Hamilton, in 1805, and conveyed it to him with 
about five acres of land, March 9 :1808 (246 :193). To his elder 
son, Stephen, he gave half of his dwelling and land, May 13 : 1822 



6 IPSWICH RIVER 

(203:73). In the settlement of his estate the easterly half of 
his dwelling was assigned to his widow, Susanna, as her dower, 
the fulling mill was assigned to William, upon payment of lega- 
cies to the other heirs (Pro. Rec. 62:125, 406:501-3). A card- 
ing machine and picking machine had been installed in 1794, 
and were appraised at $75. 

William Warner sold half the mill and about half an acre 
under and adjoining to his brother Stephen, May 30, 1829 
(533:271). His heirs sold half the mill to Caleb Jerome Nor- 
wood, Feb. 8:1873 (877:292), March 15, 1894 (1407:91), and 
the Stephen Warner homestead, with half the 2 acre mill lot, 
Oct. 23:1895 (1461:73). 

George W. Warner, son of William, and , wife of Joseph 

P. Hamilton, sold the half of the mills, which they inherited 
from their father, to Ammi Smith, Dec. 1:1858 (584:38). 

Continuing briefly the story of the grist mill and saw mill, 
Isaac Smith and Eunice sold the Adams farm and mills to Paul 
Dodge, Dec. 1, 1750 (96:180). His son, Barnabas, inherited 
and bequeathed to his son David, who sold to Ammi Smith, Jan. 
2, 1827 (242:273). He mortgaged to Nathan Dane, April 7, 
1827 (245:139). His executor assigned it to Joseph Dane, Jun^ 
2, 1836 (336:185), who took possession Sept. 1, 1843 (339:116), 
and sold to Albert W. Smith of Boston, Oct. 14, 1846 (327 :290), 
who conveyed to Ammi Smith of Hamilton, son of the earlier 
owner, April 6, 1858 (598:23). His heirs sold the farm and 
mill site with the buildings, 90 acres in all, in Hamilton, 1 acre 
and half the mill on the Ipswich side, to Caleb and Jennie Nor- 
wood of Rockport, April 21, 1868 (746:148). Mr. Norwood 
has operated the saw mill and a cider mill, and established an 
isinglass factory in the Warner mill. 

The road from William Warner's and William Warner Junior's 
and the land of Robert Wallis to the Topsfield road was accepted 
by the Town, Dec. 25, 1817. In the Spring of 1820, the War- 
ners and others petitioned the Court of Sessions that a bridge 
might be built. The Town appointed a committee, on June 15, 
to oppose the petition. The Court of Sessions ordered the Town 
to build, but in March, 1823, the Town appointed Asa Andrews, 
its attorney, to defend it against indictment for not building, and 
authorized him to petition in turn the Court of Sessions to dis- 
continue the way where the bridge was contemplated and vacate 
the laying out. 

In the following year the battle for the bridge was renewed, 
with a petition of William Warner Jr. and 32 others, praying 
for a way from Topsfield road, near the dwelling of Robert 



irswicn RIVER 



Wallis to the road near the dwelling of James Kent in Hamilton, 
which the town resolutely opposed. Five years then elapsed, 
but the advocates of the bridge were not disheartened. In Sep- 
tember, 1829, the Town received notice from the Court regarding 
the bridge, and appointed a committee to procure legal advice 
and contest the building. Despite this opposition, the bridge 
was built, and a warrant of distress was issued against the Town 
for a portion of the expense. 

But the Town voted, July 25, 1832, to appoint a committee, 
and instructed it to "consult and employ Hon. Rufus Choate and 
such other learned and respectable counsel as they may judge 
proper." The Town appealed the case to the Supreme Court in 
November, 1833, but an adverse decision was rendered, and the 
Town of Ipswich was assessed $1,498, Hamilton $1,002. 

Standing on the stone bridge, which spans the stream with its 
two graceful arches, looking down through the picturesque valley, 
and upstream over the expanse of river and broad landscape, we 
feel that the thirteen-year struggle for road and bridge had a 
happy issue. 

A little below the railroad bridge, a modest stream, nearly 
hidden by sedge and bushes, enters the river on the south side. 
Though it bears the pretentious name of Mile River, or Mile 
Brook, it carries with it little suggestion of mill power. Yet, in 
the days before the discovery of the power of steam, the wind 
and water, supplemented by the occasional treadmill worked by 
horses, were the only known sources of power, and the preference 
was always given to the constant and reliable water-wheel above 
the fitful and capricious wind-mill. Major Samuel Appleton 
built a saw-mill some time before 1696, the year of his death, 
on the east side of Appleton's Bridge, on the County Road, which 
remained in use for many years. The mill pond flooded the 
meadows, and in all probability the water was drawn off in 
Spring and Summer, and the mill was used only in the inter- 
vening months. 1 

Joseph Calef, Thomas Potter and Anthony Potter received per- 
mission from the Town, on March 14th, 1693, to build a dam and 
fulling mill lower down on the same stream, which ran through 
Thomas Potter's land on its way to the river. The mill was not 
built apparently, but three years later, Edmund Potter, Abraham 
Tilton Jr. and Antony Potter, petitioned for the privilege of 
setting up a dam and grist mill "near the house of Thomas 
Potter, not to damnify Col. Appleton's saw mill." This was 
granted, March 24, 1696, and the mill was built. The dam still 

1 The Old Bay Road, p. 27. 



* 



8 IPSWICH RIVER 

remains, and an old mill building, on the estate known as the 
Oliver Smith farm, now owned by Mr. Bohlen. 2 

At the very beginning of the building of the Town, and at the 
first Town meeting of which definite record remains, in the 
year 1634. 

"It is concluded and consented unto that Mr. John Spencer 
and Mr. Nicholas Easton, shall have libertye to build a Mill 
and a Ware uppon the Town River about the falles of it uppon 
this condicion that they shall pte with an equal share of theire 
Fish to all the inhabitants of this Town if they bee demanded 
att five shill. a thousand more or less according to the comon 
price of the countrye." 

The falls alluded to were probably at or near the site of the 
present dam of the hosiery mills, though all trace of them has 
been obliterated. There were "smaller falls" a little lower down, 
where the old Damon mill and dam still stand. The river ran 
here through a narrow channel on each side of a rocky island. 
Up through these falls or rapids the salmon, shad and alewives 
forced their way to the spawning grounds in the still waters 
above, in great schools. Numerous arrow-heads and other Indian 
remains which have been found in the adjoining field in the 
grounds of the House of Correction, bear witness to the summer 
village of the Indians for many generations, beside this ancient 
fishery. 

Mr. Spencer and Mr. Easton soon removed, without improving 
the grant, which reverted to Mr. Richard Saltonstall, the most 
prominent man in the new settlement. He built the dam and 
grist mill, and enjoyed a monopoly of the business for many years. 
Corn was brought from the whole great township to be ground 
into Indian meal, the great food staple of the time. But, at 
length, complaints were made about the miller, that he was un- 
skillful and disobliging, and a communication from the "Wor- 
shipful Richard Saltonstall Esq.," then in England, was received 
and entered on the Town Record in 1671, promising that a 
skillful and acceptable miller should be sent. Mr. Michael Far- 
ley was duly installed, with his sons, Michael and Mesheck. 
But there were many apparently who were still unsatisfied, and 
the Town declared that the number of inhabitants was too great 
for one corn mill. In deference to this demand, Mr. Saltonstall 
asked and received liberty, in April, 1682, to build another grist 
mill near Sergeant Clark's. Thomas Clark owned and occupied 
the northeast corner of Summer and Water streets, by the river 
side, where he had a tannery, and a dam was contemplated across 
2 The Old Bay Road, pp. 10, 11. 



IPSWICH RIVER 



the river at this point, to utilize the tides. The privilege was 
granted, "provided he have gates eighteen or twenty feet wide 
to let up canoes or boats loaded into the cove and to let out boats 
and canoes when the tide serves." 

Jonathan Wade and others opposed this, and the reason may 
have been that in 1673 he had received 

"that little island of rocks at the falls in exchange for so 
much to enlarge the highway by the windmill provided he hinder 
no man from taking away loose rocks nor hinder fish ways nor 
making of a bridge, nor prejudice the mills." 
. He had received permission to set up a saw mill in 1649, 
which may have been built on or near this spot. Cornet Whipple, 
also, had received permission, in 1673, to build a fulling mill 
"at the smaller falls by Ezekiel Woodward's house," provided 
Mr. Saltonstall's grist mill at the upper falls and another fulling 
mill already begun, probably at the same spot, were not preju- 
diced. 

Nothing resulted from the tide-mill scheme, nor from the plan 
of Nehemiah Jewett of establishing a mill on Egypt river, and 
in 1686, as the need of another grist mill was increasingly press- 
ing, the selectmen granted liberty to any one to build a grist mill 
at the falls, "by or near Goodman Rust," i. e. the lower falls, 
"provided they damnify not the upper grist mills." No one 
coveted the privilege, and in 1687 Mr. Jewett revived his scheme 
for a mill and secured permission to flow four or five acres of 
the Town's common land. He did not build, however, nor did 
Thomas Boreman avail himself of the liberty he received in 1691 
to establish a grist mill on Labour-in-Vain Creek, provided he 
built within two years, and in June, 1695, Col. Nathl. Saltonstall, 
son of Richard, received permission anew to utilize the location 
by Sergeant Clark's. 

Renewed opposition was made to this project in a written docu- 
ment signed by many, who protested on several grounds. 

"1. Because it stops a navigable river. 

"2. Because it will damnifie Col. Saltonstall's grant (the 
upper mill privilege). 

"3. Because severall other places which will answer ye Town's 
end are proposed, which will do less damage to proprietors." 

Evidently the plan of the Potters on Mile River, and the 
Adams and Farley scheme, were already in the air. However, the 
tide-mill scheme carried, and on Nov. 4, 1696, it was voted: 

"Two or three persons that are so minded shall have liberty 
to erect a mill and raise a dam across y e River by or near y e 
house where John Clark Carpenter formerly lived." 



10 



IPSWICH RIVER 



The unnamed grantees did not proceed, and as the Mile River 
mill was established in the following year, and the Adams and 
Farley mills were built in 1697, the demand for better accommo- 
dation in the center of the Town was met for the time. Eventu- 
ally, Robert Calef asked and received the privilege of building 
a grist mill at the lower falls, March, 1714/15, and built his mill. 

Notwithstanding the competition of the various mills that were 
established in the last decade of the seventeenth century, the 
mills in the center of the Town were steadily enlarged. When 
the Saltonstall heirs, Richard and Nathaniel, sold to John Waite 
Jr., clothier, and Samuel Dutch, April 2, 1729 (55:62), they 
conveyed title to two grist mills, one fulling mill, a dye-house, 
and a saw mill, and Nathaniel Saltonstall and Roland Cotton 
had sold Samuel Dutch "two thirds of the saw mill standing on 
the south side of the river on the same damm the grist mills 
and fulling mill stand on, with two thirds of the ground the 
mill stands on and two thirds of the damm, to be improved only 
when water runs over the dam," Feb. 20, 1730 (61:70). 

The saw mill passed through many hands, and was replaced 
eventually by a mill for veneer sawing by Mr. Benjamin Hoyt, 3 
which was removed in 1858, and used as a dwelling and shoe 
factory by Mr. James M. Wellington. 

The grist mills and fulling mill were acquired by John Waite, 
by the purchase of Dutch's interest, Dec. 1, 1729 (56:156). 
Benjamin Dutch and Nathaniel Farley acquired ownership of 
the grist mills, and Enoch Pearson bought the fulling mill "near 
the southeast end of the grist mill," in 1772 and 1773 (139: 
205 ). 4 The fulling business probably declined with the advent 
of woolen factories with power looms, supplanting the old hand 
looms. The grist mill continued its useful work, and in due time 
was inherited by Joseph Farley, son of Nathaniel, who was the 
last of the long line of Farleys, who have operated the mills for 
more than a century. 

He organized a company for the manufacture of cotton cloth. 
The Town granted him permission "to fill up the passage way 
to the river between the Lace Factory and Saw-Mill, which is 
used as a watering place," on June 19, 1827, as he was about 
erecting a new dam and the stone mill, which is remembered by 
the older folk. 

Mr. Dutch had come to the Town in 1733 with a petition, 
which was granted, 

"for ease and benefit that may arise in his business at his saw 

3 See Ipswich in Mass. Bay, p. 462. 

4 Ipswich in Mass. Bay, pp. 329, 330. 



IPSWICH RIVER 11 

mill near his dwelling house ... for a grant of one rod of 
land on the river bank next the front of his mill and to extend 
about half a rod below the eastern corner thereof, so as not to 
prejudice the common benefits of the watering place * next Mr. 
Dane's." 

This watering place was the eastern end of the ancient fording 
place, where, at the beginning of the town and before the bridge 
was built, all wheeled vehicles and horses crossed the river, a 
foot-bridge being located near the Damon mills. The other end 
of the ancient crossing was granted to the mill company on Tune 
7, 1849: 

"Voted that the Town grant the fording place at the Lower 
end of the Stone factory and all its interest in the road between 
the Stone factory and the land of Eunice Farley to the Ipswich 
Mills." 

This was conditioned upon the building of a factory on the 
fording place, and establishing a cistern for the convenience of 
the residents in that locality. 

The Ipswich Manufacturing Co., Joseph Farley, president, 
operated very boldly. The lower grist mills were secured, a 
canal from the upper dam across the intervening lots in Elm 
Street to the Cove, was projected. The looms were started in 
1830. In 1832, 3,000 spindles and 260 looms were in operation, 
and 450,000 yards of cotton cloth were produced annually, giving 
employment to 18 males and 63 females. But financial difficul- 
ties soon arose, and the Ipswich Manufacturing Co. conveyed to 
a new company, called the Dane Manufacturing Co., the "upper 
Falls estate" with stone factory, engine house, warehouse, etc., 
"the Lower Fall estate," with one double grist mill, one saw mill, 
one factory building, now used for the manufacture of shirts and 
drawers, and various lots of land, Sept. 7, 1846 (463:252). The 
directors of the new company, George W. Heard, Abraham 
Hammett and Josiah Caldwell, sold the same to Augustine Heard, 
June 1, 1852 (463:254). Mr. Heard sold to Mr. Amos A. Law- 
rence (605:139, 631:214, 711:18), who conveyed to the Ipswich 
Mills Co., Jan. 16, 1868 (738:253). The looms were removed 
and the manufacture of hosiery was begun. For a time business 
was conducted at a loss. The company was unfortunate in its 
superintendents, and was on the verge of abandoning the enter- 
prise, when a young Nottingham manufacturer, Mr. Everard H. 
Martin, was chosen superintendent. With his coming an era of 
prosperity dawned, and for many years this corporation has been 
the chief industrial enterprise of the Town. 

The bank of the river, from the mill dam to the bridge, was 

* June, 127, Joseph Farley put up the old watering place. 



12 IPSWICH RIVER 

wholly unoccupied and un granted as late as 1693, except one 
small lot by the dam, which was occupied by Samuel Ordway's 
blacksmith shop. In March, 1692/3, several persons petitioned 
"to have liberty granted them to build shops upon y e bank by 
y* river side." Accordingly the Selectmen laid out this stretch 
of land in twenty-three lots, ranging from thirty-six to eighteen 
feet wide, and granted them to as many individuals. 5 The most 
interesting in the present connection is the one nearest the dam, 
with the old mansion, which was built by Dr. Philemon Dean, 
who had served in the King Philip War under Major Samuel 
Appleton, and was Clerk of the Company. 6 It was purchased 
in 1824 by the Boston and Ipswich Lace Co., and an extension 
was built, in which probably the lace machines were installed. 
The enterprise was an unfortunate venture, and three years later 
the property was sold at auction to Theodore Andrews, lace manu- 
facturer, Nov. 9, 1827 (286:222). 7 

For six years or more after the first settlement there seems 
to have been no bridge over the river for wheeled vehicles. As 
early as Dec. 3, 1641, however, the record was made: 

"Agreed that what was due to the workmen for the new Bridge 
before the late repairs thereof and also what was due for the 
late repairs shall be paid by the next rate, the total of which 
sum amounts unto 10-11-8." 

Mention of damage by freshets is occasionally made, and this 
new bridge may have suffered from this cause. But definite 
mention of a "cart-bridge" does not occur until Jan. 4, 1646/7, 
when "the names of such as promise carting voluntary toward the 
Cart Bridge besides the rate a 2 days work a piece," were entered 
in full in the Town Record. Forty pounds sterling were appro- 
priated, and a building committee was chosen: Mr. William 
Payne, John Whipple and Richard Jacob. The work was so far 
advanced in March that it was 

"Ordered that the Surveyors shall take care to make good the 
passage at both ends of the Cart Bridge sufficient for passages of 
horse and carts soe soon as [ ] carpenters have made it capable." 

In 1662 a new bridge was necessary, and John Appleton and 
Jonathan Wade, the committee appointed by the Quarter Sessions 
Court to compute the cost and build the bridge, reported, on 
June 24, that they had already begun the work, and that it would 
cost about eighty pounds sterling. 

An item in the Town accounts, in 1683, for "trying to save 

5 For the detailed narrative of these lots, see Ipswich in the Mass. Bay, 
p. 456, On the River Bank. 

6 Ipswich in Mass. Bay, pp. 199, 201, 219. 

7 For a full history of the Lace Companies see Publication 23, Ipswich 
Historical Society. 



IPSWICH RIVER 



13 



the old bridge," suggests that it may have been destroyed by a 
freshet in the river. A new bridge was ready for travel in Sep- 
tember, 1683. The original accounts for its erection are still 
preserved in the Court Files (Book 40:29). 

Court Files, Book 40:29. 

To the Hon County Court Sitting at Ipswich, Sept. 1683. 

Whereas The worshipfull William Browne Bartholomew Gid- 
ney & Major Samuell Appleton Eqrs. appoynted us whose names 
are under written a Committee to agree with workmen for the 
Erecting of a new Bridg upon the Country Road : upon the 
River below the Mills in Ipswich Wee doe hereby Informe y er 
Hono 1 " 9 of what nessesary Cost according to Contracts wee have 
bene out upon the same : & for passing over the said River untill 
sd Bridg was Erected. 

Imp r To Cost about the Boat fetching up in 

winter from plum Island: & the hire of it: 008.= 12=0 
It. to a Road to serve Cross the River to pull over 
It. to soe much as wee agreed w th Abraham 

Tilton the Builder for his work 
It. to soe much due to Capt. John Appleton 
for digging Rocks & Carting them : & for 

Carting Gravell to the Bridg as appeareth 
in his pticular ace* examined &tc 
It. to Jacob Foster: due for such Labo r 
It. to John Edwards: due for the like labou r 
It. to John Low for the like labo r 
It. to Jn° Kimball due for like labo r 
It. to Jonathan Lumas fo r Carting Gravell 
It. to pticular psons for the laying stones & 

throwing up Gravell & spreading as in their 

pticular accts. examined 
It. to soe much for Oakm Tarr & Calking 

the planks 
It. to Jeremiah Jewett for Carting Rocks 
It. to soe much for Drink to the workmen w ch 

wrought at the bridge ends 6 Gallon of 

small bear & 2 qts of Liq r8 

to Neh. Jewett for Cost & fees 



It. 



It. The Timber is valued at 



100=00=100 



006=13=00 
004=00=03 
002=15=00 
000. 14=00 
000 19=11 
001=19=00 



003—13—06 

000=19=0 
001 = 10=0 



000—04=00 
000—08.00 



134=11=00 
John Appleton 
Nehemiah Jewett 

15=0—0 



14 IPSWICH RIVER 

This bridge was in bad condition by 1700, and the Town 
voted on May 9, that 

"Coll. John Appleton Esq. & Col. Jn° Wainwright Esq. Major 
Francis Wainwright Lieut. John Whipple & Mr. James Burn- 
ham be a Committee to consider what way be most proper in 
regard to our Great Bridge." 

Again, in 1719, the Selectmen were instructed to "provide a 
suitable foot bridge over the River with all convenient expedi- 
tion and also that they wait on the next Quarter Sessions to 
consult and advise with them about the erecting a new bridge." 

In 1764, the volume of travel over the County road had become 
so great that another new bridge was necessary, and it was 
decided by the Town that the old bridge was six or eight feet 
too narrow and that the new one should be twenty feet wide. 
A wooden bridge seems to have been contemplated, and it was 
proposed that two abutments already built be extended into the 
river not exceeding three feet, and that not less than twenty-eight 
or more than thirty feet be left between the abutments and the 
central pier. Application was made to the Court of General 
Sessions to levy half the expense upon the County, and the Court 
coincided in the necessity of thorough rebuilding. Eventually a 
stone bridge was decided upon, and the stately structure, which 
still stands, was completed at a cost of £996 10s. 6^4d. The 
Committee appended its account for supervision. The Court 
allowed the bills for construction, but took exception to the 
Committee's "extraordinary charge for Care and Trouble." 

The Stone Bridge became again the source of much spirited 
controversy, when it was found to be too narrow. The County 
and Town began their conferences regarding the widening in 
March, 1829. Unfortunately the hot fight over the bridge at 
Warner's Mills was in full swing, and the Town was not pre- 
pared to listen kindly to another scheme of bridge building which 
would involve large expense. The scheme was dropped for the 
time, but in February, 1834, Joseph Wait and 194 others made a 
fresh appeal for the widening. A committee was appointed to 
estimate the cost, and confer with the County Commissioners. 
It reported that the County would bear half the expense, but the 
Town distrusted the astuteness of its committee, and appointed 
a new committee to guard its interests. 

At this time Mr. Joseph L. Ross had his dwelling, barn and 
blacksmith shop on the ledges in front of the Seminary building, 
a most unsightly and inconvenient location. It was now pro- 
posed, in connection with the widening of the bridge, to make 
a thorough work of public improvement by removing this old 



IPSWICH RIVER 



15 



eyesore and making a broader and more convenient thoroughfare 
up the hill. The County Commissioners re-located the highway 
over a portion of the Ross land, paying him $800 for what was 
taken. A public subscription netted $654, the buildings were 
sold for $470, and the Committee reported on Dec. 8, 1834, that 
only $126 more was needed to secure title to the land. The 
Town voted to raise this amount, provided the whole lot should 
be in the highway forever. It was voted also to petition the 
County Commissioners to include it in the highway. 

The lay out of the road up the hill led to fresh difficulties. 
A new location was desired, and there were various conferences 
with the County authorities, but at last the Town voted on 
May 16, 1836, to proceed with the bridge widening and road 
building, provided the Town should not be liable for more than 
$1,200 expense on the bridge, and that it be widened to 30 feet 
at least, and that the road up the hill be constructed, provided 
the Town's share of the expense should not exceed $1,000. 
Ephraim F. Miller, Frederic Mitchell and Ezekiel Dodge were 
chosen a committee to execute the work. This committee was 
authorized, on July 25, 1836, to let out the contract for the road 
building, but the widening of the bridge was referred to the next 
Town Meeting. 

At the annual meeting in March, 1837, a committee was 
appointed 

"to remonstrate to the Legislature against the passage of any 
Act that shall make the Town liable to any part of the expense 
of widening Choate's bridge said Bridge being over tide waters." 

This clever device for escaping from any share in the cost 
failed of its end, and in June the Town received an order from 
the County Commissioners. This was referred to a committee, 
but man after man refused to accept appointment. Finally, 
Joseph Farley, Daniel Cogswell, and Otis P. Lord consented to 
serve. The question of widening was indefinitely postponed by 
the Town on August 15, 1837. Again, in June, 1838, in response 
to an order from the County, action was again indefinitely post- 
poned. So the battle was waged, though the result was inevit- 
able. The Town was in fighting mood, and when the County 
ordered the Town, on January 21, 1839, to pay, as its portion, 
$1,037.50, a committee was chosen to take legal advice, though 
the amount assessed was well within the $1,200 the Town had 
agreed to pay in 1836. The battle of the Stone Bridge had 
surpassed in virulence the former battle of Warner's Bridge. 

When the fourth bridge across the river was planned, in the 
spring of 1861, the great crisis of the Civil War was at hand, 



16 



IPSWICH RIVER 



and the single vote recorded on March 11th, instructed the Select- 
men to build a road from Col. Wm. Baker's to Zenas Cushing's, 
and another granite bridge was built forthwith. Twenty years 
afterward a wooden bridge, at the foot of Green Street, was 
built by vote of the Town on October 12, 1881, which was re- 
placed by an arched bridge of stone by vote of May 14, 1894. 
Singularly enough, the men living on Turkey Shore petitioned 
on March 27, 1719, for this very privilege. 

"The inhabitants of the Lower End of the Town on the South 
side of the River petition the Town for liberty to build a bridge 
over the river at their own charges & cost from . . . Lane to 
Foster Lane, convenient for horse and men to pass over. 

Philemon Dane Simon Wood 

Thos. Hovey Wm. Hunt 

Wm. Howard Wm. Hunt Jr. 

Sam. Howard Jacob Boarman 

Dan. Hovey Thos. Hodgkins." 

The desired privilege was granted, provided the river be not 
obstructed, but was not improved. 

The lower falls, as has been already noted, were recognized 
as a valuable mill power very early, and various grants were 
made. Jonathan Wade probably built a saw mill about the year 
1673, when the small, rocky island was given him, and his heirs, 
Jonathan, Thomas and Elizabeth, conveyed to Joseph Caleffe 
and Francis Crompton their title in "a certain saw mill and 
fulling mill now standing together at y e . Falls in y e Great River," 
and "an island and privileges as granted to our predecessors," 
May 16, 1702 (18:172). Crompton sold "my third part of 
Island and fulling mill and saw mill" to Robert Calef, son of 
Joseph, Feb. 2, 1714 (29:76), who received liberty from the 
Town to build a grist mill. He sold the whole property to 
William Dodge of Wenham, Nov. 22, 1729 (54:169). 

Mr. Dodge came to the Town the following year, 1730, with 
the oft-repeated request for the privilege to dam the river, "at 
the end of Green Lane, so called, near Srg. Clark's formerly so 
called," and remove the grist mill to this site, but the Town 
negatived his petition. He sold a two-thirds interest in the 
mills to Col. John Choate and Andrew Burley, and the remainder 
to his son, William Dodge Jr., March 22, 1748 (94:222), the 
use of the power being conditioned, "when the water runs over 
any part of the dam in said river, between y e saw mill, now of 
John Tread well and the corn mill on y e other side of y* dam, 
etc.," i. e. the upper dam. This restriction of the water power 



m 



IPSWICH RIVER 17 

may have been the reason of the repeated requests for a new loca- 
tion, and after a year's experience, Mr. Dodge, the new owner, 
made his petition to the Town, and on June 26, 1749, liberty was 
given him to remove and raise his mill dam under the direction 
of the Selectmen, at a more convenient place in the river, keeping 
the same height as the old dam, and "to raise such works upon 
his Dam as to stop the Tide in times of Drought, the same to be 
always under the regulation of the Selectmen, as to the height 
and time when they shall be put up and when they shall be taken 
down." 

But again the coveted privilege lapsed. Abraham Choate sold 
the two-thirds interest to Col. Isaac Dodge, son of William, 
Feb. 6, 1772 (130:43'), and William Jr., his brother, sold his 
interest to him, Dec. 31, 1783 (147:169). Many years before, 
Isaac had requested the Town to release him from working on 
the highways in any other locality, obliging himself to raise the 
bridge over the little falls, and the ground on either side, and 
put good rails on each side of the bridge, March 3, 1761. 

The allusion to the bridge is interesting, confirming the belief 
that a foot bridge was established here in the early days of the 
Town. Thomas Wells's grant of a house lot was located "ner 
the foot-bridge." 8 A single tree trunk from the primitive forest 
would have spanned the space that separated the rocky island 
in mid-stream from either bank, and the ancient two-rod way by 
the water side would have allowed the approach to it. Again, 
in 1719, the Selectmen were instructed to provide a suitable 
foot-bridge over the river with all convenient expedition, and also 
to wait on the next Quarter Sessions to consult and advise with 
them about the erecting a new bridge. 

The mills continued in the Dodge ownership for many years. 
Col. Isaac bequeathed the grist mills, the old one and another, 
recently newly erected, and a saw mill, to his son Nathaniel, in 
1786 (Pro. Rec. 358:518), and Nathaniel bequeathed in turn 
to his brother-in-law, Major Thomas Burnham, soldier a^id 
schoolmaster, who had married his sister Rebecca (1792, Pro. 
Rec. 361:522). The Major sold to Mary Farley and John 
Baker 3d, July 20, 1820 (224:73), who conveyed the same day 
to Geo. W. Heard (231:115). He sold to his brother, Capt. 
Augustine Heard, Dec. 1, 1824, and Augustine conveyed to the 
Ipswich Manufacturing Co., Dec. 22, 1837 (302:205). The 
Ipswich Mills sold to Frederic Damon, May 25, 1870 (988:85), 
and his heirs still own. The larger mill was nearly destroyed by 
lire many years ago, and has been entirely removed. The grist 

8 Ipswich in Mass. Bay, 443, 444. 



18 



IPSWICH RIVER 



mill has fallen into ruin, and the ancient water power, which 
contributed to the convenience of the Town for so many gener- 
ations, is entirely unused. The "Island" is scarcely recognized, 
as the Stone Bridge, built in 1861, connected it with the main- 
land, but its original shore may be seen at several points. 

The "Great Cove," as it was called, or "Hunt's Cove," where 
the river meets the tide-water, was a busy place in the olden 
times. There was much canoe traffic up and down the river, and 
the fishing industry was extensive. So there was frequent de- 
mand for wharfing privileges. 

A wharf by Mr. Rust's is mentioned in a deed of neighboring 
property in 1692, 9 This was near the present Town landing. 10 
Samuel Hunt received a grant on the Turkey Shore road, and 
the family continued there many years. His sons, William and 
Joseph Hunt, obtained a grant of fifty feet on the water side at 
"y e poynt of rocks, below Goodman Hunt Sen. barn," to build a 
wharf on, if done in one year, in March, 1691/2. 

A petition was read at the Town meeting, March 26, 1722, 
from the whole neighborhood, signed by Simon Wood, Daniel 
Rindge, Philemon Dane, William Hunt, Thomas Perrin, Joseph 
Fuller, Nathaniel Fuller, James Fuller, William Hunt Jr., 
Thomas Hovey, William Howard,Thomas Wade, Thomas Burn- 
ham 4th, Jonathan Fellows, and Daniel Hodgkins, praying for 
leave to build a wharf in Hunt's Cove, "for our benefit to land 
our hay and convenience and for carting up the same." The 
petition was granted, provided it did not infringe any other 
grant, and a good wharf should be completed within two years, 
so that a cart could go on and off in safety. The wharf was to 
belong to them only as long as they kept it in repair. These con- 
ditions seem to have not been fulfilled, as a new petition was 
made for a wharf in Hunt's Cove: 

"beginning at the east corner of Samuel Ayers his land and 
then extending down against W m Hunt Jun. his house, as far 
as may be thought necessary, there being no wharf nor any place 
thereabout kept in repair fit for such occasions." 

This was granted. The location is that now occupied by the 
old wharf. 

Capt. Ammi Ruhaniah Wise owned and occupied the corner 
where the meeting house of the South Church stands, and there 
was included in his lot, land on the Cove. He addressed a peti- 
tion to the Town in 1729, requesting that for the security and 
safe keeping of his vessels, more especially in the Winter season, 



9 Ipswich In Mass. Bay, p. 475. 
10 Ipswich in Mass. Bay, pp. 448, 450. 



"Rush's Wharf," 1737, p. 455. 



IPSWICH RIVER 



19 



he may be favored with a grant of some of the flats at the western- 
most part of the Great Cove, whereon he purposed to build a 
wharf, of the same breadth with the front of his close next the 
said Cove. The Town granted him a location adjoining the land 
of Mr. Increase How, the tavern keeper. The wharf was built, 
and when the Wise property was sold to Solomon Giddings Jr., 
April 9, 1771 (129:121), it included land on the Cove, with the 
wharf and buildings. Capt. Gideon Parker, who sold the prop- 
erty in 1764, was a shipwright. Solomon Giddings Jr. was of 
the same craft, and carried on his trade of ship-building, and 
when he sold to Col. Isaac Dodge in 1785, he specified "the ship- 
yard lot," 16 square rods (144:122). 11 Capt. Augustine Heard 
sold the Swasey house, with the ship-yard to Dea. Zenas Cush- 
ing, in 1855. John Fitts, a leather-dresser by trade, bought of 
Isaac Fitts of Newbury, an old dwelling with a quarter-acre lot, 
and a ten-rod lot on the Cove, "bounded north-east upon the 
landing place known as Rust's wharf," Aug. 20, 1737 (79:185). 
John Fitts Jr. stated to the Town, March 14, 1733/4, being 
then a tenant probably, that he thought himself justly entitled 
to a piece of land before his door, between Capt. Wise's ware- 
house and his own garden, and wishing to make his title sure, he 
asked for a grant of the same, binding himself to wharf it up 
next the river and keep the highway in good repair. His peti- 
tion was granted, provided that he and his heirs make and mainl 
tain a good highway, sixteen feet wide, between his house yard 
and the granted premises. 

Dr. Joseph Manning asked for a grant of 30 feet on the river 
bank, between Mr. Dodge's mill and the Lime kiln, where he 
might build a wharf, in 1731, and a committee assigned him a 
location, beginning 40 feet north of the south corner of the 
Lime kiln rock, and extending 30 feet into the river. Aaron 
Stephens had received a grant of a small lot, "by the Lime Pit 
Rock over against Serg. Hunt's" in 1730, and Thomas Lord was 
allowed a lot south of Stephens, with 12 rods frontage on the 
river, in 1732, for a ship-building yard. Thomas Pierce, the 
Town Crier, had a grant northeast of Stephens, and his house 
probably stood on the site now occupied by the residence of Mr. 
Howard Lakeman. An old cellar was disclosed when the foun- 
dation of the Lakeman house was laid. 

This steep bank, with its nearness to the channel, seems to 
have been very attractive for boat-landings or wharves and not- 
withstanding the numerous grants already made, in the year 1737 
Henry Wise, Emerson Cogswell, Is a Knowlton, Daniel Pottar, 
11 Ipswich in Mass. Bay, pp. 454, 455. 



20 IPSWICH RIVER 

Thomas Prince and Nathan Jackson preferred their request, 
"showing that they have built a small boat for the accommoda- 
tion of a fish-market near said Pierce's," and praying that they 
may have the improvement of about 8 rods adjoining Pierce's 
land, "supposing they may have reason to dry & make fish there." 
The most important industry that was established here was the 
distillery. William Hunt sold to Wm. Dodge, baker, his 2 acre 
lot, and "also all his right to the wharf in Hunt's Cove, April 9, 
1745 (91:134). William Dodge Jr. sold to William Story, of 
Boston, a piece of land near his home, "bounded west on the road 
leading to my wharf, four and a quarter rods, north on my land 
purchased of William Hunt, eight rods," Oct. 9, 1765 (125 :224). 
Mr. Story probably built the large distill-house at once. He sold 
a half interest in the property, with its two distills, two worms, 
two worm-tubs, etc., to John Heard, May 1, 1770 (128:171), 
and the rest to his son, William Story Jr. (129:11). Mr. Heard 
acquired complete title to the property, and for many years the 
distillery was in active operation, and many vessels from the 
West Indies discharged their freight of molasses at the neigh- 
boring wharf. He sold a small lot, with half the wharf adjoin- 
ing, to Richard Lakeman Jr., Dec. 13:1805 (236:226), and con- 
veyed the distillery to his son, George W. Heard, Feb. 10, 1818 
(217:234). Mr. George W. Heard "now considerably engaged 
in the distilling business, and as the depth of water in the Cove 
adjoining his distill-house is not sufficient for coasting vessels of 
sufficient burthen to be brought to the wharf now made," peti- 
tioned for leave to build and erect a wharf from the ledge of 
rocks near the corner of Capt. Ebenezer Caldwell's land. The 
committee to which the request was referred, recommended a 
grant, beginning at the ledge of rocks on the south-east side of 
the Cove near Capt. Ebenezer Caldwell's land, then west 100 ft., 
with a breadth of 45 ft., measuring from low water mark to the 
bank of said Cove, with the privilege of a cart way over the 
Town land, and the recommendation was adopted on April 6, 
1818. The question of title arose some years later, and the 
committee of investigation regarding the Town landings 12 re- 
ported that the evidence of many showed that the landing and 
the wharf adjoined the wharf of John Heard was a free public 
landing. The wharf had been repaired by Surveyors. No 
private person ever demanded wharfage until two years since, 
about which time George W. Heard enlarged the wharf and has 
demanded wharfage. Their conclusion was singularly easy- 
going : 

12 The Committee reported the bounds of the Town landing in the Cove 
and the Heard wharf, March 29, 1832. 



IPSWICH RIVER 



21 



"We have asked him to show title. He says it is too much 
trouble to look up and the town must prove he has no title." 13 

Regarding the name "Turkey Shore," Rev. Mr. Frisbie, pastor 
of the First Church, wrote a letter in 1804, regarding Rev. 
William Hubbard, who married for his second wife, Mary, the 
widow of Samuel Pierce : 

"Mr. Foster, a Deacon of Dr. Dana's Society, ninety years 
old, whose memory is good, says that he lived in a house about 
100 rods from Dr. Dana's meeting house, near the high banks 
of Ipswich River, commonly known here by the name of Turkey 
shore, and of his house (i. e. Rev. William Hubbard's) the place 
and cellar is yet to be seen." 14 

Continuing down the river, the high steep bank on the south 
side seems to have offered no facilities for landing, but as soon 
as the easier slope was reached, the wharf privileges were again 
sought. Daniel Hovey had bought land of William Knowlton, 
and he received permit to build a wharf "against ground he 
bought of William Knowlton," in 1659, now owned by Mr. Robert 
S. Kimball. In the year 1652 he received from the Town liberty 
"to set his fence down to the river at the ground bought of 
William Knowlton, making a stile at each end, and the land 
still notwithstanding is the Town's." In the original land grants 
along the river side, the Town reserved a way two rods wide for 
public use. It is specified in the grant to George Carr, near the 
house of the late I. A. Rogers, on the north side of the river, in 
the year 1635 : 

"George Carr is possessed of a house lott about half an acre 
butting on the South upon the Town River on the East by a 
planting lott of his own on the North by a planting lott of 
Daniel Clarke's with liberty granted him to fence the sayd house 
lott as low as the low water mark provided that he leave a way 
or gate for passage, according to a former Town order of freedom 
for [ ] by the river." 

A similar reservation is indicated in the vote of Jan. 11, 1640: 

"It is agreed that Thomas Clarke shall have liberty to sett 
downe Tan fatts at the end of his planting lott upon the two 
rodds reserved by the River." 

Clarke's tannery was on Water Street, between Sumner and 
Hovey Streets. The same two-rod way is recognized in the deed 
of Moses Treadwell to James Safford of an acre by the river side, 
April 7, 1818 (222:202), now included in the County House lot: 
"reserving any right that the Town of Ipswich may have of 

13 Ipswich in Mass. Bay, p. 412. 

14 Mass. Historical Society Collection, Series 1:32. 



22 irswicn RIVER 

turning or tracking vessels or boats up and down the river or 
passing over the land for that purpose." 

In this case there is reason to believe that there was a well 
travelled way on the river bank from Green Lane, which was 
anciently known as Bridge Street, to the foot-bridge at the lower 
falls. Though a bridge was petitioned for at the foot of Green 
Street, none was ever built until 

A Committee to view the Common Lands of the Town re- 
ported on October 8, 1668: 

"... And on the Towne River parcels of Thatch banks by- 
Mr. Borman's island by John Perkins his Island (less two rod 
from highwater mark reserved by the Towne on each side the 
Town River) ..." 

Daniel Hovey Sen. of Quaboag sold Abraham Perkins half 
an acre on the bank of the river, 

"extending on the other sides toward the river within two rods 
of high water mark." 

A committee to lay out reserves on the north side of the river, 
reported their doings on January 27, 1700/1: 

". . . they went about the middle of September, 1700, and 
beginning at the eastern side of that marsh y* formerly was 
Ensign Howlett's by y e River side from thence they went all the 
way that marsh went which Ips ch Selectmen sold to Payne's 
Creek, leaving a rodd distance all y e way between s d marsh & 
High water at ordinary Nep tides all y e w r ay as y e River runs 
making many marks for bounds. Lieut. Samuel Appleton, Maj r 
Francis Wainwright & Thomas Lovell Sen. Lay d out a way a 
Rod & halfe wide & sett stakes on both sides. The same all y e 
way from Manning's Neck to Robinson's Creek. 

Two other grants were made in the vicinity of Daniel Hovey's 
land. Simon Wood, James Fuller and Daniel Ringe received 
a grant of seventy feet front, bordering on the land of Thomas 
Smith, near Daniel Hovey's, on March 4, 1691/2; and shortly 
after, William Haywood, or Howard, and Joseph Fuller asked 
for a similar grant near by. In 1756, William Dodge petitioned 
for 45 feet, down to low water mark, by the land of Silvanus 
Lakeman. Grant was made, with the usual provisos, and the 
special condition that 

"the petitioner does not cumber or impede the cart passage 
over the river between said wharf and the land of William Robins 
heirs with cables, anchors, Fasts or otherwise." 

The allusion to the "cart passage" is interesting. William 
Robins Jr. bought the Thomas Smith lot in 1728, and it passed 
eventually to Wm. Fuller Andrews, and latterly to Josiah Mann 



IPSWICH RIVER 



23 



and Frank Burke. It shows that the road which leads down to 
the river at this point, which is mentioned in very early deeds, 
was the approach to an old ford-way over the river, which was 
a convenient way of communication between the eastern end of 
the Town and the lands and the Bay Road on the south side of 
the river. 

The mention of cables, anchors and fasts, suggests that Mr. 
Dodge planned a substantial structure. It was built so well and 
strong, that it was still in use in 1819, when Ebenezer Caldwell 
and his wife Mercy, granddaughter of the builder, sold it to 
George W. Heard (218:277), and when Augustine and George 
W. Heard sold it to Benjamin Kimball and Silvanus Caldwell, 
Sept. 25, 1838, it measured still 45 feet, and was "under the 
same conditions granted by the Town in 1756" (322:171). In 
the days when the distillery was in full swing many West India 
cargoes were unloaded here. 

Sergeant Thomas Clarke and Robert Pierce received a grant 
of wharf privilege near Clarke's land in 1662. Thomas Smith, 
a tailor, bought the Clark property in 1694, and in 1729, William 
Urann petitioned for and received a 30 foot grant before the 
house of his father-in-law, Thomas Smith, to lay up his vessel. 

Deacon Moses Pengry, the salt maker, built a house on the lot, 
now occupied by the old Sutton house, which he bought of 
Jacob Foster in 1673, and conveyed it to his son Moses, July 2, 
1684 (Ips. Deeds 5:96). The Deacon asked and received 
"liberty for his son Moses to have liberty upon the bank by 
Jacob Foster's land to build vessels, provided he does not inter- 
rupt the highway," in 1673. A shipyard was in operation here 
for many years, and Summer Street was long known as Shipyard 
Lane. 

The river bank on the north side of the river was low, affording 
easy access to the water, and was near the more thickly settled 
portion of the town. Grants for wharves began to be made at 
a very early date, and some of the structures then erected were 
or came to be, the wharves which still remain. 

On Dec. 3, 1641, liberty was granted to Mr. William Payne 
to build a warehouse and wharf, the conditions being left for 
further consideration. In 1681, the petition of Simon Stace to 
build a wharf was granted. He asked for a location forty feet 
in length on the highway, "where Mr. Paine's brew-house or 
warehouse was." The Town refused this, but the committee 

"laid out to said Stace 40 foote of land beginning at the eastern 
end of a stone that is about 132 foote from the west end of the 
Town wharfe." 



24 



IPSWICH RIVER 



Mr. Stace built his wharf forthwith but came again to the 
Town, in February, 1684/5, entreating it 

"to grant me liberty to carry out the uper end of my wharfe 
one rod in length next the bank, that it may be so much longer 
next the bank than it now is by the River, it being no damage 
to any man excepting myself, having laid out allmost ten pounds 
and not received ten shillings." 

Francis Wainwright was authorized in 1667 to build a wharf 
against his warehouse, and again in 1685 he had permission to 
make fifty feet of wharf below Ensign Simon Stacy. Francis 
and John Wainwright represented that they had already "been 
at great charge to build a wharf." Their wharf was not kept 
in good repair, however, and the Town voted, in March, 1704/5, 
that any persons who would help in repairing Col. and Major 
Wainwright's wharf might have liberty to use the same. "Col. 
and Major Wainwright granted this liberty in open Town 
meeting." 

The Town voted again, March 6, 1710/11: 

"That the Selectmen view Mr. Wainwright's wharfe & con- 
sider what it will cost to repair it for y e Town's benefitt & make 
report y r off to the Town att the next meeting, also to view 
Mr. Farley's bridge y* leads to his Mill about repair g y r off." 

John Wainwright and Samuel Appleton Jr. both largely en- 
gaged in mercantile enterprises, asked for another grant of about 
forty-five feet of the flats at the easterly side of Mr. Wain- 
wright's wharf in July, 1722, which was granted in the following 
January. 

"They will be at the expense of keeping up & repairing at 
their own cost a considerable piece of very bad way which costs 
the Town much labor & time now in repairing, and the flats 
they propose to wharf & set a salt house on are of no use to the 
Town, while the fishing & trading industry will have advantage." 

The Wainwright heirs sold their interest to Jeremiah Staniford, 
Dec. 7, 1773 (147:141), and it was known as Stamford's wharf 
until Richard Lakeman bought a controlling interest from Eben- 
ezer Staniford in 1804 (173:241) and 1813 (201:117), John 
Newmarch Jr. owning one-third (173:241). It was now known 
as Lakeman's wharf, and was used by Capt. Lakeman in his ex- 
tensive fishing business. The Newmarch heirs sold their interest 
to Sylvanus Caldwell, June 9, 1856 (627:275). Ebenezer Lake- 
man conveyed the two-thirds conveyed to him by his grandfather, 
Capt. Richard Lakeman, to Capt. Richard T. Dodge, May 11, 
1868 (850:260), who carried on a large coal business and built 
the coal sheds. 



IPSWICH RIVER 25 

Symon Stace sold his wharf property to John Holland, Jan. 8, 
1694/5 (94:111). The deed describes the bounds, "one end of 
it by Mr. Wainwright's land, y* other by common land." The 
Holland heirs conveyed to Thomas Wells, land with a house, 
bounded on the east by the "way leading on to Wainwright's 
wharf, on the west end by common land," May 17, 1747 (90: 
201). Jonathan Wells sold to Dr. John Calef, physician and 
merchant, whose Tory sentiments obliged him to leave his busi- 
ness operations and his home at the beginning of the Revolu- 
tionary war, Dec. 28, 1761 (115:211). Dr. Calef sold a third 
to Captain John Smith, April 4, 1765 (117:102), a third to 
Samuel Sawyer on the same date (128:221), and a third to John 
Heard, "now known as Calef and Sawyer's wharf and ware- 
house," March 22, 1777 (135:264). Samuel Sawyer acquired 
another third by purchase from Aaron Smith, son of Capt. John, 
April 17, 1771 (160:201), and sold a third to Thomas Dodge, 
July 8, 1786 (160:266), who conveyed the same to Capt. Eph- 
raim Kendall, June 13, 1796 (162:74). It was owned succes- 
sively by Jonathan Kendall, Oct. 5, 1804 (188:220), David 
Pulsifer, June 3, 1809 (190:9, 10), George W. Heard, July 8, 
1824 (240:66), Aaron P. Lord, Mar. 26, 1836 (319:230). 

Mr. Lord married Sarah Sawyer, Aug. 28, 1823. . . . He 
conveyed two-thirds of the wharf and land "beginning at the 
westerly corner thereof at a stone, and thence running north east" 
5 rods 20 lying in common with the other third owned by heirs 
of Samuel Sawyer to Ebenezer Cogswell, June 7, 1842 (376: 
130). Joseph and Ebenezer Cogswell acquired the other third, 
Marc 27, 1847 (380:37), and sold the whole property to Syl- 
vanus Caldwell, Nov. 14, 1849 (433:202). His heirs sold to 
Aaron Cogswell an undivided half of Sawyer's wharf and an 
undivided third of the adjoining "Wainwright wharf, now Lake- 
man's" (715:178). 

The grant to Simon Stace in 1681 was bounded on its western 
corner by "a stone that is about 132 foote from the west end of 
the Town wharfe." The Town voted in 1653: 

"The Surveyors shall have power to call out all the Town 
one day work both men and teams to the filling up of a wharf 
and mending the street against it." 

The wharf was built but was not properly completed, as is 
evident from the vote: 

"13:8:1659. 
"The Selectmen being informed that the wharf is in danger 
to be carried away this winter for want of filling up do order 
the surveyor of highways to take care thereof and to warn such 



26 



IPSWICH RIVER 



as they shall judge meet to cutt faggots and carts to carry them 
in and there to land it up under such penalty as they are liable to 
for defect in other highwaye worke." 

The Town voted further. May 23, 1734, that Ensign George 
Hart be wharffinger at the Town wharf near his house, 15 and 
that the Selectmen agree with him for his trouble, he being 
authorized to demand and receive toll. On March 11, 1736/7, 
Ensign Hart chosen to have oversight of the Town's wharf, 
lately rebuilt near his house, and if any persons neglected to pay 
toll within six days after demand was made, he was impowered 
to prosecute. No further mention of it occurs in the Town 
records. It may be that it occupied a portion of the space still 
included in the Town landing. 

Obadiah Wood, a "biskett-baker," was the original owner of 
the land bounded by Water Street on the south. Capt. Andrew 
Diamond, who had large fishing interests with Francis Wain- 
wright at the Isles of Shoals, and had his wharf and fish stages 
at "Diamond Stage," acquired the corner lot in 1673, and later, 
Captain York, the next owner, sold a quarter acre lot on the 
west side of his house lot to Jabesh Sweet, April 17:1713 (25: 
267). Nathaniel Tuckerman owned another small lot adjoining 
Sweet's in 1690, and west of this was the lot of Peter Peniwell, 
mariner. These lots apparently did not reach to low water, and 
there was some disputing as to title. 

Capt. Diamond may have had a wharf near his dwelling. 
Captain Samuel York, who bought from the Diamond heirs, 
April 28, 1713 (25:197), certainly had such a convenience. His 
widow, Mary, conveyed a part to Jokn Manning (176:179), and 
Samuel Griffing and his wife, Hannah, daughter of Captain York, 
and administrators of the widow's estate, sold a half acre with 
the wharf in 1772 to John Berry (130:233), who conveyed to 
Abraham Dodge in 1773 (133:160), who sold to Capt. Moses 
Harris in 1777 (139:118). This deed describes the lot, and 
continues, "thence athwart said highway down to the river at 
low water mark, south by the river down to the Town landing 
and said highway, about 60 feet, excepting the highway." The 
widow of Moses Harris conveyed a third of the wharf to Thomas 
Hodgkins, 1789 (156:145), who sold to Benjamin Averill, May, 
1793 (156:149), including "the landing and landing on the front 
of sd. premises, to the river." Benjamin conveyed to Warren 
Averill (809:1). 

15 Ensign George Hart bought a house and land, part of the Hovey 
land on the south side of the river, June 5, 1718. Ipswich in Mass. Bay, 
p. 483. 



IPSWICH RIVER 



27 



The deed of Captain York to Jabesh Sweet granted him the 
free use of the wharf. The administrator of the estate of Mary 
Sweet sold to Isaac Dodge, with the use of the wharf, Aug. 29, 

1778 (142: 141). Mr. Dodge sold the northeast half of the 
house on the lot to David Pulcifer in 1795 (159:205), and he 
had previously sold the other half to Abraham Perkins, Dec. 27, 

1779 (138:112). Mr. Pulcifer sold to his son, Bickford, with 
3/7 of the undivided half of the land on the water side, Nov. 
1797 (162:275). He acquired the other half of the house and 
land from the Perkins heirs in 1833 (268:163), and conveyed to 
his son David, in 1836 (294:276), who sold the house and lot 
and wharf to James Damon, May 24:1875 (936:4). 

The Tuckerman lot 16 was owned successively by Richard Hol- 
land, 1711, Edward Eveleth, 1717, and was sold by the adminis- 
trator of the latter to Capt. William Start, Oct. 6, 1726 (47: 
203). The Penniwell lot adjoining was owned by Zaccheus New- 
march in 1690, John Harris in 1696, who sold his house and 
land to Thomas Harris Jr. in 1723 (43:260). Capt. Start 
addressed a petition to the Town on March 4, 1728/9, praying 
that as he lives "by the water side and by the fishery, he may for 
his accommodation as well as for the benefit of the highway 
before his front have a grant of the land to begin next to the 
grant made to Andrew Sargeant dee'd Anno 1665 & so running 
up the river within ten feet of land petitioned for by Capt. 
Perkins and he will wharf out the same." 

On the same date action was taken on the petition of Capt. 
Stephen Perkins for about 20 feet of front to extend easterly 
from the head of his wharf, "for enlarging the same for his accom- 
modation in laying his vessels and also for enlarging the way 
there, so that a Team and cart may turn without difficulty, which 
at present cannot be done." 

The Committee reported favorably, 

"notwithstanding Mr. Harris lays claim to it, but we could 
not find said Harris had any right to the land petitioned for and 
further than the highway." 

Both petitions were granted, conditioned on improvement in 
two years. Apparently the petition of Capt. Perkins covered 
land opposite Mr. Harris's lot. The grant to Andrew Sargent 
in 1685, was made in answer to his request for a wharf lot 
against his land, "which is now very much washed away by the 
freshet almost to my fence which maketh it very unfit for anybody 
to pass that way." Apparently he occupied the land afterwards 
owned by Jabesh Sweet. 

16 Ipswich in Mass. Bay, p. 406. 



28 IPSWICH RIVER 

After the death of Capt. Perkins, his heirs sold the ware- 
house and wharf to Thomas Harris Jr., the aggrieved neighbor, 
"bounded northwest by a path adjoining Harris's orchard, north 
by a landing place down to low water mark, and south west from 
low water mark by y e Rocky point up to y e path first mentioned." 
1733 (70:13, 14.) 

The William Start property was conveyed by George Start of 
Boxford and others to Francis Pulcifer, Oct. 24, 1758 (107:90), 
who conveyed to William Galloway, June 21, 1760 (108:246). 
Josiah Caldwell and others sold the same to Josiah Lord, with 
wharf, Oct. 26, 1839 (315:291). Josiah Lord sold the same 
to Ebenezer Pulcifer, Dec. 16, 1847 (391:148), who sold to his 
brother, David, who included it, with wharf it carried with it, in 
his sale to James Damon, in May, 1875. 

The Perkins wharf and the house lot were sold by Moses 
Harris to Francis Pulcifer Jr., March 22, 1873 (134:78). His 
administrator conveyed to John Stanwood, June 27, 1809 (187: 
233). 

These three wharves, Averill's, Pulcifer's, and Stanwood's, 
were separated from each other by intervening docks or landings, 
where coasters and fishermen were laid up for the winter. A 
contention arose as to these landings, and a committee made a 
report to the Town Meeting, April 7, 1834, defining the limits 
of the Town landing between Stanwood's and Pulcifer's wharves, 
which was accepted and put on file. The Selectmen were author- 
ized to remove any stones or other obstacles to the public use 
of the landing. In the Spring of 1836, Ebenezer Pulcifer had 
taken the landing into his own possession. A committee was 
appointed to see what title he had, but the report was indefinitely 
postponed. As late as 1860, the old schooners Helena and Boxer 
were wintered there. Eventually, with the decay of the local 
fleet, these slips came to be regarded as useless, and as a measure 
of economy, later owners built a continuous front wall and filled 
the old landings. 

Aaron Wallis and others came to the Town on February 18, 
1836, with a plan for the improvement of the flats adjoining East 
Street, below Lakeman's Wharf. They preferred the request: 

"That the Town would grant all its right to the upland, flats 
and water north of Lakeman's wharf (so called), south east of 
East St. to a passage way or street leading to Thomas Spiller's 
house, thence by said passage way or street to a point opposite 
and distant about 50 feet called Spiller's Point on the margin 
of the river, thence south west to said Spiller's Pt. for the pur- 
pose of converting the same into a mill pond for grain and other 



IPSWICH RIVER 



29 



mills by constructing a wharf, Wharves or Dam from said 
Spiller's Pt. on a curve line to the north east corner of Lake- 
man's Whf." 

This was referred to a committee, and when the committee 
reported, it was postponed indefinitely. 

The old wharf higher up the stream, now in the last stages 
of decay, was built by Stephen Baker Jr., who bought the house 
lot, with Gilbert Conant as a partner, and opened a lumber yard, 
April 29:1836 (289 :180). After passing through several owners, 
the lot and wharf were purchased by Lewis Choate, April 1, 1854 
(519:250). He built many vessels, fishermen and coasters, in 
his shipyard near the house, launching them on the west side of 
the wharf. 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



The Annual Meeting of the Ipswich Historical Society was 
held on Monday, December 4th, 1922. The officers were elected 
as follows: 



Honorary President — Francis R, Appleton, 

Acting President — Ralph W. Burnham. 

Vice Presidents — Howard N. Doughty, James H. Proctor. 

Secretary — Mrs. T. F. Waters. 






Treasurer— Charles M. Kelly. 

Directors — Miss Sarah E. Lakeman, James S. Robinson, 

Henry S. Spaulding, Robert S. Kimball, Dr. Frank W. Keyes, 

Dr. J. D. Barney. 






IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



31 



ANNUAL REPORT 

FOR THE YEAR ENDING NOVEMBER 30, 1922. 



1921 
Dec. 1 



Balance $251.83 


Printing 


$11.95 


Annual dues 465.00 


Postage 


10.96 


Sale of books 14.41 


Association dues 


2.00 


Whipple House: 


Miscellaneous 


16.55 


Door fees and 


Whipple House : 




books 65.00 


Fuel $186.30 




Annual supper 192.76 


Water 11.00 
Repairs 67.85 
Insurance 65.85 
Police service 8.10 


339.10 
608.44 




Balance 



$989.00 



$989.00 



In Account with Ipswich Savings Bank. 



1921 








Dec. 1 


Balance, 




$1,280.00 




Interest on deposit, 


$52.50 






Interest on 2nd Liberty Loan 


129.63 






Interest on 3rd Liberty Loan 
Income from investments 


425.00 








607.13 




Proceeds of exhibition 




205.69 



$2,092.82 



Charles M. Kelly, Treasurer. 



32 



IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



THE MEMORIAL BUILDING FUND 



Ipswich Saving-s Bank $2,092.83 

U. S. Second Liberty Loan 3,050.00 

U. S. Third Liberty Loan 10,000.00 

$15,142.82 



FORM OF BEQUEST. 



I give, devise and bequeath to the Ipswich Historical Society, 

Inc., the sum of 

to be applied to the erection and maintenance of a fireproof 
Memorial Building. 



IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

MEMBERS 



33 



LIFE MEMBERS. 



William Sumner Appleton 

Albert Farwell Bemis 

Ralph W. Burnham 

Richard T. Crane, Jr. 

Mrs. Richard T. Crane, Jr. 

Cornelius Crane 

Florence Crane 

Miss Alice R. Hartshorn 

Benjamin Kimball 

Mrs. Lora A. Littlefield 

Miss Katherine Loring 

Arthur R. Lord 

William G. Low 

Mrs. Marietta K. Martin 

Nathan Matthews 

George Prescott 

James H. Proctor . 

Thomas E. Proctor 

Charles G. Rice 

John L. Saltonstall 

Mrs. Charles P. Searle 

John E. Searles 

Mrs. Chester P. Seims 

John Carey Spring 

Mrs. Julia Appleton Spring 

Eben B. Symonds . 

Mrs. Ella C. Taylor 

Bayard Tuckerman, Jr. 

Mrs. Harold D. Walker 

Mrs. T. Frank Waters 

Sherman L. Whipple 



Boston, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 
Ipswich, Mass. 
Chicago, 111. 
Chicago, 111. 
Chicago, 111. 
Chicago, 111. 
Taunton, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 
Brookline, Mass. 
Prides Crossing, Mass. 
Chicago, 111. 
Brooklyn, N. Y. 
Ipswich, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 
Rowley, Mass. 
Ipswich, Mass. 
Topsfield, Mass. 
Ipswich, Mass. 
Beverly, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 
New York, N. Y. 
Boston, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 
Salem, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 
Hamilton, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 
Ipswich, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 



RESIDENT MEMBERS. 



Francis R. Appleton 
Mrs. Francis R. Appleton 
Francis R. Appleton, Jr. 
James W. Appleton 
Randolph M. Appleton 
Charles Arthur 
Mrs. Nellie T. Auger 
Eben H. Bailey 
Dr. George G. Bailey 
Charles W. Bamford 
G. Adrien Barker 
George E. Barnard 
Mrs. Kate S. Barnard 



Mrs. Alice L. Blake 

Mrs. Emma B. Bolles 

Norman J. Bolles 

Edward C. Brooks 

A. Story Brown 

Fred A. Brown 

Frank M. Burke 

Mrs. Nellie M. Burnham 

Jeremiah Campbell 

Mrs. Genevieve Campbell 

Miss Marietta Clark 

Philip E. Clarke 

Miss Harriet D. Condon 



34 



IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



Arthur C. Damon 

Mrs. Bessie B. Damon 

Miss Carrie Damon 

Harry K. Damon 

Mrs. Abbie B. Danforth 

Miss Edith L. Daniels 

Edward L. Darling 

Mrs. Howard Dawson 

Mrs. Grace Davidson 

George G. Dexter 

Miss C. Bertha Dobson 

Miss Grace M. Dodge 

Mrs. Arthur W. Dow 

Howard N. Doughty 

Mrs. Howard N. Doughty 

Mrs. Emeline F. Farley 

George E. Farley 

Miss Abbie M. Fellows 

Henry Garland 

Arthur C. Glover 

Charles E. Goodhue 

Walter F. Gould 

Mrs. Annie T. Grant 

George H. W. Hayes 

Mrs. Maude M. Hayward 

Walter E. Hayward 

Miss Alice Head 

Wayne Henderson 

Joseph I. Horton 

Mrs. Caroline E. Horton 

Arthur Hull 

Charles G. Hull 

Fred R. Hull 

A. Everett Jewett 

Mrs. Harriett M. Johnson 

Miss Ida B. Johnson 

Charles M. Kelly 

Rev. Frederick T. Kenyon 

Mrs. Frederick T. Kenyon 

Fred A. Kimball 

Mrs. Isabel G. Kimball 

Robert S. Kimball 

Miss Bethiah D. Kinsman 

Leonard Kleeb 

Mrs. Leonard Kleeb 

Dr. Frank W. Kyes 

Mrs. Georgie C. Kyes 

Miss Sarah E. Lake-man 



Miss Ellen V. Lang 
Mrs. Mary S. Langdon 
Austin L. Lord 
Mrs. Mabel R. Lord 
Miss Lucy Slade Lord 
Charles L. Lovell 
Mrs. Mary B. Maine 
Herbert W. Mason 
Mrs. Herbert W. Mason 
Eben B. Moulton 
Miss Eleanor Moulton 
Miss Abbie L. Newman 
Rev. Carroll Perry 
Herbert W. Phillip 
Mrs. Herbert W. Phillig 
William H. Rand 
Frank E. Raymond 
William P. Reilly 
* William J. Riley 
Mrs. Francis G. Ross 
Mrs. Fred G. Ross 
Mrs. Helene Ross 
Joseph W. Ross, Jr. 
Angus I. Savory 
George A. Schofield 
George A. Schofield, Jr. 
Mrs. Hilda Schofield 
Henry Spaulding 
Miss Alice M. Smith 
Mrs. Fannie E. Smith 
Miss Lucy B. Story 
John J. Sullivan 
Omar Taylor 
Mrs. Alice D. Tenny 
Ward M. Tenny 
Mrs. Florence Thompson 
R. Elbert Titcomb 
Mrs. Miriam W. Titcomb 
Jesse H. Wade 
Miss Emma E. Wait 
Luther Wait 
Ralph C. Whipple 
Mrs. Maud Whipple 
Miss Susan C. Whipple 
Carl Woodbury 
G. Loring Woodbury 
Mrs. G. Loring Woodbury 



irFWIGH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 
NON-RESIDENT MEMBERS. 



35 



Frederick J. Alley 
Mrs. Mary G. Alley 
Mrs. Clara R. Anthony . 
Harry E. Bailey 
Dr. J. Dellinger Barney 
Mrs. J. Dellinger Barney 
Wm. Franklin Barrett . 
Mrs. Wm. Franklin Barrett 
Mrs. Wiliam S. Dedal . 
Henry N. Berry . 
Miss E. D. Boardman . 
Miss Mary Brooks 
Albert S. Brown . 
Harry Appleton Brown 
Frank T. Burnham 
Miss Florence Caldwell 
John A. Caldwell . 
Mrs. Elizabeth Carlton . 
Miss Gertrude Carlton . 
Miss Fannie E. Carter . 
Mrs. Birth Lambert Cheny 
Miss Florence Cleaves . 
Frank E. Cogswell 
Harrie W. Davis . 
Mrs. Harrie W. Davis . 
Edward Dearborn 
Mrs. Mary B. DeBlois . 
Robert G. Dodge . 
Mrs. Robert G. Dodge . 
Mrs. Grace Atkins Dunn 
William W. Emerson 
Mrs. William W. Emerson 
Miss Ruth L. Emerson . 
Miss Frances Farley 
Sylvanus C. Farley 
Mrs. Pauline S. Fenno . 
F. Appleton Flichtner . 
William E. Foster 
Mrs. William E. Foster 
Amos Tuck French 
Mrs. Alva H. Gilman 
Dr. J. L. Goodale . 
Mrs. Amy M. Hag-gerty . 
Arthur W. Hale 1 . 
Mrs. Francis B. Harrington 
Clarence L. Hay 
Mrs. Clarence L. Hay . 
Mrs. James R. Hooper . 
William 11. Howe . 
Mrs. William R. Howe . 
Gerald L. Hoyt 
Mrs. Gerald L. Hoyt 



. Hamilton, Mass. 

. Hamilton, Mass. 

Brookline, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 

Chicago, 111. 

Chicago, 111. 

. St. Louis, Mo. 

Lynn, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 

Gloucester, Mass. 

Salem, Mass. 

Lowell, Mass. 

Charleston, W. Va. 

Philadelphia, Penn. 

Winchester, Mass. 

Rowley, Mass. 

Rowley, Mass. 

Little Rock, Ark. 

Rowley, Mass. 

Kittery Point, Me. 

Lu Verne, Minn. 

Brookline, Mass. 

Brookline, Mass. 

Lynn, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 

New York, N. Y. 

Haverhill, Mass. 

Haverhill, Mass. 

Haverhill, Mass. 

Marblehead, Mass. 

. Alton, III. 

Rowley, Mass. 

Southboro, Mass. 

Providence, R. I. 

Providence, R. I. 

New York, N. Y. 

Plainfield, N. J. 

Boston, Mass. 

. Baltimore, Md. 

Winchester, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 

Newbury, N. H. 

Newbury, N. H. 

Boston, Mass. 

Orange, N. J. 

Orange, N. J. 

New York, N. Y. 

New York, N. Y. 



36 



IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



Lawrence M. Horton 

Charles H. Houghton 

William P. Hubard 

C. Whipple Hyde . 

Miss Harriet L. Jewett . 

Dr. Howard C. Jewett . 

Alfred V. Kidder . 

Arthur S. Kimball 

Mrs. Laura U. Kohn 

Curtis E. Lakeman 

John S. Lawrence . 

J. Francis Le Baron 

Mrs. J. Francis Le Baron 

Richard S. Lombard 

George R. Lord 

Mrs. Mary A. Lord 

Mrs. Samuel M. Magoffin 

Miss Elizabeth M. R. Magoffin 

Mrs. Frances E. Markoe 

Miss Mary F. Marsh 

Mrs. Sarah L. Marsh 

Everard H. Martin 

Albert Fv. Merrill. 

Mrs. Sherburn M. Merrill 

Miss Nellie Mills . 

Benjamin P. P. Mosely . 

Mrs. Benjamin P. P. Mosely 

Miss Mary H. Northend 

Dr. Robert B. Osgood . 

Miss Charlotte E. Parker 

Rev. Robert B. Parker . 

Mrs. Robert B. Parker . 

Agar Ludlow Perkins 

Moritz B. H. Philipp 

Augustus N. Rantoul 

A. Davidson Remick 

James S. Robinson 

Mrs. James S. Robinson 

Derby Rogers 

Miss Susan S. Rogers . 

Mrs. Albert G. Ropes 

Mrs. John C. Rousmaniere 

Richard W. Searle 

Mrs. Anna May Whipple Sherman 

Henry P. Smith . 

Mrs. Caroline P. Smith . 

Mrs. Martha E. Smith . 

Theo. W. Smith . 

Mrs. Theo. W. Smith 

Charles Sprague 

Harry C. Spiller . 

Mrs. George B. Stone 

Dr. E. W. Taylor \ 

Mrs. Arthur P. Tenney . 



Lexington, Mass. 

Rowley, Mass. 

Wheeling, W. Va. 

Webster Grove, Mo. 
Haverhill, Mass. 
Haverhill, Mass. 
. Andover, Mass. 
Oberlin, Ohio 
New York, N. Y. 
Larchmont, N. J. 
Boston, Mass. 
Essex, Mass. 
Essex, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 
Salem., Mass. 
New York, N. Y. 
. St. Paul, Minn. 
. St. Paul, Minn. 
. Pennlyn, Penn. 
Lynn, Mass. 
Lynn, Mass. 
Rome, Italy 
Hamilton, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 
Kent, Conn. 
Boston, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 
Salem, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 
Marblehead, Mass. 
Marblehead, Mass. 
Marblehead, Mass. 
Brooklyn, N. Y. 
New York, N. Y. 
Boston, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 
New Canaan, Conn. 
Boston, Mass. 
New York, N. Y. 
New York, N. Y. 
Boston, Mass. 
. Andover, Mass. 
Brookline, Mass. 
Brookline, Mass. 
Winchester, Mass. 
Winchester, Mess. 
Winchester, Mass. 
Brookline, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 
Everett, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 
Haverhill. Mass. 



IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



37 



Rev. William G. Thayer 
Dr. Charles W. Townsend 
Dr. Ira O. Tracy . 
Frank II. Trussell 
Mrs. Frank H. Trussell . 
Bayard Tuckerman 
Mrs. Annie Tuckerman . 
Mrs. Ruth A. Tuckerman 
Miss Marion Thomas 
Isaac Rand Thomas 
Mrs. Isaac Rand Thomas 
Harry W. Tyler . 
Dr. Herman F. Vickery 
Mrs. Herman F. Vickery 
Langdon Warner . 
Roger Sherman Warner 
George 1 F. Waters . 
Mrs. Sarah E. Wheeler . 
Mrs. C. W. Whipple 
Henry W. Whipple 
Mrs. Henry W. Whipple 
T. H. Bailey Whipple . 
Marcus M. Whipple 
Egerton L. Winthrop, Jr. 
Frederick L. Winthrop . 
Chalmers Wood 
Chalmers Wood, Jr. 
Charles Morgan Wood . 
Chester L. Woodbury 
Joseph F. Woods . 



Southboro, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 

. Brooklyn, N. Y. 

Hamilton, Mass. 

Hamilton, Mass. 

New York, N. Y. 

New York, N. Y. 

Boston, Mass. 
. Portland, Ore. 

Boston, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 
Philadelphia, Penn. 

Boston, Mass. 
Fall River, Mass. 
. Concord, Mass. 
New York, N. Y. 
. Cranford, N. J. 
. Cranford, N. J. 
East Pittsburg, Pa. 
Dorchester, Mass. 
New York, N. Y. 

Boston, Mass. 
New York, N. Y. 
New York, N. Y. 

Dayton, Ohio 

Boston, Mass. 

Boston, Mass. 



HONORARY MEMBERS. 



John Albree, Jr. . 
Frank C. Farley . 
Mrs. Katherine S. Farley 
Reginald Foster 
Miss Alice A. Gray 
Miss Emily R. Gray 
Albert Farley Heard, 2nd 
Mrs. Otis S. Kimball 
Miss Sarah S. Kimball . 
Henry S. Manning 
Mrs. Mary W. Manning 
Miss Esther Parmenter 
Denison R. Slade . 
Joseph Spiller 
Miss Ellen M. Stone 
W. F. Warner 



Swampscott, Mass. 
South Manchester, Conn. 
South Manchester, Conn. 
Boston, Mass. 
Sau quoit, N. Y. 
Sauquoit, N. Y. 
Boston, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 
Salem, Mass. 
New York, N. Y. 
New York, N. Y. 
. Chicopee, Mass. 
Brookline, Mass. 
Boston, Mass. 
East Lexington, Mass. 
St. Louis, Mo. 



38 



IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



The Ipswich Historical Society was organized in 1890, and 
incorporated in 1898. It has purchased and restored to its 
original architecture the ancient house it now occupies, one of 
the finest specimens of the early Colonial style. It has issued a 
series of Publications which have now reached to No. XXI 1 1, 
which are of general interest. 

We wish to commend our work and our needs to our own 
citizens, to those who make their summer home with us, to all, 
scattered throughout our land, who have an ancestral connection 
with the old Town, and to any who incline to help us. We can 
use large funds wisely in sustaining the Society, in erecting arid 
endoAving our new building, and in establishing a permanent 
endowment. 

Our membership is of two kinds : An Annual Membership, 
with yearly dues of $2.00, which entitles to a copy of the Publi- 
cations as they are issued, and free entrance to our House with 
friends; and a Life Membership, with a single payment of $50.00, 
which entitles to all the privileges of membership. 

Names may be sent at any time to the President. Orders for 
the Publications will be filled at once. 






IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



30 



PUBLICATIONS OF THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL 
SOCIETY 



I. The Oration by Rev. Washington Choate and the Poem by 
Rev. Edgar F. Davis, on the 200th Anniversary of the 
Resistance to the Andros Tax, 1887. 
II to VII, inclusive. Out of print. 
VIII. "The Development of our Town Government," and "Com- 
mon Lands and Commonage," with the Proceedings at 
the Annual Meeting*, 1899. 
IX. "A History of the old Argilla Road in Ipswich, Massachu- 
setts," by Thomas Franklin Waters. 
X. "The Hotel Cluny of a New England Village," by Sylvester 
Baxter, and"The History of an Ancient House," with 
Proceedings at the Annual Meeting, 1900. (See No. XX.) 
XI. "The Meeting House Green and a Study of Houses and 
Lands in that Vicinity," with Proceedings at the Annual 
Meeting, Dec. 2, 1901. 

XII. "Thomas Dudley and Simon and Ann Bradstreet." A Study 
of House Lots to Determine the Location of Their Homes, 
and the Exercises at the Dedication of Tablets, July 31, 
1902, with Proceedings at the Annual Meeting, Dec. 1, 
1902. 

XIII. "Fine Thread, Lace and Hosiery in Ipswich," by Joseph 
Fewkes, and "Ipswich Mills and Factories," by Thomas 
Franklin Waters, with Proceedings at the Annual 
Meeting. 

XIV. "The Simple Cobler of Aggawam," by Rev. Nathaniel Ward. 
A reprint of the 4th edition, published in 1647, with 
facsimile of title page, preface and headlines, and the 
exact text, and an Essay, "Nathaniel Ward and the 
Simple Cobler," by Thomas Franklin Waters, 116 pp., 75 
cents, postage 10 cents. A limited edition, printed on 
heavy paper, bound in boards, price $1.50, postage prepaid. 
XV. "The Old Bay Road from Saltonstall's Brook and Samuel 
Appleton's Farm," and "A Genealogy of the Ipswich De- 
scendants of Samuel Appleton," by Thomas Franklin 
Waters, with Proceedings at the Annual Meeting. Price 
75c. 

XVI and XVII. Double number. "Candlewood; An Ancient Neigh- 
borhood in Ipswich." With Genealogies of John Brown, 
39 pp., William Fellows, 47 pp., and Robert Kinsman, 15 
pp. 160 pp., octavo, with maps, full page illustrations 
and complete index, by Thomas Franklin Waters. Post- 
age, 8 cents. 

XVIII. "Jeffrey's Neck and the Way Leading Thereto," with Notes 
on Little Neck. 93 pp., octavo, by Thomas Franklin 
Waters. 
XIX. "Ipswich Village and the Old Rowley Road." 76 pages, 
octavo, by Thomas Franklin Waters. 



40 IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

XX. "The John Whipple House in Ipswich, Mass., and the 
People Who Have Owned and Lived In It." 55 pages, 
octavo, by Thomas Franklin Waters. 
XXI. "Augustine Heard and His Friends (Joseph Green Cops- 
well and Daniel Treadwell)." 120 pages, octavo, by 
Thomas Franklin Waters. Board covers, heavy paper, 
$1.50 and postage (14 cents). 
XXII. "Plum Island, Ipswich, Mass." Its earliest history, orig- 
inal land grants, land ownerships, marshes and thatch 
banks, beaches and sand dunes. Illustrated, with maps 
and many photographs of the island scenery. 64 pages, 
octavo, by Thomas Franklin Waters. Price 75 cents. 
XXIII. "Ipswich in the World War." 237 pages, with war records 
and photographs of veterans. 









ALSO PUBLISHED UNDER THE AUSPICES OF 
THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



IPSWICH 

IN THE 

MASSACHUSETTS BAY 
COLONY 

BY 
THOMAS FRANKLIN WATERS 

VOLUME I 

1633-1700 

Part I. The History of Ipswich to the Year 1700. 
Part II. The Land Grants from the Beginning to 1905. 

586 Pages, Octavo, Gilt Top with Maps. 
Full Page Illustrations and Full Index. 

VOLUME II 

The History of the Town from 1700 to 1917. 

840 Pages, Octavo, Gilt Top, 40 Full Page Illustrations 
and Full Index. 

Price $6.oo for each volume, 
with Parcel Post. 

Orders may be sent to the Ipswich Historical Society. 



PUBLICATIONS OF THE IPSWICH 

HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

XXV 



GLIMPSES OF EVERYDAY LIFE 
IN OLD IPSWICH 



By THOMAS FRANKLIN WATERS 



Printed for the Historical Society 

1925 



PUBLICATIONS OF THE IPSWICH 

HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

XXV 



GLIMPSES OF EVERYDAY LIFE 
IN OLD IPSWICH 



By THOMAS FRANKLIN WATERS 



Printed for the Historical Society 

1925 



NEWCOMB & GAUSS 

Printers 

Salem, Massachusetts 



380923 












It may be of interest to the members of the Society 
to learn that this pamphlet is reproduced from the iden- 
tical manuscript used by Mr. Waters in a series of lec- 
tures given by him at different times and in various 
places throughout New England. 

Fortunate, indeed, are we that so much of his work 
was left to us in this form; for it assures us of a con- 
tinuity of his work and also of the noble spirit in which 
he wrought. Though dead, he still lives, and his work 
and his spirit still "carry on." Fortunate, too, are we 
in the title which he gave to this lecture. It compels a 
reminiscent mood, and brings to each and all of us a 
new sense and realization of our indebtedness to those 
noble men and women whose lives he so faithfully por- 
trays. May the lessons they taught sink more deeply 
into our own lives and enable us to transmit to coming 
generations that spirit of devotion still unimpaired. 

Needless to say, that this pamphlet gives positive evi- 
dence of the same painstaking care, the same fidelity to 
all recorded facts that characterize all of Mr. Waters' 
works. 



GLIMPSES OF EVERY DAY LIFE IN 
OLD IPSWICH 



Imagine yourselves in the olden time of Ipswich, on 
the shore of Ipswich Bay and the broad Atlantic, in the 
early years of the seventeenth century. 

The day began before the sun rose. In every household 
some yawning servant or reluctant son or daughter had 
been obliged to milk the family cow and drive her to the 
common gathering place in the South Green or elsewhere 
and there at a half hour after sunrise, the cow herd with 
his boys after winding his horn to summon laggards to 
hasten with their kine, took charge of the herd and with 
blasts upon their horns, and clanging of the bell, which 
every animal was obliged to wear, and the lowing of the 
herd, drive them out to the open commons beyond the 
limits of the Town, where they watched them all day, 
to guard them from prowling wild beasts and prevent 
their straying into the trackless wilderness. 

Meanwhile the good wife with her helpers has been 
busy with the morning meal. Perhaps as the weather is 
warm, the fire has burnt out in the great fireplace, be- 
cause there were few live coals to bury under the ashes 
at bedtime, and now the tinder-box is taken from the 
mantel shelf, and with deft blows of the flint upon a bit 
of steel, a shower of sparks is cast upon the charred linen 
rags, and when this has spread enough to generate 
a little heat, a hand-made match with its sulphur tipped 
end, is lighted and the fire started, or if a neighbor is 
handy, some one may have run thither with a fire pan in 
hand to borrow some hot coals, if the neighbor's fire has 
survived the night. 

The breakfast is soon prepared, the hot porridge per- 
chance, or short cake, baked on a board or tin before the 
fire, but the savory smell of coffee is not there, for 



GLIMPSES OF EVERYDAY LIFE IN OLD IPSWICH 



neither coffee nor tea found place on the Colonial bill of 
daily fare until the century was well nigh gone. And if 
the provision seem to us strange and scant, I fear that 
the table itself would have seemed forlorn and comfort- 
less. In the families of larger means, the dishes were 
of pewter — a great pewter platter for the central dish, 
plates, mugs, salt cellar, pitchers for the milk or beer, if 
beer was a morning beverage. But for the poorer ones, 
wooden platters and plates were all that could be af- 
forded, and ofttimes cups and flagons of leather. There 
were no forks, and when meats were served, there was a 
deal of handling with the fingers, and unless napkins 
abounded, there was much inevitably that would seem 
ill bred and repugnant to our modern tables. But there 
is a fine flavor of sanctity about the simplest meal. 
Grace is said before the meal and in many a household, 
there is a gathering for family prayer before the day's 
toil begins. 

And now, let us walk abroad and see what manner of 
life prevailed in these old towns and villages, while the 
perils of the wilderness were everywhere and a new na- 
tion was struggling with life. 

At eight o'clock we should have seen a sight very 
strange and not wholly amusing. The pigs of the village 
were then driven to appointed places of rendezvous as 
the cows had been at an earlier hour, and the swine herd 
took them in charge. For many years, that useful but mis- 
chievous animal, prone to root and ravage and despoil the 
gardens, had been a trial. At first, he was allowed to roam 
through the streets at his own will, but as well grown 
hogs were so likely to do damage, it was decided that only 
young pigs, pigged after the first of February, should 
have unchecked liberty. But even these juveniles could 
not be trusted and by the year 1645, it was voted that no 
hogs should go abroad without being yoked and ringed. 
Finally the Town undertook the care of them and from 
eight in the morning till four in the afternoon, quiet 
reigned. But what a grunting and squealing procession 






GLIMPSES OF EVERYDAY LIFE IN OLD IPSWICH 5 

it must have been, that was driven daily two miles away 
into the woods. 

Cow herd and swine herd, and if we should go afield a 
few miles, we should find the'sheep herd, leading his (lock 
along- the appointed sheep-walks and gathering them by 
night into the folds, where they were safe from wolves 
and other ravenous beasts. And the goat herd with his 
flock of goats, and we should have thought no doubt of 
the old, old England, when the Briton and Roman had 
been vanquished, and the new English race was just ris- 
ing into lusty life in the fifth and sixth centuries of this 
new era, when the soldier, now done with war, built his 
house and became a farmer and is known now as a free- 
man, and all around him are the cabins in which are his 
plowman and cow-herd and ox-herd and swine herd and 
goat herd, hay-ward and wood-ward, dairy maid and 
barn man. Yet with all the similarity of life and condi- 
tion and forest environment, there is this grand distinc- 
tion, the village cow herd and swine herd is no longer 
a serf or a slave but a fellow citizen, paid for his 
toil at an appointed rate. And we may dream that 
among these quiet cow herds there is another Godwine, 
the first English statesman who was neither King nor 
priest, but a man of wit and strength, who rose from the 
humblest to the highest place. And the shepherds remind 
of Cuthbert, the saintly monk, who left his flock and 
taught the peasantry of the truths of Christian faith, 
and farther back to the days of David and Jacob and 
Abraham, for the simple life of the earliest times had 
reappeared again in this wilderness, in which the finest 
of the English race were laying anew the foundations of 
a new civic life. 

Another of the common domestic animals, the family 
dog, might have been seen in sorry plight. The Indians 
taught the white settlers of Plymouth the value of fish as 
a fertilizer, and the Colony soon learned to prize them. 
Cod and shad and other fish abounded, and they were 
buried beside the hills of corn to furnish stimulating 



GLIMPSES OF EVERYDAY LIFE IN OLD IPSWICH 



plant food as they decomposed. But the dogs soon learned 
to scent the buried treasure, and they frequently dug up 
the fish for their own food. Thereupon in May, 1644, the 
Town voted that "It is ordered that all doggs, for the 
space of three weeks after the publishinge thereof, shall 
have one legg tyed up. If such a dogg should break loose 
and be found in any corne field, doing any damage, the 
owner of the dogg shall pay the damages." So the pleas- 
ant May and June days were a sad time for the dogs, 
hopping about on three legs for three long weeks. 

But larger and profounder interest would attach to 
the multitudinous industries which engaged all the men 
and many of the boys, no doubt, in every community. 

Each town was separated from its neighbor by miles 
of forest, through which there were but few roads and 
those scarcely passable for a wheeled vehicle of any sort. 
Travel and traffic was largely on horse-back, and where 
there was no opportunity of shipping bulky commodities 
by boat or shallop, each community was compelled to be 
dependent on itself for almost every article of food, wear- 
ing apparel, and domestic consumption. 

Hence every man had beside his town lot, usually 
of two acres, his tillage lot, frequently of six acres as- 
signed him, and beside that scattered farm lands more 
remote from the center of population and every house- 
holder was farmer as well, and raised his crops of corn, 
English hay, corn, rye, and barley, but little wheat, for 
wheat flour was rarely used, and our common vegetables 
of bean, peas, pumpkins, but no potatoes, for the old col- 
onies had flourished for a hundred years before the 
potato began to be cultivated in a small way, as a special 
delicacy. To grind the corn the mill was needed, and 
every water-course that was available for power was 
dammed, and the sound of the grinding made pleasant 
music to break the woodland quiet. In this old town of 
Ipswich the mill privilege was a monopoly, granted to the 
most aristocratic and pretentious of our earliest citizens, 
the worshipful Richard Saltonstall, and he retained sole 



GLIMPSES OF EVERYDAY LIFE IN OLD IPSWICH 7 

privilege of grinding the grist for many years, though 
frequent protest was made against the doings of his hired 
miller. Thus very early in the history of our land the 
monopolist began to raise his head, and capital to assert 
itself as a social power. 

Next to the miller the maltster was a very important 
personage, for ale and beer were the favorite beverage, 
and the business of malting the barley was a distinct 
industry. 

The butcher, too, was a person of importance, not only 
to the people, who depended on him for meat, but for a 
series of craftsmen, who looked to him for the material 
of their crafts. 

The hides of sheep, calves and cows and oxen were 
given over to the tanner, who had his vats by some con- 
venient brook or by the river side, where water in abun- 
dance could be had. The stately hemlocks were felled and 
stripped of their bark, and this was ground for the tan- 
ning and other needful essentials were found near at 
hand. Then the currier took the hides, well cured and 
tanned, and split and finished them for sole leather, and 
upper leather for shoes, and heavy leather for harnesses 
and some domestic articles, and the glover wrought the 
sheep skins into chamois, from which he made the gloves, 
indispensable for comfort as well as for style. 

The cordwainer, the ancient and honored progenitor 
of the now extinct race of shoemakers, selected the stock 
for his trade and converted it into the boots and shoes, 
which every family required. That old name now obso- 
lete is of interest in itself. It is derived from cord wain or 
cordoban, and cordoban is but another form of Cordoba 
or Cordova, a town in Spain, celebrated for the produc- 
tion of fine leather. A singular reminder here in the wil- 
derness of an old-world industry. Thus we have this 
family of crafts — butcher, tanner, currier, cordwainer 
and yet another, for in this old town of Ipswich, which 
we are exploring was the soap-boiling and potash-mak- 



8 



GLIMPSES OF EVERYDAY LIFE IN OLD IPSWICH 



ing establishment in which all the residue of the slaugh- 
tered animal was transmuted into useful products. 

And now the observing rambler through the streets 
and lanes of the old town would have seen the many mem- 
bers of what we may call the guild of builders, though the 
name is English, and was never used in the Colonies. 
House building was an intricate and laborious art in an 
age when machinery was hardly known and each com- 
munity was self-dependent. The house of that day was 
not the mushroom structure of today, thrown together 
hastily and painted and puttied to cover the defects of 
the wood work. It was honestly built of solid material 
by many hands, and was a matter of common interest to 
all whose toil entered into it. The owner of the future 
home may have begun the long week by hewing the noble 
trees in the neighboring forest and hauling them, while 
the snow lay thick, to the place of building, or to the 
neighboring saw mill, or in primitive times to the saw 
pit where two men worked the long saw, one above and 
the other below in a pit digged for this purpose. The 
heavy frame timbers were hewn four square by hand for 
the most part, but all plank boards and fine finishing ma- 
terial were sawed. When the sawer had completed his 
work, the carpenter began his and the heavy oak frame 
was raised and boarded. The brick-maker was drawn in 
for the hard burned bricks for the great chimney, and 
the broad hearths and fireplaces, though in the earliest 
times the chimney was of splints of wood laid in cob- 
fashion and thickly covered with clay, and softer bricks, 
sometimes bricks dried in the sun, and not fired, were 
used to fill up the spaces between the studs from sill to 
plate so that the house was virtually brick-sided, and this 
was done for warmth and solidity, and not for protection 
against Indians, I am constrained to believe. 

The clapboard river contributed his straight-grained 
clapboards cleft from the solid log, which were often 
nailed directly to the studs, without any boarding as in 
our modern carpentry. 



GLIMPSES OF EVERYDAY LIFE IN OLD IPSWICH 9 

For a roof cover, shingles were used, or a heavy cover- 
ing of thatch of the tall heavy salt grass, that grows by 
tidal waters. The thatcher had his trade to himself. The 
neighboring blacksmith had been hammering for weeks 
perchance on the nails, bolts, hinges and braces, and 
whatever else of iron work was needed. The glazier 
made the windows ready. The bricklayer reared the 
chimney and daubed the walls and ceiling with his clay 
daubing on plaster made from burned oyster and clam 
shells. No paint was used, and paint was not needed 
when every shingle and clapboard was cleft straight with 
the grain, and sun and rain could be relied on to tint 
the structure with a comely color far removed from the 
barbaric hues that make monstrous contrast with the 
soft green and blue and the rich hues of autumn in which 
Nature revels. 

Thus the house was a triumph of local skill and in- 
dustry, a compound of home products. The glass for the 
windows was the only necessity brought from abroad, 
for the iron may have been smelted. And when it was 
finished, the carpenter continued his labors, and often- 
times if appearances do not mislead, the chairs, tables, 
chests, cheese press and loom were all his handiwork. 

Old Ipswich lies by the sea and our rambler may find 
reminders of the life of the sailor and the fisherman. 
Here is a busy ship yard in which small but seaworthy 
crafts are being built and Simon Tumpson, the rope- 
maker is busy with the cordage with which they will 
be rigged. And coopers are busy at their noisy craft, 
making the barrels and casks to ship the fish and the salt 
provisions for trade, and for the ship men's food. The 
salt-maker is among his evaporating pans. Fishermen 
are busy with their fares, splitting and drying them and 
small, trim craft are being laden with fish, pipe staves 
and lumber for Barbadoes or St. Christopher, or for 
Spain, Portugal or the Canary or Madeira Islands. 
Masts, yards, fir and oak plank, beaver skins and pelts of 
every sort are being loaded for England, and a newly 



10 GLIMPSES OF EVERYDAY LIFE IN OLD IPSWICH 



arrived vessel is discharging her wines and silks and 
choice furniture for the rich, and spices and delicacies 
for the table. 

There is a hearty out-door life every where, a well 
rounded and systematized life. The craftsman is mas- 
ter of his art. He does not work with straining nerves 
at a certain part of shoe, or garment, or joinery in some 
stived factory, but deliberately, skilfully at every part of 
his trade. The toiler is made self reliant and thoughtful. 
The whole man is called into being. 

Looking back, we are not surprised that those colo- 
nists made good soldiers and sailors, when wars arose, 
and we find in this self-centered and independent life, 
free and strong, the omen and augury of that independent 
spirit, that would not bear the dictates of the mother- 
land, and at last fought until it was free. 

But the life within doors is as interesting as the life 
without. The woman is as large a factor if not a larger 
than the man in all that contributed to the comfort of 
the family. The common round of cooking and house- 
keeping was no slight task. A deal of romance attaches 
in our thought today to the huge open fire, a thing 
of life and beauty, a source of endless pleasure to every 
one, who can sit at ease and gaze into it. The plainest 
room, the meanest furniture is glorified by that; match- 
less radiance when darkness has shut out all the world, 
and everything is in shadow beyond the magic circle of 
the fire light. But to the patient housewife, vexed jt 
may be with green and ill-cleft wood, prolific of smoke 
but scant in flame, or scorched and singed with the blaze 
that is too hot and brisk, doing her cooking by the aid 
of long spits supported by hooks on the andirons, or 
with frying pans with huge handles, three or four feet 
long, baking her bread in Dutch ovens sunk in hot ashes 
and then covered with them, boiling water, and making 
her savory soups and stews in great kettles swinging over 
the hot flames, the open fireplace may have seemed a 
thing to be delivered from. I love to chat with a bright- 



GLIMPSES OF EVERYDAY LIFE IN OLD IPSWICH 11 

minded old lady past her ninetieth year, who tells of the 
joyful day in her young womanhood, when her father 
set up a cook-stove, and the romance of the open fire 
was supplanted by the convenience of that unpoetic piece 
of kitchen furniture. 

But about this huge, hot fireplace, the daily cookery 
went on, and the great kettles and spits, toasting irons, 
frying pans, Dutch ovens and all the paraphernalia of 
clumsy, heavy, sooty things, were handled over and over 
again by the patient housekeepers. 

Historians will have it that our forefathers lived sim- 
ply on beans and pea-porridge, and salted codfish, but 
the inventories of ancient kitchens reveal a goodly sup- 
ply of cooking utensils, and the barrels of salted meats 
in the cellar, the fowls and calves, sheep and oxen of the 
farm, and the abundant game in the forest, and fish in 
stream, pond and 'ocean, are suggestive of much good 
cheer. Gov. John Winthrop describes a famous feast 
prepared in his honor. 

I always like to think that in the kitchens of the 
low-eaved, big-chimneyed houses of that early time, the 
good wives were as proud of their cookery as today, 
and that the bright-minded Puritan women were as 
adept at the cooking of meals, and pasties, the making of 
preserves and jellies, puddings and pies, as their hus- 
bands and sons at their handicraft. These old house- 
keepers, too, went to the first principles. They made 
their own candles, butter and cheese, they dried their 
apples, they smoked their hams, swung high in the 
great-throated chimneys. They dried and stored savory 
herbs for flavoring and for doctoring and for coloring 
the yarns and fabrics. They went to their gardens as 
well for the rose leaves and lavender, and the other deli- 
cate perfumes, in which their fine feminine taste always 
rejoiced. 

Could we have seen and known the daily toil of the 
women of that day, we should admire their industry, 



12 GLIMPSES OF EVERYDAY LIFE IN OLD IPSWICH 

their self-reliance, their ingenuity, even in this matter 
of providing the necessary food for the family. 

But I conceive that the Puritan home mother counted 
this a slight matter. The great, burdensome question 
in every household, especially of the poorer sort, must 
have been, "wherewithal shall they be clothed?" A very 
serious question it was. It was the common custom for 
girls to marry young. Rev. Jonathan Edwards, the 
prince of Puritan preachers, married Sarah Pierrepont 
when she was only seventeen. The great-grandmother 
of one Ipswich man, who died some years since, was 
but fifteen when she became a wife. One Ipswich bride 
of the early days was sixteen, and she lived to see eighty 
years. Very youthful brides were common. It was the 
fashion of the day to have large families, ten, twelve, 
even twenty children, and children were as rugged and 
reckless of their clothes as now. Ready-made garments 
were unknown, and money was scarce, to buy the fabrics 
that the village merchant had for sale. For the most part, 
from top to toe, the house mother must clothe her house- 
hold by the toil of her own hands, and of her daugh- 
ters, as they grew old enough to be of service. Happily 
doublets of leather, and breeches of leather were in com- 
mon use for the rough, daily wear, but inner garments 
and all outer garments of woolen stuff, were the fruit of 
home industry. 

The men sheared the sheep and perhaps washed the 
wool, but there man's work ceased and woman's work 
began. And when the morning task of cooking and bed- 
room work was done and the noontide dinner had been 
served, the spinning wheel was brought forth, and while 
one carded the wool and rolled it deftly into long, thin 
rolls, another spun it into yarn. If it were winter time, 
and stockings and mittens were in greatest demand, some 
woman of the household, the old grand-dame in her 
chimney corner, perhaps, soon knit the coveted garment. 

But the jackets and trousers, and stout coats for win- 
ter wear were a more serious problem. For weeks and 






GLIMPSES OF EVERYDAY LIFE IN OLD IPSWICH 13 

months the spinning wheel droned, and the yarn was 
reeled off and knotted and skeined. When the skeins 
made a goodly pile, they were transferred to the great 
beam of the loom. Each thread of the warp was passed 
through the harness. The quills of the shuttles were 
filled, and then the wearisome and heavy work of weav- 
ing began, the same work wrought in the same fashion 
that the woman of the Indian tribes, and of all races and 
peoples, the work of Persian, of Egyptian and Hebrew 
women, the work that the virtuous Lucrece and her 
maidens were doing when the foul Tarquin burst in. 

In old Ipswich, there were some weavers by trade, and 
in some households the yarn was sent to them to weave 
into cloth and then on to the fulling mill to be shrunk and 
finished. The town tailor made the better clothing, per- 
haps, but a deal of coarser, common work for men's and 
boys' wear remained, and the mother cut and fitted and 
finished. Happily, the homespun garments were amaz- 
ingly strong and durable. On a summer ramble in New 
Hampshire a few years ago I chanced upon an old man, 
who declared with pride that he had an overcoat, which 
his wife made from cloth of her own weaving forty 
years before, and it was still wearable. 

But what of the fabrics for woman's wear, what of 
sheets, pillow slips, blankets and coverlets, table cloths 
and napkins, towels, the fine frilled shirts and other 
underwear? For these, as well, the good wife was re- 
sponsible, and when her wool spinning and weaving and 
tailoring were done she began the long, long task of 
transmuting the flax, growing in the field, into snowy 
linen. 

This was work begun in summer, as soon as the flax 
was ripe enough for pulling. I will not attempt even 
the recounting of the wearisome processes, 'he bunching, 
the rotting under water, the raking to loosen the woody 
outer coat, the combing, the bleaching. It was all work 
that required strength and skill, sometimes the man of 
the house did the harder parts, but sometimes the women 



14 GLIMPSES OF EVERYDAY LIFE IN OLD IPSWICH 

did it all. Weeks elapsed before the bunch of fine fibres 
was wound upon the distaff ready for the spinning, and 
then the weeks of spinning of the fine thread, yards, 
hundreds of yards, thousands of yards, that must be 
accumulated before the loom can be threaded and the 
busy shuttle set flying to and fro. Fortunately the flax 
spinner sat at her little wheel, and it was light and easily 
carried, and could be taken to a neighbor's house, and 
many a busy woman found the needed respite from her 
monotonous home toil, in neighborly chat and laughter, 
while the busy fingers did not abate a jot or tittle of their 
toil, and sometimes there was a spinning bee for some 
needy or disabled one. 

Wonderful samples of the ancient home weaving re- 
main. Sheets and pillow cases, soft and white, yet sur- 
prisingly firm and durable, and table cloths, with fine 
figures inwrought, marvels of patience and taste, stout 
and warm blankets, and quilts of many patterns, that 
must have been woven very slowly and with infinite care- 
fulness. 

Work, work, work. The old life of Colonial times 
seems enslaved by it, and as we dwell upon the variety of 
toil that was incessantly required. And as though the 
primitive life of the wilderness period did not put bur- 
dens enough upon the woman of the household, there 
were laws passed which required a certain amount of 
spinning to be done in each household. Never was more 
ungallant legislation recorded on our public statute books 
than the edict adopted by men, in legislative assembly, 
requiring their wives, mothers, daughters, to do what 
they were already doing cheerfully to make their hus- 
bands and fathers and sons comely and warmly clad. 
But here it stands recorded in the laws. 

Even children were obliged to work. I recall nothing 
in the olden statute books that reveals more perfectly 
and painfully the grim and solemn temper of those days 
than a law passed in 1642, which required the "pruden- 
tiall" men of each town "to take care of such [children] 



GLIMPSES OF EVERYDAY LIFE IN OLD IPSWICH 15 

as are sett to keep cattle, be set to some other employ- 
ment withal, as spinning upon the rock, knitting, weav- 
ing tape, etc., and that boys and girls be not suffered to 
converse together so as may occasion any wanton, dis- 
honest or immodest behaviour/' 

The "rock" was a hand distaff. Tape was woven on 
a small and light affair of wood, perforated with holes 
for the warp threads. It seems like the refinement of 
cruelty to our modern thought, in which there is so much 
care for children, that they may be amused, and fur- 
nished with playgrounds and encouraged in games and 
sports, that the luckless Puritan boys and girls, whose 
lot it was to tend the cows in the woods, should not be 
allowed to chat pleasantly together, and find what sport 
they could, instead of being doomed to very quiet and 
orderly behaviour, and to illustrating that ancient rhyme 

How doth the little busy bee 
Improve each shining hour. 

Our rambler in the old Ipswich must have noted many 
experiences of child life that would seem hard today. 
Children went to a school, as now, but beside the school 
tasks there was much insistence at home on the study 
of the Bible and catechism. Good Mr. John Norton, the 
famous Pastor of the Ipswich Church, wrote a catechism 
which even the men were obliged to learn, and Thomas 
Scott, a citizen of mature years, was fined because he 
would not study his catechism. The boys and girls were 
all drilled in the New England Primer, with its simple 
Biblical references, and in the Catechisms, and when 
the Pastor made his call it was a solemn and awful 
occasion to them. They were drawn up in line before 
him, and he asked them questions, and reproved them, 
no doubt, if they failed to answer correctly. It seems to 
us, as we look backward, that boys in particular had 
little time for play, and we know that Sunday must have 
been a hard day, with compulsory attendance on the 
church services, and when the boys, sitting together on 



16 GLIMPSES OF EVERYDAY LIFE IN OLD IPSWICH 

the pulpit stairs or elsewhere, became over-mischievous 
they were likely to be pounced upon by the special officer 
detailed to watch them, taken out and thrashed and led 
back in more subdued frame for the remainder of the 
service. I wish that some boy's diary of those days had 
been preserved that we might know what games they 
played, and how they amused themselves. But we need 
not worry. Puritan boys and girls found ways in their 
own fashion of getting the best their circumstances 
allowed. 

But we query again. What did they read in quiet 
hours? All the precious books, that generations of chil- 
dren have loved, Robinson Crusoe and Swiss Family Rob- 
inson, Arabian Nights, The Leather Stocking Tales, 
Grimm's Fairy Tales, not to mention the dime novels 
and stories of pirates and scouts read with fear and 
trembling, were unwritten. There were no newspapers, 
and books of any sort were not common. Grown men 
and women must have been very hungry for reading be- 
fore they could find much pleasure in the few books of 
Sermons, and Religious Meditations, that were generally 
reckoned among the family treasures. 

Now the long summer day draws to a close. At four 
o'clock the swine herd leads back his pigs, at a half 
hour past sunset the cows are driven back by the cow- 
herds, and the boys select their own from the herd on 
the Green and drive them home. Tired with the long 
day's toil the family soon betakes itself to bed. 

But the winter brought its own charms, and the 
evening became the choicest part of the day. Then the 
family gathered in a circle about the roaring fire, and 
the evening tasks were lightened by talk of the day, 
and the homely feast of baked apples, parched corn and 
roasted chestnuts, with mugs of hot cider for the elder 
folk. There was not much going abroad by night. The 
wolves pressed in from their forest lairs, and the sound 
of their howling was a warning against any travel far 
from home. The fear of Indian invasion was rarely 



GLIMPSES OF EVERYDAY LIFE IN OLD IPSWICH 17 

absent, and the watchmen began their vigils soon after 
dark. An alarm cry, arm, arm, was appointed, with 
which they were instructed to rouse the sleeping town, 
knocking upon the doors as they ran. 

Perhaps they cried the hours in time ef peace with 
the same long-drawn "All's well" with which the watch 
on ship board strikes the bell, and lulls the passengers 
in their berths. Yet there were bold spirits, who chose 
the cover of darkness for their misdeeds. The old Court 
Records reveal the pranks of some. One group was 
called to task for taking a live calf to the roof of a 
town toper, Mark Quitter, and dropping it down the 
capacious flue into the fireplace, to terrify the sot with 
a vision of Old Bogie, with his hoofs and horns, and for 
sundry banterings of and insults while he was busy 
about his barnyard. Another group was brought to bar 
for abusing the night-watch, tearing up the planks from 
bridges, and worst of all, for digging up the remains of 
the old Indian Sagamore and carrying his head on a 
pole, for which they suffered roundly. 

There were inns, in those days, which dispensed strong 
water, and then as now there was always woe and 
trouble. At the White Horse, the young men were en- 
couraged to tippling, and they tarried there after nine 
o'clock, the orthodox hour when the curfew rang and all 
good Puritans were supposed to retire to their homes. 
There were games of shovel or shuffle board, which were 
a tavern pastime, and "dancing" as well, and sundry 
games of cards, played slily and under the ban of the 
law, but these things were not viewed with favor. 

It may be, too, that the husking parties of a century 
ago found place in those early times and other gather- 
ings and merry-makings essential in every age to gratify 
the effervescent spirits of youth. But for the most part 
I feel the evening was the home time. There ^ere no 
religious meetings after nightfall. All town meetings 
were held before sundown. 

What a prolific source of a pure, strong, home-loving 



18 GLIMPSES OF EVERYDAY LIFE IN OLD IPSWICH 

race was that quiet evening life of our first century! 
The homely and simple doings are still the theme of tra- 
dition. They had their family pleasures, no doubt. 
Music brought lightness of heart, not the classic music 
of today, sung, or played on piano or parlor organ. 
Neither of these instruments was known, and the only 
instruments I have seen in ancient inventories were vio- 
lin or bass viol. They had their ballads as every race, 
and a few tunes, St. Anne's, Windsor, Martyns, and Old- 
York,' and their singing pleased themselves though it 
violated every canon of high art. 

But song and story, the click of knitting needles, and 
hum of the wheel, the eating of fireside dainties, came 
naturally to their end. The family worship was engaged 
in by all. Then the bright warming pans were charged 
with hot coals from the fire, and the beds in the freezing 
cold chambers were made deliciously comfortable after 
the shivering ordeal of undressing. Last of all, the hot 
coals were swept together, and covered thickly with 
ashes. 

"Cover the embers, and put out the light ; 
Toil comes with the morning, and rest with the night." 






GOVERNOR THOMAS DUDLEY 
IN IPSWICH * 



At first thought, it may seem like banishment from con- 
genial society and facing the bareness and hardness of 
Colonial life in its most forbidding form, when the sturdy 
Governor, retiring from that honorable office, removed 
his home to Ipswich. That town had been settled only 
two years. The life of the hardy colonists, who peopled 
it, combined the natural struggle with the wilderness 
with the exposure to the assault of cruel foes. 

Hubbard tells us that there was an alarming report 
that the French were planning a descent from Nova 
Scotia, which prompted the leaders of the Colony to des- 
patch John Winthrop, the Governor's eldest son, with his 
baker's dozen of adventurers, to anticipate any such 
settlement. Word had gone abroad of the fertile soil and 
the abounding fisheries, and the pinched and suffering 
settlers at Plymouth had sent some trusty men to view 
the land and report on the advisability of removal thither. 
The astute Frenchmen might have looked with covetous 
eyes on the fair fields of Agawam, so easily accessible, 
from the sea. But whatever the likeihood of French in- 
vasion, the possibility of Indian assault was ever in mind. 
The scant remnant of the local tribe of the Agawams, 
recently scourged by the pestilence, was not a dangerous 
neighbor; but the fierce Tarratines of the Maine coast 
were accustomed to make inroads into these parts, and 
on one occasion, a fleet of fifty canoes, which had crept 
stealthily up the river, was frightened away by the cool 
wit of a young man working on the Island, now called 
"Treadwell's," who made a brave show of calling an im- 
aginary body of settlers to arms. 

* Delivered by Eev. Thomas Franklin Waters at The" Dudley 
Family Association banquet, November 24, 1903. 



20 



GOVERNOR THOMAS DUDLEY IN IPSWICH 



Removal to such a neighborhood in true Scriptural 
fashion, with his wife, his daughters and their hus- 
bands, may be thought a needless tempting of adverse 
fate. Happily their fears of threatening foes were never 
realized, and the only call to arms in those early years 
was in 1637, when the Pequots rose and the little band 
of Ipswich soldiers marched many miles away for its 
first conflict with the dreaded foe. And there was no 
more primitive living in Ipswich than in Cambridge or 
Boston or Salem. It was remote indeed from the seat of 
government, but not so far that Governor Winthrop was 
not able to walk down from Boston in the first autumn 
of the new settlement, to exercise the people and make a 
little visit with his son ; and if the round thirty miles per- 
haps seemed over much for walking, the traveller could 
find a shallop sailing thither or betake himself to horse. 

The times were heroic. Those cultured Englishmen 
soon learned to face the wilderness conditions bravely. 
Dudley's home at Cambridge was a plain affair. The 
fame of over elegance reached Winthrop's ears and he 
wrote to Dudley: 

"He did not well to bestow such cost about wainscot- 
ting and adorning his house in the beginning of a planta- 
tion both in regard to the expense and the example." To 
which Mr. Dudley with most commendable moderation, 
replied — "It was for the warmth of the house and the 
charge was but little, being but clapboards nailed to the 
wall in the form of a wainscot." 

But this clapboard wainscot secured scarcely more 
warmth than elegance, as Dudley's letter from Cam- 
bridge in 1630 assures us. 

"I thought fit to commit to memory our present con- 
dition, and what hath befallen us since our arrival here, 
which I will do shortly after my usual manner, and must 
do rudely, having yet no table nor other room to write in 
than by the fireside upon my knee in this sharp winter, 
to which my family must have leave to resort, though 



GOVERNOR THOMAS DUDLEY IN IPSWICH 



21 



they break good manners, and make me many times for- 
get what I would say and say what I would not." 

The Ipswich home, which was reared before the year 
1635 was spent, I make bold to affirm was a better one 
by far than this. The Ipswich folk were a choice body 
of well-to-do and refined people. Samuel Symonds was 
planning to take up his residence there in 1637 and he 
wrote Winthrop describing in detail the kind of a house 
he wished to be built under his eye on the Argilla farm — 
a substantial two-story affair, with two great chimneys 
and glass windows of the best pattern, and its stout walls 
filled with clay and clapboarded. An air of homely com- 
fort abides still with the picture of that ancient Ipswich 
farm house, with its generous roof, and its windows 
glowing with the great fires within, which our imagina- 
tion easily creates. 

And more helpful still is the house, which the Ipswich 
Historical Society prizes as its invaluable and incompar- 
able treasure. The original house, the western end of 
the present edifice, was built in all likelihood before Dud- 
ley removed from Ipswich. We may sit in the very room 
into which the renowned Dudley came, for the excellent 
John Whipple, Elder of the Ipswich church was reckoned 
worthy associate for any citizen of the town. We may 
gaze into the same great fireplace that Dudley sat by and 
rejoiced in its leaping flames and felt its cheering 
warmth, and as we taste the comfort and good cheer of 
that delightful room, we feel no pangs of pity for the 
family of Dudley in its Ipswich migration. 

The gentry of Ipswich built better houses than the 
Cambridge people, with all their ideas about clapboard 
wainscot, and as Dudley was a man of comfortable purse, 
I feel sure that his new home on the warm southern 
slopes of Town Hill, sheltered by that massive bulwark, 
from the keen northeast storms, rejoicing in the sunny 
landscape that stretched away before it, was an abode 
of comfort and even luxury. 

But creature comfort is not the only thing that Ips- 



22 GOVERNOR THOMAS DUDLEY IN IPSWICH 

wich offered him. There were choice companionships 
that in themselves might have allured him thither. John 
Winthrop, Jr., the leader of the new settlement, is a win- 
some figure still, a man of pleasant spirit, with mind en- 
riched by academic study, and by unusual privileges of 
travel and observation. He was a young man then, full 
of his projects for trade and salt-works and the like, and 
his larger scheme of the Saybrook colony, which took him 
away much of the time, but he won the hearts of old and 
young alike, and when it was rumored that he would 
leave the Town to take command of the Castle in Boston 
Harbor, the citizens drew up a memorial of pathetic 
earnestness, to which they all subscribed their names. 

Winthrop's young wife had died in the first year of the 
new residence in Ipswich, and she was laid in the old 
burying-ground, hard by Dudley's home. Whenever, in 
those after years, he was in town he went no doubt to 
that quiet place, and passing Dudley's door he would 
have found it easy to look in upon the household. 

But Winthrop was a bird of passage, ever on the move. 
There were others of a more quiet habit. One stands 
out, above them all, as the man with whom Dudley may 
have taken sweet counsel, and yet, forsooth, their meet- 
ing may have been rather a signal for sharp badinage 
and the clashing of keen wits, like gleaming sword-play, 
or the meeting of flint and steel. Nathaniel Ward, a man 
of Dudley's own age, and both had passed the sixtieth 
year mark, is the great Ipswich citizen of that period. 
He had studied at the Puritan College, Emanuel of Cam- 
bridge, adopted the profession of law, became a barrister 
as early as 1615, travelled much, and as an incident of 
his visit to Heidleberg, the famous theologian Pareus had 
turned him to the profession of the ministry. He reck- 
oned Sir Francis Bacon and Archbishop Usher among 
his friends. He came to 'the ministry in those stern 
and trying years, when Laud was persecuting the Puri- 
tan clergy, and his staunch Puritanism forbade his as- 
sent to the Articles. He refused to conform and was 



GOVERNOR THOMAS DUDLEY IN IPSWICH 



23 



roughly excommunicated. His wife had died, leaving 
him with three children, and taking them, he forsook 
home and friends at the age when a man clings to his 
own, and sailed for the New England beyond the ocean. 
Nothing reveals the grandeur of his exile for Con- 
science's sake more clearly than the letter which he wrote 
Mr. Winthrop, as Christmas drew near, praying him to 
send him some wheat from the vessel that had arrived. 

"I entreat you" he wrote, "to do so much as to speak 
to him (Mr. Coddington) in my name to reserve some 
meale and malt and what victuals else he thinks meete, 
till our River be open. Our church will pay him duly 
for it. I am very destitute. I have not above 6 bushells 
of corn left and other things answerable." 

Whatever the underlying motive that led Dudley to 
cast in his lot with the Colony of the Bay, there must 
have been much secret sympathy between the rich and 
the prosperous leader and this poor soldier of Jesus 
Christ. They had both seen and known of the old Eng- 
lish life and the talk of the homeland never grew stale. 
Both looked at the political affairs of the new land with 
critical eye. Dudley was trained by office-bearing, Ward 
by his career as a barrister. There was no written code 
of laws in the Colony and John Cotton and Nath. Ward 
were designated by the General Court to prepare one. 
Ward was a man of legal mind and he composed that 
"Body of Liberties" which was accepted by the Colony 
and has been likened to Magna Charta, as the founda- 
tion of the whole structure of American jurisprudence. 
That work was not laid upon him until near the close of 
the period, when it is commonly believed Dudley was 
resident in Ipswich, but there may have been hours of 
deep discussion of this great subject at Dudley's home 
on the hill-side, or before Ward's own fireplace adorned 
with its notable legend, "Sobrie, juste, pie, laete." 

And Ward, I often think, was a man of like temper 
with the Governor, as occasion required. He wrote a 



24 GOVERNOR THOMAS DUDLEY IN IPSWICH 

famous satire, "The Simple Cobler of Agawam." He 
railed at the fashions of the time rabidly. 

"When I hear a Gentledame inquire what dress the 
Queen is in this week, what the nudius tertian of the 
Court, I look at her as the very gizzard of a trifle, the 
product of a quarter of a cypher, the Epitome of noth- 
ing, fitter to be kickt, if she were of a kickable substance, 
than either honored or humored." 

"To speak moderately, I truly confess it is beyond the 
ken of my understanding to conceive how those women 
should have any true grace or valuable virtue, that have 
so little wit as to disfigure themselves with such exotick 
garbs as not only dismantles their native lovely lustre, but 
transclouts them into gaunt bar-geese, ill-shapen, shotten 
shell-fish, Egyptian hieroglyphics, or at the best into 
French flirts of the pastry, which a proper English 
woman should scorn with her heels. It is no marvel they 
wear drailes on the hinder parts of their heads, having 
nothing as it seems in the forepart, but a few Squirrel 
brains to help them frisk in from one ill-favored fortune 
to another." 

Thus this pre-Carlylean Carlyle summons the world to 
judgment. To Dudley too, the world often seemed out 
of joint. 

But another man of far different temper soon came 
to Ipswich, a young man, only twenty-five, a fellow grad- 
uate from Emanuel, Richard Saltonstall. He was the 
son of Sir Richard, who came over and settled awhile at 
Watertown. He sprang into place and prominence at 
once as a Deputy to General Court, and a judge of the 
Ipswich Court, then as an Assistant. No sooner was he 
in the saddle than he ran atilt against whatever opposed 
him. He assailed the scheme of a life council, and in 
1645 single handed and alone he lifted up his voice like a 
trumpet in the Great and General Court, when Capt. 
James Smith, master of the ship Rainbow brought into 
the country two negroes, kidnapped from the Guinea 
coast. He denounced the heinous act of stealing these 



GOVERNOR THOMAS DUDLEY IN IPSWICH 25 

poor blacks as contrary to the law of God and the coun- 
try, demanded that the officers of the ship be imprisoned, 
and addressed a petition signed by himself alone, praying 
that the slaves be returned at the public expense. 

He was a man of aristocratic pretensions, as was na- 
tural, but of admirable downrightness of character, and 
the gray-beard ex-Governor might have found a stimulat- 
ing and agreeable acquaintance in the young scion of 
English nobility. 

John Norton came, another graduate of Emanuel, and 
the pre-eminent scholar of his day, equally at home in 
Latin and English, writer of keen polemics at the request 
of the General Court, when some heretical book needed 
conclusive answer, and in his later years a Commissioner 
to England in the troublous times that culminated in the 
loss of the Charter. Mr. Norton was a conspicuous fig- 
ure from the time of his arrival in the Colony, and a man 
of such strong and brilliant parts that every other strong 
man would seek his acquaintance. 

And a passing word is due to the future Deputy Gov- 
ernor, Samuel Symonds, who made a home in Ipswich 
soon after Dudley came, who was nominated at once for 
such offices as the Town could offer him and climbed 
surely upward to high political and judicial rank, a man 
of most lovable and winsome spirit withal. 

In this brilliant group Mr. Dudley must have found 
an agreeable place. They were profoundly interested in 
political affairs. Indeed, every minister of the Colonial 
times was expected to be as much at home in the political 
arena as in the pulpit. This Ipswich group was excep- 
tionally strong, and when some years later (1643) there 
was much dissent from Gov. Winthrop's attitude toward 
the Frenchmen, La-Tour and D'Aulnais, a protest was 
drawn up and handed the Governor, signed by Salton- 
stall, Ward and Nathaniel Rogers, John Norton, Simon 
Bradstreet and Rev. Ezekiel Rogers of Rowley. It was 
known as the Ipswich Protest, and public opinion was 



26 GOVERNOR THOMAS DUDLEY IN IPSWICH 

aroused to such degree that Winthrop failed of re-elec- 
tion. 

A hot political ferment was easily aroused in such a 
community. Was this not a congenial atmosphere for the 
Governor? 

Of his home life in Ipswich, how can we speak aright? 
Within a stone's throw from his door his daughter Ann, 
wife of young Simon Bradstreet, made her home, and 
within ten minutes' easy walk his other daughter, 
Patience, wife of Daniel Denison, dwelt in comfort in her 
new abode. 

The Bradstreet home was a centre of light. He was of 
an amiable temper and those very qualities, which made 
it impossible for him to be an ideal Governor in the 
days when the issue between King and Colony was so 
sharply denned, and the result of the struggle was of vast 
significance to the young Commonwealth, made him a 
delightful host and husband. Ann Bradstreet, judged 
by her letters and her books, was an exceptionally af- 
fectionate wife and mother. During her residence in 
Ipswich, her children increased in number and made 
the mother's lot no easy experience in those primitive 
times. But her soul was full of music. In her father's 
ample library perhaps, she had found those poems of Du 
Bartas that roused her admiration and kindled the secret 
aspiration to be a poet. Despite her household cares, she 
began to write and she found in Ipswich a sympathetic 
and appreciative surrounding. No poet had yet risen on 
this side of the Ocean, and her verse was hailed as the 
inspired utterance of the Tenth Muse. Grim Nathaniel 
Ward, who railed so ungallantly at the female sex in his 
"Simple Cobbler," paid her his willing tribute of admir- 
ation, and when her volume of poems was published, he 
wrote a poetical preface in a spirit of extravagant praise. 

No finer atmosphere, no more ethereal influence, pre- 
vaded any other New England home. Into this happy 
circle Dudley came as father and friend. He found it, 
I am sure, a sanctuary of rest, a refuge from the cares 



GOVERNOR THOMAS DUDLEY IN IPSWICH 27 

and disappointments of his public life, a trysting place 
with choice, congenial spirits. His grandchildren's prat- 
tle, or the reading of the last poem by his daughter, af- 
forded wise diversion, and may have soothed him as 
David's minstrelsy calmed his monarch's stormy soul. 

Deinson was a man of more robust mental frame than 
Bradstreet. He was a soldier and his military skill was 
recognized even in his young manhood. He became the 
captain of the Ipswich company, and because his leader- 
ship was so valuable, in later years he received an annual 
stipend raised by a voluntary subscription. He filled the 
office of Commander-in-chief of the troops of the Colony 
for many years. But he was also an Assistant and a use- 
ful and influential citizen in every walk of life. Even 
in his young manhood his character must have been 
strongly marked. He became the leader of the conserva- 
tive party in that eventful struggle with the King, and 
we can believe that from his birth he was an independent, 
self-reliant soul, a person who thought for himself and 
did as he thought. 

Patience Dudley, his wife, did not achieve fame. Noth- 
ing remains to tell us whether she was like or unlike her 
sister Ann. Perhaps the serenity of their home was 
conditioned somewhat upon the good wife's exercise of 
the virtue, which was her name, for Denison in after 
years was a lover of pre-eminence, and jealous of author- 
ity. But he was a keen, strong man withal, and Dudley 
no doubt found him a stimulating companion, and his 
home hospitable and pleasant. 

I dwell thus upon the home life of Dudley. The simple 
reason is, that Ipswich was of interest to him only in this 
capacity. Of public office he held none during his resi- 
dence. His son-in-law took vigorous hold of the Town 
life. Winthrop and Saltonstall and Symonds each bore 
his part in the service of the public. But Dudley's name 
never occurs, either as member of a Committee on Trade 
or any of the numerous official boards. The reason may 
be not that he was resentful of his failure of re-election 



28 GOVERNOR THOMAS DUDLEY IN IPSWICH 

as Governor, nor that he looked disdainfully upon Town 
affairs, nor felt that less dignified office was not becoming: 
after he had held the highest. I incline to believe that 
he was much interested in public affairs of the greatest 
moment, and that he was often in Boston. These years 
were full of exciting events that crowded each upon the 
other. Salem was the centre of the trouble with Roger 
Williams that culminated in his banishment, and in Sa- 
lem the over-zealous Endicott cut the cross from the 
English ensign as a symbol of Popery. There were mat- 
ters for the best minds of the Colony to consider and 
discuss. The Pequot War and the critical time when Mrs. 
Ann Hutchinston disturbed the peace of the Colony with 
her irrespressible courses, and the people were likely to 
be divided into two camps, according as they were under 
a covenant of grace or a covenant of works, were periods 
of intense moment. The fact that when the soldiery 
was divided into two regiments, Dudley was chosen 
Lieut. Col. of the Boston regiment, though still resident 
in Ipswich, may indicate that he was credited to that 
neighborhood. 

Be that as it may, he seems to have been dissatisfied 
early with Ipswich as a permanent abiding place. The 
letter of the Ipswich citizens to John Winthrop, Jr., un- 
der date of June 21st, 1637 alludes to him verv regret- 
fully. 

"Mr. Dudley's leaving us hath made us much more 
desolate and weak than we were, and if we should lose 
another Magistrate, it would be too great a grief to us, 
and breach upon us etc." 

This is earlier than his permanent removal is usually 
dated. In any case, his mind was inclined already to this 
step, and not long after, leaving his daughters in Ips- 
wich, where Patience lived the rest of her days, and Ann, 
till 1644, he and his good wife left the Ipswich hill-side 
and made their home once more near the centre of the 
public life of the Bay. 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



29 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



The Annual Meeting of the Ipswich Historical Society was 
held on Monday, December 1, 1924. The officers were elected 
as follows. 



Honorary President — Francis R. Appleton. 

Acting President — Ralph W. Burnham. 

Vice Presidents — Howard N. Doughty, James H. Proctok. 

Secretary — Mrs. T. F. Waters. 

Treasurer — Charles M. Kelly. 

Directors — Miss Sarah E. Lakeman, Henry S. Spauldino, 

Robert S. Kimball, Joseph I. Horton. 

Trustees — Joseph I. Horton, Charles M. Kelly, 
Robert S. Kimball. 



30 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



ANNUAL REPORT 
FOR THE YEAR ENDING NOVEMBER 30, 1924. 



1923 
Dec. 1 



Balance 


$639.11 


Postage 


$11.00 


Annual dues 


483.10 


Association dues 


2.00 


Estate of S. Bond 


Ipswich. Savings Bank 




to provide case 


(addition to building 




for Masonic jewels 50.00 


fund) 


200.00 


Miscellaneous 


.48 


Miscellaneous 


. 11.81 


Whipple House : 




Whipple House: 




Admission fees 


71.75 


Fuel 


127.05 


Books sold 


36.50 


Water 


19.25 


Annual supper 


152.79 


Insurance 


71.60 






Balance, Nov. 30, 1924 


991.24 




$1,433.83 


$1,433.83 



1923 
Dec. 1 



IN ACCOUNT WITH IPSWICH SAVINGS BANK. 



Balance 

Addition to building fund 

Interest on deposit $135.75 

Interest on U. S. Second L. L. 4% 129.63 

Interest on U. S. Third L. L. 4% .425.00 



$3,451.25 
200.00 



690.38 



$4,341.63 



CAPITAL ACCOUNT. 

On deposit in Ipswich Savings Bank 
U. S. Second Liberty Loan 4% 
U. S. Third Liberty Loan 4% 
First National Bank, Ipswich, Mass. 



$4,341.63 
3,050.00 

10,000.00 
9,031.38 

$26,423.01 



CHARLES M. KELLY, Treasurer. 
Ipswich, Mass., December 1, 1924. 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



31 



THE MEMORIAL BUILDING FUND 



Ipswich Savings Bank $2,092.82 

U. S. Second Liberty Loan 3,050.00 

U. S. Third Liberty Loan 10,000.00 

$15,142.82 



FORM OP BEQUEST 



I give, devise and bequeath to the Ipswich Historical Society, 

Inc., the sum of 

to be applied to the erection and maintenance of a fireproof 
Memorial Building. 



32 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

MEMBERS 



LIFE MEMBERS. 

William Sumner Appleton Boston, Mass. 

Albert Farwell Bemis Boston, Mass. 

Ralph W. Burnham Ipswich, Mass. 

Richard T. Crane, Jr Chicago, 111. 

Mrs. Richard T. Crane, Jr Chicago, 111. 

Cornelius Crane Chicago, 111. 

Florence Crane Chicago, 111. 

Mrs. Alice F. Hartshorn Taunton, Mass. 

Benjamin Kimball Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Lora A. Littlefield Brookline, Mass. 

Miss Katherine Loring Prides Crossing, Mass. 

Arthur R. Lord Chicago, I1L 

William G. Low Brooklyn, N. Y. 

Mrs. Marietta K. Martin Ipswich, Mass. 

Nathan Matthews Boston, Mass. 

George Prescott Rowley, Mass. 

James H. Proctor Ipswich, Mass. 

Thomas E. Proctor Topsfield, Mass. 

Charles G. Rice Ipswich, Mass. 

John L. Saltonstall Topsfield, Mass. 

Mrs. Charles P. Searle . Boston, Mass. 

John E. Searle Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Chester P. Seims New York, N. Y. 

John Carey Spring Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Julia Appleton Spring Boston, Mass. 

Eben B. Symonds Salem, Mass. 

Bayard Tuckerman, Jr Hamilton, Mass. 

Mrs. Harold D. Walker Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. T. Frank Waters Ipswich, Mass. 

Sherman L. Whipple Boston, Mass. 

RESIDENT MEMBERS. 



Francis R. Appleton 
Mrs. Francis R. Appleton 
Francis R. Appleton, Jr. 
James W. Appleton 
Randolph M. Appleton 
Charles Arthur 
Mrs. Nellie T. Auger 
Eben H. Bailey 
Dr. George G. Bailey 
Charles W. Bamford 
G. Adrien Barker 
George E. Barnard 
Mrs. Kate S. Barnard 
Mrs. Julia A. Bird 
Mrs. Alice L. Blake 
Mrs. Emma B. Bolles 
Norman J. Bolles 



Edward C. Brooks 

A. Story Brown 

John A. Brown 

Mrs. John A. Brown 

Fred A. Brown 

Frank M. Burke 

Mrs. Nellie M. Burnham 

Mrs. Genevieve Campbell 

Philip E. Clarke 

Miss Harriet D. Condon 

Mrs. William M. Critchley 

Arthur C. Damon 

Mrs. Bessie B. Damon 

Mrs. Carrie Damon 

Mrs. Abbie B. Danforth 

Miss Edith L. Daniels 

Edward L. Darling 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



33 



Mrs. Howard Dawson 

Mrs. Grace Davidson 

George! G. Dexter 

Miss C. Bertha Dobson 

Miss Grace M. Dodge 

Mrs. Arthur W. Dow 

Howard N. Doughty 

Mrs. Howard N. Doughty 

Mrs. Charles G. Dyer 

Mrs. Emeline F. Farley 

George E. Farley 

Miss Abbie M. Fellows 

Mrs. George Ford 

Henry Garland 

Arthur C. Glover 

Charles E. Goodhue* 

Walter F. Gould 

Mrs. Annie T. Grant 

George H. W. Hayes 

Mrs. Maude M. Hayward 

Walter E. Hayward 

Miss Alice Head 

Wayne Henderson 

Joseph I. Horton 

Mrs. Caroline E. Horton 

Arthur Hul 1 

Charles G. Hull 

Fred It. Hull 

A. Everett Jewett 

Mrs. Harriett M. Johnson 

Miss Ida B. Johnson 

Charles M. Kelly 

Rev. Frederick T. Kenyon 

Mrs. Frederick T. Kenyon 

Fred A. Kimball 

Mrs. Isabel G. Kimball 

Bobert S. Kimball 

Miss Bethiah D. Kinsman 

Leonard Kleeb 

Mrs. Leonard Kleeb 

Dr. Frank W. Kyes 

Mrs. Georgie C. Kyes 

Miss Sarah E. Lakeman 

Miss Ellen V. Lang 

Mrs. Mary S. Langdon 

Austin L. Lord 



Mrs. Mabel R. Lord 
Miss Lucy Slade Lord 
Charles L. Lovell 
Mrs. Mary B. Maine 
Mrs. Herbert W. Mason 
Mrs. William A. Mitchell 
Eben B. Moulton 
Miss Eleanor Moulton 
Miss Abbie L. Newman 
Mrs. Carl Nordstrom 
Mrs. George Parsons 
Bev. Carroll Perry 
Mrs. Walter Poole 
William H. Band 
Frank E. Baymond 
William P. Eeilly 
William J. Biley 
Mrs. Francis G. Boss 
Mrs. Fred G. Boss 
Mrs. Helene Boss 
Joseph W. Boss, Jr. 
Angus I. Savory 
George A. Schofield 
George A. Schofield, Jr. 
Mrs. Hilda Schofield 
Henry S. Spaulding 
Miss Alice M. Smith 
Mrs. Fannie E. Smith 
Miss Lucy B. Story 
John J. Sullivan 
Omar Taylor 
Mrs. Alice D. Tenny 
Ward M. Tenny 
Mrs. Florence Thompson 
B. Elbert Titcomb 
Mrs. Miriam W. Titcomb 
Jesse H. Wade 
Miss Emma E. Wait 
Balph C. Whipple 
Mrs. Maud Whipple 
Miss Susan C. Whipple 
Frederick S. Witham 
Carl Woodbury 
G. Loring Woodbury 
Mrs. G. Loring Woodbury 



34 THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

NON RESIDENT MEMBERS. 

Frederick J. Alley Hamilton, Mass. 

Mrs. Mary G. Alley Hamilton, Mass. 

Mrs. Clara 11. Anthony Brookline, Mass. 

Harry E. Bailey Boston, Mass. 

Dr. J. Bellinger Barney Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. J. Delling-er Barney Boston, Mass. 

Wm. Franklin Barrett Chicago, 111. 

Mrs. Wm. Franklin Barrett Chicago, 111. 

Mrs. William S. Bedal St. Louis, Mo. 

Henry N. Berry Lynn, Mass. 

Miss E. .D Boardman Boston, Mass. 

Miss Mary Brooks Gloucester, Mass. 

Albert S. Brown Salem, Mass. 

Harry Appleton Brown Lowell, Mass. 

Mrs. F. L. Burke Rowley, Mass. 

Frank T. Burnham Charleston, W. Va. 

Miss Florence Caldwell Philadelphia, Penn. 

John A. Caldwell Winchester, Mass. 

Mrs. Elizabeth Carlton Rowley, Mass. 

Miss Gertrude Carlton Rowley, Mass. 

Mrs. Ruth Lambert Cheny Rowley, Mass. 

Miss Florence Cleaves Kittery Point, Me. 

Frank E. Cogswell Lu Verne, Minn. 

Mrs. Mary A. Clark Paterson, N. J. 

Harry W. Davis Brookline, Mass. 

Mrs. Harry W. Davis Brookline, Mass. 

Edward Dearborn Lynn, Mass. 

Mrs. Mary B. DeBlois Boston, Mass. 

Robert G. Dodge Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Robert G. Dodge Boston, Mass. 

Joseph Dodge Lynn, Mass. 

Mrs. Grace Atkins Dunn New York, N. Y. 

William W. Emerson Haverhill, Mass. 

Mrs. William W. Emerson Haverhill, Mass. 

Miss Ruth L. Emerson Haverhill, Mass. 

Miss Frances Farley Marblehead, Mass. 

Sylvanus C. Farley Alton, 111. 

Miss Eunice W. Felton Cambridge, Mass. 

Mrs. Pauline S. Fenno Rowley, Mass. 

F. Appleton Flichtner Southboro, Mass. 

William E. Foster Providence, R. I. 

Mrs. William E. Foster Providence, R. I. 

Amos Tuck French New York, N. Y. 

Mrs. Alva H. Gilman Plainfield, N. J. 

Dr. J. L. Goodale Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Amy M. Haggerty Baltimore, Md. 

Arthur W. Hale Winchester, Mass. 

Mrs. Francis B. Harrington : Boston, Mass. 

Clarence L. Hay Newbury, N. H. 

Mrs. Clarence L. Hay Newbury, N. H. 

Mrs. James R. Hooper Boston, Mass. 

Gerald L. Hoyt New York, N. Y. 

Mrs. Gerald L. Hoyt New York, N. Y. 

Lawrence M. Horton Lexington, Mass. 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



35 



Charles IT. Houghton How ley, Mass. 

C. Whipple Hyde Webster Grove, Mo. 

Dr. Howard C. Jewett Haverhill, Mass. 

Miss Harriet L. Jewett Haverhill, Mass. 

Alfred V. Kidder Andover, Mass. 

Mrs. Alfred V. Kidder Andover, Mass. 

Arthur S. Kimball Oberlin, Ohio 

Mrs. Laura IT. Kohn New York, N. Y. 

Curtis E. Lakeman Larchmont, N. J. 

John S. Lawrence Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. May W. Lester Hartford,. Conn. 

Ricliard S. Lombard " Boston, Mass. 

George R. Lord Salem, Mass. 

Mrs. Mary A. Lord New York, N. Y. 

Mrs. Samuel M. Magoffin St. Paul, Minn. 

Mrs. Frances E. Markoe Pennlyn, Penn. 

Mrs. Sarah L. Marsh Lynn, Mass. 

Albert R. Merrill Hamilton, Mass. 

Mrs. Sherburn M. Merrill Boston, Mass. 

Miss Nellie Mills Boston, Mass. 

Benjamin P. P. Mosely Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Benjamin P. P. Moseley Boston, Mass. 

Miss Mary H. Northend Salem, Mass. 

Dr. Robert B. Osgood Boston, Mass. 

Agar Ludlow Perkins Brooklyn, N. Y. 

Moritz B. H. Philipp New York, N. Y. 

Augustus N. Rantoul Boston, Mass. 

A. Davidson Bemick Boston, Mass. 

James S. Robinson Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. James S. Robinson Boston, Mass. 

Derby Rogers New Canaan, Conn. 

Francis Rogers New York, N. Y\ 

Miss Susan S. Rogers Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Albert G. Ropes New York, N. Y. 

Mrs. John C. Rousmaniere New York, N. Y. 

Mrs. Anna May Whipple Sherman .Andover, Mass. 

Henry P. Smith Brookline, Mass. 

Mrs. Caroline P. Smith Brookline, Mass. 

Mrs. Martha E. Smith Winchester, Mass. 

Theo. W. Smith Winchester, Mass. 

Mrs. Theo. W. Smith Winchester, Mass. 

Harry C. Spiller Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. George B. Stone Everett, Mass. 

Dr. E. W. Taylor Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Arthur P. Tenney Haverhill, Mass. 

Rev. William G. Thayer Southboro, Mass. 

Dr. Charles W. Townsend Boston, Mass. 

Dr. Ira O. Tracy Brooklyn, N. Y. 

Frank H. Trussell Hamilton, Mass. 

Mrs. Frank H. Trussell Hamilton, Mass. 

Mrs. Annie Tuckerman New York, N. Y. 

Mrs. Ruth A. Tuckerman Boston, Mass. 

Miss Marion Thomas Portland, Ore. 

Isaac Rand Thomas Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Isaac Rand Thomas Boston, Mass. 



36 THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

Harry W. Tyler Boston, Mass. 

Dr. Herman F. Vickery : Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Herman P. Vickery Boston, Mass. 

Langdon Warner Philadelphia, Penn. 

Roger Sherman Warner Boston, Mass. 

George P. Waters Fall River, Mass. 

Miss Grace Weymouth Cleveland, Ohio 

Mrs. Sarah E. Wheeler Concord, Mass. 

Mrs. C. W. Whipple New York, N. Y. 

Henry W. Whipple Cranf ord, N. J. 

Mrs. Henry W. Whipple Cranf ord, N.J. 

T. H. Bailey Whipple East Pittsburg, Pa. 

Marcus M. Whipple Dorchester, Mass. 

Egerton L. Winthrop, Jr New York, N. Y. 

Frederick L. Winthrop Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Sybil Wolcott Hamilton, Mass. 

Chalmers Wood, Jr New York, N. Y. 

Charles Morgan Wood Dayton, Ohio 

Chester L. Woodbury Boston, Mass. 

Joseph F. Woods Boston, Mass. 



HONORARY MEMBERS. 

John Albree, Jr Swampscott, Mass. 

Frank C. Farley South Manchester, Conn. 

Mrs. Katherine S. Farley South Manchester, Conn. 

Reginald Foster Boston, Mass. 

Miss Alice A. Gray Sauquoit, N. Y. 

Miss Emily R. Gray Sauquoit, N. Y. 

Albert Farley Heard, 2nd Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Otis S. Kimball ". Boston, Mass. 

Miss Sarah S. Kimball Salem, Mass. 

Henry S. Manning New York, N. Y. 

Mrs. Mary W. Manning New York, N. Y. 

Miss Esther Parmenter Chicopee, Mass. 

Denison It. Slade Brookline, Mass. 

Joseph Spiller Boston, Mass. 

Miss Ellen M. Stone East Lexington, Mass. 

W. F. Warner St. Louis, Mo. 









THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 37 



The Ipswich Historical Society was organized in 1890, and 
incorporated in 1898. It has purchased and restored to its 
original architecture the ancient house it now occupies, one of 
the finest specimens of the early Colonial style. It has issued a 
series of Publications which have now reached to No. XXV, 
which are of general interest. 

We wish to commend our work and our needs to our own 
citizens, to those who make their summer home with us, to all, 
scattered throughout our land, who have an ancestral connection 
with the old Town, and to any who incline to help us. We can 
use large funds wisely in sustaining the Society, and erecting 
and endowing our new building, and in establishing a perma- 
nent endowment. 

Our membership is of two kinds: An Annual Membership, 
with yearly dues of $2.00, which entitles to a copy of the Publi- 
cations as they are issued, and free entrance to our House with 
friends; and a Life Membership, with a single payment of 
$50.00, which entitles to all the privileges of membership. 

Names may be sent at any time to the President. Orders for 
the Publications will be filled at once. 



38 THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



PUBLICATIONS OF THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL 
SOCIETY 






I. The Oration by Rev. Washington Choate and the Poem by 
Rev. Edgar F. Davis, on the 200th Anniversary of the 
Resistance to the Andros Tax, 1887. 

II to VII, inclusive. Out of print. 

VIIT. "The Development of our Town Government," and "Com- 
mon Lands and Commonage," with the Proceedings at 
the Annual Meeting-, 1899. 

IX. "A History of the Old Argilla Road in Ipswich, Massachu- 
setts," by Thomas Franklin Waters. 

X. "The Hotel Cluny of a New England Village," by Sylvester 
Baxter, and "The History of an Ancient House," with 
Proceedings at the Annual Meeting, 1900. (See No. XX.) 

XI. "The Meeting House Green and a Study of Houses and 
Lands in that Vicinity," with Proceedings at the Annual 
Meeting, Dec. 2, 1901. 

XII. "Thomas Dudley and Simon and Ann Bradstreet." A Study 
of House Lots to Determine the Location of Their Homes, 
and the Exercises at the Dedication of Tablets, July 
31, 1902, with Proceedings at the Annual Meeting, Dec. 
1, 1902. 

XIII. "Fine Thread, Lace and Hosiery in Ipswich," by Joseph 
Fewkes, and "Ipswich Mills and Factories," by Thomas 
Franklin Waters, with Proceedings at the Annual 
Meeting. 

XIV. "The Simple Cobler of Aggawam," by Rev. Nathaniel Ward. 
A reprint of the 4th edition, published in 1647, with 
facsimile of title page, preface and headlines, and the 
exact text, and an Essay, "Nathaniel Ward and the 
Simple Cobler," by Thomas Franklin Waters, 116 pp., 
75 cents, postage 10 cents. A limited edition, printed on 
heavy paper, bound in boards, price $1.50 postage prepaid. 

XV. "The Old Bay Road from Saltonstall's Brook and Samuel 
Appleton's Farm," and "A Genealogy of the Ipswich 
Descendants of Samuel Appleton," by Thomas Franklin 
Waters, with Proceedings at the Annual Meeting. Price 
75 cents. 

XVI and XVII. Double number. "Candlewood ; An Ancient Neigh- 
borhood in Ipswich." With Genealogies of John Brown, 
39 pp., William Fellows, 47 pp., and Robert Kinsman, 
15 pp. 160 pp., octavo, with maps, full page illustra- 
tions and complete index, by Thomas Franklin Waters. 
Postage, 8 cents. 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



39 



XVIII. "Jeffrey's Neck and the Way Leading- Thereto," with Notes 
on Little Neck. 03 pp., octavo, by Thomas Franklin 
Waters. 

XIX. "Ipswich Village and the Old Rowley Road." 76 pages, 
octavo, by Thomas Franklin Waters. 

XX. "The John Whipple House in Ipswich, Mass., and the 
People Who Have Owned and Lived In It." 55 pages, 
octavo, by Thomas Franklin Waters. 

XXI. "Augustine Heard and His Friends (Joseph Green Cogs- 
well and Daniel T/rea dwell)." 120 pages, octavo, by 
Thomas Franklin Waters. Board covers, heavy paper, 
$1.50 and postage (14 cents). 

XXTI. "Plum Island, Ipswich, Mass." Its earliest history, orig- 
inal land grants, land ownerships, marshes and thatch 
banks, beaches and sand dunes. Illustrated, with maps 
and many photographs of the island scenery. 64 pages, 
octavo, by Thomas Franklin Waters. Price 75 cents. 

XXIII. "Ipswich in the World War." 237 pages, with war records 

and photographs of veterans. $2.00. 

XXIV. "Ipswich River — Its Bridges, Wharves and Industries. 40 

pages. 75 cents. 

XXV. "Glimpses of Everyday Life in Old Ipswich." 40 pages. 
50 cents. 



ALSO PUBLISHED UNDER THE AUSPICES OF 
THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



IPSWICH 

IN THE 

MASSACHUSETTS BAY 
COLONY 



BY 
THOMAS FRANKLIN WATERS 

VOLUME I 
1633-1700 

Paet I. The History of Ipswich to the Year 1700. 
Part II. The Land Grants from the Beginning to 1905. 

586 Pages, Octavo, Gilt Top with Maps. 
Full Paofe Illustrations and Full Index. 



VOLUME II 

The History of the Town from 1700 to 1917. 

840 Pages, Octavo, Gilt Top, 40 Full Page Illustrations 
and Full Index. 



Price $6.oo for each volume, 
with Parcel Post. 



Orders may be sent to the Ipswich Historical Society. 






BE 






IS 






HBRffl! 






t-j y 




IfftJBllCATIONS OF TttZ^PSWICHp. 



HIS T0R1CAL SOCIR T Y 

\ ■.'•-'.'.. XXVI .. ■■■'A h 



1813111^ 










TWOtlPSWICH PATRIOTS 









^l^p^^rtigM AS^FKANKLIN WATERS' 

oiaf MRS^EUNICE WHITNEY FARLITC FElirBN 



Hf - 






.■** w -;v- ..." 






afe ! 









Printed for" the Historical Society 

rSI>? 1927 ■. U 






^ 



£**•*"&:' 









PUBLICATIONS OF THE IPSWICH 

HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

XXVI 



TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 



By THOMAS FRANKLIN WATERS 
and MRS. EUNICE WHITNEY FARLEY FELTEN 



Printed for the Historical Society 

1927 



NEWCOMB & GAUSS 

Printer* 

SALEM. MASS. 



180924 



This volume of the Proceedings of the Ipswich His- 
torical Society contains the biography of two men whose 
lives were devoted to the welfare of the community in 
which they lived. They took an active interest not only 
in the local affairs of the Colony, but exerted a strong 
and virile influence in relation to our dealings with the 
mother country. They helped to shape our policy in 
foreign affairs, and when the time of separation from 
England came, did yeoman service in laying the founda- 
tion for our present form of government. 

John Wise of Chebacco is a most interesting character, 
and the record of his work and influence in the Colony 
has been portrayed by Mr. Waters with a strict fidelity 
to historic facts. To his untiring energy this contribu- 
tion is solely due, and gives additional evidence of his 
zealous regard for the splendid character of the men who 
did so much toward shaping the best form of govern- 
ment the world has ever known. 

The second part of this pamphlet has been contributed 
by a lineal descendant of Michael Farley, a name that 
has persisted down to the present time. 

It is hoped that the story of "Two Ipswich Patriots" 
may be of interest to its readers, and give these men the 
honored place to which their character and their deeds 
justly entitle them. 




HOME OF REV. JOHN WISE, ESSEX, BUILT IN 1703 




THE GRAVE OF REV. JOHN WISE 



JOHN WISE OF CHEBACCO. 



John, the son of Joseph Wise, was born in Roxbury 
and baptized soon after his birth presumably, on August 
15, 1652. The time and place were auspicious for the 
birth of a child, who was destined to take large views 
of life and be a weighty factor in some momentous af- 
fairs. Roxbury was within easy reach of Boston, and 
in the times when modes of travel were still primitive 
and news traveled slowly, this was no small privilege 
for a bright-minded boy, for significant events were hap- 
pening then, which must have been known to him. 

He was fourteen years old when the General Court 
was convened in special session on the 11th of September 
to consider a matter of vital significance to the liberty 
and independence of the Colony. For many years there 
had been assaults of various kinds upon the Charter, 
under which the Colony was founded. As early as 1634, 
the alarming news had come that the enemies of the 
Colony were so strong in the royal councils that there 
was a plan formed of sending over a General Governor 
and of creating a special commission for the management 
of all the colonies and the revocation of their charters, 
with Laud, Archbishop of Canterbury, at its head. The 
General Court met, decided that a General Governor 
could not be accepted, and, with perfect understanding 
of the revolutionary nature of its decision, ordered that 
all citizens should be trained in military tactics and that 
a castle should be built in Boston harbor. An immediate 
conflict was saved only by the chaotic condition of public 
affairs in England. 

In 1638, another demand for the Charter was made, 
to which Governor Winthrop replied wisely but firmly. 
Again in 1646, there were plots against their liberties, 



6 TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 

and constant misrepresentation of the arbitrary adminis- 
tration of government, and Edward Winslow of Plym- 
outh was sent over to bear and defend a formal declara- 
tion by the General Court. "We conceive," that docu- 
ment declared, "that in point of government, we have, 
granted by patent, such full and ample powers of choos- 
ing all officers that shall command and rule over us, of 
making all laws and rules of obedience, and of a full and 
final determination of all cases in the administration of 
justice, that no appeal or other ways of interrupting our 
proceedings do lie against us." 

Such plainness of speech would have provoked con- 
flict, we judge, with a king jealous of his authority; but 
the days of Charles the First were numbered, and the 
strong hand of Puritanism demanded his life before he 
could attempt coercive measures. 

With the passing of the Commonwealth, the peace of 
the Puritan colony was again in peril. The news of 
Charles the Second's accession was received with sus- 
picion of impending trouble. No official proclamation of 
his sovereignty was made nor oath of allegiance ordered. 
It was known that the scheme of sending a General 
Governor was again revived, and projects for the more 
rigid enforcement of the navigation laws, for the estab- 
lishment of Episcopal worship, and for the larger liberty 
of Quakers, were already under discussion. The critical 
juncture of affairs was discussed calmly in General Court, 
in June, 1661, and a committee was appointed "to con- 
sider and debate such matter or thing of publicke con- 
cernment touching our pattent, lawes, priviledges and 
duty to his maj'ty as they in their wisdom shall judge 
most expedient & draw up the result of their apprehen- 
sions & present the same to the next session for consider- 
ation & approbation, that so (if the will of God be) wee 
may speake & act the same thing, becomeing prudent, 
honest, conscientious & faithfull men." 



TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 7 

The spirit that moved so mightily in Samuel Adams, 
Otis and Patrick Henry, a century later, is felt in these 
calm but determined words, and it breathes in every 
sentence of the report of that committee. They affirmed 
that under their patent, they were a body politic, vested 
with power to make freemen, to choose their rulers, to 
make laws for the government of the people in all eccle- 
siastical and civil affairs, and defend itself by force of 
arms from any assault, and that any enactment "preju- 
dicial to the country, contrary to any just law of ours, 
not repugnant to the lawes of England, to be an in- 
fringement of our right." 

These bold utterances disturbed the conservative colo- 
nists, who deprecated any deliverance that might disturb 
the peace and prosperity of the Colony. Petitions, urging 
cautious and diplomatic action, were presented from Ips- 
wich, Newbury and Sudbury. A similar address from 
citizens of Boston was read. The delicacy of the situation 
was apparent, and Mr. Bradstreet and Rev. John Norton 
were sent to England to represent the Colony in the 
debates of the Council. They returned in September, 
1662, bringing word that the King had confirmed the 
patent, but at the price of very obnoxious concessions on 
their part. He demanded that the oath of allegiance 
should be taken, that the administration of justice should 
be in his name, that the privilege of Episcopal worship 
should be allowed, that the Lord's supper should be open 
to all of good and honest lives, and there should be simi- 
lar enlargement of the franchise. 

The Colony delayed answer, and in 1664 the Clarendon 
commissioners arrived to see how the Charter was main- 
tained, and reconcile the differences between the colo- 
nists and the King. This Commission was received coldly 
and even defiantly. It reported to the King to this effect, 
and His Majesty wrote to the colonists of Massachusetts 
Bay "that those who governed the colony of Mass. in 



8 TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 

did upon the matter, believe that His Majesty had no 
jurisdiction over them, but that all persons must ac- 
quiesce in their judgments and determinations how un- 
just soever, and could not appeal to his Majesty." Ac- 
cordingly he ordered agents to be sent to England. 

This determination of royalty to compel recognition 
in the Colony, and the obvious determination of the men 
of Massachusetts to resist and affirm its right of self- 
rule, were likely to clash violently. In all the homes of 
the Colony there was much talk of the impending danger, 
and that Roxbury boy, fourteen years old, was waiting 
anxiously the drift of affairs. 

The General Court met, and in very solemn mood. 
The occasion was one of the most intense and far-reach- 
ing significance. Six of the ministers were present by 
invitation of the Court, and the whole forenoon was spent 
in prayer, and adjournment was then made until the fol- 
lowing day. The next morning petitions from Boston, 
Salem, Newbury and Ipswich, counselling prudence, were 
read and considered. Vigorous debate followed, and a 
reply to the King was adopted : 

"We have in all humility given our reasons why we 
could not submit to the Commissioners and their man- 
dates the last year. . . . 

"We must, therefore, commit this our great concern- 
ment unto Almighty God, praying and hoping that his 
Majesty (a prince of so great clemency) will consider 
the state and condition of his poor and afflicted subjects 
at such a time, being in imminent danger by the public 
enemies of our nation, and that in a wilderness far re- 
mote from relief." 

Weeks, perchance months, elapsed before the defiant 
message could be borne over the sea and the royal reply 
returned. War with the mother-land was imminent. A 
frigate or a squadron might be expected, to compel sub- 
mission. No thoughtful youth could help forecasting 



TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 9 

the future, and the discipline of anxiety and strong de- 
termination to uphold the Puritan government wrought 
maturity of character and strong love of liberty. 

When he was seventeen he went to college, and was 
graduated from Harvard in due course in 1673; but of 
these years we know nothing. For seven other years, 
little is heard of him. King Philip's War burst suddenly 
upon the Colony, and all its resources were taxed to pre- 
serve itself from annihilation. The drafts upon the 
young men of every community were so frequent that 
scarcely a single able-bodied man could have escaped mili- 
tary service. 

In some fashion he had won the favorable regard of 
the General Court, and in 1680, when the Chebacco Par- 
ish was passing through a series of trials incident to the 
acting minister, Rev. Jeremiah Shepard, he was recom- 
mended by the General Court to this church. He was 
received with favor, and was ordained Pastor on August 
12, 1683, and the pastorate then begun was ended only 
by his death. 

The parish was small and overshadowed by the dig- 
nity and prominence of the old First Parish, whose 
pulpit was adorned with the eminent William Hubbard, 
already renowned as the Historian of the Indian Wars. 
The venerable Thomas Cobbet was still able to perform 
some of the duties of his pastorate, and John Rogers, in 
the very prime of his life, brilliant in scholarship and 
accomplished in medicine as well as theology, after sev- 
enteen years of helpfulness in the ministry, was installed 
as President of Harvard College on the very day Mr. 
Wise was formally inducted into his Chebacco pastorate. 
For many years the Ipswich church had enjoyed the 
singular privilege of the ministry of a student of Oxford, 
a graduate of the first class sent out from Harvard, and 
the future President of their beloved College, — three 



10 TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 

men of large reputations and exceptional strength and 
usefulness. 

The atmosphere in which Mr. Wise found himself was 
stimulating, we conceive. Association with men like 
these, and with the vigorous men of the Ipswich church, 
was a rare privilege. 

Public affairs, too, were in a disturbed and even dis- 
heartening condition. Within a few months of his arri- 
val in his field of labor, a convention was held in Ipswich, 
to discuss the course to be pursued by the Essex County 
towns in relation to the Mason claims. Pressing his 
title to all the lands between the Salem river and the 
Merrimac under the original grant to his grandfather, 
John Mason, Robert Mason had succeeded in compelling 
attention to his claims. The establishment of this claim, 
which was about to be prosecuted in the courts, w r ould 
have invalidated every title in all the towns within their 
limits. All the years of labor in subduing the wilderness 
and building comfortable homes and prosperous villages, 
which had been enjoyed now for half a century would 
have been in vain. The people were intensely concerned 
in defending their rights and repelling the demands of 
the claimant. 

But the bitterness which was roused by Mason was 
less perhaps than the distress and alarm which Edward 
Randolph, the agent of the King, was causing by his 
vindictive and tireless attacks. He had already drawn 
up his "Articles of High Misdemeanor" against a faction 
in the General Court, which he charged with being fac- 
tious and seditious, and deserving of summary punish- 
ment. Among the men whom he proscribed was Major 
Samuel Appleton of Ipswich, an Assistant, and the fa- 
mous leader in King Philip's War, and feeling ran high 
in the old" town. William Goodhue, Senior, a conspicuous 
member of Mr. Wise's parish, was then a member to the 
lower House, and as he was not mentioned by Randolph 



TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 11 

he may have been friendly to the Royal cause. Captain 
John Appleton, brother of the Major, and one of the most 
conspicuous men of the town, was a hearty royalist. 
The town was rent with factions, as sympathy or con- 
viction led the citizens to side with the King or with the 
Colonists, who demanded practical independence of the 
Sovereign. The line of cleavage separated fathers from 
sons, brothers from brother, neighbors and friends from 
life-long associates. 

The minister of Chebacco had a delicate task to lead his 
flock wisely in such troublous times. The long contention 
ended at last in the royal decree of June 21, 1684, which 
vacated the Charter. Massachusetts ceased to be, as a 
body politic. "The elaborate fabric," says Palfrey, "that 
had been fifty-four years in building, was levelled with 
the dust." The General Court was dissolved, all judges 
and officials of the courts were removed from office, pop- 
ular elections were at an end. All the machinery of gov- 
ernment ceased, and Massachusetts became the private 
estate of a hostile monarch. Gloom and despair were 
evident in every face. Charles the Second died, and 
James the Second came to the throne, Feb. 6, 1684/5, 
but it was soon found that the change would bring no 
relief. Joseph Dudley was appointed President of the 
Council, and the Crown designated his associates. 

Armed resistance was impossible in the exhausted 
financial condition caused by the protracted and disas- 
trous Indian wars; and that strong Puritan party in 
England, which, in earlier struggles, would have sided 
enthusiastically with the colonists, had ceased to be. No 
resort was left to the patriots of New England but to 
submit to the bitter fate that awaited them as helpless 
subjects of a distant King, with whom they had nothing 
in common. 

But there began to be mutterings of popular discon- 
tent. A Popular Fast was proclaimed, but some refused 



12 TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 

to observe it in Rowley and Ipswich, and a justice was 
forthwith despatched to hold court there and ferret out 
the guilty parties. Captain John Gould of Topsfield was 
charged with speaking seditious words against the Gov- 
ernment and was fined heavily and imprisoned, in the 
summer of 1686. The temper of the new Government 
was not to be mistaken. The slightest manifestation of 
resistance would be followed by summary and severe 
punishment. Accustomed to virtual independence from 
their earliest remembrance, trained to discuss all matters 
of public moment freely in town meetings and to express 
their convictions to their elective rulers as circumstances 
required, the men of Massachusetts submitted with ill 
grace to the edicts of this new arbitrary government, 
which must be acquiesced in with silence and with no 
show of displeasure. 

But harsher discipline was in store. On the 12th of 
December, 1686, the frigate ''Rose" dropped anchor in 
Boston harbor, and Sir Edmund Andros, attended by 
sixty redcoats landed. He was escorted to the Town 
House at the head of King, now State street, where he 
caused his commission as Governor to be read and at 
once assumed his functions of Governor. The abasement 
of Massachusetts was now complete. An English lord 
was her chief ruler, British soldiers overawed her people. 
Her Puritan meeting house was profaned with Episcopal 
worship. An odious oligarchy sat in the seats of her 
honored officials. A conservative party submitted tamely, 
but there was a strong, clear-headed, liberty-loving party 
much in preponderance, I judge, which endured silently, 
but with inward rebellion. No voice, however, was 
raised to protest against the invasion of the soil by 
an armed force, and the wanton trampling upon her 
liberties. 

In January, 1687, the final stroke fell. A tax of a 
penny a pound was ordered, to afford a revenue, and 



TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 13 

each town was ordered forthwith to choose a taxing 
Commissioner. This Commissioner and the Selectmen 
were instructed to make a list of persons and a valuation 
of estates, and the Commissioners of each County, meet- 
ing at their respective County seats, were ordered to de- 
termine the local tax and issue warrants to the Con- 
stables for collection. This was in direct defiance of 
the honored right of the colonists to determine their 
own tax. From the beginning it had been stoutly and 
constantly maintained that there could be no taxation 
without representation. This was the shibboleth of their 
chartered liberties, not only in Massachusetts, but in 
New York, in Pennsylvania, in Virginia, had this car- 
dinal principle been affirmed, and maintained at no small 
cost. 

What was to be the attitude of the Colony of Massa- 
chusetts toward this oppressive violation of her ancient 
right to determine her own taxes. In the town meetings 
of the old Commonwealth the opportunity was given the 
friends of liberty to make their protest, though it was 
evident that plainness of speech would not be tolerated 
by the royal Governor, and his agents were waiting, no 
doubt, in every community to hear the manner of speech 
into which ardent patriots might be betrayed. 

The Boston town meeting was held on July 25th. The 
high-minded Thomas Danforth, the Deputy Governor, and 
other members of the General Court might have spoken 
there, but no protest was made, and meekly and obediently 
the Tax Commissioner was chosen. The Salem town 
meeting convened. Old Simon Bradstreet, the deposed 
Governor, was a resident, and the Salem folk looked to 
him for guidance. No dissenting voice was heard. The 
Tax Commissioner was chosen. At Manchester, at New- 
bury, at Marblehead, the same prudent though timid 
counsels prevailed. At Taunton, in the month of August, 
the first courageous refusal to elect the Commissioner 



14 TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 

occurred, and the Town Clerk, Shadrack Wilbore, was 
arrested and held for trial. 

In the face of this prudent policy of acquiescence, at a 
time when the strong friends of the Colony hid their 
heads and covered their mouths with their hands, the 
Ipswich town meeting was held. It was convened on 
August 23d, after most of the towns had voted. On the 
evening before, John Wise, the bold minister of Che- 
bacco, with some of his parishioners, leading men in town 
affairs, came to Ipswich and attended a caucus, or pre- 
liminary meeting, at the residence of the Town Clerk. 
The reverend pastor, William Hubbard, was there, and 
some dozen of the officers and prominent citizens of the 
town. It was the sense of the meeting that this "warrant- 
act" abridged their liberties as Englishmen, and they 
concluded "y* it was not y e Town's Dutie any wayes to 
Assist y* ill methode of Raising mony w'out a Generall 
Assembly." 

The town meeting met next day. Mr. Wise spoke vigor- 
ously against taxation without a vote of their representa- 
tive assembly. He said, it was remembered, "We had a 
good God and a good King, and Should Do well to stand 
for o r previledges." The vote was practically unanimous, 
it would seem. 

"Considering that the sd act doth infringe their Lib- 
erty as Free borne English subjects of his Majestie by 
interfearing w th y e statutory Laws of the Land — by wi ch 
it is enacted that no taxes shall be Levied on y e subjects 
w tte out consent of an assembly chosen by y e Free holders 
for assessing y c same. They do therefore vote, that they 
are not willing to choose a Commiss er for such an end, 
w tte out s d priviledges." 

The language of the vote was inspired by Mr. Wise, 
and he may have drawn the resolution. It was the first 
determined yet statesmanlike utterance in that period of 
the usurpation, when the boldest grew timid and the 



TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 15 

wisest counsellors were silent. The minister of Che- 
bacco was treading on dangerous ground. 

This decisive vote was followed by a bold propagand- 
ism. Agents went covertly to Topsfield and Rowley, and 
those towns came into line. This high-handed proceed- 
ing, as it was regarded, was not to be overlooked. Ips- 
wich was, next to Boston, probably the most important 
town in the Colony, and such factious and turbulent ac- 
tion called for stern repression. Legal proceedings were 
begun speedily, and Mr. Wise and five others were ar- 
rested, brought before the Council and cast into the Stone 
Prison in Boston, awaiting their trial. When brought 
before the Council, Mr. Wise carried himself boldly. He 
declared that as Englishmen they had privileges accord- 
ing to Magna Charta, — to which it was replied, "You 
have no privilege, Mr. Wise, except not to be sold as 
slaves." 

Mr. Wise reported this sharp repartee to Mr. Francis 
Wainwright, one of the leading citizens. He repeated it 
to others, and straightway he was arrested, and secured 
his liberty only by an abject apology for his indiscretion. 
Such was the intolerant repressiveness of the time. The 
newly-fledged Councillors were very sensitive of their 
honor. 

An appeal for release on bail met with no success. 
This was followed by another appeal from the Ipswich 
men, Mr. Wise signing and probably being the author, 
which we keenly regret to chronicle. Thus far his atti- 
tude had been heroic, but the gloomy Stone Jail had a 
depressing effect upon his free spirit. The other men 
confined under the same charge, made acknowledgment 
of their error. The apologies of Dudley Bradstreet and 
Col. Nathaniel Saltonstall, both Magistrates and Assis- 
tants, were pitifully abject and painful in their self- 
abasement. Further resistance seemed hopeless. So Mr. 
Wise and his associates plead for pardon, affirming their 



16 TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 

loyalty and praying the Governor and Council to pass 
over their offence, "hoping you will please to impart it 
rather to our ignorance than Obstinacy, in neither of 
which we would persist." 

But this humble apology failed of its end. They were 
arraigned before a special session of the Oyer and Ter- 
hiner on the 24th of October, found guilty and returned 
to jail, where they lay twenty-one days awaiting sen- 
tence. Mr. Wise was "suspended from y e ministerial 
function, fined 50 £ in money & the costs, obliged to give 
a bond of £1000 for y e Good Behaviour one year." His 
associates suffered similar penalties. They furnished 
bonds and were released, and on the 24th of November 
Mr. Wise was permitted by an order from the Executive 
Council to resume the work of the ministry. Another 
town meeting was called, a taxing commissioner was 
chosen. The patriotic action of the first meeting seemed 
to have been in vain. 

But the protest then uttered made a profound impres- 
sion upon the Colony. The indignities put upon Mr. 
Wise, a minister of the Gospel, and the only one who 
had any public connection with the affair, seemed mon- 
strous and intolerable. His affirmation of the rights of 
the Colonists, as Englishmen protected by Magna Charta, 
to refuse the tax in which they had no voice, caught the 
public ear. 

In April, 1689, the popular uprising was made, and 
Andros and his Council were seized and imprisoned. On 
the morning of April 18, the military escorted the ven- 
erable Governor Bradstreet, and Danforth and others, up 
State street, and from the balcony of the Town Hall a 
Declaration was read, attributed to Cotton Mather, which 
charged Andros with malicious oppression of the people. 
It appealed to the men of Ipswich and Plymouth to tell 
their tale. The language of Deputy West to Mr. Wise 
was repeated, and his demand of the liberties guaranteed 



TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 17 

by Magna Charta was repeated. The Chebacco minis- 
ter's defence was the catchword of the hour. 

A month later, on May 26th, 1689, a ship arrived bear- 
ing an order to the authorities to proclaim William and 
Mary, King and Queen. The joy of the people was un- 
bounded. They had been guilty of open rebellion, and 
the lives of the leaders might have paid the penalty of 
their boldness. This assured their safety. 

Formal articles of impeachment were drawn up at 
once against Andros, West, Parker and the rest, and the 
first of the long list of specific charges against each, was: 

"Mr. John Wise, minister, John Andrews Sen., Robt. 
Kinsman, W m Goodhue Junr., Thos. French, These prove 
their damage for their being unwilling for Sir Edmund 
Andros rayseing money on the people without the con- 
sent of the people, but Improved upon Contrary to Magna 
Carta." 

In his oration entitled "The Colonial Age of New Eng- 
land," delivered at the two hundredth anniversary of the 
incorporation of Ipswich, Rufus Choate, remarking upon 
these men and the action of the town, exclaimed : "These 
men, says Pitkin, who is not remarkable for enthusiasm, 
may justly claim a distinguished rank among the patriots 
of America. You, their townsmen — their children — may 
well be proud of them: prouder still, but more grateful 
than proud, that a full town meeting of the freemen of 
Ipswich adopted unanimously that declaration of right, 
and refused to collect or pay the tax which would have 
made them slaves. The principle of that vote was pre- 
cisely the same on which Hampden resisted an imposition 
of Charles I, and on which Samuel Adams and Hancock 
and Warren resisted the Stamp Act — the principle that 
if any power but the people can tax the people, there is 
an end of liberty." (Vol. II, p. 57.) 

The quiet course of the Chebacco minister's life flowed 
on, unvexed by public affairs, for three years. Then the 



18 TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 

horrors of the Witchcraft delusion settled like an incubus 
upon these Essex County towns. The minister of the 
Danvers Parish was the chief instrument in fomenting 
the charges, which soon brought death and devastation 
in their train. As the whim of a few nervous girls, 
of diseased imagination directed, the deadly crime of 
witchcraft was charged upon some of the sweetest and 
saintliest of God's people, as well as upon those of a 
coarser sort. Venerable mothers in Israel, whose chil- 
dren had grown to honorable manhood and womanhood, 
were dragged from their homes and sentenced to the gal- 
lows. A minister of the word could not escape the at- 
taint of guilt. These communities were panic-struck. 
Everyone lived in fear of the accusation which was the 
brief preliminary to execution. The ministers were the 
natural leaders of the people in such a conflict with the 
power of Satan, but they kept silent though the choicest 
of their flock were assailed. It was not wholly strange 
that Tituba, the old Indian, and Bridget Bishop, a coarse 
and commonplace woman, and poor Dorcas Hoar of Bev- 
erly, should have been left to the tender mercies of the 
law, but it was passing strange that Rebecca Nurse and 
Elizabeth How and Mrs. Mary Easty should not have 
found a zealous champion among the ministers of the 
word. Elizabeth How, of spotless character, beloved by 
a large circle of friends and neighbors, suffered the 
shame and horror of being called a witch, because sundry 
cows in her neighborhood had died suddenly and other 
unfortunate things had happened. She had been already 
propounded as a candidate for membership in the Ips- 
wich church. Mary Easty, held for sentence and the 
scaffold in the Ipswich Prison, made most tender and 
persuasive appeals to the authorities that the blood of 
the innocents might at least be spared. But the minister 
of the Ipswich church raised not a finger in their behalf. 
In that dark and dreadful time, John Wise again 



TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 19 

played the manly part. John Proctor and his wife Eliz- 
abeth, who had formerly lived in Chebacco but were then 
resident in Salem Farms, were accused. The neighbors 
and friends rallied in their behalf. Twenty of them cer- 
tified to the Christian character of the accused. "To our 
apprehension," they declared, "they lived Christian life 
in their families, and were ever ready to helpe such as 
stood in need of their helpe." 

And from their old home, came an earnest address to 
the Court of Assistants, drawn up by Mr. Wise and 
signed by thirty-five men of the parish besides himself, 
certifying to the upright character of their old neigh- 
bors. Again, let it be mentioned to his honor, that he 
alone of the powerful group of Essex County ministers 
and of the Colony, dared make personal appeal to the 
magistrates on behalf of the accused. While he was in 
prison, Mr. Proctor earnestly requested Mr. Noyes to 
pray with him and for him, but it was wholly denied 
because he would not own himself to be a witch.* He 
also addressed an earnest petition to Mr. Mather, Mr. 
Allen, Mr. Moody, Mr. Willard and Mr. Baily, prominent 
ministers, to use their influence in his behalf and others 
under similar accusation, but in vain. So far was Cotton 
Mather from feeling pity for the condemned that, sitting 
his horse at the execution of Rev. George Burroughs, 
when he had spoken from the ladder and moved the peo- 
ple to tears, and it was feared that the bystanders would 
hinder the execution, but finally the hanging had been 
accomplished, that Mather then and there declared that 
the Devil was often transformed into an angel of light, 
and quieted the people so that the executions could go on. 
And after Mary Easty had taken her last farewell of 
her husband, children and friends, in such affectionate 
and solemn way that all were moved to tears, and so 
suffered the pains of death with seven others, Mr. Noyes, 
minister of Salem, turning him to the bodies, said, "What 

* Wonders of the Invisible World, p. 250. 



20 TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 

a sad thing it is to see eight firebrands of hell hanging 
there." Mr. Hale, minister of Beverly, was very for- 
ward in the executions, but when his wife was accused 
he was speedily brought to a humbler mind. We may 
rejoice that in that hour, when the reverend clergy en- 
couraged and advised the arrests and executions with 
one consent, John Wise dared to befriend the friendless 
and declare himself out of sympathy with the sad errors 
of the time. Years later, his plea for the removal of 
the attainders attaching to the families of those con- 
victed, was rewarded with full success. 

Once more it fell to his lot to champion a great cause. 
In the year 1705, some new theories of church govern- 
ment were broached by the Mathers and others. Sixteen 
proposals were drawn up and submitted to the churches 
for consideration. The independence of the churches was 
covertly assailed by a proposal to place the control of 
many matters in the hands of certain councils. Mr. Wise 
scented Papal infallibility and abuse of popular liberty of 
choice and action, but he held his peace until the Colony 
of Connecticut adopted measures of like import. Then his 
blood stirred hotly. Nearly a score of years before he 
had suffered for his steadfast declaration that the privi- 
lege of self-government was the inalienable right of the 
colonists. Self-government was as vital a part of the 
religious as of the political life. The independence of the 
local church was essential to a right form of church 
government. He published a pamphlet, "The Churches 
Quarrel Espoused" (1710), a reply in satire to certain 
proposals made, etc. He discoursed of the principles of 
government: "That government which is in any good 
measure formed, and does agree with the natural free- 
dom of human beings, and is adopted by the law of 
wisdom and honor and plainly and fairly established: 
is too much of God in the world, and too great a royalty 
belonging to men, for any to play the knave or fool with." 
(Page 99.) 



TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 21 

Again, he affirms the native right of the Englishman 
to govern himself. He lays down several principles, the 
last of which is: ''Englishmen hate an arbitrary power 
(politically considered) as they hate the devil. " 

"The very name of an arbitrary government is ready 
to put an Englishman's blood into a fermentation, but 
when it really comes, and shakes its whip over their ears, 
and tells them it is their master, it makes them stark 
mad, and being of a memical genius and inclined to fol- 
low the Court mode, they turn arbitrary, too." 

"That some writers, who have observed the govern- 
ments and humors of nations, thus distinguish the Eng- 
lish: The Emperor, say they, is the king of kings, the 
king of Spain is the king of men, the king of France 
the king of asses, and the king of England the king of 
devils, for that the English nation can never be bridled 
and rid by an arbitrary prince." (147-148.) 

No more acute and stinging satire was ever written 
than that which makes the pages of this pamphlet flame 
with fiery vehemence. Mr. Mather and his fellows must 
have writhed as the ancient St. Laurence on his gridiron, 
under his merciless rallying. 

In milder mood he set himself a few years later, 1717, 
to write "A Vindication of the Government of New Eng- 
land Churches." He considers the fundamental prin- 
ciples of government. He discovers "an original liberty 
instampt upon his (man's) rational nature." (Page 25.) 

"Every man must be acknowledged equal to every 
man." 

"The first human subject and original of civil power 
is the people. For as they have a power, every man over 
himself in a natural state, so upon a combination they 
can and do bequeathe this power unto others, . . . and 
when they are free, they may set up what species of gov- 
ernment they please." 

"The end of all good government is to cultivate hu- 
manity and promote the happiness of all, and the good of 



22 TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 

every man in all his rights, his life, liberty, estate, honor, 
etc., without injury or abuse done to any." (Page 40.) 

The philosophy is lucid, the argument is direct and 
convincing, and the literary style is of surprising finish. 
The Chebacco pastor struck a blow for liberty that made 
it impossible for the free self-government of the churches 
to be fettered by any scheme of arbitrary or aristocratic 
rule. And when the Revolution was impending, and some 
simple, convincing statement of the rights and liberties 
of the colonists was needed, these two pamphlets were 
put to press again in Boston in 1772, being published by 
subscription. The list of subscribers is appended, and 
Mr. Mackaye calls attention to the fact that John Scollay, 
Esq. of Boston, who was to be a leader of the Boston 
Tea Party, subscribed for four copies; that Ebenezer 
Dorr, messenger of the Committee of Safety, who, on 
the night of April 18, 1775, crossed Boston Neck and 
carried the alarm to Cambridge while Paul Revere was 
riding to Lexington, had three copies; Colonel Barret of 
Concord had one; Hon. Artemus Ward, Esq., of Shrews- 
bury, first Commander-in-chief of the Revolution, had 
six; and Capt. Timothy Pickering of Salem, six. Rev. 
Edward Emerson of Concord subscribed for twenty-four, 
and Mr. William Dawes of Boston, Ephraim Fairbanks 
of Bolton, Peter Jayne of Marblehead had a hundred 
each. 

It was good reading for those tense times, and the 
popular orators of the day may have been familiar with 
it. Certain it is that when the Declaration of Indepen- 
dence was written, Jefferson might have found some sen- 
tences already framed in the calm, philosophic deliver- 
ence of John Wise. Not without reason then, has the 
minister of Chebacco been styled 'The Founder of Amer- 
ican Democracy," the first clear expounder of those prin- 
ciples of popular government of the people by the people, 
upon which the fabric of the American commonwealth 
has been built. 



TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 23 

He died on the 8th of April, 1725. Felt records that 
his son-in-law, Rev. John White of Gloucester, sat by 
him, and the dying man said: "I have been a man of con- 
tention, but the state of the churches made it necessary. 
Upon the most serious review I can say I have fought 
a good fight, and I have comfort reflecting upon the same. 
I am conscious to myself that I have acted sincerely." 

His house still stands, built by himself in 1703, in which 
he wrote these famous pamphlets, and wherein he died. 
To the door of his house, perchance, the wrestler of 
Andover, Capt, John Chandler, came to try conclusions 
with the dominie, who had been a famous wrestler in 
his youth. From his window Mr. Wise called down to 
the doughty Captain that he was not in trim, but he 
yielded to his desires and came down to the front yard. 
In a trice, the boastful Andover man found himself flat 
on his back in the highway. He picked himself up, and 
looking over the wall, begged Mr. Wise to kindly throw 
his horse over and he would ride his way forthwith. 

His grave is in the old burying ground near by, and 
on the simple table stone the epitaph is inscribed: "For 
talents, piety and learning, he shone as a star of the 
first magnitude. ,, 

It is strange that he has been forgotten, but some have 
remembered him. Prof. Moses Coit Tyler, in his "His- 
tory of American Literature," well observes: "It is an 
illustration of the caprice which everywhere prevails in 
the domain of the Goddess Fame, that the one American 
who, upon the whole, was the most powerful and bril- 
liant prose writer in this country during the Colonial 
time, and who in his day enjoyed a sovereign reputation 
in New England, should have passed since then into utter 
obscurity, while several of his contemporaries . . . who 
were far inferior to him in genius, have names that are 
still resounding in our memories." 



MICHAEL FARLEY, FIRST, SECOND AND THIRD, 
OF IPSWICH. 



By Eunice Whitney Farley Felten, 
Great Granddaughter of Michael, Third. 



The first definite, reliable statement that I ever heard, 
after the arrival of the Farley family in Massachusetts 
Bay Colony, was that Michael Farley, 1st, a middle-aged 
married man with wife and two grown sons, has peti- 
tioned for a piece of land on the Ipswich River near 
Saltonstall's mill, in order to build a homestead. 

His next request was to obtain seats for himself and 
wife in the Parish Meeting House. 

These two petitions were granted by the town. The 
highest seats in church were granted only to settlers 
called Freemen, who probably brought letters of recom- 
mendation. 

The story goes that Michael Farley, 1st, before sailing 
from England had met Mr. Richard Saltonstall (son of 
Sir Richard) and had made a covenant with him to take 
charge of the Saltonstall mill property in Agawam, Essex 
County, New England, for the term of two years. The 
worshipful Mr. Saltonstall was an elderly gentleman, not 
strong, not likely to live long. This covenant was signed 
by Mr. Michael Farley and his two sons. At the expira- 
tion of the lease, Mr. Saltonstall came to America and 
desired to continue the lease, but the Farleys did not 
agree to it, and purchased the rights on the river from 
Saltonstall, who returned to England, dying soon after. 

The first event of romantic interest in the family was 
the betrothal of the eldest son Michael to the daughter of 
Major Burnham. The record says Mrs. Farley, his 
mother, gave up her dower rights. Whether this was to 




.CASTLE./// SOMKKSETSmilK 

, ... 



TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 25 

help her son, I know not. The marriage took place, and 
we hope the young couple prospered. 

The mill, which at first was a grist mill, was changed 
to other purposes, — I think a fulling mill to make cloth. 
The Farleys, father and sons, carried on the mill and 
continued to work together as Michael Farley and Sons. 
Before long they desired to build a bridge across the 
river near the site of the dam. About this date a cove- 
nant is made between Oliver Appleton and Michael Far- 
ley, wherein the latter promises to pay a sum of money, 
I think 15 pounds sterling, to the former, signed by 
Michael Farley, 1st, and son. Perhaps this debt was 
made to raise money to build the bridge, which would 
be a great convenience, not only to the miller but to the 
neighborhood, connecting the two parts of the town. 

It was a foot-bridge, the first one on record. This 
passageway was never closed to the public until the Law- 
rence Company bought the mill property in 1870. In my 
childhood I loved to stand on the bridge and watch the 
water pour over the dam. 

The era beginning with 1700 was about the most pleas- 
ant and prosperous of the American Colonies. They had 
cleared the forests of the dark menacing giant trees 
which cast a gloomy shade, and turned them into pro- 
ductive farms. The Indian tribes had retired into re- 
moter regions and had begun to have a proper respect 
for the laws of the newcomers. There was frequent 
communication between seaport towns, but the clouds of 
unrest were gathering on the horizon. The increase of 
taxes was beginning to oppress the faithful subjects of 
King George, who had not created an ideal colony for 
his benefit, but to enable the colonists to live in peace 
and independence. 

Everybody was busy, the men outside, and the women 
mostly indoors, bringing up their large families of chil- 
dren, taking care of the aged members and observing 



26 TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 

the Sabbath with great strictness. One of their trials 
was lack of medical knowledge and remedies, and if an 
epidemic occurred, a great proportion of victims suc- 
cumbed. A record speaks of five children in a Farley- 
family dying of quinsy sore-throat, but one son lived who 
was destined to take quite an important part in the his- 
tory of his native town of Ipswich — Michael Farley, 3d. 
On his mother's side he was descended from Deputy 
Governor Symonds, one of the officials appointed by the 
Crown in the earliest days of the Colony. 

In 1720 Michael Farley, 3rd, married Elizabeth Choate, 
the daughter of Robert Choate of Chebacco, a district of 
Ipswich which is now the town of Essex, where were 
early shipyards. My great-grandfather and his wife had 
a fine family of sons and daughters, of whom three sons, 
John, Jabez, and Robert my grandfather, were respec- 
tively 25, 20 and 16 years old when the Revolutionary 
call to arms was declared. A courier from Boston came 
to tell General Farley that he must come with as many 
men as he could muster, as the British were evidently 
preparing an attack on Boston by their men-of-war, and 
no time must be lost. Accordingly, he called his sons 
and said that he was to start on horseback at once and 
they must follow as soon as possible. He told his wife 
that he must leave the ammunition, which was stored in 
their garret, in her care. She was ready to help. 

The two older boys were soon off, and my grandfather 
Robert begged to join them. She was slow to give her 
consent, but said, "If you go, behave like a man." He 
promised to do this, and left with her blessing, to walk 
or beg a ride the 30 miles to Boston. She had no time 
to think of her own soldiers, as neighbors came rushing 
in for shot and powder to fill their powder-horns. Some 
hours later, when she came downstairs, her younger 
children did not recognize her, as her face was as black 
as a negro's from the ammunition which she had been 



TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 27 

pouring into the powder-horns. This was the glorious 
battle of Bunker Hill. 

Michael Farley, 3rd, held many public offices. The 
most important under British rule was High Sheriff of 
Essex County, appointed by the Crown. He was said 
to have been a man of very kind heart, but some of the 
punishments imposed on wrongdoers were very severe 
and mortifying. An incident is related of one man who 
had his ear cut off for robbery, but grandfather kept the 
piece of flesh in his mouth, so that it could be replaced 
on the man's head, to save him from being disgraced for 
life as a robber, without chance of reinstating himself. 

My grandfather, Robert Choate Farley, was a very 
independent fellow and joined a crew on a privateer. 
The ship was captured by the British, and the officers 
and crew made prisoners on the British prison ship 
"Jersey," off Brooklyn. He was a handsome, gay young 
chap, and was offered bribes by the British to join their 
service. One of the temptations was the use of a saddle- 
horse to ride on the beach of Long Island. He accepted 
this offer, and had a daily gallop, — but did not become a 
traitor. Several of his companions died, but he sur- 
vived. When he returned home, he was nearly bald, 
and had to wear a wig the rest of his life. He was only 
nineteen years old at this time, and had been nine months 
a prisoner. His last exploit was to be aide-de-camp to 
General Lincoln, who went to Petersham, Mass., to put 
down Shay's Rebellion. 

After the country was free from English rule, there 
was much work and suffering to be met. The currency 
was changed, and there were numerous debts, public and 
private. The seaport towns suffered greatly. The Con- 
stitution was not accepted by Massachusetts for nearly 
a year. Michael Farley, William Choate, and Mr. Cogs- 
well, of Ipswich, were elected as judges to pass on the 
document which has been our guide ever since. 



28 TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 

These details of the public duties of Michael Farley, 
3rd, were mostly found in Felt's History of Essex County. 
There are many family stories of the privations which 
they endured for the sake of patriotism. The great- 
grandmother said, "Mike would give his last penny for 
his country," and it became almost a true statement of 
events. After victory was won and the British were 
anxious to leave their inhospitable and uncomfortable 
quarters, the real trials were experienced. The embargo 
imposed on our shipping by the Government was a ter- 
rible blow to the seaside towns. Ipswich and Gloucester 
felt it keenly, and many patriotic families were reduced 
to poverty. They were obliged to undertake long voy- 
ages to distant countries and run great risks to life, in 
order to support their families. 

Last summer, as I was passing several weeks at Bath, 
England, and knowing that Farley Castle was within a 
short distance, I took an open carriage with one horse, 
and was driven to the village of Farley, or Farleigh, as it 
is more often spelled nowadays. We took the highway to 
Bristol, and then turned off into a lane with hedgerows. 
I should say it was over a mile to the old picturesque 
hostelry of Farleigh Arms. There a party of country 
people were having a merry time in a sort of rustic arbor 
at the back of the inn, where the remnant of an old gar- 
den was extant. Box hedges and various flowers were 
still growing, but uncared for. 

We ordered tea and bread and butter, while the old 
coachman and his horse were refreshing themselves, and 
then drove to the ruins of the Castle. The country here 
is called the Downs, and indeed it expresses the idea. 
At the gateway of the Castle is still seen the Arms of 
the Hungerford de Farley family, as the last inmates 
of the Castle were called. They had been there over 
three centuries, but after that time various owners had 
despoiled it. Now it is not habitable, but the county 



TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 29 

keeps it in order. The owner, a titled personage, lives 
at Farley House, which was made of remnants of the 
Castle, and is almost a mile distant. The drawbridge of 
the Castle is no longer existing, but the iron bolts show 
where it used to be. We entered, to find a well-kept lawn 
enclosed by ruinous walls and towers, and the only build- 
ings in any condition are the chapel and dairy, both with 
little gardens. A ruined tower still standing shows the 
great thickness of walls. , 

Sitting outside the chapel door was a man, and to him 
I paid a shilling — the entrance fee — and descended a few 
steps to the chapel, which was quite well restored. Some 
pieces of old armor hung on the walls, and a very fine 
tomb of white marble stood in a little side chapel. The 
escutcheons of the Hungerford de Farley were added to 
the long Latin epitaphs. On leaving the chapel, I said 
my name was Farley before I married. Another by- 
stander called out, "If your name is Farley, you came 
from Boston." I said, "From very near there," and I was 
amused with this episode in the manor. Farley must have 
been a very large grant of land from William the Con- 
queror, as some 25 miles from the Castle is Farley Heath, 
where a battle was said to have been fought, and relics 
of old weapons and coins have been found. In a London 
Times I read recently that a number of cottages were 
being built on the Heath. 

My impression is that many of the colonists came in 
groups or neighborhoods, not necessarily related by blood, 
and after they arrived they separated, as the country 
became more settled. At least a branch of Farleys is 
found in old Virginia, and a General Farley was in the 
Secession Army, whom one of my cousins met. I know 
of but one Farley now in Ipswich, Mass., Mr. George 
Farley, president of a savings bank. His sister, Miss 
Lucy Rogers Farley, died almost ten years since. She 
showed me the family papers which had belonged to her 



30 TWO IPSWICH PATRIOTS 

grandfather, Jabez Farley. This grandfather, Jabez 
Farley, was a brave man and brought up nineteen chil- 
dren. He had two wives, one a Rogers, who had ten 
children, and his second wife, a Swazee, who had nine 
children. He lived to a great age and was present at the 
dinner given in honor of Lafayette in 1825. He was 
generally spoken of as Uncle Jabe by my father and his 
family. His nineteenth child, James Phillips Farley, 
named his youngest son Jabez for his grandfather. 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 31 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



The Annual Meeting of the Ipswich Historical Society was 
held on Monday evening, December 6, 1920. The officers elected 
were as follows: 



Honorary President — Francis R. Appleton. 

Acting President — Ralph W. Burnham. 

Vice Presidents — Howard N". Doughty, James H. Proctou. 

Secretary — Mrs. T. F. Waters. 

Treasurer— Charles M. Kelly. 

Directors — Miss Sarah E. Lakeman, Henry S. h SPAULDixo, 
Robert S. Kimball, Amos E. Jewett. 

Trustees — Joseph I. Horton, Charles M. Kelly, 
Robert S. Kimball. 



32 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



ANNUAL REPORT 

FOR THE YEAR ENDING NOVEMBER 30, 192G. 



Balance, Dec. 1, 1926 $926.52 

Annual Dues 483.00 

Life membership 50.00 

Admission fees 70.00 

Books sold 11.25 

Post Cards sold 15.00 

Annual supper 37.91 

$1,593.68 



Postage $31.92 

Association dues 2.00 

Ipswich Savings Bank 
(Addition to Building 

Fund 600.00 

Printing 131.65 

Express 1.26 

Fuel 164.75 

Water 10.50 

Kitchen utensils 65.63 

Insurance 71.69 

Surveying 75.00 

M iscellaneous 4.25 

Balance, Xov. 30, 1926... 435.03 



$1,593.63 



IN ACCOUNT WITH IPSWICH SAVINGS BANK 

Balance, December 1, 1926 $3,933.66 

Addition to Building Fund (from Current Account).... 600.00 

Legacy (Everard H. Martin 200.00 

Dividends, : 

Ipswich Savings Bank $173.72 

Edison Electric 111. Co. of Boston 202.50 

Public Service Electric & Gas 150.00 

Atlantic City Electric 180.00 

Ohio Power 112.50 

American Gas & Electric 7.50 

Electric Bond & Share 7.50 

Interest: 

U. S. Third L. L. 4% 231.16 

Gandy Bridge 65.00 

Pen insular Telephone 60.00 

Anaconda Copper 210.00 

United States Rubber 195.00 

1,594.83 

$6,328.54 
Withdrawn (in payment of Am, Gas & Elec, and Electric 

Bond & Share 1,129.32 

$5,199.22 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



33 



CAPITAL VALUE 

Rook Market 
Value Value 

Ipswich Savings Bank $5,199.22 $5,199.22 

U. S. Liberty Loan @ 100 3,050.00 3,072.87 

Atlantic City Electric Prfd. 30 sh. (ft 85 2,550.00 2,955.00 

Public Service Elec. & Gas Prfd. 25 sh. @ 94y 2 2,383.33 2,568.75 

Anaconda Copper 7\s, Feb. 1, 1938, 3M @ 101.. 3,089.33 3,202.50 

Edison Elec. 111. Co. Boston, 1/15/28, 3M @ 99.32 2,979.30 2,990.25 

U. S. Rubber 6M>, Mar. 1936, 3M (a). 102 3,138.04 3,030.00 

Gandy Bridge 6, Dec. 1945, 2M @ 100 2,006.66 1,960.00 

Peninsular Telephone 5V>, Jan. 1, 1951, 2M <fv 100 2,000.00 2,000.00 

American Gas & Elec. Common, 10 sh. @ 90% 902.50 1,060.00 

Electric Bond & Share Common, 10 sh. @ 83% 839.50 680.00 

Ohio Power Co. Preferred, 25 sh. @ 93 M. 2,337.50 2,387.50 

$30,475.38 $31,112.09 

INSURANCE 

Whipple House $5,000.00 

Furniture 1,500.00 

Cabinet 1,500.00 

Books, etc 1,000.00 

$9,000.00 

CHARLES M. KELLY, Treasurer 

ROBERT S. KIMBALL } 
JOSEPH I. HORTON [Trustees 
CHARLES M. KELLY J 

Ipswich, Mass., December 2, 1926. 



FORM OF BEQUEST 



I give, devise and bequeath to the Ipswich Historical Society, 
Inc., the sum of 

to be applied to the erection and maintenance of a fireproof 
Memorial Building. 



34 THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

MEMBERS 

LIFE MEMBERS 

William Sumner Appleton Boston, Mass. 

Albert Farwell Bemis Boston, Mass. 

Ralph W. Biirnham Ipswich, Mass. 

Richard T. Crane, Jr Chicago, Ill- 
Mrs. Richard T. Crane, Jr Chicago, 111. 

Cornelius Crane Chicago, 1 11. 

Florence Crane Chicago, 111. 

Frank C. Farley New York City, N. Y. 

Mrs. Alice F. Hartshorn Taunton, Mass. 

Benjamin Kimball Boston, Mass. 

John S. Lawrence Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Lora A. Littlefield Brookline, Mass. 

Miss Katherine Loring Brides Crossing, Mass. 

Arthur B. Lord Chicago, 111. 

William G. Low Brooklyn, N. Y. 

Mrs. Marietta K. Martin Ipswich, Mass. 

Nathan Matthews Boston, Mass. 

.Mrs. Maud Bemis Parsons Seattle, Wash. 

George Brescott Rowley, Mass. 

James H. Proctor Ipswich, Mass. 

Thomas E. Proctor Topsfield, Mass. 

Charles G. Bice Ipswich, Mass. 

John L. Saltonstall Topsfield, Mass. 

Richard M. Saltonstall Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Charles P. Searle Boston, Mass. 

John E. Searle Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Chester P. Seims New York, N. Y. 

John Carey Spring Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Julia Appleton Spring Boston, Mass. ^^ 

Eben B. Symonds ' Salem, Mass. 

Bayard Tuckerman, Jr. ... Hamilton, Mass. 

Mrs. Harold D. Walker Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. T. Frank Waters Ipswich, Mass. 

Sherman L. Whipple Boston, Mass. 

RESIDENT MEMBERS 

Francis R. Appleton Mrs. Alice L. Blake 

Mrs. Francis R. Appleton Mrs. Emma B. Bolles 

Francis R. Appleton, Jr. Norman J. Bolles 

James W. Appleton Edward C. Brooks 

Randolph M. Appleton A. Story Brown 

Charles Arthur John A. Brown 

Mrs. Nellie T. Auger Mrs. John A. Brown 

Eben H. Bailey Fred A. Brown 

Dr. George G. Bailey Frank M. Burke 

G. Adrien Barker Mrs. Nellie M. Burnham 

Mrs. Kate S. Barnard Mrs. Genevieve Campbell 

Mrs. Julia A. Bird David B. Claxton 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



35 



Philip E. Clarke 

Miss Harriet D. Condon 

Mrs. William M. Critchley 

Arthur C. Damon 

Mrs. Carrie Damon 

Mrs. Abbie B. Danforth 

Miss Edith L. Daniels 

Edward L. Darling 

Mrs. Howard Dawson 

Mrs. Grace Davidson 

George G. Dexter 

Miss C. Bertha Dobson 

Miss Grace M. Dodge 

Mrs. Arthur W. Dow 

George E. Dow 

Mrs. George E. Dow 

Howard N. Doughty 

Mrs. Howard N. Doughty 

Mrs. Charles G. Dyer 

Mrs. Emeline F. Farley 

George E. Farley 

Miss Abbie M. Fellows 

Henry- Garland 

Arthur C. Glover 

Charles E. Goodhue 

Walter F. Gould 

Mrs. Annie T. Grant 

George H. W. Hayes 

Mrs. George H. W. Hayes 

Miss Althea Hayes 

Mrs. Maude M. Hayward 

Walter E. Hayward 

Miss Alice Heard 

Wayne Henderson 

Joseph I. Horton 

Mrs. Caroline E. Horton 

Arthur Hull 

Charles G. Hull 

Fred ft. Hull 

A. Everett Jewett 

Mrs. Harriett M. Johnson 

Miss Ida B. Johnson 

Charles M. Kelly 

Pev. Frederick T. Kenyon 

Mrs. Frederick T. Kenyon 

Fred A. Kimball 

Mrs. Isabel G. Kimball 

Pobert S. Kimball 



Miss Bethiah D. Kinsman 
Mrs. Leonard Kleeb 
Dr. Frank W. Kves 
Mrs. Georgie C. Kves 
Miss Sarah E. Lakeman 
Miss Ellen V. Lang 
Mrs. Mary S. Langdon 
Austin L. Lord 
Mrs. Mabel P. Lord 
Charles L. Lovell 
Dr. George E. MacArthur 
Airs. Mary B. Maine 
Charles A. Mallard 
Mrs. William A. Mitchell 
Eben B. Moult on 
Miss Eleanor Moultan 
Miss Abbie L. Newman 
Mrs. Carl Nordstrom 
Mrs. George Parsons 
Pev. Carroll Perry 
Airs. Walter Poole 
Miss Velina A. Porter 
William J. Pi ley 
Mrs. Francis G. Boss 
Mrs. Fred G. Boss 
Joseph F. Poss 
Mrs. Bertha A. Kusseli 
Angus 1. Savory 
George A. Schofield 
Mrs. Hilda Schofield 
Henry S. Spaulding 
Miss Alice M. Smith 
Mrs. Fannie E. Smith 
Miss Lucy B. Story 
Omar Taylor 
Alts. Alice D. Tenny 
Ward M. Tenny 
P. Elbert Tit comb 
Airs. Atiriam W. Titcomb 
Jesse H. Wade 
Miss Emma E. Wait 
Ralph C. Whipple 
Mrs. Aland Whipple 
Aliss Susan C. Whipple 
Frederick S. Wit ham 
G. Loring Woodbury 
Airs. G. Loring Woodbury 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



NON-RESIDENT M EMBERS 

Frederick J. Alley Hamilton, Mass. 

Mrs. Mary G. Alley Hamilton, Mass. 

Mrs. Clara R. Anthony Brookline, Mass. 

Harry E. Bailey Boston, Mass. 

Dr. J. Bellinger Barney Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. J. Bellinger Barney Boston, Mass 

Wm. Franklin Barrett Chicago, 111. 

Mrs. Wm. Franklin Barrett Chicago, III. 

Mrs. William S. Bedal St. Louis, Mo. 

Miss E. D. Boaidman . Boston, Mass. 

Miss Mary Brooks Gloucester, Mass. 

Albert S. Brown Salem, Mass. 

Harry Appleton Brown Lowell, Mass. 

F. L. Burke Rowley, Mass. 

Frank T. Burnham Charleston, W. Va. 

Miss Florence Caldwell Philadelphia, Penn. 

John A. Caldwell Winchester, Mas^. 

Mrs. Elizabeth Carlton Rowley, Mass. 

Miss Gertrude Carlton Rowley, Mass. 

Mrs. Ruth Lambert Cheny Rowley, Mass. 

Miss Florence Cleaves Kittery Point, Me. 

Mrs. Mary A. Clark Paterson, N. J. 

Harry W. Davis Brookline, Mass. 

Mrs. Harry W. Davis Brookline, Mass. 

Edward Dearborn Lynn, Mass. 

Mrs. Mary B. DeBlois Boston, Mass. 

Robert G. Dodge Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Robert G. Dodge Boston, Mass. 

Joseph Dodge Lynn, Mass. 

Mrs. Grace Atkins Dunn New York, N. Y. 

William W. Emerson Haverhill, Mass. 

Mrs. William W. Emerson Haverhill, "Mass. 

Miss Ruth L. Emerson Haverhill, Mass. 

Miss Frances Farley Marblehead, Mass. 

Sylvanus C. Farley ' Mton, 111. 

Airs. Eunice W. Felton Cambridge, Mass. 

Mrs. Pauline S. Fenno Rowley, Mass. 

F. Appleton Flichtner Southboro, Mass. 

William E. Foster Providence, R. I. 

Mrs. William E. Foster Providence, R. 1. 

Amos Tuck French New York, N. Y. 

Mrs. Alva H. Gilman Plainfield, N. J. 

Dr. J. L. Goodale Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Amy M. Haggerty Baltimore, Md. 

Arthur W. Hale Winchester, Mass. 

Mrs. Francis B. Harrington Boston, Mass. 

Clarence L. Hay Newbury, N. II. 

Mrs. Clarence L. Hay ....Newbury, N. H. 

Airs. James R. Hooper Boston, Mass. 

Lawrence M. Horton Lexington, Mass. 

Charles H. Houghton Rowley, Mass. 

Dr. Howard C. Jewett Haverhill, Mass. 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 37 

Miss Harriet L. Jewett Haverhill, Mass. 

Alfred V. Kidder Andover, Mass. 

Mrs. Alfred V. Kidder Andover, Mass. 

Arthur S. Kimball *. Oberlin, Ohio 

Mrs. Laura IT. Kohn New York, N. Y. 

Curtis E. Lakeman Larchmont, N. J . 

Mrs. William L. Lyons Lexington, Ky. 

Mrs. May W. Lester . Hartford, Conn. 

Richard S. Lombard Boston, Mass. 

George R Lord Salem, Mass. 

Mrs. Mary A. Lord New York, N. Y. 

Mrs. Samuel M. Magoffin St. Paul, Minn. 

Mrs. Frances E. Markoe . Pennlyn, Penn. 

Mrs. Sarah L. Marsh Lynn, Mass. 

Albert R. Merrill Hamilton, Mass. 

Miss Helen Mills Kent, Conn. 

Penjamin P. P. Moseley Post on, Mass. 

Mrs. Pen jam in P. P. Moseley Boston, Mass. 

Dr. Robert R. Osgood Boston, Mass. 

Airar Ludlow Perkins , Brooklvn, N. Y. 

Moritz R. H. Philipp New York, N. Y. 

Augustus N. Rantoul Post on, Mass. 

A. Davidson Remiek Post on, Mass. 

James S. Robinson Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. James S. Robinson Boston, Mass. 

Derby Rogers New Canaan, Conn. 

Francis Rogers New York, N. Y. 

Miss Susan S. Rogers Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Albert G. Ropes New York, N. Y. 

Miss Alice G. Smith Concord, Mass. 

Henry P. Smith Brookline, Mass. 

Mrs. Caroline P. Smith Brookline, Mass. 

Airs. Martha E. Smith Winchester, Mass. 

Theo. W. Smith Winchester, Mass. 

Mrs. Theo. W. Smith Winchester, Mass. 

1 la rry C. Spiller Poston, Mass. 

Mrs. George B. Stone. Everett, Mass. 

Dr. E. W. Taylor Boston, Mass. 

.Mrs. Arthur P. Tenney Haverhill, Mass. 

Lev. William G. Thayer Southboro, Mass. 

Dr. Charles W. Townsend Boston, Mass. 

Dr. Tra O. Tracy Brooklyn, N. Y. 

Frank II. Trussell Hamilton, Mass. 

Mrs. Annie Tuckerman New York, N. Y. 

Mrs. Ruth II. Tuckerman Poston, Mass. 

Miss Marion Thomas Portland, Ore. 

Isaac Rand Thomas Roston, Mass. 

Mrs. Isaac Rand Thomas Boston, Mass. 

1 Tarry W. Tyler 1 Joston, Mass. 

Dr. Herman F. Yickcry Poston, Mass. 

Mrs. Herman F. Vickery Boston, Mass. 

Langdon Warner Philadelphia, Penn. 

Roger Sherman Warner Boston, Mass. 

George F. Waters Fall River, Mass. 

Miss Grace Wevmouth Cleveland, Ohio 



38 THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

Mrs. Sarah E. Wheeler Concord, Mass. 

Mrs. C. W. Whipple New York, N. Y. 

Henry C. Whipple Bristol, N. H. 

Henry W. Whipple Cranford, N. J. 

Mrs. Henry W. Whipple Cranford, N. J. 

Dr. Georg-e H. Whipple Rochester, N. Y. 

Sherman L. 'Whipple, Jr Webster, Mass. 

Sherman L. Whipple, 3rd Webster, Mass. 

T. H. Bailey Whipple East Pittsburg, Pa. 

Marcus M. Whipple Dorchester, Mass. 

Frederick L. Winthrop Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Sybil A. Wolcott Hamilton, Mass. 

Chalmers Wood, Jr New York, N. Y. 

Chester P. Woodbury Boston, Mass. 

Joseph F. Woods Boston, Mass. 



HONORARY MEMBERS 

John Albree, Jr Swampscott, Mass. 

Mrs. Katherine S. Farley South Manchester, Conn. 

Beginald Foster Boston, Mass. 

Miss Alice A. Gray Sauquoit, N. Y. 

Miss Emily R. Gray Sauquoit, N. Y. 

Albert Farley Heard, 2nd Boston, Mass. 

Mrs. Otis S. Kimball Boston, Mass. 

Miss Sarah S. Kimball Salem, Mass. 

Henry S. Manning- . New York, N. Y. 

Mrs. Mary W. Manning- New York, N. Y. 

Miss Esther Parmenter Chicopee, Mass. 

Denison Pv. Slade Brookline, Mass. 

Joseph Spiller Boston, Mass. 

Miss Ellen M. Stone East Lexington, Mass. 

W. F. Warner St. Louis, Mo. 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 39 



The Ipswich Historical Society was organized in 1890, and 
incorporated in 1898. It has purchased and restored to its 
original architecture the ancient house it now occupies, one of 
the finest specimens of the early Colonial style. It has issued a 
series of Publications which have now reached to No. XXVI, 
which are of general interest. 

We wish to commend our work and our needs to our own 
citizens, to those who make their summer home with us, to all, 
scattered throughout our land, who have an ancestral connec- 
tion with the old Town, and to any who incline to help us. We 
can use large funds wisely in sustaining the Society, and erect- 
ing and endowing our new building, and in establishing a 
permanent endowment. 

Our membership is of two kinds: An Annual Membership, 
with yearly dues of $2.00, which entitles to a copy of the Publi- 
cations as they are issued and free entrance to our House with 
friends; and a Life Membership, with a single payment of 
$50.00, which entitles to all the privileges of membership. 

Names may be sent at any time to the President. Orders for 
the Publications, sent to the Secretary, will be filled at once. 



40 THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

PUBLICATIONS OF THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL 

SOCIETY 



I. The Oration by Rev. Washington Choate and the Poem by 
Rev. Edg-ar F. Davis, on the 200th Anniversary of the 
Resistance to the Andros Tax, 1887. 

II to VII, inclusive. Out of print. 

VIII. "The Development of our Town Government," and "Com- 
mon Lands and Commonage," with the Proceedings at 
the Annual Meeting, 1899. 50 cents. 

IX. "A History of the Old Argilla Road in Ipswich, Massachu- 
setts," by Thomas Franklin Waters. 50 cents. 

X. "The Hotel Cluny of a New England Village," by Sylvester 
Baxter, and "The History of an Ancient House," with 
Proceedings at the Annual Meeting, 1900. (See No. XX.) 
50 cents. 

XI. "The Meeting House Green and a Study of Houses and 
Lands in that Vicinity," with Proceedings at the Annual 
Meeting, December 2, 1901. 50 cents. 

XII. "Thomas Dudley and Simon and Ann Dradstreet." A 
Study of House Lots to Determine the Location of Their 
Homes, and the Exercises at the Dedication of Tablets, 
July 31, 1902, with Proceedings at the Annual Meeting, 
December 1, 1902. 50 cents. 

XIII. "Fine Thread, Lace and Hosiery in Ipswich," by Joseph 

Fewkes, and "Ipswich Mills and Factories," by Thomas 
Franklin Waters, with Proceedings at the Annual Meet- 
ing. 50 cents. 

XIV. "The Simple Cobler of Aggawam," by Rev. Nathaniel Ward. 

A reprint of the 1th Edition, published in 1047, with 
facsimile of title page, preface and headlines, and the 
exact text, and an Essay, "Nathaniel Ward and the 
Simple Cobler," by Thomas Franklin Waters, 116 pp., 
75 cents, postage 10 cents. A limited edition, printed 
on heavy paper, bound in boards, price $1.50, postage 
prepaid. 

XV. "The Old Bay Road from Saltonst all's Brook and Samuel 
Appleton's Farm," and "A Genealogy of the Ipswich 
Descendants of Samuel Applet on," by Thomas Franklin 
Waters, with Proceedings at the Annual Meeting. Price 
75 cents. 

XVI and XVII. Double number. "Candlewood ; An Ancient 
Neighborhood in Ipswich." With Genealogies of John 
Drown, 39 pp., William Fellows, 47 pp., and Robert Kins- 
man, 15 pp. 160 pp., octavo, with maps, full page illus- 
trations and complete index, b} r Thomas Franklin Wa- 
ters. Price $1.50. Postage, 8 cents. 



THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 41 

XVI IT. "Jeffrey's Neck and the Way Leading Thereto," with Notes 
on Little Neck. 93 pp., octavo, by Thomas Franklin Wa- 
ters. 50 cents. 

NIX. "Ipswich Village and the Old Rowley Road." 76 pages, 
octavo, by Thomas Franklin Waters. 50 cents. 

NX. "The John Whipple House in Ipswich, Mass., and the 
People Who Have Owned and Lived In It." 55 pages, 
octavo, by Thomas Franklin Waters. 50 cents. 

XXL "Augustine Heard and His Friends (Joseph Green Cogs- 
well and Daniel Tread well)." 120 pages, octavo, by 
Thomas Franklin Waters. Board covers, heavy paper, 
$1.50 and postage (14 cents). 

XXII. "Plum Island, Ipswich, Mass." Its earliest history, orig- 
inal land grants, land ownerships, marshes and thatch 
banks, beaches and sand dimes. Illustrated, with maps 
and many photographs of the island scenery. 64 pages, 
octavo, by Thomas Franklin Waters. Price 75 cents. 

XXITI. "Ipswich in the World War." 237 pages, with war records 
and photographs of veterans. Price $2.00. 

XXIV. "Ipswich River — Its Bridges, Wharves and Industries." 40 
pages. 75 cents. 

XXV. "Glimpses of Everyday Life in Old Ipswich." 40 pages. 
50 cents. 

XXVI. "Two Ipswich Patriots." 40 pages. 75 cents. 



ALSO PUBLISHED UNDER THE AUSPICES OF 
THE IPSWICH HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



IPSWICH 

IN THE 

MASSACHUSETTS BAY 
COLONY 

BY 
THOMAS FRANKLIN WATERS 

VOLUME I 

1633-1700 

Part I. The History of Ipswich to the Year 1700. 
Part II. The Land Grants from the Beginning to 1905. 

58G Pages, Octavo, Gilt Top with Maps. 
Full Page Illustrations and Full Index. 

VOLUME II 

The History of the Town from 1700 to 1917. 

840 Pages, Octavo, Gilt Top, 40 Full Page Illustrations 
and Full Index. 



Price $7.50 for each volume, 
with Parcel Post. 



Orders may he sent to the Secretary of the Ipswich Historic: 

Society. 



638*